Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Bohemian FC v Red Bull Salzburg Champions' League qualifier match thread

• 20-07-2009 4:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭

champions-league-logo-300x287.png

Thought this could do with a clean break from the tie preview.

I'd hope we can stick to the football and to getting as many people behind an Irish club in real European competition this week. The aim, unashamedly, is to get as many people into Dalymount on Wednesday to make as much noise as possible. RBS have shown they can be rattled, and no better place to do it than in the Home of Irish Football!

At 1-1 in the tie, we still are underdogs, but this Bohs side is strong, tactically, mentally and physically. The Irish game is not likely to have an opportunity like this for many years to come.

I'll put in updates as they come in, as well as info links.

TICKET LATEST (Tuesday 4pm)

Ticketmaster

Getting to Dalymount

Google map

Weather latest Still looks good.

Betting

COME ON BOHS!

Can Bohs go through? Yes.No, and no fudge 32 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 32 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Gelio

Come on Bohs (or any other Irish club that gets into europe)

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭sd08

Just like to wish Bohs good luck in this game. I remember back in 2004 when Shels played Hadjuk Split, we really packed the place out and created a great atmosphere, hopefully Bohs can get the same kind of crowd and a good result too.:pac:

Good, 7:30 kick off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭SectionF

Dalymount filling -- Extratime.ie

Jodi sold out, Shed end almost full, Connaught St tickets still available. Connaught St is open, but forecast for Wednesday evening is clear (after showers early in the day).

So whos heading up? I would but I don't think I'll be able to.

I am! :D

SectionF wrote: »
    I am! :D
    Surprise surprise;)

I swear to God, I have butterflies just thinking about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

sd08 wrote: »
    Just like to wish Bohs good luck in this game. I remember back in 2004 when Shels played Hadjuk Split, we really packed the place out and created a great atmosphere, hopefully Bohs can get the same kind of crowd and a good result too.:pac:

Bohs should sign up Davie Scouse for this one match!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

2-0 to Salzburg. They score first. Bohs chase the game and concede again. Would love to be wrong though.

Damn. Heary out.

That's a blow, but it's not the end of the world. Rossi can do the job for us.

Edit: the good news is that everyone else seems clear. Murphy and Brennan had been a worry after last night's Derry match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

So is the situation, that if bohs dont win they will be relegated at the end of the season.

Ah, feck off with that to another thread.

Will the match be on RTE this time or will we all have to endure strange german commentary from online streams for it like last week?;)

One source says the match will be on both Setanta and RTE, but I have seen no confirmation. There is every possibility that RTE cameras will be there shooting it for the Austrians, but that they will decline to show it to an Irish audience.

So we have the prospect of anyone interested in football in Ireland but who cannot attend using an Internet stream to see pictures of a match lifted from Austrian TV piped across from Ireland.

As they say in the Sun, you couldn't make it up!

I've no doubt that it will be on Austrian tv, looking from last week they seemed to have it done well, and I don't think that they would only show the one leg, which means that they'll either have to send their own equipment over here or else get the footage from here, which would obviously mean RTE or Setanta. So, hopefully one of them shows it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

You'd swear RTE wouldn't have a brain between them. Best of luck Bohs from all in Galway

sd08 wrote: »
    I've no doubt that it will be on Austrian tv, looking from last week they seemed to have it done well, and I don't think that they would only show the one leg, which means that they'll either have to send their own equipment over here or else get the footage from here, which would obviously mean RTE or Setanta. So, hopefully one of them shows it.
    Most definitely will be on Austrian TV. That's the point...

Salzburg striker Janko will be showing off for Wolves

His dive won them their penalty last week, and he'll be keen to score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Did the message Con Murphy read out on behalf of RTÉ give anyone else the impression that not only will RTÉ not be showing the game, that they also won't show the next round if Bohemians progress ?

Best of luck to Bohs anyway, the reward for winning here is imo an easier draw in the next round and a real chance to progress to the new final qualifying round. It's gonna be tough though.

Big Ears wrote: »
    Did the message Con Murphy read out on behalf of RTÉ give anyone else the impression that not only will RTÉ not be showing the game, that they also won't show the next round if Bohemians progress ?
    Looks like it... it had a Pravda-like quality to it, didn't it? As if he'd been ordered to read it.
    Never mind. It's who is in Dalymount on Wednesday that counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

I find it gas actually, if it was this time last year Trapattoni was still there manager and that he was agreed as new Ireland manager, RTÉ, TV3 and probably even bloody TG4 would be after the game.

Although I hope you's lose, best of luck.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Hopefully ye get through but endure a nice bit of extra time to help ya's for Sunday ;)

What's happening on Sunday? ;)

Gareth Maher preview
    The big target for Fenlon is to guide a League of Ireland club into the group stages of the Champions League. Since his first day at Bohs he has been building a squad capable of reaching that milestone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Looks like it... it had a Pravda-like quality to it, didn't it? As if he'd been ordered to read it.

That's just because he's a Rovers supporter. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

One of my friends told me Bohs are odds on favourites to win :D

stovelid wrote: »
    That's just because he's a Rovers supporter. :D
    ... presenting Monday Night Shamrock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Doyler92 wrote: »
    One of my friends told me Bohs are odds on favourites to win :D

banker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Never mind. It's who is in Dalymount on Wednesday that counts.
    It looked like someone had a gun pointed to him off camera !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Got 3 tickets today.

I'm hoping it doesnt rain.

Got 3 tickets today.

Forecast is good. No rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭- bo -

Got 3 tickets today.

You based in Dublin or actually travelling up from Cork for it? fair play if the latter! I went down to the Cork-Nantes game a few years ago, great game and atmosphere there.

edit: also c'mon Bohs.. never been so nervous about a game in my life...

Looks like tickets are going well, and heading towards a near sellout, according to the latest on the Bohs MB.

I doubt that it will sell out completely, so there should be tickets available at the gates.

Still, not bad considering that the game has been lost in the Madrid mania.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

RTE are a disgrace for not showing it. My internet connection isn't great so i can't stream it either.

Anyway i don't see any reason why Bohs can't get a result. I reckon they might nick a 1-0 victory or keep it 0-0.

As a Cork man i'll never forgive myself for this but , go on the Bohs.:)

Dreadful butterflies this morning. Hope I can get some bloody work done!
    Beat Salzburg, and we play Dinamo Zagreb.

Edit: Salzburg boss writing us off. Thank you very much Mr Stevens!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Alot more confident about this then I was yesterday or Monday...

Deegan is gonna score I can feel it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Heard on RTE this morning that Trapp is sending down Alan Kelly to 'have a look' at Murphy tonight.

Oh and that you can hear the match on RTE. Way to go, national broadcaster.

stovelid wrote: »
    Heard on RTE this morning that Trapp is sending down Alan Kelly to 'have a look' at Murphy tonight.

Should we kneel or just bow?

Highlights of the first leg. Just look at that Murph penalty save! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Should we kneel or just bow?

last thread

"why isn't he watching murphy"

this thread

"he's watching murphy"

"a$$hole"

There's just no pleasing some of you.

ntlbell wrote: »
    last thread

"why isn't he watching murphy"

this thread

"he's watching murphy"

"a$$hole"

There's just no pleasing some of you.

Where is that term used in this thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭DonnieBrasco

just got me tickets. go 'wan da gypos !

Which stand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Where is that term used in this thread?

nice deflection of the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭DonnieBrasco

Which stand?

out in the elements - connaught

Should be ok weather-wise. Scream yer head off so we can hear you!