Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Kings of Concrete 2009 - Photo Thread

• 25-07-2009 7:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭

I figured a thread for this couldn't hurt, so post you pics! Also, ThOnda and Humberklog, t'was a pleasure to meet you today.

Just home after day one, so had a quick flick through the shots.

3755022429_665ff8a060.jpg?v=0
    3755022013_7c9edd13a5.jpg?v=0
    3755821278_ab46b4b8e9.jpg?v=0
    3755820282_aa6a604b9e.jpg?v=0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

I think I seen you guys there chatting, were you's beside the irish girl raping?

I really enjoyed it but I cannot take pictures, their all blurry? never did sports before, couldnt even get any good shots of the parkour'

i'm going again tomorrow with my nephew if anyone sees me say hello :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Tallon wrote: »
    I think I seen you guys there chatting, were you's beside the irish girl raping?

A raping Irish girl!? I'm glad I didn't get out of bed 'til 2 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Fajitas! wrote: »
    A raping Irish girl!? I'm glad I didn't get out of bed 'til 2 :D

@Tallon : could have been me mate, but i was all over the shop today.

Al, i actually entered a song into the Beats Battle, it was a nice feeling hearing it played that loudly in public!!

Oh, I didn't mean anything muscially, I was being pedantic with raping instead of rapping :o

I'm sure some people would consider my song to be rape of the ears! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭pete4130

I'm waiting for the photos Thonda took of me with my pants down....literally...

pete4130 wrote: »
    I'm waiting for the photos Thonda took of me with my pants down....literally...

Experimenting with over exposure as well? :D

A few I took, will be there again tomorrow :)

2A2C4A6855C746249567F2CBFA6CE56A-500.jpg

099EB6A71C0840FFAD0815881A801AE6-500.jpg

F4CCAD33835A4420B4DA7A82F2B2BDCC-500.jpg

Dragan wrote: »
    Experimenting with over exposure as well? :D

No lie....he took me from behind...he better post them after I've written this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Fook this, this is all I'm doing for tonight.

D6C81A39B88740BA809B2946632E0A5A-800.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭CasimiR

No lie....he took me from behind...he better post them after I've written this!

i think i actually witnessed that ... :eek:

anyway, nice day =)

3756405742_bb3315c83e.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

Here lads whats the weather for tomorrow heading up with a buddy for the DC thing...

met.ie says rain but what do ye think?

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭ThOnda

Me says - wet suit and heading for the coast :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Ah what the heck, I'm awake 20 hours so far on about 3-ish hours of bad sleep. Here, have another

251B1DA84FE447198AD740C07C78D944-800.jpg

ThOnda wrote: »
    Me says - wet suit and heading for the coast :pac:

Yeah I could have been going surfing today but im getting the train up.. Hopefully its worth my while!

9D31C6645C6C4239994C5EABB5D6B975-800.jpg

E4C3325CED9C4D47AD59EEA4D7CFAEA9-800.jpg

3D47B427B49B4773BD1933D77E3BC11F-800.jpg

9A06FFE5FF944898AAC210AA9BB65EF3-800.jpg

F5489D467EFE4C50A636E8B3625DA123-800.jpg

5D107783BB5242438566382FACB38A4A-800.jpg

Just a note, only processing done were just tiny hints with exposure correction and crop. My eyes are tired for more processing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

Artist doing a very good impersonation of his art :D:pac:

3756775730_6affbaedd7.jpg

A B-Boy

3756004677_2f60cba828.jpg

Kid bringin' it! Crowd went NUTS for this :D

3756039015_cd5b0a163d.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭AnCatDubh

A few I took, will be there again tomorrow :)
    F4CCAD33835A4420B4DA7A82F2B2BDCC-500.jpg

love this - nicely caught. i'd crop a tiny bit off the top here.

AnCatDubh wrote: »
    love this - nicely caught. i'd crop a tiny bit off the top here.

I only noticed it after I uploaded it :(

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,584 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I think that could have been Sineadw, ChallengeM, darreng and me. If there was a handsome brute looking all quzzical at a Canonet then that was me. Got it working too Sinead, so should have some result by the middle of next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭DutchGuy

Was there for a little bit yesterday. Here's one of the few that came out halfway decent.

BBA61E490E6149A2AD45EC54766495E9-800.jpg

Another batch is uploaded to my Flickr set. The picture is link to the set.
    3759464052_eee81ea41f.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Simplicius

Hi Humberklog, good to see you today, I saw that Canonet, and then stumbled across a guy using a Bronica ETRS ... there is still some from the Axis of Analog going quietly about their business. I'll hopefully get around to developing my negs tomorrow evening and scan the day after.
    humberklog wrote: »
    I think that could have been Sineadw, ChallengeM, darreng and me. If there was a handsome brute looking all quzzical at a Canonet then that was me. Got it working too Sinead, so should have some result by the middle of next week.

I think that was Dazftw with the Bronica.

I really must get my Canonet fixed. It's in a right state now :-/

Simplicius wrote: »
    Hi Humberklog, good to see you today, I saw that Canonet, and then stumbled across a guy using a Bronica ETRS ... there is still some from the Axis of Analog going quietly about their business. I'll hopefully get around to developing my negs tomorrow evening and scan the day after.

Good to meet you too. It was a very productive weekend for putting faces and words to people from here. They're some beautiful cameras you had with you.
    I saw Dragan again today although I didn't stop to chat as he looked very busy.

Flippin' Nora there were some amount of cameras knockin about.

I think that was Dazftw with the Bronica.

I really must get my Canonet fixed. It's in a right state now :-/

I was there but didn't have the bronica out(saw the guy who had the bronica though), was in a bad spot at the top of the stairs.. :P Load of photographers there which was pretty cool! Some chap on the stairs though shooting with a flash blasting the lads in the face 2 -3 times panning with them as they were jumping down the stairs really dangerous stuff that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Would you belive i was in the city center on saturday and i didnt even know this was on. grrrrrrrrrrrr :mad:

Will definitly go next year though

• Registered Users Posts: 132 ✭✭madmandaniel

Guys, im completely stunned, those pictures are absolutely wonderful... top top class, i dont have a clue how you take such stunning shots with amazing colour and details...
    Did anyone manage to take any pictures of me or the other Soccer Freestylers? Would really appreciate it! :D:D
    Thanks guys, im still amazed by those pics...

Loads of photos.. not like the others but these are from a skateboards point of view.

3759164979_1a2d949e88_o.jpg

3759960372_1b8de2556f_o.jpg

3759164075_2df8729639_o.jpg

3759192909_8b01a313b0_o.jpg

3759164369_d76ac44ab9_o.jpg

3759163857_07ecdcdfae_o.jpg

3759163637_2e2605f6a6_o.jpg

^^ They are great photos, really clear.

Does anyone know, is this HK in the picture?

6B98A565034C44EB9D1C42FA6C3E6591-800.jpg

Yep, it sure is!

I just wander into shots! I've turned up in a few. Here's one another person took of me and gave me...
    E9578BB3BC87480B801F69C84CD61F8F-500.jpg

I should have some of mine up in a day or two. It'll be interesting to see how Sinead's camera is working. Although I gave it closer inspection and it looks as though the Ap shutter is stuck around an f6 stop.

I probably should have said hello!

You should have. I asked a couple of people if they were off Boards but you must have looked too scarey!!

Janey it doesn't seam to long ago that I had shoulder length blonde hair. Good god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭wreckless

nice shots lads, keep em coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭GristlyEnd

I've only processed one so far (out of approx 20 photos I took)

20090726224905_kings%20of%20concrete%20i.jpg

Ha, thats my mate Ali, I was trying to find him all day

He ended up getting hella drunk and found himself in a field somewhere in Wicklow at 4am on saturday night/Sunday morning at an outdoor rave....and still made it back to KoC on the Sunday looking worse for wear!

i know, he woke up in a bus, lol
    I was gonna pick him him but the chap doesnt know phones need power :p

There was some festival going on out that way over the weekend alright!

Some more of my faves from Day One.

3761578673_ccec136492.jpg?v=0
    3761592011_6944b06cdf.jpg?v=0
    3762398150_81c4b42ae3.jpg?v=0
    3762396232_3a0b930b1d.jpg?v=0

haha thats so funny I was talking to him on sunday and he was pretty much out of his mind! Didnt even know he was riding!

Anyone notice that alot of pics taken at KoC have extreme processing the past few years? Anyone else notice this too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 cambo

3761176965_aa815eab80_m.jpg
    3761179155_e92ffa37c4_m.jpg
    3761183013_e84b2ec925_m.jpg
    3761185125_23ec66b23f_m.jpg
    3761187801_66e1c44c33_m.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 cambo

Rest of the photos are up at

Kings of Concrete

3762002916_3fde597988_m.jpg
    3762020436_2bb82cd257_m.jpg
    3762065062_40dafa116b_m.jpg
    3761285211_492ac59a75_m.jpg
    3761290691_a2892492ce_m.jpg

3761864399_c372f924b1.jpg

Anyone notice that alot of pics taken at KoC have extreme processing the past few years? Anyone else notice this too?

I'd have to agree - Personally, I think there's a little bit too much over-sharpening/300 preset/HDR-u-like going on - I'd love to see them being kept nice and simple. Anyways, personal opinion. :)

My guess has been its "extreme" action and the extreme processing sreflects this somewhat? I also undertsand its hard to get stand out images at the KoC. I reckon there were more photog's there this year that riders/skaters!?!? :eek:
    Just look in the background of most shots....gangs of people with cameras up to their eyes :D

Well, it was my first time, first time doing outdoor with fill-in flash and enjoying motion blur during processing. I completely forgot about few things I wanted to try.
    My processing was not biased on any previous pictures, at least I don't recall seeing any pictures from last year. I just like few sharp things in the picture, if I want them there. And also the harsh light on Saturday build the urge and need in me for some sharp and bright pictures.
    That, of course, does not mean that I am happy with my pictures, how they were captured, not to mention processed. There was no single preset used during processing and no animals eaten either :pac:
    I know that my photography is bad, but I like doing it.

Edit - graphical influence of X-treme TV, clips, magazines and advertisement is to blame most. It is quite hard to see nice and pleasing picture in those media channels.

This one from Sinead's Canonet;
    B1A2858476D8494B9A88F6ACA5A112F1-500.jpg
    This one from an Olympus Trip;
    9CED6C972DA24AA195218260C5C196C6-500.jpg
    And on Minolta;

8D49D115715C40169F15E63D5F1D2115-500.jpg

Oh and these gheylords....(runs away)
    EACDC4A560B94C99AB42DC1BAE0F5732-500.jpg