Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coogee or Bondi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

manly is good for about a week or two,then you kinda get pissed off getting the ferry in to cbd everyday(and back),nice ferry ride but...not everyday,although plemty of locals do it. But then the weekend arrives ....stay in manly or go to cbd/cross etc and your lucking at a steep enough taxi fare back(no trains to manly) Bondi - far too manybackpackers but again good to go out an odd night or two but nothing special, Bondi junction - couple of irish bars and last stop on the train so handy enough to get to the city if need be about a 20 min walk to bondi beach or coogee. Coogee same as bondi really,for me a nicer secluded beach but then theres thoses backpackers. Personally i lived in Paddington,20 min walk to the city,20 min walk to bondi junction , 10 - 15 min walk to the cross, and a very nice area with lots of local bars around the place as well as close to oxford street for the clothes shops etc, dirty nelleys is there too - pretty cool spot - ideal for me! Long live those days!!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭toadfly

BONDI JUNCTION!! its the best compromise, 20 min walk (5min bus) to beach, brill nightlife, train to city, massive shopping centre with cheap night tuesday cinema. Lived there for 6 months, city for 2, would never live in city again. best stop in sydney.

go to the lowenbrau on sat night in city, german theme pub, best craic. its off george st, near top take a left at the orient hotel and is next street up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

empirix wrote: »
    But then the weekend arrives ....stay in manly or go to cbd/cross etc and your lucking at a steep enough taxi fare back(no trains to manly)

The late buses used to run till about 3 when I was there. Takes about 30 mins on a bus from CBD -> Manly or 20 mins in a taxi. Don't fall asleep on it though, you end up about the same distance again, past Manly.

I agree about the ferry ride though. It's great as a tourist. Not so nice as a commute. If you miss it you've 30 mins to wait till the next one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

TillyGirl wrote: »
    BONDI JUNCTION!! its the best compromise, 20 min walk (5min bus) to beach, brill nightlife, train to city, massive shopping centre with cheap night tuesday cinema. Lived there for 6 months, city for 2, would never live in city again. best stop in sydney.

go to the lowenbrau on sat night in city, german theme pub, best craic. its off george st, near top take a left at the orient hotel and is next street up.

lowenbrau - this is down whats known as the "Rocks", couple of good bars there,including the mercantile irish bar - go there on a sunday if your feeling home sick and take in Shaylee wild lol! its gotta be done:)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

empirix wrote: »
    home sick and take in Shaylee wild lol! its gotta be done:)

Scarrrrry lady:eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 GregsAmgryTooth

newtown is full of abbos. i lived in surrey hills for a while, cleveland street, found it very central for working and socialising, very near to central station.
    the lowenbrau was jjust opened as i was leaving, i remember queing up there for agesone night only to be refused entry for no apparent reason, i didnt go back again.
    theres a few great bars and clubs down side streets off georges street before circular quay, only found them not long before i left. in fairness, its hard to beat the tea gardens on a friday night. ive never been in a place thats so easy to score. the courthouse on taylor sq was always an adventure as was T2 across the way at 7am. the best city in the world and ive lived in london, berlin and NY and Boston.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

newtown is full of abbos. .

The "Aussies are/aren't a big bunch of racists" thread is that way. ->

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 GregsAmgryTooth

abbos, native australians, aboriginies same difference. they all ask you for a fag and a spare buck and drink goon and sniff petrol.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

dont forget that they all eat their own children....

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭Coileach dearg

newtown is full of abbos.

I'd rather see them there than the likes of you anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,868 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Newtown isnt that bad. Theres plenty more abbos in Perth, and they're way dodgier!
    Actually, if u wanna live near newtown, i lived in the sydney terraces. its 2 mins down the road and good craic. basically just a loada rented houses full of backpackers. its not near a beach or anything but bondi junction is only a few stops on the train from newtown! rent is also cheap. 145 each a week.

and whats all this about the coogee bay hotel??

Does nobody remember The Coogee Bay Hotel Poo incident ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

newtown is full of abbos. i lived in surrey hills for a while, cleveland street, found it very central for working and socialising, very near to central station.
    Isnt Surrey hills a gay area, its OK mate I'm not judging
    the lowenbrau was jjust opened as i was leaving, i remember queing up there for agesone night only to be refused entry for no apparent reason,
    Did you use the words Abbos?
    i didnt go back again.
    Did they ask you not to bother?

its hard to beat the tea gardens on a friday night.
    Oh dear christ on a bike you cant be serious. :eek:
    the best city in the world and ive lived in london, berlin and NY and Boston.
    All those capitals and you still cant use them in a paragraph.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

I think Randwick would be a good compromise for you. Handy for both the city and the beach, and probably cheaper rent than both of them. I do have a soft spot for Bondi though, don't know why.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

The_B_Man wrote: »
    Newtown isnt that bad. Theres plenty more abbos in Perth, and they're way dodgier!
    Actually, if u wanna live near newtown, i lived in the sydney terraces. its 2 mins down the road and good craic. basically just a loada rented houses full of backpackers. its not near a beach or anything but bondi junction is only a few stops on the train from newtown! rent is also cheap. 145 each a week.

and whats all this about the coogee bay hotel??

Does nobody remember The Coogee Bay Hotel Poo incident ??

I had friends who lived in Sydney Terraces, its actually Enmore/Marrickville its not to bad around there, more Ideal for short term dead close to the airport.

Living close to the city beaches is not all its cracked up to be, It tends to attract fair share of idiots. I used to live in Carrington Road Randwick which is near Coogee, then I caught myself on and moved from there to Croydon which is 13km out of the city on the parramatta road.... far better craic around there.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

abbos, native australians, aboriginies same difference. they all ask you for a fag and a spare buck and drink goon and sniff petrol.

Me = part 'abbo' as you say. The petrol over here in Ireland just isnt the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 48 paidi09

is it possible to get short term accomodation (few months) apart from hostels in any of these areas? a room in a house would be ideal?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

paidi09 wrote: »
    is it possible to get short term accomodation (few months) apart from hostels in any of these areas? a room in a house would be ideal?
    Yeah plenty of shared houses around, after xmas would be much better before xmas it's tough
    gumtree.com.au is your best bet and it is free.

• Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭preddy

Tamamara area/beach just between Bondi and Bronte great little spot

preddy wrote: »
    Tamamara area/beach just between Bondi and Bronte great little spot

Thats near the graveyard isnt it? Damn nice walk around there.

They used to say the rip on Tamamara was really bad hence no one swam there. Plus as a result Models used to use the beach as it was nice and small and uncrowded.

never tested this:(

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭myhorse

Zambia232 wrote: »
    They used to say the rip on Tamamara was really bad hence no one swam there. Plus as a result Models used to use the beach as it was nice and small and uncrowded.

known locally as glamarama. The more beautiful women like it there because its known as a gay beach and thus they can sun bathe in peace.

myhorse wrote: »
    known locally as glamarama. The more beautiful women like it there because its known as a gay beach and thus they can sun bathe in peace.

Except for the fact that there is a high walkway that goes around the top of it that allows a full view down to the beach itself. :)

Tamarama_Beach.jpg

This is Tamarama for those who are not nearby. Lovely place.

Jumpy wrote: »
    Except for the fact that there is a high walkway that goes around the top of it that allows a full view down to the beach itself. :)

Lot of days happily spent with your binoculars Jumpy ;)

Only been there a few times and forgot the binoculars every time. Sometimes its hard to remember the truly important things. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Jumpy wrote: »
    Only been there a few times and forgot the binoculars every time. Sometimes its hard to remember the truly important things. :)

And a stand for the binoculars, surely?

So what is the average rent do ye guys pay? For example for a room would about 250 a week and 550 a week for an apartment be average?

• Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭preddy

jank wrote: »
    So what is the average rent do ye guys pay? For example for a room would about 250 a week and 550 a week for an apartment be average?

Gumtree.com.au is the best site but prices range on quality and if your sharing or not, your not far off there- alot wont rent to sharing lads (Irish lads) esp
    Zambia232 wrote: »

Yea found it got rough mid January but thats what the lifeguards are for :) na bronte and bondi are only a 5min fabulous walk either direction if it rough but much more chilled beach full of the Models mentioned above i might add!

preddy wrote: »
    Gumtree.com.au is the best site but prices range on quality and if your sharing or not, your not far off there- alot wont rent to sharing lads (Irish lads) esp

Thanks, Looking for a place for a couple so a room share will be that bit harder to come by but is what I am after short term anyway.