Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scantily clad Irish girls <barf>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

My breasts get stared at even when I wear polo necks.
    You actually cannot win. Ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Wear a looser jumper, those tight fitting sweaters are a serious turn on.

As for the OP, he (she?) is wrong and right. Context is all and the context of some half dressed half cut young wan on the town in a fetid environment is not clever even if in thoery it should be perfectly safe. The real world isn't thoery.

Everythings a feckin turn on...that's the problem.
    How would guys feel if I went around gawping at their crotches?
    Oh wait...maybe that would be a feckin turn on too.

Grrrr. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

bronte wrote: »
    How would guys feel if I went around gawping at their crotches?

Ask the lycra clad cyclists on the cycling forum. Women are guilty of having a glance / stare also. Its abit uncomfortable alright but its not as though im wearing them on a night out for all to see. WHen it becomes socially acceptable i will :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

A man thinks about sex every seven seconds it is said. A wild exaggeration of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Seems like you have a pair of winners there.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

What about the poor flat chested girls?

That's that like not finishing your dinner while people starve in Africa.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

Jakkass wrote: »
    I do think that women should dress modestly and have the sense to discern for themselves what is modest or what isn't. I'd see it more as a sign of self-respect than anything else. That's the point where I sympathise with the OP.
    What's the purpose of modesty? Honestly - what does it achieve? Why should a women worry herself as to whether someone thinks she's dressed modestly?
    Jakkass wrote: »
    As for your reference to all-Arab gear, I do think that many Muslim women have greater self respect for themselves in this respect than many women in the Western world.
    And why do you think Muslim women have greater self respect? Because they dress more modestly, and according to your theory have more self-respect?

Note the lack of pressures in Muslim society for women to constantly be considered attractive to men - think that might have something to do with it?

laugh wrote: »
    What about the poor flat chested girls?

That's that like not finishing your dinner while people starve in Africa.

Eh? By wearing polo necks?
    Lol!
    Point is..Stop blimmin staring or i'll shoot you.
    Especially those really old pervy blokes. I think they're the worst.
    Tossers.
    Isn't eyesight meant to worsen with age? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Irjudge1

Chlamydia wrote: »
    These... exhibitionists about town on weekend nights... I don't like what Irish girls are turning into. It's absolutely mental-they parade themselves like pornstars, and come 3am, half of them are snorting down kebabs, the other half are crying to their bff, mascara done up like Slipknot.:rolleyes:
    /QUOTE]

OK the important issue in all this for me is what is meant by "bff"?

Is it Boy friend's friend, Big fat friend, Best friend's friend, Batty f'n friend, Bigotted french friend, Bag of french fries, Black funky friend, Blonde fruity friend, Big Farty friend,....................... or Breast's favourite feeler.

I actually don't know the answer so if someone could help?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

what about the sneaky glances? are they still ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Stop blimmin staring or i'll shoot you.
    Especially those really old pervy blokes. I think they're the worst.
    Tossers.
    Isn't eyesight meant to worsen with age? :rolleyes:

I think it's disgracefully ageist that you think men should suddenly stop having a libido at a certain age. Shame on you. Shaaaame!

what about the sneaky glances? are they still ok?

If I don't see it, it's not illegal.
    Yis aren't very good at the sneaky part though. :pac:

javaboy wrote: »
    I think it's disgracefully ageist that you think men should suddenly stop having a libido at a certain age. Shame on you. Shaaaame!

Pity they wouldn't stop having working retinas ....the cheeky wee pups :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Essentially people should dress in a way that flatters them properly. Not everybody is 7 stone at looks like Paris Hilton so they shouldn't be slathered in fake tan and have their hair bleached to bits.

It should be noted that if people DO look like Paris Hilton then the best solution all round is for them to just stay inside in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Shows what you know. The really good ones, you'll never know about. :D
    Pity they wouldn't stop having working retinas ....the cheeky wee pups :pac:

They do get cataracts though. Nature's sunglasses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

i'm willing to test your hypothesis on men not being good at the sneaky part though.

Java......you in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Dragan wrote: »
    It should be noted that if people DO look like Paris Hilton then the best solution all round is for them to just stay inside in the first place.

And if you have her brain capacity, you probably should be on a life support system.:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

Dragan wrote: »

you are so photography

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

taconnol wrote: »
    What's the purpose of modesty? Honestly - what does it achieve? Why should a women worry herself as to whether someone thinks she's dressed modestly?

I don't think women should have to worry about what other people think. I do think it represents slightly what they think of themselves if they don't dress modestly rather.
    And why do you think Muslim women have greater self respect? Because they dress more modestly, and according to your theory have more self-respect?

Due to the simple reason that Muslim women don't seem as concerned with looking good as people in the West do. They don't seem to care as much about what other people think. I mean, someone who is wearing the hijab or "Arab-gear" as Biggins described it isn't doing it to conform to the wishes of the majority.

They see their appearance that is something to keep for people who are special in their lives, rather than effectively handing out as much of it as is legal to anyone. I consider that to be a sign of self-respect.

I personally don't think that anyone should be forced to go to that level, however I do think that the self-respect principle that is held in Islam and in Judeo-Christianity is one that is valuable in society.
    Note the lack of pressures in Muslim society for women to constantly be considered attractive to men - think that might have something to do with it?

You assume that I think this is entirely a womans fault. Not in the slightest. I think men have a duty to control themselves in terms of lust. A healthy balance between self-control of men and modesty in women, and indeed vice versa is something positive as a societal norm in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Chlamydia wrote: »
    These... exhibitionists about town on weekend nights... I don't like what Irish girls are turning into. It's absolutely mental-they parade themselves like pornstars, and come 3am, half of them are snorting down kebabs, the other half are crying to their bff, mascara done up like Slipknot.:rolleyes:

No wonder there are more rapes nowadays, they should have the sense to cover themselves up. Not having a go, it's just the truth:o Who else is sick of this? Too much The Hills imo.

Are you really up at ten past one at night telling us how Irish women dress? Who gives a sh1te?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

OP banned.