Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Great Big Lawnmower Thread

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭Melanoma

Discodog wrote: »
    I have been using Hondas for many years. The blade clutch mowers have just become too expensive - the 21inch is twice the price of the IZY. It does offer hydro but it's just too dear.

Many of my pro gardening contacts are switching to Izys.

The best mower for Ireland is an Etesia - will collect perfectly in pouring rain but costs a fortune. Rover & Masport are also good wet collectors.

Great I find this out now!! :) Your right they are very pricey and the Izy has that great reputation as a nifty easy mover. I still think the one I have is very good but it did clog with grass a few times, but the lawn was very thick after three months of growth from seed and I put down a lot of seed.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,899 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I know contractors who pay £300+ for 5 year old ex Council Etesias. A guy on ebay ships them by the pallet load. The key is that they do not have a rear axle. The rear wheels are on stub axles driven by chains from an overhead shaft. So there is nothing to get in the way of clippings between the blade & the collector.

One dealer in the UK demos them by soaking 6 inch grass with a hose & the mower collects every blade.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 poxette

• Registered Users Posts: 430 ✭✭littlemis