Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Isn't a cup of Tea great?

• 27-07-2009 7:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

The solution to all life's problems.

It was in the mid 20's and absolutly pissing down on my way into work so i was soaked getting onto the tram this morning. The carrage was jointed and they didnt turn the AC on so i was sweating like a mofo. The tram ended up getting delayed making me miss a meeting. So i was rightly pissed off at my morning so far.

So out i took a bag of Barry's tea from under my desk and had a cup...so relaxing. Even tho I'm a couple of thousand miles away from home, nothing feels more homely like a cup of tea to solve all your worries.

Is there anything a cup of tea can't solve? Disease? War? Please share your stories of how a cup of tea has saved countless lives.
    Tagged:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

A good shag, a cup of tea and I'm always happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

There is always time for a nice cup of tea. Sure didn't our Lord himself on the cross pause for a nice cup of tea before giving himself up for the world?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

I don't like tea!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,448 ✭✭✭✭joes girls

No matter how bad it gets, the tea will fix it:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

dont drink tea or coffee meself either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Tea's nice to wake you up

Milk's the all-purpose drink though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

I only drink tea in winter when it's bitterly cold/I need something to wake me up so I can study.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Has anybody seen mrs doyle around ?

It must be time for another cuppa tae !

I prefer a cup of gee myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Tea is the best. I would love a cup of tea right now...

• Registered Users Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

In college, whenever I had an exam at 9 the next morning and I was still up "getting ready to start" I'd pop on the kettle to waste another few mins.

Also, when it's something important, you have to stand and wait for it to boil. During those 3 mins, I didn't have a bother in the world.

Boiling is probably the best bit. Bit of a pavlovian response at this stage for me. I have found myself jumping out of bed at the sound of the kettle. Extremely depressing when someone is using it for coffee or a water bottle or soup...damn you soup

You wouldn't happen to have any sheep tea would ya?

Hi , my name is Latchy and I drink tea :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Yeah, I've noticed that. I used to drink tea when I was in the States and it reminded me of home. Love a good cuppa tae.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭DetectivFoxtrot

a mug of tea, and throw in a couple of digestives sandwiched together by a layer of butter... now you're talking :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

Damn you Hazys! Why are you torturing me?

Our kettle is broken. Haven't had tea all day. :(:(:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Tea enema FTW

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Nothing beats a good cup of tea. Except maybe sex. Or a nap. In any case, tea is the easiest of all of those to get at a moment's notice, so it wins.

I love tea. I think I'll put the kettle on now.

Isn't it funny how far it goes in helping with a hangover too?

Oh, and Smyth - those 3 minutes of boiling are amazing during exam time!

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭k8bcly

i hate ye all!!! i was nice and comfy and now im craving tea!!! thanks alot:D:D:D:P

• Registered Users Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

Damn you Hazys! Why are you torturing me?

Our kettle is broken. Haven't had tea all day. :(:(:(

Use the cooker. Bringin it back 'ol skool innit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

KerranJast wrote: »
    There is always time for a nice cup of tea. Sure didn't our Lord himself on the cross pause for a nice cup of tea before giving himself up for the world?

Teats or GTFO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

yerayeah wrote: »
    I don't like tea!:eek:
    Biggins wrote: »
    In theory, a recipe for bliss. But who'd be bothered going to the trouble of making tea post-coitally? A ciggie is a lot less hassle. But again, a cup of tea would be the ideal.

On topic though: tea rocks. I'm a major coffee fan too, but whereas I'd only drink coffee at certain times of the day, any time is perfect for tae. :)

I shall partake of same shortly - with a wafer and cocoa solids-based snack (i.e. a Kit Kat). Yum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

Coffee tbh

Dudess wrote: »

In theory, a recipe for bliss. But who'd be bothered going to the trouble of making tea post-coitally?

Who said anything about "post-coitally?"
    I spice things up and do both at the same time.
    If I can kill two birds with one stone, sure as hell I can fill two holes with one body simultaneously! :D

I'm mister lover, lover man. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,174 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I have tea so rarely. when i do it is a treat.

How long do bags last in the cupboard? I did just smoke a 50 year old cigar the other night apparently. Im guessing 2 year old tea can be much worse for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I hate tea. I also hate coffee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

I crave tea when I'm hungover. It goes a long way towards curing the hangover, too.

Who said anything about "post-coitally?"
    I spice things up and do both at the same time.
    If I can kill two birds with one stone, sure as hell I can fill two holes with one body simultaneously! :D

I'm mister lover, lover man. :cool:
    Oo-er! :o:D
    Mossy Monk wrote: »
    I hate tea. I also hate coffee.
    If I was still an AH mod I'd ban you so fast... :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Tzetze

But who'd be bothered going to the trouble of making tea post-coitally? A ciggie is a lot less hassle. But again, a cup of tea would be the ideal.

Hot, steamy, seductive, phallic tea!
    AluminThermosL.jpg

Boo to no image tags in AH!

Oo-er! :o:D

You should see me stir the tea. Now thats hot stiff - sorry, I mean "stuff". :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

rarnes1 wrote: »
    I prefer a cup of gee myself.

Me too:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

This thread smells like sex.

I'm all for a good cup of tea. It wouldn't be something completely regular but sometimes it just hits the comfort zone perfectly.

Shryke wrote: »
    This thread smells like sex.

I'm all for a good cup of tea. It wouldn't be something completely regular but sometimes it just hits the comfort zone perfectly.

Ooo yea. Thats what I'm talking about! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭username4321

post-coital tea is the dogs
    hangover tea is just wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,663 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

post-coital tea is the dogs
    hangover tea is just wrong

No - post-coital BEER is the dogs.

I have the stuff flown over here specially (in bags before anyone starts a sarky comment....)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

I have just finished my cup of tea .

think I'll go and have a chat with Fr Stone now :(

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    No - post-coital BEER is the dogs.

I have the stuff flown over here specially (in bags before anyone starts a sarky comment....)
    Hey! Don't go ruining our tea buzz! :mad:

Latchy wrote: »
    think I'll go and have a chat with Fr Stone now :(

How about taking him for a game of golf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

You should see me stir the tea. Now thats hot stiff - sorry, I mean "stuff". :D

:eek: Remind me to never let you make me a cup of tea. Ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Can anyone tell me if they have tea in Australia? I'm off in six weeks and am bricking it. If they don't have tea I'm taking the next plane to Tesco.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

I have a shteamy mug of the stuff now:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Feck off cup!!!!

Drink! drink! drink!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

Believe it or not i've only ever drank around 6 cups of tea in my whole life.
    It's just a drink that doesn't appeal to me.
    Whenever i tell people this they are convinced that there's something seriously wrong with me. Dam tea addicts!!!!

I'm having a lovely cup of tea right now. Ya just can't beat it.

Abigayle wrote: »
    Feck off cup!!!!

Drink! drink! drink!

Father Ted? Saddoooo

*whistles*

brummytom wrote: »
    How about taking him for a game of golf?
    I would but all that excitement might be to much for his ol heart .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,663 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Hey! Don't go ruining our tea buzz! :mad:

I tuk yore bags!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

karlog wrote: »
    Believe it or not i've only ever drank around 6 cups of tea in my whole life.
    It's just a drink that doesn't appeal to me.
    Whenever i tell people this they are convinced that there's something seriously wrong with me. Dam tea addicts!!!!

There's something wrong with your taste buds anyway. Coffee tastes like tar boiled in p!ss.

Latchy wrote: »
    I would but all that excitement might be to much for his ol heart .

Sure isn't his brother a doctor?.. he can fix him up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Tea mmmmmmmmmmm, back in a few:D