Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Canada 2010-2011?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Hi guys im filling out the visa, can i write in pen or does it all have to be done on the computer and then print it out?
    I have most of it done on the computer and printed out but i just have a few details to fill, can i do this in pen?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,312 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

Hi guys im filling out the visa, can i write in pen or does it all have to be done on the computer and then print it out?
    I have most of it done on the computer and printed out but i just have a few details to fill, can i do this in pen?

That's what I did!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,312 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

There seems to be a number of people who were/are waiting for their visa in Canada. Is this allowed?!?

I applied for my visa 3 weeks ago, but want to start planning. I would like to go over to Toronto after about 10 or 12 weeks, and want to plan towards this. But there's a good chance I won't have my visa by then, so if I have flights booked, will I be allowed into the country?

• Registered Users Posts: 31 lydiac

There seems to be a number of people who were/are waiting for their visa in Canada. Is this allowed?!?

I applied for my visa 3 weeks ago, but want to start planning. I would like to go over to Toronto after about 10 or 12 weeks, and want to plan towards this. But there's a good chance I won't have my visa by then, so if I have flights booked, will I be allowed into the country?

yes you 100% can do that, I am in vancouver at the moment and i know three or four people who did that. They just had to then cross the border and come back again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Hypertrophy

lydiac wrote: »
    yes you 100% can do that, I am in vancouver at the moment and i know three or four people who did that. They just had to then cross the border and come back again.

What documentation is needed at the border when you do this?

Do you need a bank statement despite having provided proof of funds to the IEC already?

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭paraicr

Just after booking my flights, heading for Vancouver on the 9th of August.

For those interested I had been looking at Aerlingus flights for a few weeks with a return just befrore christmas and was coming in about €950.

I said i'd bite the bullet and book them in case the price went up, but when I went online this evening the price was down to €750 as Aerlingus have a sale on North American seats on flights between september and march.

Had my application refused about a month ago because I missed a few things. They e-mailed me and said they are sending the whole application back with a checklist of what I need. With Canada post being on strike I didn't get the package until today, from a neighbor because they illiterate postman delivered it to the wrong address, anyway...

They said this in the e-mail:

"You must not reuse the same IEC application form because it was assigned a number associated with your denied application."

When I go to my e-mail to download the application pack again it says:

"You can't download the application kit because it was already received by the Embassy.

Thank you for your interest in these programs."

Do I need to register on the site again to get a new link or is it just some mistake in their system and I need to e-mail them?

Nevermind, got it sorted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 cocopop11

Hey,

Just wondering if its possible to book airtransat with BOI Laser card? Has anybody tried it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

cocopop11 wrote: »
    Hey,

Just wondering if its possible to book airtransat with BOI Laser card? Has anybody tried it?

they would'nt except my aib laser card had to use someones visa card,to be honest air transat are a nightmare to deal it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 cocopop11

Cheers - Ill do likewise, its hard to argue with cheap flights though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

cocopop11 wrote: »
    Cheers - Ill do likewise, its hard to argue with cheap flights though

yeah they are the cheapest but i'd try go4less if your booking a one way flight as their cheaper,air transat won't let you change the return date if you book a return flight not even once

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

beano345 wrote: »
    they would'nt except my aib laser card had to use someones visa card,to be honest air transat are a nightmare to deal it.

I flew to Dublin and back to Toronto with them.
    Pretty smooth sailing to be honest, although the seats are a bit of a squeeze for a transatlantic flight.

Actually.. one hiccup. I went to their canadian website, booked the flight and it declined my Canadian visa card... because the flight was over my credit limit (oops!)
    When I tried to enter my Irish visa card details it didn't give me the option to choose country "ireland" (just US and Canada). I fudged the address and it went through, although they probably wanted me to book through the .ie version of their website.

• Registered Users Posts: 587 ✭✭✭fat__tony

This may be complete snobbery but I would not fly with air transat.

British Airways, KLM, Air France or Lufthansa only for when Im popping home for a visit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

fat__tony wrote: »
    This may be complete snobbery but I would not fly with air transat.

British Airways, KLM, Air France or Lufthansa only for when Im popping home for a visit.

I can see why you'd say that, however airtransat were the only direct flight and being fairly last-minute they were $950 or so rather than the next expensive at $1500 which required one stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

and you can get into their premium class for only an extra 100 dollars which we did, extra luggage allowance, bigger seats, champagne when got on board. Had a great flight and still for a lot less then the next price with BA, or Air Canada.

Ugh, this whole process has been a royal pain in the ass since it started. My first visa was so easy. I now have conditional acceptance and now have 9 days to pay the 105e fee. I went to the bank today (I am in Canada BTW) and told them I need to make a wire transfer. They asked me for the "Intermediary Bank Number" which was not in the e-mail. The teller said she could leave it blank and send it anyway but they are very picky about wire transfers and it could be cancelled because of the inter. bank no. being blank and I'm out of pocket 35 dollars.

Just wondering if anyone else from inside Canada had the same problem and what they did about it. Also in the instructions it says to have my name, DOB and ID number on the proof of payment. She told me the receipt they will give me won't have my DOB or (obviously) my ID number on it but she can write it on the receipt and stamp it, wondering if this will be ok. Thanks for the help!

Well got it sorted, apparently the assistant manager I was dealing with is undeserving of her position. An intermediary bank is only needed if you are wiring money to a small bank in the middle of nowhere apparently so it's not needed for this particular transfer. Just had to write my name, DOB and ID number on the proof of payment too. Hope this helps anyone else who gets into the same difficulty.

Got an e-mail from USIT on the 12th saying they only have 30 places left. I'm not going through them BTW, guess I'm just still on their mailing list

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭supermouse

I think im answering my own question - but i've been outside Ireland for 2 and a half years, mostly travelling and living in NZ the past 20 months.. 3 years habitual residency requirement means im not eligable true??

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭GGirl2010

sup!! how we all doin ?? .... i been so busy socialising past while lolz... em dave brent as regards the medical if you applied in april , you should then hear from and have goten your loi by end of may/june. One month later after medical has been done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 gamsheen

Just applied for my "garda clearance certificate" today.. does anyone know the average processing time of it..

• Registered Users Posts: 33 Jeff33

Landed in Toronto.

I flew out from Shannon Airport on the 12th of July with AirTransat on a one way ticket direct to Toronto. I produced my flight ticket at Shannon & I was asked why I didnt have a return. So I explained I had a working Visa for 12 months & everything was fine.

Arrived in Toronto Airport & went through Customs which is a breeze as they dont deal with the tricky questions until you go through Immigrations. Strolled up to Immigrations with all the required documentation, Insurance, recent Bank Statement, Proof of Funds & so forth. She just asked for my Passport & Work Visa form. She never asked or looked at my other Documents. She just attached the Working Visa to my Passport & wished me a nice stay in Canada.

Within a few days I went to the Local Social Insurance Office & pulled a ticket & I was seen within 20mins. I produced my Working Visa Permit & Passport & I was given my Social Insurance Number SIN there & then. No questions asked.

On the same day I also went & opened a Canadain Bank Account with Royal Bank of Canada. I produced my Passport, Working Visa Permit & SIN Number & new Checking & Savings Account setup with an ATM Card sent in the post within a week.

Trying to get a Canadain Cell Number was a bit more tricky as they can tell by inputting your SIN Number that your a recent arrival with no previous credit history. So they are unlikely to give you a phone on Bill. So If you have your Irish Phone unblocked before coming out you can get a pay as you go fairly easily. All Bill phones are on a minimum of 24 to 36 month contracts. Yes 3 years minimum. Scary, plus its extra to get caller ID, check your voice messages & all that. They charge for everything, we had it so good back home!

The work situation looks good, but I havent landed anything yet. If you wish to work Labouring on the Sites you need to get Certified for Health & Safety. If you want to work in a Bar you need to get Certified to work with Alcohol. If you want to work in Security, yes you guessed it you need to get Certified as a Gaurd. Im in the process of trying to get Certified in as many Sectors as I can & that gives you a better chance of getting work in something.

I hope the information above gives you some idea of how it works once you land. If anyone has any questions dont hesitate to ask.

Jeff. Toronto

• Registered Users Posts: 499 ✭✭asdfgh86

Jeff33 wrote: »
    Landed in Toronto.

Trying to get a Canadain Cell Number was a bit more tricky as they can tell by inputting your SIN Number that your a recent arrival with no previous credit history. So they are unlikely to give you a phone on Bill. So If you have your Irish Phone unblocked before coming out you can get a pay as you go fairly easily. All Bill phones are on a minimum of 24 to 36 month contracts. Yes 3 years minimum. Scary, plus its extra to get caller ID, check your voice messages & all that. They charge for everything, we had it so good back home!

Jeff. Toronto

I've been in Toronto over a year now. There are much better phone deals than the ones you're quoting. Currently on a month to month deal with Wind Mobile. 25 dollars a month, unlimited calls and texts to any phone in Ontario and free facebook. So many bad phone deals in T.O but if you shop around you can get good ones.

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭gmannix1000

Mine only took 4 day from the local garda station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 kitsuune

I'm in Montreal, but in the end went with Chatr. It's pretty good I got a grand Nokia for 40 dollars and a no contract pay as you go deal that for 25dollars a month I can make and receive unlimited calls within Quebec, receive texts for free (it's really common to pay to receive messages here) and I get 50 free texts and then pay 13cent for any more I send.

There's also a 35 dollar deal (which I would recommend, mine is sort of false economy but I'm not here long enough to be bothered changing) in which you get the same but to all of Canada not just Quebec, and you have unlimited texts!

And if you have a credit card when you start (I didn't which is a bit annoying) then you get 60dollars of extra credit.

I think you must be the first person (besides me) that chose Montreal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 kitsuune

Montreal is awesome. And apparently cheaper than the rest of Canada (though this just makes me feel sorry for the rest of ye - my savings are toast already!)
    I feel sorry for the non-French speaking peeps who avoid the place!

• Registered Users Posts: 20 s jum

has anyone had problems obtaining a sin number without a permanent address??i went to the city hall in toronto the other day&was told a hostel address was no good&needed a permanent one..??went in there with passport,working holiday visa etc..
    people who came over here through agencies seem to have no problem?
    i on the other hand came through the i.e.c programme so have no assistance from an agency(i.e swap/usit)any help would be much appreciated..Thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭woodyg

s jum wrote: »
    has anyone had problems obtaining a sin number without a permanent address??i went to the city hall in toronto the other day&was told a hostel address was no good&needed a permanent one..??went in there with passport,working holiday visa etc..
    people who came over here through agencies seem to have no problem?
    i on the other hand came through the i.e.c programme so have no assistance from an agency(i.e swap/usit)any help would be much appreciated..Thanks!

I came here in my tod an had no problem getting a sin using the post code of the hostel, the girl said was fine was more for them to have some where to send your card. It only took 15mins as well, I'd go down to city hall again an try it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭zweton

hows the job searching going guys?