Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*REHOMING thread* (Once off requests only)

1606162636466»

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭SnrInfant

Hi

Would anyone have a home for a female cat? She is a stray who arrived at my house and we live beside a main road so it's not safe for her.

She doesn't seem to be feral as she will let me stroke her and feed her by hand.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭LadySkunk

Are you sure she’s a stray and hasn’t just lost her way? If she’s letting you feed and pet her there is a chance somebody could be out there looking for her.

Maybe try posting a photo of her to some of the lost and found pages online before trying to rehome her just in case

She’s been with me about 2 years now. I asked around the neighbours, we live out the country so I would think it was more like she was abandoned!

Also, she keeps having kittens, the first lot vanished, she was a lot hostile back then!

this time round she’s had 6 but 3 died. I’ve been caring for them and have them housed in my shed. I have homes lined up for them but I need the mammy gone too.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,939 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Contact a TNR cat rescue. Trap, Neuter, Return.

They will take the cat, get her neutered and returned to live out her days, if you can cope with mammy hanging round till the end of her days.

Hi, I’ve done that. The lady was meant to get back to me re hiring a trap and booking the vets appointment but to date Ive heard nothing back.

Ive resigned myself to keeping them, I’m ok with that as long as the mother is spayed.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,939 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Contact them again. They did it for my cousin in Kildare. Mammy taken away brought back, no more kittens.

Ive contacted them 3 times, once I got through and twice I left voicemails.

Shes expecting me to do all the catching and paying for it but they’re very sporadic in their visits to my garden. I couldn’t put a time on it. It’s a tough one!

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭corvus4906

Hi all - We've contacted a few rescues today asking for them to help share the below post on their social media pages to help myself and my wife find the right place for rehoming our dog.

Unfortunately many of the rescues replied they cannot help sharing our post as they get too many of those request. So trying on this thread and some others:

"5 Y/O male Golden Retriever looking for a new home without other dogs or children. His name is Locke and he is a playful, affectionate, happy dog. Over the last few years Locke has demonstrated occasional resource guarding behaviour with other dogs over food, sticks, toys etc. Locke's current owners have recently had their first child and are now looking to find a more suitable home.

He is great with other dogs out in parks and is great with humans. He loves big walks off the lead, he loves to potter around gardens and take in all the smells. He is a sleepy dog and is always happy to snooze on the floor wherever you are. He is neutered, house trained and knows basic commands. He is an indoor dog. He needs company during the day. He can be left alone but not for extended periods of time.

Locke's new home should have no other dogs, adults only and owners that will love him and work with him on his resource guarding. 

Please do not apply if you do not meet the full criteria below:

• Experience with dogs with behavioural issues
    • No other dogs or children in the home
    • Enclosed garden
    • Indoor dog
    • No other dogs or children in the home
    • Spend time at home
    • Time for daily walks off the lead

If interested in adopting this lovable hunk, please share your details with us using the link below and Locke's owners will be in touch directly.

https://forms.gle/S6NSgf5qsetnheaj9"

• Registered Users Posts: 296 ✭✭FamousBelgian

We've got a 4+ year old cat that we'd like to put up for adoption. I'm wondering how best to do this with an intermediary or volunteer in West Dublin.

The cat was being neglected down the country so we brought him to Dublin. He's been to the vet a couple of times for open wounds on his back from fighting, and for neutering, vaccination and microchipping. After weeks of work and expense we'd like to find a good home because he's not going to fit in where he is. I've found https://www.facebook.com/animalrescuedublin and was wondering if there are more like that. Or if someone knows someone honest who is looking for a forever cat.

By the way, the cat is a very handsome tabby who likes attention and is unbothered by dogs but who likes to roam and is not going to sit quietly on a lap.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 cinninoir

Currently looking to rehome a male springer spaniel - through no fault of his own! My parents have an older springer already who needs lots of vet care, meds etc at the moment and both of them are working full time. My sibling and I have moved out of home and so we aren’t around as much to help out with the dogs anymore.

Bruce is lively and eager to please -he loves long walks, playing fetch, etc. He is great on and off the lead. We just think that he deserves more attention than he is getting and would make a lovely family pet for perhaps a younger, outdoorsy family. He is neutered.

Please DM if interested - based in North Cork.

Thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭CalisGirl

Would anyone have a home for a male guinea pig in the Galway area? Scott's black with white patches, very smart and absolutely adorable. Unfortunately I'm allergic to his straw so can't keep him. He comes with a cage and all the necessary feeding equipment.

Ideally you would also have another guinea pig to keep him company.

Please DM if interested.

• Registered Users Posts: 21 CoffeeCrap

Would anyone be interested in taking two degus in? Both female, about 3 years old, I have had them since they were 8 weeks old. I have cage and feeding equipment, the cage is in good but not perfect shape. I also have a spare, smaller cage which is in good shape.

I only want to rehome them as we now have a baby in the house and are running out of space and not able to give them the time that I used to.

Please DM if interested.

• Registered Users Posts: 39 christmasdiane

2 year old border collie bitch for rehoming, microchipped, well cared for , loves people and children, only problem she has no interest in being a cattle dog.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 EmiJ

Hello,

These two beautiful birdies are looking for a new home. A white canary (Dolly P) and a finch (Hoodiny). They are beautiful peaceful little birds and Dolly has a beautiful voice. I need to travel a lot over the next year and want to make sure the birds have a nice new home.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 godzillaess

Looking for a loving home for the most gorgeous little/mini Jack Russel. We got her from the pound as a juvenile, she is about 6/7 years old now, but is still sometimes mistaken for a young puppy due to her small size/youthful looks :)

We don't believe she was well socialised before we rescued her as she does not tolerate most other dogs. We have a toddler in the home now and as much as we hoped they would get along, the dogs patience is being increasingly tested and we don't believe it's a good environment for either.

The dogs name is Tilly and she is spayed and microchipped. She can be extremely affectionate and can also be a bit stubborn (think moody teenager)! She can be nervous/wary of new people so she will take a day or so to acclimatise to her new family (treats help!)

We absolutely want her next home to be her forever home so with that in mind (given we know her very well at this point), the following is a must:

• No other dogs in the home (this will 100% not work!)
    • No young kids
    • To be kept on a leash on walks (to avoid unsupervised encounters with other dogs)
    • She will need a short walk each day (15 mins is fine)
    • Secure garden
    • Indoor dog only – she has lived indoors all her life and cant tolerate the cold due to being so small and trim, not suitable for outdoors.
    • We would like to visit the new home once to be satisfied that the home is suitable for Tilly.

Some plus points

Toilet trained (the very odd mishap but this is rare)

Happy to sleep in a cage/crate.

No health issues and loves affection.

Great security dog in the house.

Is familiar with using a dog flap so quite independent.

Please PM me if you thing you can offer Tilly a suitable loving forever home (we are based in south Dublin).

• Registered Users Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭Stigura

Puppies need homing. The two Starred ones are spoken for. Still have three males. One, between the bowls, bit of pink collar showing, is a female.

They will not be around, this time next week. I've tried everything else I know. Should ye want one? I'll do what ever I can to help get ye together, from Leitrim. Thanks.

Any questions? I'm not sure if I get emailed alerts to PM's, on here. But, I believe my email is public property, on my profile?

Sat_Here2001(AT)Yahoo.co.uk

Just head it " Pups ". I'll keep an eye on my spam folder, for a few days, too.

Here's hoping and 🙏

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,751 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Stigura,

What other options have you tried? If you have tried rescue groups, please don't name them on thread, but... have you tried a number of them?

With respect, when you say the pups "won't be around this time next week"... that's pretty emotive, and suggests that you're thinking of doing something pretty nuclear if you can't rehome them. At worst, bringing them to the pound gives them a better chance than taking matters into your own hands. Perhaps I'm reading your intentions wrong, but please don't do anything rash... and I'd suggest arranging for Momma Dog to be spayed to prevent a recurrence.

DBB; Believe me, " I've tried everything else I know. " means exactly what it says. I'm not even the only one trying. I have an absolutely brilliant ally who has been working tirelessly. We're running out of options.

Also, as ye quite rightly imply, this is not the place to talk about some things, such as given places tried, opinions, and such.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,751 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

I know that rescues are pretty much out the door at the min. Could you maybe provide a bit of detail about the pups here, just to help people who might be interested. The more info you give, the better chance you have of drumming up interest.

What mix of breeds are they? Might be a best guess, but better than nothing!

Presumably you own the mother... what's her temperament like?

What age are they?

What has their upbringing been like... as in, are they ready to be adopted as pet dogs into a house environment? Have they had exposure to children, other dogs, hoovers, cars, handling etc?

Any other info you think might help would be great.

And there was me, afraid to over egg the pudding!!! 😄

Where do I even start? 😁

Here's The Sinners!

Sire's six years and a couple of months old. He was someone else's gaff. Bull Mastiff over a GSD. I got him at twelve or thirteen weeks. Couldn't believe my luck; Because I'd just lost one, of Identical parentage, at fourteen years old.

He's the most laid back Dog. Happiest when stretched out, or having a scratch. It's my proudest boast that I could dance a jig around his legs, when he's laid out on the floor. He doesn't move a muscle when I step over him. He doesn't care. He knows there's no need to!

I Hate it, when I get a rescue Dog in, and the poor thing flinches and cringes at anything what so ever I do. Legacy of having been hurt 😥 This one's only ever known life with me. Thus, he's bomb proof. Thinks the world, and everyone and thing in it, is great! Sleeps on my bed.

Small Brown Dog there? Rescue, proper. From a pound. Bit of what ever ye like, in there. She'd had it rough. Been used as a tool and bred from. Then thrown away once she'd served her purpose. Got her daughter too. They'd done the same with her. She's still got that timid edge to her. Depends on mum.

Had her Five years. God knows how old she is now. But, she's the little matron of the place now. Slept in my arms, every night since I got her. *Gave Birth* in my arms! Right there, in my bed.

(That was quite the experience! Woke up to The Sausage hyperventilating. Then, something warm and moist nudged my arm. It was game on! May 7th. Sunday. Vet's here won't even leave their office for a Dog, Any day of the week. Period. Thank god we never needed anything!)

And, that's how I came to have half a dozen puppies. I'd been in denial that she was even in pup. My people were Dog people. I've never known Not having Dogs. I'm old now. And this is the second time in my entire life I've let a Dog get one past me. Just have to face the fact, I Am getting old, and slow 😕 Lost my edge. And look where it's got me.

Last time? That was a long while ago. Different time in a different world. Different breed. People were beating my door down, begging for one of my pairs pups.

This time? Boy. And I've got to keep on living with the people who looked me in the eye and reeled out their stories of why they were turning their back on us. No room at the inn. But, here's not the place to air That either. As ye so rightly say; Pounds are rammed.

Pups themselves? One pup ~ 'Dave' I call him. Just because. But, he'd caught my eye from the start. He'd be the absolute Ideal for the sort of farmer who just wants a Yard Dog. Dave doesn't care. Dave doesn't Need. He's the most self contained pup I've ever met.

Black one? He's actually Black Brindle. Shade, in that photo, hides that. He's the brains of the outfit. He'd be an active persons companion. Thrive on joining in with what ever ye doing.

Light Brindle there, on the left? He's what I'd call a 'Ladies Walking Companion'. He's got that slightest edge of the nerves, from where ever in the blood his auntie got it.

Not a bag of nerves pup. Just cautious. Woman was walking him, at night? Anyone stepped out? He'd pick up on it and hit the end of that lead, screaming and shouting bloody murder. All show. But, a Good show!

'Pink' bitch? She's very much like the one I'm keeping. Just lovely, well mannered little Dogs. Just like any other, well balanced and tidy Dogs; They'll become what ye make of them. Happy. Sociable. Almost identical. I'm having one! What more can I say?

I'm also keeping " Ron "! That little, dark brindle thing at the back there. Ron will have to sleep in my other arm! 😄 I already love Ron so much it's ridiculous! He's just such a little clone of his mum. She's getting a bit gray, round the muzzle now. There's so much of her in little Ronnie.

Why " Ron "? This is part of these Dogs 'story': " Peaky Blinders "? Yeah, well one day, Looooong, long ago, I walked onto a Romani Gypsy camp, in england. As I approached the trailers, this Thing erupted and started promising me badness. Knowing my way around, I was quite unmoved by all this, of course. I didn't flinch.

Then, this sun baked, stout little older man materialised. Grabbed the Dogs collar, admonishing it to give it a rest. Looked up at me and said; " What can I do for you, young man? " And that's how I met Ron Lee. Of the Welsh Lee's.

The rest, as they say, is history. But, yeah. I've named this pup ~ the last I'll ever live to have ~ in honour of my old friend, and that absolute Unit of a thing they had, lurking beneath the trailers, doing his job.

So, yeah, if ye want a 'selling point', or just a smart story to tell about ye new little side kick? Tell them yours is a 'Shelby' type Dog. Sort of thing Tommy would have been used to. British Gypsy camp site Dog. Atchin tan Dog. Like what the *Real* Lee's, off Peaky Blinders, kept around 😉

How 'Designer' is that?! 😁

• Registered Users Posts: 429 ✭✭TobyHolmes

no one should be giving away pets to people they dont know on an online forum. think a little bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭habanerocat

We are looking for a good home for Roxy.

She's about 3-4 months old and house trained.

We live in Limerick City.

Please PM me for other details.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,183 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Due to the unexpected death of their owner, our two dog household has ended up minding two cats, which we cannot keep.

They are Tito, grey aged about 10 or 11 and Moona, black aged about 7 or 8.

They would have to stay together as a pair as they are very attached. They are very well trained as regards the litter tray and they are quiet.

Dublin area.

Please DM. DMs also welcome with suggestions as to any no-kill places we could take them.

• Registered Users Posts: 219 ✭✭Acey10

North Dublin cat rescue might take them, best of luck.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,183 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I have been on to them and like elsewhere they are overwhelmed and not doing adoptions over the Christmas period, but I will keep at it. Thank you.

edit

Looks like they are off on their holliers to an ex-colleague of mine who lives in Limerick and just lost a cat.

Post edited by spurious on

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭Orange-Coca-Cola

HI, I came here to ask about rehoming and found this thread.

I am hoping to rehome a small cat - 3 years old female, black with white chest and paws. Very fluffy, very friendly and playful. She is very loved, but unfortunately needs to find a home due to external factors.

She has toys, a bed, and tower if required. She is between Swords and Malahide and hoping not to have to put her into a cats home, as she is loved by her current owners. I hope that I have posted the pictures correctly.

https://postimg.cc/gallery/7w55cND