Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick Vs. Tipperary All Ireland Semi Final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

sure i thought donie ryan got that award?
    In fairness to Donie Ryan he chipped in with a few scores now and again. This guy looks like he's been handed a bomb everytime he gets the sliothar, can't wait to punt it aimlessly away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

shockframe wrote: »
    people would want to wake up as regards to mike fitz.he is about 2/3 stone overweight from what i've heard.i know he has injuries which is unfortunate but its no excuse to be putting on that much weight.players in other counties will do everything to get back to full fitness after being injured.i would rather forget about mike fitz and focus on the players we have.james ryan,paul browne for instance.

Depends on the injury, I did both my knees in and went from 13 and half stone to pushing 17 stone, every time I tried to get fit something else would go or I'd pick up a strain or something, which actually made things worse. At one point I couldn't walk up or down stairs without feeling pain. When I hit 15 stone I was determined to get back in shape, went out hard and promptly did more damage to myself, repeated the same trick a few times til I was just below 17 stone. Have dropped a stone now and hope to drop another one in the next few months but it's only being achieved by being very careful with what training I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

When do you reckon tickets for the game will go on sale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

So many young players gone by the wayside, still though, it's better the guys who weren't willing to work are out of the panel, we put up with lousy attitudes from skilled players for too long. Not saying that applies to Mike Fitz btw, but it definitely applies to a few of the guys in Limerick hurling who are happy to be club heros but won't put in the effort to be intercounty ones.
    Mike Fitz is a prime example of how fine players can fall by the wayside. He's a fantastically intelligent hurler with skill to burn, unusual for a Limerick forward. Yet last year he seemed to balloon in weight and was a shadow of his usual self in the Clare game. Pat Tobin is another guy who could yet be sorry he walked off the panel. He is our best scoring forward next to Niall Moran, always does the business when introduced. But it seems he got too big for his boots and threw all his toys out of the pram after the Waterford replay. Brian Begley and Conor Fitzgerald are huge losses also through injury, although the latter is back playing with Adare now again. Pity to see Begley having to retire, he made a right nuisance of himself against many teams down through the years. Looks like we have found a good replacement in Paudie Mac though.

Teams like Limerick, who aren't blessed with Kilkenny's array of talent, cant afford to be losing forwards of their calibre. This chopping and changing of our forward line due to injury/loss of form has been a big factor in the weak performance of Limerick teams this decade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 ninja_45

grenache wrote: »
    Brian Begley and Conor Fitzgerald are huge losses also through injury, although the latter is back playing with Adare now again. Pity to see Begley having to retire, he made a right nuisance of himself against many teams down through the years.

Begley playing for Mungret aswell ;)

ninja_45 wrote: »
    Begley playing for Mungret aswell ;)
    Very good, i wasn't aware he was back playing club hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭The Lopper

Tipp have the better hurlers, but have they the grit to match Limerick? You get the sense that we still haven't seen the best from both sides, Tipp have fallen asleep against Cork, Clare and Waterford, whilst Limerick's half forward didn't even wake up until 10 mins in against Laois and Dublin and indeed their forwards have been a comedy of errors at stages throughout the championship. At the same time Tipp are rated as the pretenders to the throne, the only side that stand a chance at toppling Kilkenny.

So, as a Limerick man, why am I optimistic against Tipperary?

Well, this Limerick team is only coming together now. The side that started against Waterford the first day has gradually evolved into the one that finished against Dublin. Hickey/O'Mahoney shore up a half back line that's got no-nonsense hurling to burn but lacks pace. Management finally saw sense and have replaced Dave Breen with Paudie Mac at FF, who has yet to see the right ball consistently drop down on him. Shaughnessy has slowly improved from his completely lacklustre start to the championship, and we live in hope that the sight of those blue and gold jerseys will spark better form, that of the Croker days in 2007. Same goes for Donal O'Grady and Damien Reale. Niall Moran may or may not be back, and a half-forward line of Breen, Moran and James Ryan could be better than a lot of people realise. And Gavin O'Mahoney's performance against Dublin, whether he can continue his accuracy against Tipp, signposts a bright career for a young man who could have radically altered Limerick's championship journey had he not been unavailable for the Waterford matches.

But aside to all this, there is also the attitude in Limerick going into each match.

Against Waterford....well we had no idea. Wary that a defeat could spell another 2008
    Wexford...It looked like Offaly Mk II could have arrived.
    Laois...We felt we could win, but there were reservations that it would be exactly the kind of game where Limerick would get caught
    Dublin...50/50 game...no shame in losing to Dublin, they're the coming side.

The psyche of Limerick hurling, and the lack of a sharpshooting forward unit, dictates that they will never hammer a 'lesser team' They will, however, rarely be hammered as underdogs. They will fear teams such as Dublin and Laois, to a certain extent, because they do not know what to expect. Gavin O'Mahoney even admitted in an interview that they did fear Dublin.

In Limerick, we cannot wait to play Tipperary. There is a bubbling undercurrent of expectation here. People from outside the county won't understand this and point to our form in the championship so far as evidence that we are interlopers, undeserving of our spot in the last 4. Perhaps they are right. Either way, this Limerick team cannot wait to play Tipp. Of that I am nigh on certain.

I couldn't be confident of predicting a result either way. You never really can with Tipp and Limerick. But I do expect a humdinger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Carrickbhoy

pajoguy wrote: »
    Thought this thread was about Limk v Tipp???? Forget about waterford and kilkenny.

We have the bottle for it and one of the best tactical managers in the game. He will come up with a plan. Have we the hurlers to make it work??
    Possibly but it will take the greatest sacrifices ever. 3 weeks now of solid hurling for them.

J. Mc knows what he is at. After match yesterday he spoke about how tactics probably spoiled the game and he was right in one way. Were they his or Dublins tactics he didnt say. Leave Wayne Mac out and bring in Ollie. More ball winners needed. Tipps half back line weak enough.

Great to be back in croker!:D:D:D

Tipp half back line weak enough cop on boy ffs, it's probably the strongest in the championship apart from kilkenny , our half forward line is weak enough but we will still beat limerick can't see where Limerick will get there scores from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭JamieK

Tipp half back line weak enough cop on boy ffs, it's probably the strongest in the championship apart from kilkenny , our half forward line is weak enough but we will still beat limerick can't see where Limerick will get there scores from

The attitude that may lead to our downfall...:o

Seriously cannot afford to be arrogant or take anything for granted as this may lead to 2 teams who apparently have nothing to lose contesting an AI final. ;)

In agreeance about the half back line though! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Tipperary have a fantastic half back line, it would be foolish to suggest otherwise. And that in the end of the day is what the game will probably come down to. We know Tipp have the ability of racking up big scores, but will Limerick have the forwards to respond when necessary?

Daysha wrote: »
    Tipperary have a fantastic half back line, it would be foolish to suggest otherwise. And that in the end of the day is what the game will probably come down to. We know Tipp have the ability of racking up big scores, but will Limerick have the forwards to respond when necessary?

Tipp have the ability to rack up big scores in a short space of time but then face a famine mid-game which surely come an AI-semi stage will be eradicated. I feel the Limerick forwards competent enough to score enough to get the job done if they limit our scoring during our purple patch tbh as Limerick are hard to stop when the momentum gets going! Not going into this game confident I have to say. :(

I agree that the Tipp half back line is very strong indeed. Declan Fanning is so versatile, you could play him anywhere in the backline and he'd do a job. Conor O'Mahony is very dependable, not much gets past him and Stapleton is the find of the year. That said, Limerick have their own finds in Paudie McNamara at 14 and James Ryan in the half forward line. Both have made big impacts so far this year and have got better as the championship has progressed. The scores will mainly come from these guys along with the returning Niall Moran, who is worth at least 5 points in any game. Our chances of winning also depend a lot on whether Andrew O'Shaughnessy can find his form again. If you do come across it, be sure to let us know. We'd love to see it back :D

Pessimistic side of me says it will be found well and truly almost in a repeat of the 2007 semi :o lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

ah Limerick only side in the country who no1 enjoys playin cos no1 knows what they may do on any given day. 2007 sure we were supposed to arrive in Croke Park to make up the numbers, it was said that Limerick didnt have the goals in them to trouble waterford. We got 5 that day and Limerick v Tipp brings out the best in the boys in Green.

and to the poster who said Tipp are the only side who could trouble Kilkenny am 2 things;

1) 15th Feb 09. Kilkenny 0-15 Limerick 0-14
    2) 22nd Mar 09. Kilkenny 5-17 Tipp 1-12

so in short if Limerick can manage the 10 minute spell Tipp play for we can win this match and go to the All Ireland and give it a go however should Tipp win then come the first Sunday in September i will be in a Limerick pub wearing a Kilkenny jersey

Iang87 wrote: »
    ah Limerick only side in the country who no1 enjoys playin cos no1 knows what they may do on any given day. 2007 sure we were supposed to arrive in Croke Park to make up the numbers, it was said that Limerick didnt have the goals in them to trouble waterford. We got 5 that day and Limerick v Tipp brings out the best in the boys in Green.

and to the poster who said Tipp are the only side who could trouble Kilkenny am 2 things;

so in short if Limerick can manage the 10 minute spell Tipp play for we can win this match and go to the All Ireland and give it a go however should Tipp win then come the first Sunday in September i will be in a Limerick pub wearing a Kilkenny jersey
    Ooh somebody doesn't like Tipp :D To be fair i would not take the league results into account as KK are always more up for a match against Tipp (their near neighbours & pretenders to their throne) than they are for a match against Limerick. It should also be noted that KK were without their Shamrocks contingent the day they played Limerick. KK can wipe the floor with any team on any given day. They were only in cruising mode against Dublin and still won handy. They went 4 points down twice against Galway and still won by 4 points. They never panic as they know they have the ability to out-hurl any team in the land. For that reason alone i think it is irrelevant who is in the final, KK will do the 4 in a row and there's little doubt about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Tipperary will be strong favourites and deservedly so. Limerick love the plucky underdogs tag they are usually labelled with against strong opposition such as Tipp.

If someone were to ask me a month or two ago i'd say Tipp would walk the contest and destroy an average Limerick team. Now i'm not so sure, i still expect Tipperary to win but feel Limerick mightn't be brushed aside so easily. Things have come together a bit for Limerick and the wins against Dublin and Wexford show that they are progressing as a unit. I've been impressed with the way Limerick came from behind in the past 3 games to win and earn the right to be in a semi albeit on the easy side of the draw.

There is no substitution for Championship games and Limerick usually (07 excepted) are out at an early stage and so a lot of players don't get to develop to their potential.

Really looking forward to this game and am expecting a ferocious 70 minutes hurling from Limerick who have a chance of causing an upset here. C'mon Limerick!

If Tipp hurl for 70 mins there capable of beating anyone but it's a big if. I work with Eoin Larkins uncle and he was telling me the one team Kilkenny dont want to meet in d final is Tipp because Tipp always put it up to Kilkenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

I think us Limerick fans have to ask ourselves a few questions.

1) Would any of the Limerick forwards get on the Tipp team?? Not a hope.
    2) If you were told Limerick would be in the all Ireland semi final after the first waterford match would you have keeled over laughing?? Most definitely yes.

Now I'm always pessimistic with regards to big Hurling matches involving Limerick because we never know what team will turn up on the day. But realistically this is the worst ever Limerick team to get to an all-ireland semi-final but maybe the last few games have brought us on.

The sight of a Tipp jersey is like a red rag to a bull though for a Limerick man so maybe they might surprise us, who knows?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭sparkydee

Iang87 wrote: »

Seriously.......if Limerick win & if Kilkenny win I will most certainly shout for Limerick as I wouldn't like to see ANY team (apart from my own do four in a row!)
    Secondly you conveniently left out the league final. Result: Kilkenny 2-26 Tipperary 4-17 AET. They gave Kilkenny a good run that day.

I hope Tipp win, it will be a close match but I expect the Tipp's firepower among other things to tell in the end.

Browney7 wrote: »
    1) Would any of the Limerick forwards get on the Tipp team?? Not a hope.
    2) If you were told Limerick would be in the all Ireland semi final after the first waterford match would you have keeled over laughing?? Most definitely yes.

But realistically this is the worst ever Limerick team to get to an all-ireland final but maybe the last few games have brought us on.
    We're not quite in the AI Final yet :wink: Niall Moran would most likely get on the Tipp starting team, and an in-form Shaughnessy would too, but obviously playing like he is now, he's doing well to even get on the Limerick team. Thing about it is though, while Tipp have undoubtedly the more talented players (forwards in particular), Limerick's sum is greater than their individual parts. They're similar to the Munster rugby team of a few years ago in that sense.

I agree with you about after the Waterford game, as far as i was concerned we were finished until next summer. But that was before we drew Wexford and came out on the easier side of the draw. Had we drawn Cork or Galway i dont think we'd be in a semi-final now. Its all about momentum for Limerick, not very pretty on the eye but they're difficult to stop once they go on a run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭TheSpecialOne

tipp hot fav's after two successive munster championships!waterford caught them on the hop last year!hopefully we can do the same!we might not have the skill or quality of players the tipp team has but take my word for it we'll make them fight for every ball!cmon limerick!

was at Tipp training last night they had 34 training Eoin Kelly was deadly very limber on d feet and shane maher seems to be back aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭pajoguy

was at Tipp training last night they had 34 training Eoin Kelly was deadly very limber on d feet and shane maher seems to be back aswell

Sure Eoin was probably marking one of tipps corner backs so that wouldnt exactly make him an all star.......:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

I work with Eoin Larkins uncle and he was telling me the one team Kilkenny dont want to meet in d final is Tipp because Tipp always put it up to Kilkenny

Wrong ........Cork are the only team capable of putting it up to Kilkenny .

Even check how many All-Irelands they each have ......This will verify that I am correct .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭sparkydee

Even check how many All-Irelands they each have ......This will verify that I am correct .

It's irrelevant how many ireland's any county have in that arguement. Galway always put it up to kilkenny and they are nowhere them with regards to titles.
    Secondly pajoguy don't diss eoin kelly he's been unreal for tipp and even injured he can still play with the best of them. Wait till sunday week he'll prove it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Mark o riordan on noel mcgrath.. Ouch!
    Hope o riordan can hold him because reale will have his hands full on the other side with lar corbett.
    Could there be a case of donie ryan lighting up the semi final again with a goal or two? Hmmm...
    :P

Ah yes but Noel McGrath doesn't often play the conventional corner forward role and likes to drift around often out as far as midfield...is O Riordan capable of all this tracking and movement??

...Corbett is also moved to wing during matches as well so may be picked up by Foley?? :rolleyes:

Are you having a laugh? Dublin have 22 All Irelands yet that wasn't much help against Kerry last week!
    Whatever Cork did in the past is irrelevant, the current team cant live with Kilkenny and this has been proved in all league and championship meetings since 2006. Cork played super hurling against them last year yet KK still won while in 3rd gear. Galway and Tipp are the only teams that can live with them in a championship game, even then its only for 50 mins.

If o riordan cant keep up with noel mcgrath, sure we'll just bring on condon. :P
    he'll do a right job on him. Toughen mcgrath up.. :D lol.

Looking forward to the match now. :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Oh dear....

facepalm.gif

Daysha wrote: »
    Oh dear....

facepalm.gif
    LOL! :D

If o riordan cant keep up with noel mcgrath, sure we'll just bring on condon. :P
    he'll do a right job on him. Toughen mcgrath up.. :D lol.

Looking forward to the match now. :D.

Nevermind Condon, bring on Stephen Walsh if there's trouble, seems to have been completely forgotten after Mullane roasted everyone in the Waterford matches....a natural left corner back. All in all though, I'd have confidence in Razor...solid dependable, never spectacular but with a great turn of speed. Just what you want for a corner back.

The Lopper wrote: »
    Nevermind Condon, bring on Stephen Walsh if there's trouble, seems to have been completely forgotten after Mullane roasted everyone in the Waterford matches....a natural left corner back. All in all though, I'd have confidence in Razor...solid dependable, never spectacular but with a great turn of speed. Just what you want for a corner back.

sure condon will just give mcgrath a whack of the hurl.. He cant be as tough as mullane, can he? :) :P
    but if that doesnt work, yes, theres always stephen walsh. Dunno why condon was started before him during the laois match when o riordan was out tbh. But doesnt he usually start in the half back line..? Probably wouldnt make a difference to him.

All i can see from this match is either a one-sided beating where tipp come out winners or a very tight match. God, i really should be more confident..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

sure condon will just give mcgrath a whack of the hurl.. He cant be as tough as mullane, can he? :) ..

You'd be very suprised how tough young McGrath is soccy, when your as good as he has been from such a young age and been the main man on a senior club team that won a munster club final at 17 you learn how to look after yourself ;)

Im sure marking Paul Ormonde when training with Loughmore opened he's eyes at a very young age :D

pajoguy wrote: »
    Sure Eoin was probably marking one of tipps corner backs so that wouldnt exactly make him an all star.......:p

Well infact it would make him a 6 time all-star but who's counting :p and btw I'd take Paddy Stapelton over either of the Limerick corner backs anyday of the week

I wouldn't call Condon "tough" anyways, not in the Steve McDonagh, Mike Houlihan mode. But there's plenty of no nonsense hurling men in the backs as it is; Reale, Gears, Lucey and Foley will do their best to make things "intense" for the Tipp lads, I can assure you. ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

What kind of crowd is expected at this 55-60'000 ?

Dubliner28 wrote: »
    What kind of crowd is expected at this 55-60'000 ?

Halve it and your close, 35k to 40k imo

I wouldn't be putting Tom Condon anywhere near the Limerick intermediate panel, never mind the senior one. His and Wayne McNamara's presence on the panel are a complete mystery.

Okay anyone else from Tipp/Limerick after gaining confidence following the KK match earlier?? :rolleyes:

Even though KK played well and WD had their best game this year IMO they showed they are far from unbeatable...sloppy goal etc.

Have the feeling if we can get over Limerick the dreams of 4 in a row for the unbeatables will be vanquished!! :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

KK conceeded 3.15 and should have conceeded more, Mullane barely got a look in aswell. I firmly believe Tipp have the capability of matching KK physically but will have to take every chance that comes their way. With respect, they will beat Lim.

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    KK conceeded 3.15 and should have conceeded more, Mullane barely got a look in aswell. I firmly believe Tipp have the capability of matching KK physically but will have to take every chance that comes their way. With respect, they will beat Lim.

Not so sure...:( I doubt Sheedy will allow complacency to set in like last year but Limerick always seem to majorly up their performance when the Tipp jersey is put in front of them. Not taking this game for granted by any means...

...the last thing we want is for everyone to be talking about the "Tipp KK" all ireland that is supposedly going to happen again :(

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    With respect, they will beat Lim.

Hope its raining cats and dogs next sunday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭chatjunkie

Of course it'll be raining next Sunday and i think this will stand to Limerick. We have to put out our best team though- anyone know if Justin Mccarthy reads these boards??? we need Niall Moran, James Ryan and James O' Brien in the half-forward line and Shaughs, Paidi Mac and Paul Browne in the full forward lline. Limerick lads need to mark up and fight for every damn ball- tackle in bunches and most importantly get out in front of their markers. if we do this we'll beat that Tipp crowd!! Yahoo, Yahoo!!!

Perfect for John Carrol to come out of retirement! :D

Definetly going to be number 30 on Sunder "A.N. Other" ;):rolleyes:

chatjunkie wrote: »
    Of course it'll be raining next Sunday and i think this will stand to Limerick. We have to put out our best team though- anyone know if Justin Mccarthy reads these boards??? we need Niall Moran, James Ryan and James O' Brien in the half-forward line and Shaughs, Paidi Mac and Paul Browne in the full forward lline. Limerick lads need to mark up and fight for every damn ball- tackle in bunches and most importantly get out in front of their markers. if we do this we'll beat that Tipp crowd!! Yahoo, Yahoo!!!

i think i have a way to get him to read boards!!! :D..
    What about breen? James o brien is good hurler but i think hes a great impact sub. Breen had a good game against the dubs..why not start him again? I like your choice of forwards though.

And the great thing is that we have ollie to come in if needed and donie if we want a few goals ;). Could next sunday be the day where we see the great donie himself, the goal machine?!! :D

i think i have a way to get him to read boards!!! :D..
    What about breen? James o brien is good hurler but i think hes a great impact sub. Breen had a good game against the dubs..why not start him again? I like your choice of forwards though.

And the great thing is that we have ollie to come in if needed and donie if we want a few goals ;). Could next sunday be the day where we see the great donie himself, the goal machine?!! :D

James o' Brien well capable of playing from the start. no point in waiting for him to be an impact sub. we can't afford to let Tipp get ahead like we've done in the last few matches- they'll crucify us!!
    am an ABT (Anyone But Tipp) by the way.. wiuld love to beat them.. those cocky yokes are talking about the all ireland since they beat cork in the first round...
    come on Limerick...... give em socks!!!

James o' Brien well capable of playing from the start. no point in waiting for him to be an impact sub. we can't afford to let Tipp get ahead like we've done in the last few matches- they'll crucify us!!
    am an ABT (Anyone But Tipp) by the way.. wiuld love to beat them.. those cocky yokes are talking about the all ireland since they beat cork in the first round...

Ahem...WTF? lol :mad:

Wouldn't mind but nearly every post I submitted about this match said something about Limerick having every chance to beat us and not to underestimate them...?

So I think that generalisation and stereotypical comment a bit out of place. It may be true from some of the Tipp lads you spoke to but the true knowledgeable ones know that this is a match not to be taken for granted! :mad:

Haha.. ''Cocky yokes'' :P nice phrasing :D.
    Im more of a ABK (anyone but kilkenny) but sure..

JamieK wrote: »
    Ahem...WTF? lol :mad:

Wouldn't mind but nearly every post I submitted about this match said something about Limerick having every chance to beat us and not to underestimate them...?

So I think that generalisation and stereotypical comment a bit out of place. It may be true from some of the Tipp lads you spoke to but the true knowledgeable ones know that this is a match not to be taken for granted! :mad:

A modest Tipp man- well I never thought id' see the day. ha ha!!! the borded air must be blowing in on u in the far corner of Tipp!!