Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stage 2 arts advice needed

• 22-07-2009 7:06pm
    Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭

Well I need some advice..Im entering stage 2 arts in September and I was planning on doing English and Economics, however I am ****ed if theres hard maths I really liked micro and macro but struggled with Intro. Should I give it up cause it will be a disaster and I'll struggle for 2 years and come out with a poor degree?

My other option is to do English and Sociology which I would hopefully get a 2.1 in. But Im **** scared that I there is no career in that. All advice greatly appreciated.

P.s I know Im doing arts and won't get a job and various other smart arse answers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Économiste Monétaire

Define "hard" maths? It's basic calculus/linear algebra, pretty much what you would have learned in Intro to Quants—just in an applied manner.

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭liamygunner29

Ya I wouldn't say Quants was crazy or anything but I did struggle. Is it possible to avoid maths? I was on to the school and they said not totally which is obvious enough but if I did would my degree be worth less?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Well I need some advice..Im entering stage 2 arts in September and I was planning on doing English and Economics, however I am ****ed if theres hard maths I really liked micro and macro but struggled with Intro. Should I give it up cause it will be a disaster and I'll struggle for 2 years and come out with a poor degree?

My other option is to do English and Sociology which I would hopefully get a 2.1 in. But Im **** scared that I there is no career in that. All advice greatly appreciated.

P.s I know Im doing arts and won't get a job and various other smart arse answers

Ah you should be alright, but if you struggled with intro to quants then I'd hit the studying hard and early in 2nd year*. Personally, having a degree of any sort isn't great for jobs, but you have to remember these questions:

How many people each year graduate with a BA?
    How many people have studied English or Economics or Sociology?
    How many finish with a very good degree in your subject areas?
    What subject did you do the best at in 1st year**?
    Are you choosing your degree subjects out of monetary gain or because you like them?

You've started an Arts degree, so regards making lots of money or even having a job that's not teaching don't hold your breath. There's architects, engineers, planners, econ & finance, law grads etc... with no concrete employment prospects in Ireland at present. Pick you subjects out of what you're good at and what interests you the most, you can do anything after an arts degree, one of my former lecturers studied english and psychology, he's now an ecologist and conservationalist working in three schools in UCD and running his landscape company. So that's disproves the rule of doing a degree in a subject(s) with few career options, fact of the matter is there's always options and a good degree is worth more than it's weight in gold than a shíte degree in subjects you're not really that interested in or good at.

Hope that helps.

*Please don't use that "Stage 2" or "Stage 3" talk, it drives me mad! It's just a rebranding of UCDD that makes the place even more knobier to the outside world "I'm Stage 4 of my BA in Culture and Shíte Studies", it's as bad as trinity with their TSM shíte!
    **Same as above

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭chave

With the new structure you will be able to avoid intermediate quants. but if you are doing a joint major in Economics and something else. you will have to do inter micro and macro and stats for economists. stats is bascially learning formula , probabilty techniques and using statistics tables. micro has a bit of basic calculus in it and macro is a lot of models and learning stuff and 2 options can avoid maths if you go with urban or transport or european. those 3 arent bad. but in stage 3 will you have to do 5 level 3 subjects. i am only going into level 3 now so not sure what they entail but be assured you will run into maths there that will make intro and inter quants look like play school stuff. make sure you dont go near game theory although its level 2 its quite tough and very very mathsy. maybe consider it a minor subject because a lot of it is very interesting , relevant and enjoyable. im doing single subject economics and i love it. anymore advice needed just ask !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Cannibal Ox

Do you what you like, and get a 2.1 in it. When you're finished, think about what you really would like to do, and if you need to do a conversion dip, do it, or if you can do a masters in an area that you're interested in straight away, do that. Don't stress over what you're doing now, enjoy college, get a decent grade and than worry what you're going to do after.
    There's lots. Besides working in a bank, or as a teacher too :pac: I've met people who've done sociology degrees and ended up as researchers in all kinds of areas, from working in market research in Dublin/London to one working with refugees in Kenya, a policy analyst, and one gender specialist in an NGO. You'd need to do a masters, and specialise in an area, but there really is a lot of things you can do with it.

I think the problem with most of the arts course in general is that nobody actually comes and tells you what you can do with what you're learning. It's kind of assumed you'll be a teacher, work in a bank or end up a lecturer.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SRFC90

I'm in the exact same position. Pretty much detested all the subjects I did, (English - all 4, Economics - all 4, and Sociology - 2), struggling alot with some of the Economics and English and havn't a clue what I'm going to do.

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 lklklk89

well horse!!!
    Did ye not like quants. It was wile boring like but sure we had great craic at it. Reading about intermediate economics, the micro becomes a lot more mathematical, and macro becomes even more boring despite Dr. Ivan Pastine's enthusiastic musings over crack cocaine. I'd say do somethin handy and forget about our career prospects and concentrate on the real issue: winning the superleague.

Tír Conaill abú.
    Arsenal abú.
    Tiobraid Arann abú.
    Eire abú.
    Leitir Ceannain abú.
    Eboué abú.

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭liamygunner29

hey lads thanks for all the great advice...SRFC its a pain in the arse but sure we'll survive.. Darren Connolly shut-up..