Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BMW M3 - Would you ?

• 23-07-2009 7:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭

So,

Been thinking i'd rent a nice car just to do my weekly commute for a change.

So was thinking of renting a BMW 5 series or something, then I saw that Sixt.de have a deal at the moment (in Germany) for an M3 for 95 a day (for 7 days minimum)

6 - 13th of August
    665 euros ...

So tempted .... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

665 seems a bit excessive but..up to you!
    don't think I would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭samsemtex

I would rent it for one day at €95, maybe 2 but there is no way i would pay €665 for it. Especially when you consider a week driving an M3 will cost a small fortune on petrol. Petrol on top of that will sure cost you another €200 if you are driving it as much as possible which i assume is the whole point of renting it for a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

I'd do a weekend, not a whole week.
    Which has just set me thinking, I'm going to Germany for my 21st birthday soon and am renting a car from Sixt. I know there are age limits on their upper cars, but in Germany it's much lower than most..
    Meh, hardly.. It'd probably be 25. :( The dream lives on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

That's a lot for a week!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭craichoe

cianclarke wrote: »
    I'd do a weekend, not a whole week.
    Which has just set me thinking, I'm going to Germany for my 21st birthday soon and am renting a car from Sixt. I know there are age limits on their upper cars, but in Germany it's much lower than most..
    Meh, hardly.. It'd probably be 25. :( The dream lives on...

They only require our over 21 and have your license for 2 years.

Ah lads .. your turning me off the whole idea now :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

craichoe wrote: »

IT would be an experience yes!
    but not for that price!

craichoe wrote: »

I just checked, it's 25 and 3..!
    21 and 2 years for Jag XF, BMW 3er Saloon or 1er Convertible though! :D

cianclarke wrote: »
    I just checked, it's 25 and 3..!
    21 and 2 years for Jag XF, BMW 3er Saloon or 1er Convertible though! :D

Baaaasterds ... they said 21 and 2 on the phone ...

Doesn't matter to me anyway, have a corporate card :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,595 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

**** it - it's only money. Go for it!

Did i mention 100km of my Commute is untrestricted Autobahn ..... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Is that unlimited mileage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,883 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Is there a rev limit? If not, go for it :D

Don't let the Kia & Toyota boys tell you it is bad value for money :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Hotwheels

Nice idea, but why not blow the money on a halfway desent hire car and a blast round the Nurburgring...:)
    A few laps of the ring would be better imo....won't have been the first hire-car round the Ring:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

I'd go for a 911 for 3 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I'd go for a 911 for 3 days.
    Was thinking the same thing myself.

Anan1 wrote: »
    Was thinking the same thing myself.

No more 911's hired from Sixt, apparently they kept having to replace tyres.

The 7 days on the M3 includes 2500 km.

Looks now at a Jaguar XJ for 181.20 for 3 days ?

EDIT
    with 900 KM ...

How I wish I was 25.. Still, that Jaguar XF is a tempting luxobarge for when I turn 21. That, or check the forecast and get the BMW 1 convertible, would be epic thru the alps...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,545 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I would go for M3 based on 2500 km useage. Would be a week to remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,809 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Porsche for 3 days...., and This for 2 :)

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

nope. for a week, itll cost ya the best part of a grand. do that six- seven times and ya have enough to buy one! ok...itll be an e36 but feck it! id do it for a day or two, but 665 euro minimum...i wouldnt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

no point in telling you to take it for a day or two... as per OP min 7 days.....

if you have never driven one and this looks like your only chance to do it, for the near future...
    DO IT... feck it all....
    spend the money .... and most of all ENJOY!!!!
    wickedly fun cars, not just on straight autobahns, a lot of cars can match its top speed in germany as all high end units are restricted to 155mph...
    germany motor manufactures contribution to the green party :D
    but the M3 is more fun on the back windy roads with corners!!!:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Yes yes yes... I would... my ultimate car (ultimate as in I will probably get one eventually)... they're superb!!!!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 40,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Remember that Sixt.de will be like any car rental company and will ensure that you pay for any damage to the car (get out the KY jelly!).
    Be careful with what you sign and be sure to take plenty of pics before you hire the car and as you are returning it!