Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

506 paying customers for Shels v Millwall

• 22-07-2009 1:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,215 ✭✭✭

A fair amount were Millwall fans as well!

Surely that's cost cash-strapped Shels a fair few bob?

Any idea how much it would cost to bring Millwall over for that game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

I was one of the unfortunate 506. I highly doubt a team like Millwall can charge for preseason friendlies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Bout 70 odd Millwall fans (mainly all English and as like last season they were gents).

We made a profit of about €2,000 on the match. Millwall got €1,400 which I presume the majority is all expenses and stuff.

Think that gets me is the way the Guards have a field day on this match, I'd guess there was about 12 Gardai in the ground, 2 mounted units outside (lads on horses) and the a riot van with the oul public order unit.

bohsman you weren't one of the 3 BSC escorted from the New Stand? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,792 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Surely Millwall would be paying Shels?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭blue-army

bohsman wrote: »
    I was one of the unfortunate 506. I highly doubt a team like Millwall can charge for preseason friendlies.
    We had to pay Ipswich €15,000!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

The attendance was 506? :eek:

Wow. What was the score anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

That_Guy wrote: »
    The attendance was 506? :eek:

Wow. What was the score anyway?

Shels lost 1-0, to an OG late on.

I wasn't at this game because Boardeaux were playing last night.

Meh, the game means nothing to Shels fans, I mean it's hardly Real Madrid now is it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Millwall's reputation may have put off the casual (no pun intended) punter.

Also sandwiched between the Madrid and Red Bull games, I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

blue-army wrote: »
    We had to pay Ipswich €15,000!

Suckers. CCFC had to pay them nada apart from flights. Pretty sure Waterford only had to pay for flights over?

Why would people expect there would be much more than 500 for Milwall? Not like they are a big draw, or even a much higher standard than the top half of the LOI premier division.

gimmick wrote: »
    Why would people expect there would be much more than 500 for Milwall? Not like they are a big draw, or even a much higher standard than the top half of the LOI premier division.

There were more than 1100 in Tolka for the Fungal game last weekend. 70 of them were Mushrooms.

Big difference between a top of the table clash and a stupid meaningless friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,072 ✭✭✭✭event

i couldnt understand why they were brought over, i doubt they have very many fans in ireland.

event wrote: »
    i couldnt understand why they were brought over,

I doubt if they were, in fact, "brought over". I'd say they went looking for pre-season games, and Shels obliged. We played them last summer as well.
    i doubt they have very many fans in ireland.

Me too.

i couldnt understand why they were brought over, i doubt they have very many fans in ireland.

Apart from the big Premier League clubs, no one is being brought over. Ipswich were not brought over, nor were Leyton Orient by Kildare. They do not look for a fee either. They see it as a great runabout against teams who are mid season and have their fitness levels very high.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Des wrote: »
    Shels lost 1-0, to an OG late on.

I wasn't at this game because Boardeaux were playing last night.

Meh, the game means nothing to Shels fans, I mean it's hardly Real Madrid now is it.

At the end of the day we still a Division 1 team so gonna be hard to get huge friendlies they will look to the top teams in the country. Roll on next year and we will get the big boys:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

The OG was in the first half, Des. As for the attendance, would you expect any more between a team who averages just under 1000 for our actual league games that we care about, and a team with no real support over here. I went, because it was Shels, but there was nothing else about it that made it worth going if you're not a diehard Shels or Milwall fan. As long as the club didn't lose money, which it didn't, and it got a few young lads a runout, its a good thing for the club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

Might be an idea to merge this into the Shels thread btw.

DSB wrote: »
    The OG was in the first half, Des.

Apologies, I don't really know why I thought it was late on.

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

gimmick wrote: »
    or even a much higher standard than the top half of the LOI premier division.

Nonsense. Its a much much higher standard.

You think?

How do you reckon Millwall would fare against RBS?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭ciaran76

If they played an imaginery team called Hardchester I am sure they would have filled the place !:D

Also, how much of LoI Games, and whatever division Millwall are in do you actually watch to make that statement?

Is that asked to me ?

ciaran76 wrote: »
    Is that asked to me ?

Nah, yer woman Theresa up there.

lol ok

Well first off, without having to watch any football in either division I know that Serie A is a much higher standard than the conference. So it follows that a team in the Irish FIRST division (of which there are only two) have no where near the standard of footballers in the English 3rd.

Shels are essentially a part time club too, Milwall are fully professional. You really think a two-bit team like Shels have the same standard as a fully professional team?

Well first off, without having to watch any football in either division I know that Serie A is a much higher standard than the conference. So it follows that a team in the Irish FIRST division (of which there are only two) have no where near the standard of footballers in the English 3rd.

Shels are essentially a part time club too, Milwall are fully professional. You really think a two-bit team like Shels have the same standard as a fully professional team?

It actually read like you were making a comparison between the higher LoI Premier Division Teams (CCFC, Derry, Bohs, Rovers) and whatever level Millwall play at.

You really think a two-bit team like Shels have the same standard as a fully professional team?

Is two-bit a new type of player payment structure that I haven't heard of?

I have heard of part-time and full-time, mind.

Standard of football in the league is tripe. Thats why people dont watch it.

Even Bohs, Derry whoever arent of the same standard as Millwall, no matter which way you want to look at it.

Nice edit btw. ;)

What evidence do you have for this claim?

I'm dying to know.

Do you watch either league on anything like a regular basis, or are you just being a typical ignoramus dismissing something you have little to no experience of?

I never thought I'd see that happen on Boards.ie

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I had absolutely no idea the game was on...

Wouldn't have gone to it, but no idea nevertheless

Nope it isn't

How often do you watch League One out of interest. I want a simple answer of how many league One matches you went to see or saw on the telly in the last 12 months. If you give me some wishy washy rubbish like you tend to do, I will dismiss your opinion as nonsense.
    It actually read like you were making a comparison between the higher LoI Premier Division Teams (CCFC, Derry, Bohs, Rovers) and whatever level Millwall play at.

That is what I meant. And from someone who actually travels regularly to see League One a number of times a season, I would suggest that the likes of CCFC, DCFC, Bohs, Shams would be very comfortable in League One.

They were brought over due to Keely being mates with their assistant manager or something like that. We made a €2,000 profit so it wasn't a waste. I was over at the Millwall entrance and well outta the 70 or so Millwall fans I'd say a few were Irish but were with English people.

If that performance last night was anything to go by Millwall would struggle in the LOI. Richie Baker was by far the best player on the pitch.

bohsman wrote: »
    If that performance last night was anything to go by Millwall would struggle in the LOI. Richie Baker was by far the best player on the pitch.

...and it wasn't anything close to a "full" Shels team, we were peppered with Triallists and U20s.

You cannot read anything into pre season friendlies. The LOI club will not go full tilt in case of injuries, the foreign team will not be near full fitness and so on.

More than Theresa has to go on.

I'd say I've watched less than 10full league one matches over the season, I generally watch the "big league weekend" show every weekend though, I'd also watch mns a good bit ,have been to maybe 15 Kildare county matches and used to always watch the tv3 magizine on loi. If there is football on tv I'd usually watch it.

There is no comparison between the loi and English league football. Football is the national sport in England, it's played everywhere. Even triallists that go from here to english clubs always comment on how the standard is so much higher. Milwall are a fully professional club with a 20k seater stadium,they play in the 3rd highest league in the English game (regarded as one of the best in the world). You can't tell me the standard between them and a barely followed league with a lot of part time clubs is similar?

Besides all that, even watching the game being played you can see that the Irish game is technically and physically poor compared to league one or two!

I have been to maybe 15 Kildare county matches

Your research methods may a little remiss here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

Last time I checked it was the highest standard of football being played in the country so God help us.

There must be only 4-5 countries in the world where the standard isn't "tripe" by your own conclusions

stovelid wrote: »
    Your research methods may a little remiss here.

LOL true lay off tho they are improving!! I've been to a few ucd ones too in the last 3 years!

Besides all that, even watching the game being played you can see that the Irish game is technically and physically poor compared to league one or two!

Wrong again. If you have ever had the mispleasure to see Dagenham & Redbridge, or Barnet, or Chester play you would know that even LOI division one is comparable. LOI premier teams would destroy them.

Top LOI teams would beat the crap out of any bottom half league one team and would compete for promotion. Just because teams play in better stadiums does not mean you are a better standard of player.

Of course the only way of knowing for certain is iof these teams played a competive game or two, which aint going to happen. Until then, I can only go by what I see before my own eyes almost every weekend of the year.

LOL true lay off tho they are improving!! I've been to a few ucd ones too in the last 3 years!

The fact remains that Cork, Rovers, Derry and especially Bohs could more than hold their own against a lot of League one teams.

You are applying an EPL yardstick to the other English leagues.

I have to disagree, and it most definitely isnt a fact. I don't see it. Obviously this is going to go around in circles so its rather pointless. But Ive made my position known and you've all made yours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

But you watch it. And the league whipping boys too. 5 points in 18 games! Hardly a great gauge on top football in Ireland!
    Well, you saw kildare play, so you must know your stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Its a crying shame that the League can no longer bring over top name opposition on a regular basis.

In the 1990s every week there was a pre season friendly with some big team. In 1996 Shels played full strength Leeds United, and Man United teams, while also having Sunderland (just promoted) and St Johnstone (also promoted) in town. I also recall full strength West Ham, Notts Forest, Everton, Liverpool travelling to Dublin and Ireland.

Real Madrid aside, since summer soccer became the nor, we just have not had that anymore :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,047 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Het-Field wrote: »
    Its a crying shame that the League can no longer bring over top name opposition on a regular basis.

Real Madrid aside, since summer soccer became the norm, we just have not had that anymore :(

We have had more success in European competitions than ever though.

Real Madrid aside, since summer soccer became the nor, we just have not had that anymore :(

Well Leeds was an ok earner for us, is going to pay for 2 weeks wages (€15,000) and we made about €1,000 on the programme selling which balances the progamme account come the end of the season.

Also got to play some trialists, and under-20 lads, one of which started the next League game against Fingal (good man Nipper).

Not all bad.

Any profit from friendlies, make friendlies worth while tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,215 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

In the 1990s every week there was a pre season friendly with some big team. In 1996 Shels played full strength Leeds United, and Man United teams, while also having Sunderland (just promoted) and St Johnstone (also promoted) in town. I also recall full strength West Ham, Notts Forest, Everton, Liverpool travelling to Dublin and Ireland.

There's far more money for the EPL sides to travel half way round the world then to come to Ireland.

Isn't there a rumour that a big EPL side may still make it here to bail-out play a premier club this summer.

On the whole, the top EPL clubs consider the Irish market to be already cornered. The 'emerging markets' (especially the far east) are where they want to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

We have had more success in European competitions than ever though.

Absolutly. I recall a terrible night when Akranes of Iceland took Shelbourne apart in Tolka Park in 1995 in a European Qualification tie. Then of course there was the time when St Pats lost 10-0 on aggregate to a side from Moldova.

At least we are virtually guaranteed entry into 2nd round qualification each time