Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish student abroad - don't know what to think about the corrib protests?

Options
  • 22-07-2009 5:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1

I'm from cork, only been to mayo once. I'm studying in scotland and I've been looking up any site i can find info on the protests and at first was totally with the protest people., the gardai out number them to the point that its just over kill and bullying and then i heard about 3 fishermen having their boat sunk, and left to fend for tehmselves, which i view as attempted murder.

But then I come on here and people from mayo say that the vast majority support it.

Can any one from the area give me a level headed review of whats happening not ' tree huggers' protesting or ' evil nazi shell' just sort of, do the people of the west realy benefit from this?

I have, and always will hate the gardaí, I think they're shambolic, second class police compared to most of european police organisations. They're under trained, over violent, and always under-educated. I'm sorry but I've seen the academic requirements and they dont match what I see as the power given to the police.

Is it just the heavy handed tactics used by police that are turning me off? I also read bout the shell 'security force' having attacked people.

Can any one tell me if the gardaí are really this bad there all the time? I've read that they're even heavy handed to onlookers.

What do they do exactly?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭nayorleck114