Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Headin to vegas for 3 days

• 22-07-2009 9:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭

Lads im headin to vegas for three days and i was talking to a few friends that have already been there. They were saying there are pretty much no tourneys with a buy in for less than $50? IS that rigth or can ye point me in the direction of some lower value tourneys i can start off with over there before i move up the tourney levels. I'd prefer to settle in and get comfortable playing a 20-30 dollar buy in and then move up than feel uncomfortable playing a $100 tournament and move down the levels if ye get me...

Also any reasonable hotels?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,399 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Listing of lots of Vegas tourneys, plenty in the $30-50 range (high rake and fast structure as you'd expect).
    http://www.allvegaspoker.com/tournaments.php

• Registered Users Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭POKERKING

theres a massive vegas thread with loads of great info bu theres a 50$ freezeout in the monte carlo every morning at 9 and in the evening at some stage too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭SpencerJames

are you serious a >50 dolla tourny. I wouldnt say there is much value in going to Vegas to play less than $50 dolla. If you think bout it with the exchange rate you are looking to ply like €10 tournaments??!! Really dont think its worthwhile, The Venetian has some great tournaments for $50 and usually has a good structure. Im sure there are >50 games but really man, you are in Vegas baby!! You shouldnt really be thinking about anything lower than this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

Well im going to the states on a holiday and 4 ex-students are headin to vegas so want to do things on the cheap if thats even possible in vegas!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

The $65 one at 9pm is good fun and well run in a nice poker room. Bring jacket. Air con in on overdrive. Good table service for free drinks (have to tip of course). Get the club sandwich if hungry. Tis a beast I tell thee!

$65 at Ceasers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Whyno

Lots of great value tourneys in most of the casinos. Caesars nightly one is resonable enoughle. Cheapest tourney of i know of in vegas is in the stratosphere. From what i remember its 20-30 dollar buy in.
    Just go and enjoy the experience and buy into a decent tourney br permitting of course and give it a good spin. Best of luck

• Registered Users Posts: 17,852 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

when i was there last year, there were tournaments from $30 and up which isnt much in euro. Bring cash to vegas! do not take cash out in the casinos! they charge an unbelievable amount of commision, also try and stay in a decent loaction on the strip, ballys has an amazing location and reasonable rates (try to get north tower though). There are very cheap motels just off the strip to...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭smcb

in around that price $65 11am daily in the mgm grand. managed 3rd in it while i was there, so soft enough

• Registered Users Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

Idbatterim wrote: »
    when i was there last year, there were tournaments from $30 and up which isnt much in euro. Bring cash to vegas! do not take cash out in the casinos! they charge an unbelievable amount of commision, also try and stay in a decent loaction on the strip, ballys has an amazing location and reasonable rates (try to get north tower though). There are very cheap motels just off the strip to...

can I ask why, have booked Bally's for November

• Registered Users Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

Well im going to the states on a holiday and 4 ex-students are headin to vegas so want to do things on the cheap if thats even possible in vegas!

I did Vegas on the super cheap a few years ago.
    >$300 for a week.
    I can point you in most of the cheapo directions if you want.
    I wouldnt recommend it though.
    Accommodation was $65 for the week in the HI Vegas
    http://www.hostelbookers.com/hostels/usa/las-vegas/4390/

It was.......grim.

Free food and beer though :pac:

THink we're going to book the luxor. For 2 rooms, 3 nights its like $360 in total which doesnt seem too bad for the location.

So the next question is...bring $3000 in cash or have in bank?

the luxor is down the very south end of the strip, you are close to the mgm, excalibur, new york new york and mandalay bay. Having been to vegas several times, you can stay in ballys (amazing locationg) for the same price if not less, in equal rooms.

i have only ever stayed in north tower, before I booked i read reviews on trip advisor etc. saying when you get to hotel, at check in ask for north tower room, the south tower has some dodgy review and complaints. The room i stayed in was huge, and very nice, the price very reasonable and location on strip 2nd to none. Check out some ballys reviews online.

Idbatterim wrote: »
    i have only ever stayed in north tower, before I booked i read reviews on trip advisor etc. saying when you get to hotel, at check in ask for north tower room, the south tower has some dodgy review and complaints. The room i stayed in was huge, and very nice, the price very reasonable and location on strip 2nd to none. Check out some ballys reviews online.

Compared the price of bally's vs the luxor and we decided on the luxor for better or worse i guess we'll find out. SAving a couple of hundred by going for the luxor, They have some deals on. 2 rooms 4 people, only E20 per night per person, pretty happy with that.

cheers lads

i have also stayed in the luxor. nice hotel. its connected to the mono rail. If you got a good price thats great. As has been mentioned, when you get to vegas getting around is a nightmare, the places are so huge.