Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crazy to look for a new job during the recssion?

Options
  • 25-07-2009 9:18pm
    Registered Users Posts: 25

I know I'm lucky to have a job when there are so many people being made redundant all the time but my job is really tough and I'd love something else. I've spent the day on various sites like monster and irishjobs and have found a good few that could suit me (I'm an engineer) and I'm just looking for some advice. My company is doing well and I know my job is safe so am I stupid to go to another company and risk being last in first out in the event of the company having problems? Anybody work in recruitment? I'm surprised that I found so many jobs online considering there are so many unemployed people.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Firstly, make sure the jobs aren't phantom jobs advertised by recruitment agencies.

Secondly, don't leave your job until you've found a new one.

And finally, go for it! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭brightspark

my job is really tough and I'd love something else

One thing to consider is that any new job will be tough too.

I was made redundant last year, and as a result had to find a new employer.

I took the first job I was offered (in case it was the only one!), but after only a week there I realised it wasn't the right job for me, not because it was tough, but because it didn't suit my skills.