Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway Races - Tips

• 27-07-2009 3:48pm
    Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭

Any tips for the Galway Races.?
    We should have some way to reward the best tip.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

any horse trained by dermot weld

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

any horse that likes the wet

I saw a voucher in the advertiser last week for a free bet, can't remember the details though

• Registered Users Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Best tip: avoid Quay St for a week.

cornbb wrote: »

Better tip: leave town for the week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

• Registered Users Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Svalbard

snubbleste wrote: »

When next week will it be safe to venture to Galway? As early as Monday? Or will there be some other wonderful cultural event making traffic even more horrendous than usual?

Svalbard wrote: »
    When next week will it be safe to venture to Galway? As early as Monday? Or will there be some other wonderful cultural event making traffic even more horrendous than usual?

No next week will be a brief prelude to the thousands of stoodents descending on town searching for accomodation

• Registered Users Posts: 8,173 ✭✭✭Wompa1

No next week will be a brief prelude to the thousands of stoodents descending on town searching for accomodation

When do they start looking, is it usually the week the LC results are out? which would be week of August 10th? or the week after?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Was about to get the feck out of Galway for the week but just got landed with 4 x free tickets for Thursday & Friday, it'd be a shame not to go now so I reckon i'll pop out for a look on the Thursday.... i'll be looking at the horses, honest :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Svalbard

Meh, that's not so bad. Gone are the days when I have to compete with them for crappy accommodation. 14 people to a house on Snipe Ave, I ask you!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,960 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

If you need to catch the bus to the race-course, look at the 8-yoyo return price from one side of Eyre Square, then look at the route of a certain bus that leaves from the other side of Eyre Square and costs E-1.60 each way. Hint: the destination sign on this bus is *not* the same as the name of the racecourse.

(Of course if anyone is talking to loud drunken tourists, this tip does not apply: they are the folks that the "special" buses are for.)

JustMary wrote: »
    If you need to catch the bus to the race-course, look at the 8-yoyo return price from one side of Eyre Square, then look at the route of a certain bus that leaves from the other side of Eyre Square and costs E-1.60 each way. Hint: the destination sign on this bus is *not* the same as the name of the racecourse.

(Of course if anyone is talking to loud drunken tourists, this tip does not apply: they are the folks that the "special" buses are for.)

Excellent tip. Does the 'other' bus (That i'm guessing starts in "P" and ends in "E") stop far from the Racecourse? Am I right in saying that the closest bus stop is just the racecourse side of SAP? No problem if you're a lad, but d wimmin in heels might not like the extra few hundred metre walk (eventhough they'll have no prob standing in them all day!)

• Registered Users Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dec25532

And still not a tip for the races in sight on this thread . . .

• Registered Users Posts: 7,953 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

dec25532 wrote: »
    skelliser wrote: »

Ahem! :)

That was actually an excellent tip and one I'd wished I'd taken as Dermot Weld had a winner today. Apparently he's won the main evening race in the Monday meeting every year for the past 19 years. Some bookies were already accepting odds of 25/1 that he'll win next years main Monday night race.
    Heard it on the news so it must be true :)

chilly wrote: »
    Ahem! :)

That was actually an excellent tip and one I'd wished I'd taken as Dermot Weld had a winner today. Apparently he's won the main evening race in the Monday meeting every year for the past 19 years. Some bookies were already accepting odds of 25/1 that he'll win next years main Monday night race.
    Heard it on the news so it must be true :)

Ahem, to you too. Weld had one winner alright. A price of 4/9! You would certainly have made your fortune there. I mean any real tips.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

Miranda's Girl tomorrow.

Ahem, to you too. Weld had one winner alright. A price of 4/9! You would certainly have made your fortune there. I mean any real tips.

Weld had 2 winners today, one of which was 10/1.

You right of course. Miranda's Girl also quoted at 10s in the big race. Might be worth a few quid on your say so.

It won well last time out and also won at the festival twice last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Kriskross

It might win---not sayin it will win...
    Might have a bet on it--not sayin

cornbb wrote: »

Best tip of all: Go down to quay street and enjoy the the great atmosphere and craic. Feck the rain today anyway.

On the horses. In the 6.25, My valley(E/W) has a decent chance. The form is not great this year but the horse is a course specialist with a good few wins over the years at Galway. Horses with a good Galway record tend to run well despite their form.

In the 7.00, I have heard some talk about Rock and Roll kid(E/W). Its a very open race though and you would really want to be up there watching the betting to see who the money is for.

I dont know if I will back the above myself as I might change my mind up there depending on the going come race time and where the money is going, but I said I put up two names anyway as this thread is supposed to be about tips.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,199 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Here's my picks
    5:10 Qualviro
    5:45 Paco Jack
    6:25 Mohtarres
    7:00 Mirandas Girl

• Registered Users Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Bill-e

Where can one see the results live?
    I don't have TV here.

Bill-e wrote: »
    Where can one see the results live?
    I don't have TV here.

http://www.irishracing.com/ or http://www.rte.ie/live/

• Registered Users Posts: 25,960 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

JohnCleary wrote: »
    Excellent tip. Does the 'other' bus (That i'm guessing starts in "P" and ends in "E") stop far from the Racecourse? Am I right in saying that the closest bus stop is just the racecourse side of SAP? No problem if you're a lad, but d wimmin in heels might not like the extra few hundred metre walk (eventhough they'll have no prob standing in them all day!)

Right on all points.

The last stop for the route 9 bus is very conveniently located a very few metres north (ish) of one of the side entrances to the racecourse.

JustMary wrote: »
    Right on all points.

The last stop for the route 9 bus is very conveniently located a very few metres north (ish) of one of the side entrances to the racecourse.

Many thanks for this tip, wouldn't have thought of it myself... thankfully the females we're going with on Thursday are getting taxi's/their own busses so i'm just gonna head out with one of the lads on the bus you recommended. Thanks again :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭alcon1984

Heres one........Dont Gamble :D:D:pac::pac::pac::pac::P:P:P

• Registered Users Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Bill-e

skelliser wrote: »

Very nice tip my man. You just gave me €116. sweet!
    I put a tenner on Teach nua in yday's 5.10
    Edit: It was my first time ever putting money on horses. 1st and last, I'm quitting while I'm ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭quotaj

Going for a crazzzy 7 way E/W accumulator... :o

14:00 Tawaagg (4/5)
    14.35 Corrick Bridge (5/1)
    15:10 Teach Nua (2/1)
    15:45 Miss Chaparral (6/4)
    16:25 Roby Cimbre (7/2)
    17:05 Moving Heart (9/4)
    18:15 Precious Gem (6/4)

Also seperate E/W bet...

15:10 Blackwater Pete (14/1)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,031 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Got a tip (ahem...) for Here Comes Sally in the 2:35. Have her in a Lucky 15 with Tawaag (2:00), TinTownBoy (3:10) and Steig in the 5:40. Know sweet fa about horses so take it as you will, was in Ballinrobe races last week and Steig ran very well to win the race, Donegal horse.

Remember. I know nothing. Good luck all.