Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

what to say to a prank phone caller

• 20-07-2009 9:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭

okay guys constantly getting prank phone calls from the same person.

help me wind her up!! AH style :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

"Hello, 999 emergency - what service do you require?"

Or just don't bother? Answering them means they win.

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭AdamusAdonis

Mary Had a Little Lamb
    -http://www.jlc.net/~useless/telsongs.html

could be fun?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Surpise sex her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

I'd just answer the phone by saying santry garda station

"hello, rape crisis centre. Mary speaking, can I help you?"

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭Meirleach

"Welcome to psychics live, calls cost 2euro per minute....."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

Whistle sharply down the phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

"Hello, Snyper speaking" should do the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Just answer it and walk away. They'll get tired of you very quick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Sex change helpline - we are here to help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

A couple of months ago someone was pranking my boyfriends phone and we got tired of it and just diverted the calls to Santry Garda station. Unfortunately we forgot we had done this...

Cue me a couple of days later trying to record Doctor Who for my boyfriend who was in work and couldn't get the DVD recorder working, ringing my boyfriend in a panic and shouting down the phone "OMG I can't get it to work, I can't get it to work!!! I can't get the DVD recorder to work!!" and the Garda at the other end of the phone saying laughing and saying "that wouldn't be a matter for the Gardai miss, you might try ringing the tech desk".

• Registered Users Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭WithCheesePlease

Say absolutely nothing. Just answer the phone and leave it down next to the radio or a speaker or something and walk off. Check back every so often until they get bored and hang up. Try this a few times without saying a word or engaging them in any way. They should get bored eventually.

Play Rick Astley-"Never gonna give you up" down the phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

swingking wrote: »

• Find an internet chatroom
    • Chat up random strangers
    • Give out her number and ask for durty chat

or

• Post an Ad on Buy and Sell offering U2 tickets for free to a good home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

swingking wrote: »

thank god you called.... theres been an accident

pretend to cry.....

you have to do it from the begining tho....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I dont tend to get ( many) prank phone calls but what I sometimes do when somebody I know ( or dont know) phones is put on my best poshiest Irish accent , not to hard because I am irish, and say in a clipped voice

'' Hi , you are through to the offices of the irish embassy here in London , , our opening hrs are 9-1 pm and 2-5 pm .

Sorry there is nobody to take your call right now but If you need emergency assistance, please ring the following number 0201 - 6337 - 4906 .

please leave a message after the tone ..thank you - - - - BEEP
    ''

9 times out of 10 you will get a HUH :eek: WTF ??? ..... on the udder end

Quite a lorra fun :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭ttm

I've never had any prank calls but if I ever do I plan to put the phone on speaker and put it next to the parrots cage.

He (Blue faced Amazon called Bobby) doesn't need much persuasion to say random phrases like "Hello", "Hello", "Thank You", "Meow", "Cock a dodle doo" (we also have chickens) "Don't bite", "Creak" - with lots of variations and he does a perfect impression of the phone ringing. He confuses the hell out of visitors when no ones in so I guess he'd do the same for a prank caller.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

Blow a whistle and burst the eegits eardrums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

Classic answers guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

"Good Afternoon/Morning, City Morgue how can I help you?"

Worked for me, but it was obvious to me they were kids so maybe that's why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭batari

This actually happened to my brother like ten years ago when he was making an, 'ahem' adolescent prank call:

-Brother - Is Mrs. Wall there?

-Other Line - No.

-Brother - is Mr. Wall there?

-Other Line - No.

-Brother - Are there any walls there??

-Other Line - We have a suspended ceiling,

Burn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Play a Daniel O Donnell CD down the line, that should shift them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Next time she rings just say the following.

"Hi, do you like chicken?"

If the answer is yes then reply in the following way.

"Then suck my cock it's fowl (foul)".

If the answer is no then evacuate the area immediately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 TOP_TOP

my favorite is to let them speak,
    the first thing you say is ' your not very smart are you, cuz u havent turned your caller id off...........'
    they usually hang up pretty quickly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

If they do the heavy breathing bit just say....

.... "Mom?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Quote some Shakespeare.

That'll move em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Emmm,dont answer the phone?

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭thebossanova

Get a load of Arnold Schwarzeneggar quotes on a dictaphone....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭Dartz

Same way you handle cold callers
    This is Inspector Muc Ramhair, and what connection might you have with the deceased, can I ask?

<flustered warbling>

You do realise that you just rang up a murder scene?
    Play as long as they fall for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

If their ID is off, then don't answer the phone. If it's important, they'll leave a voicemail.

If their ID is on, you'll realise it's a prank call etc. Save it in your phonebook as "Do not answer" or some such.

It's pretty simple I would think :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 55chevy

Just say hello...helll-lo...hell-ooh

As if u can't hear them. They'll get bored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Feck off Pat Kenny, i don't want the prize..........:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

go to the jax when you have answered,have a wizz or bang out a log if you can under pressure,make sure to flush and hang up
    obviously do not repeat if they ring back or you may hurt youself

soundsham wrote: »
    go to the jax when you have answered,have a wizz or bang out a log if you can under pressure,make sure to flush and hang up
    obviously do not repeat if they ring back or you may hurt youself

If you record it, you can replay it whenever needed.;)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

im really bad chinese accent:

herro, tank ru for carring Kam Parace, wat is ur order prease

or

in really bad italian accent:

bonjourno! tanka you for calling a Luigi's. Whata can i getta for you today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

galwayrush wrote: »
    If you record it, you can replay it whenever needed.;)

i hate miming

soundsham wrote: »
    i hate miming

It's better than being like a wooden plank though:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,353 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

"Hello...hello....sorry, you're breaking up...there, thats better...hello , you're gone again..hello..sorry , i cant hear you, you'll have to speak up........................Only joking, this is a recording, please leave a message after the tone"

I know its really old and lame but if ever there was a time for it this is it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

Start screaming down the phone telling them you're being raped/murdered and to call the police.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

Last time someone was pranking me I turn on my guitar amp,left my phone beside it AND CRANKED THAT SHIT TO 11!!:pac:

They never rang again.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Start screaming down the phone telling them you're being raped/murdered and to call the police.

tbh i dont think they'd believe you if you said :
    'I've just been killed, please call the cops'

well.....unless they're really stupid:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

If you really were getting raped/murdered you'd hardly say ''Actually could you just give me a sec,I have to take this call!''

• Registered Users Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Jafin

Whenever I get a pranker I just play along with their story until they get bored. Back in the day it was a good way of wasting their credit, but these days with free calls and such its not such an effective strategy.
    Once my friend was getting pranks in Xtra Vision, so I picked up one of the calls and gave out to them, messin. They rang back once more and apologised and sorry he had to get his dad involved (they thought I was his dad), priceless!

So yeah just do that or scream really loudly into the phone, or some other high pitched noise...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭baglady

If you should ever get tired of telemarketers calling -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J5z4Vs26-TI

seriously though, just don't answer!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

just to fill you in. I'm in work here so it's not really an option to not answer the phone. I don't have caller ID so I'm never sure what's going on.

They've made about 40 prank calls to the office here and it's getting very annoying.

The person is from Brazil

• Registered Users Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Jafin

Whoa, didnt realise you're at work, I thought it was your mobile. Talk to your bos if you can, see if theres anyway to trace the number and block it, or get your extension changed if you have one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Fracture

Answer it, then say "Its your credit" and sit the phone beside you (not hanging up the phone).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

baglady wrote: »
    If you should ever get tired of telemarketers calling -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J5z4Vs26-TI

seriously though, just don't answer!!

Came to post this.
    Tom Mabe - "you've actually called a crime scene - homicide"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

atariman wrote: »
    This actually happened to my brother like ten years ago when he was making an, 'ahem' adolescent prank call:

-Brother - Is Mrs. Wall there?

-Other Line - No.

-Brother - is Mr. Wall there?

-Other Line - No.

-Brother - Are there any walls there??

-Other Line - We have a suspended ceiling,

Burn.

Nay, this is much better

Caller - Is Mr Wall there

Receiver - No, no-one here by that name

Caller - There's no Walls there?

Receiver - No.

Caller - Jaysus, you'd want to get out of there before the roof falls in!