Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Wasted Opportunities

• 22-07-2009 11:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭

Right, so I was in town this evening for training. Afterwards, I went to the chipper with one of my best friends. We were the only two in there but soon after two Brazilian girls came in. I didn't really take notice until a few minutes later when I could see one of them looking at me from the corner of my eye. I glanced over and she was looking directly at me, and she smirked when I looked at her.
    She also happened to be ridiculously good-looking. I turned away and kind of thought nothing of it. I didn't think she was interested; I passed it off as just one of those moments where you catch someones eye.
    Alas, me and my mate left the chipper, with me making sure to have a look over at the girl while on my way out. She was looking at me again, the same faint smile on her face. We went on our way and walked by the chipper, but a phone call from one of our friends called for us to go back and meet him. Since these girls were sitting by the window, I thought it would be another chance to see if it was all in my head or if it was real. This time it was more blatant than ever. She was facing away from the window but when she saw me she turned fully around so she could look straight at me. She smiled and I smiled back and we were looking at eachother for a solid 3 seconds as I walked by. My mate obviously copped it and told me to go in and talk to her. Me, being completely stupid, decided against it and we kept walking. I have no idea what got into me. I think I just didn't have the courage... The stupid thing is that if I had a few cans in me I would have been in like a shot.

I'm kicking myself now. Could have had some quality time with her tonight! I hope I spot her around the place again cause I won't hesitate to go over and get talking to her.
    Moral of the story: If a hot girl is trying to grab your attention, don't be a complete jackass like myself, go over and talk to her.

Does anyone else have any little stories that they regret not doing anything about? I really wish I'd chanced my arm tonight!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

moneyman wrote: »
    The stupid thing is that if I had a few cans in me I would have been in like a shot.

Caint cois tine. The fact is you didn't. Some guys know exactly what to do in that situation, you're not one of them. Sadly, neither am I.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,121 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Wait. You go to the chipper after training?? Isn't that a missed opportunity in itself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Maybe you had a dirty big green one hanging from your snout and she was laughing at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Happens to every lad the odd time, you'll forget about it soon enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭moneyman

Quazzie wrote: »
    Wait. You go to the chipper after training?? Isn't that a missed opportunity in itself?

I knew someone would pick up on that. I didn't actually eat there. My friend didn't train, and he wanted something to eat. I just went with him. :)

Caint cois tine. The fact is you didn't. Some guys know exactly what to do in that situation, you're not one of them. Sadly, neither am I.

Most of the time, I actually would go over and try to get talking. I don't know what it was; maybe it was because she was Brazilian or maybe because she was so good looking it was intimidating :pac:

Maybe you had a dirty big green one hanging from your snout and she was laughing at you.

Perhaps the most likely scenario of all. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

You'll have better odds in a chipper in Gort.;)

galwayrush wrote: »

:pac::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Yeah buddy I know how you feel. It's lack of self-confidence and balls really. I remember one time at a concert I had an opportunity in a convo with a few wimmens, and I was gonna do it but I chocked. Meanwhile, a friend of mine was having much more success. Was pissed at myself for like a week.

After that, I was determined not to let my lack of balls to get in the way of another opportunity. I was at a party and I went in for the kill in probably the most retarded way you can imagine. It's as bad as I don't feel like saying it on boards. Happily enough, I think I might have passed it off as a joke. Nonetheless, it was a giant kick in the balls.

Life is unfair tbh. Ya just gotta learn the lessons, and then hopefully you'll have learnt enough to actualy execute a perfect move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

how did you know they were brazilians when you didnt speak to them?

tech2 wrote: »

My mate was with the hot girls friends a couple months back. She's definitely Brazilian. I'm assuming her friend is also Brazilian, especially considering the way they were speaking to eachother in what sounded like Portugese.
    Yeah buddy I know how you feel. It's lack of self-confidence and balls really. I remember one time at a concert I had an opportunity in a convo with a few wimmens, and I was gonna do it but I chocked. Meanwhile, a friend of mine was having much more success. Was pissed at myself for like a week.

After that, I was determined not to let my lack of balls to get in the way of another opportunity. I was at a party and I went in for the kill in probably the most retarded way you can imagine. It's as bad as I don't feel like saying it on boards. Happily enough, I think I might have passed it off as a joke. Nonetheless, it was a giant kick in the balls.

Life is unfair tbh. Ya just gotta learn the lessons, and then hopefully you'll have learnt enough to actualy execute a perfect move.

I'm gonna be kicking myself for a while, but hopefully I will see her out on Saturday night. Thing is, I'm well able to chat up a girl. I'm not akward and I usually just force myself to go over to them even if I feel like I don't have the courage. Once you force yourself a few times the whole thing becomes much easier. I just don't know what got into me this time. I think she was just too hot.

BTW, you have to share your story with your fellow boardsies! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

tech2 wrote: »

Perhaps because...

He was in Gort or Roscommon town where every second person is Brazilian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭enniscorthy

dont get me started on the beautiful little town of gort co galway W.O.N.D.E.R.F.U.L.

My mate was with the hot girls friends a couple months back. She's definitely Brazilian. I'm assuming her friend is also Brazilian, especially considering the way they were speaking to eachother in what sounded like Portugese.

I'm gonna be kicking myself for a while, but hopefully I will see her out on Saturday night. Thing is, I'm well able to chat up a girl. I'm not akward and I usually just force myself to go over to them even if I feel like I don't have the courage. Once you force yourself a few times the whole thing becomes much easier. I just don't know what got into me this time. I think she was just too hot.

BTW, you have to share your story with your fellow boardsies! :D
    Lucky you! Good luck with your Brazilian friend, hopefully you'll meet her again.

As for my story. I'll tell ye if ye remind me this day one and half years time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Right, so I was in town this evening for training. Afterwards, I went to the chipper with one of my best friends. We were the only two in there but soon after two Brazilian girls came in. I didn't really take notice until a few minutes later when I could see one of them looking at me from the corner of my eye. I glanced over and she was looking directly at me, and she smirked when I looked at her.

Sorry to break it to you mate but she was probably just after your money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

dont get me started on the beautiful little town of gort co galway W.O.N.D.E.R.F.U.L.

It has a casino and all ;)

Sorry to break it to you mate but she was probably just after your money.

Considering that I'm only 18, I highly doubt that. I don't exactly look like someone with alot of money :D

Oh the irony.

(Your username) :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Adamcp898 wrote: »
    Happens to every lad the odd time, you'll forget about it soon enough
    I haven't forgot declining to go out with a girl a year older than me when I was 11. These things linger long in the memory unfortunately. :(
    I still think about her. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Happens to us all, was sitting on a train years back listen to the radio on headphones, there was something very funny on and i was laughing away (not out loud) with my eyes closed, it got to a really funny part and i think i laughed out loud or something, i realised were i was and opened my eyes and there was this extremely good looking girl opposite me, smiling at me. I quickly looked away then looked back a moment later and she was still smiling at me. It was another 10 minutes before my stop and i spend them 10 minutes trying to get up the courage to say something to her. Alas my stop came and i got up and walked out, with her still staring and smiling at me (not in a creepy way:D).
    Yes i'm a coward in them situations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

D.E.F.O.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

She also happened to be ridiculously good-looking. I turned away and kind of thought nothing of it. I didn't think she was interested; I passed it off as just one of those moments where you catch someones eye.
    Alas, me and my mate left the chipper, with me making sure to have a look over at the girl while on my way out. She was looking at me again, the same faint smile on her face. We went on our way and walked by the chipper, but a phone call from one of our friends called for us to go back and meet him. Since these girls were sitting by the window, I thought it would be another chance to see if it was all in my head or if it was real. This time it was more blatant than ever. She was facing away from the window but when she saw me she turned fully around so she could look straight at me. She smiled and I smiled back and we were looking at eachother for a solid 3 seconds as I walked by. My mate obviously copped it and told me to go in and talk to her. Me, being completely stupid, decided against it and we kept walking. I have no idea what got into me. I think I just didn't have the courage... The stupid thing is that if I had a few cans in me I would have been in like a shot.

I'm kicking myself now. Could have had some quality time with her tonight! I hope I spot her around the place again cause I won't hesitate to go over and get talking to her.
    Moral of the story: If a hot girl is trying to grab your attention, don't be a complete jackass like myself, go over and talk to her.

Does anyone else have any little stories that they regret not doing anything about? I really wish I'd chanced my arm tonight!!

Oh you went on walking with your mate, rather than the hot Brazilain chick??? :eek:
    You my friend has what is known as "the Ghey"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭anti chris-t

i missed an opportunity with an american girl in galway last weekend. A group of us went down to watch a football match and went out on the beer afterwards. I got with an american girl and i asked her where she was staying. I didnt really hear her but i started talking about something else and i got her number and was supposed to ring her later on. I never bothered in the end cos i didnt wanna get split up with the rest of the guys. I woke up in the hostel the next morning and she was in the room chatting to one of the guys. It turns out she was staying in the same hostel in the room next to me. I was only down for the one night and i was never so disgusted with myself not to have bothered asking her again where she staying, but thats life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Y'all need to be taking advice from that Wexford Hurling Playa!!

www.kamalifestyles.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

K4t wrote: »
    I haven't forgot declining to go out with a girl a year older than me when I was 11. These things linger long in the memory unfortunately. :(
    I still think about her. :pac:

Still thinking about a 12 year old?

Sick bastard.. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Pop's Diner

For a start she was in a chipper so she probably wasn't as good-looking as you describe her OP. I think you just got temporary beer-goggles because any woman was giving you a bit of attention.

For a start she was in a chipper so she probably wasn't as good-looking as you describe her OP.

Yeah cause no good looking women ever eat chips. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,503 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

DubMedic wrote: »
    D.E.F.O.

MATE

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Yeah cause no good looking women ever eat chips. :rolleyes:

I didn't say that. I suggested that, by the law of averages, she was probably a greasy fat pig.

Or are chip-shops now the new hang-out of people interested in their looks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'm assuming her friend is also Brazilian, especially considering the way they were speaking to eachother in what sounded like Portugese.

I've heard it's spoken in Portugal too. Could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Brazzer does not mean Brazilian

I didn't say that. I suggested that, by the law of averages, she was probably a greasy fat pig.

But by the law of averages if she was Brazilian she was probably better looking than the average Irish fat greasy chip-shop bird that you yourself seem to know so well. ;)

I'm sure by the law of averages there's plenty of ugly Brazilian women. I mean take Ronaldinho for example. By the law of averages he has a sister and by the law of averages with simililar dna to him she is probably a greasy ugly yoke , by the law of averages.

Also I have been known to walk past a various chipper and glance at the cliental within. What was contained didn't exactly ever set my pulse racing.

Ah yes but Various Chippers are the worst chain of chippers going. Walk by, say, a McDonald's and glance inside and you will be treated to a veritable feast of nubile talent of the female variety.

Honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

yeah but the wimmin would be sh1te.

genericguy wrote: »
    yeah but the wimmin would be sh1te.

A lot o'Brazilians in Gort young man.

Saw her on Saturday night in a club. Unfortunately it was pretty late when I found out she was there and I'd already pulled a different girl who was hanging out of me. She also was with some Brazilian guy. Our eyes met again as she was leaving and we made eye contact for longer than you normally would with a random girl.

I should see her again at the weekend. This time, though, I might....you know.... talk to her :eek:;)

BTW, Pop's Diner, she is really, really hot. I wouldn't have made a thread about some fat, greasy bird. If I end up not pulling this one in the next couple weeks there is something wrong with me!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭shamrock2004

Well my story isn't of a missed opportunity but I suppose it's worth sharing.
    I was out in a nice little restaurant in Dublin with my cous and a mate after having a nose bag. The next thing in walks a gorgeous looking girl with exactly the looks I love in a girl - the mediterranean look, brown eyes, black hair etc etc (She was Italian). She sits herself at a table very close to ours and proceeds to read a book while she waited for the waitress to come over as she was on her own.My cous nudges me with his elbow and pointed her out. I was smitten of course and I told my cous. He dared me to go over and ask her out and I said no way. But then me being a big 'Only Fools & Horses Fan', I thought of Derek Trotter and his famous one liner - 'He who dares wins'; What the hell I thought, I had nothing to lose and I probably wouldn't see her again. So I told my cousin, you get the paper and pen and I'll scribble me number down. He gladly obliged and as we payed the bill and went to leave, I went over to her, said hello, where are you from etc... Gave her my number and said if she would like to meet just text me. Monday comes, the text comes in and the rest is history! Moral of the story - 'He who dares, wins!'. Most of the time a girl would be really flattered if a guy had the balls to walk over and ask her out. Try it! You will be pleasantly suprised ;)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,595 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

2 Brazilian? That's a hell of a lot of wimmins :PAC:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

MMM I Likes A Brazilan so i does.

Try it! You will be pleasantly suprised ;)

I did try it and I was pleasantly surprised the stories I too could make up.

Thanks shamrock2004
    MMM I Likes A Brazilan so i does.

Enough about your grooming habits - nobody cares. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

I'm a Brazilian girl who moved over to Ireland a few years ago. I just broke up with my fiancé and if I want to stay in Ireland I need to get married fast. I was in the chipper earlier on when I saw this ugly eegit who obviously had no sense. I kept trying to get his attention but he never came over to talk to me. Waster opportunity to get a green card right there!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

maybe she was a hooker and she recognized you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭blogga

Mrmoe wrote: »
    maybe she was a hooker and she recognized you.
    at last

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭shamrock2004

I did try it and I was pleasantly surprised the stories I too could make up.

Thanks shamrock2004

Erm I didn't make it up. Why would I?

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭damienmcd

Had a similar situation about 2 years ago. I was working in my college and there were 2 girls in from Brown Thomas doing a promotion. One of them was an absolute stunner (had gorgeous hazel eyes, brown hair with blonde streaks and was really sound too). I was talking to her for about 15 - 20 minutes and all was going well. Then I got a call to go and do some actual work for a few minutes and when I was leaving she said she'd be there for another half hour or so and to come back for a chat.
    Foolishly I finished the work I was doing within about 20 minutes and looked out the office window to see if she was still there. She was but they were packing up their display stuff so at that stage I should have gone back down.
    Being the retard that I am I left it about another 10 minutes before going back down to where they were. No surprise here but they were gone.
    Really regretted it for weeks after coz she was one of the most gorgeous girls I had ever seen and she was amazingly sound. Could have been something in there.
    I'm a retard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 couch13

Dont worry about it.

I just remembered this thread, and as embarrassing as it is with the benefit of hindsight, I thought it fitting to end this mini-saga by saying that nearly three years later, the girl in the OP is now my girlfriend. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

fotos ou dar o fora:D

Thanks Google translate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Was leaving a club there not too long ago, and as i passed by this alley i say a young wan lying in a heap. She was obviously twisted drunk. I walked on. That was a missed oppertunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

Was leaving a club there not too long ago, and as i passed by this alley i say a young wan lying in a heap. She was obviously twisted drunk. I walked on. That was a missed oppertunity.
    Indeed. You could have robbed her purse.