Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Canada 2010-2011?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭louisejscott

Just got confirmation my application has been received so it's obviously not full yet. 8 weeks processing time! Cannot wait to go:D

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭Demo2011

I am not sure but there seems to have been a rule change since I sent my application off. The application kit I downloaded today asks for the cv to ' [FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]Specify the dates (month, year) and locations (city, country) of all your study and work experiences' I did not do this, I only quoted the years as there was nothing about months in the original kit. Anyone else in this situation ?
    [/FONT]
    [/FONT]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 juno2009

I'm still waiting on my garda cert and my new passport before I can send off my application. Once it gets to Paris, how long does it take to process?

juno2009 wrote: »
    I'm still waiting on my garda cert and my new passport before I can send off my application. Once it gets to Paris, how long does it take to process?

The email I recieved said 8 weeks was the current processing time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 juno2009

Demo2011 wrote: »
    The email I recieved said 8 weeks was the current processing time.

Cool, keep us posted, maybe you'll get it sooner and they say 8 weeks just to be safe.

• Registered Users Posts: 38 Paula C

You can do canada visa with go4less

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

Paula C wrote: »
    I thought that form "misrepresentation is a criminal offence"etc was a declaration form maybe.you know on the checklist it mentions 2declaration forms.which forms were they?one of them was the one wer u had to tick the boxes but which was the other declaration form?i was confused bout that but i jus printed off everything and filled it in.thats all u can do and they only needed 2photos

i thought the declaration form was the form with the tick the boxes so put it in twice but also included the misrepresentation is a criminal offence form aswell! very confusing :confused: havent got a refusal email yet..touch wood!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

jimmybeige wrote: »
    The only examples of this I have is the tick boxes, where is you ticked one, all of the boxes ticked. I had to fill these out with a pen as a result. Also my nationality, that cell was locked on the PDF so I filled in with a pen. I don't think this should be an issue, as I mentioned, it states clearly in the FAQs that you can use a pen if needed.

They fixed these issues by the way!

I see this is now on the checklist though. This could definitely be the reason for my rejection :(

More than likely.. it's states at the top "It is mandatory that you tick each of the boxes below" except for box 2 where you have to write "N/a" over it by hand.

I noticed an error on mine after submitting in that I didn't write my middle name in "given names" even though my middle name is on my passport. I'm just hoping they won't be too strict.

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭niva*sis

ahhhh.....
    im getting so nervous now reading all the comments incase i did something wrong!!!!!:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭Jimmmy McNulty

I was refused yesterday.. Still in shock! The application was filled out really carefully and reviewed by an immigration specialist!

It said the following:

Hello Mr. xxx,
    We have examined your application to participate in the 2011 Canada- Working Holiday category of the International Experience Canada (IEC) initiative.
    Unfortunately, at this point we cannot accept your application as certain requisite information and/or documents are missing or are not in compliance with our requirements.
    Your application is being returned to you by post, accompanied by a checklist indicating the missing and/or non-compliant elements. Please wait until you receive our explanation before submitting a new application.
    If places are still available, you may re-apply by downloading a new application kit. You must not reuse the same IEC application form because it was assigned a number associated with your denied application.
    Please be sure that your new application contains all the required documents and information.
    Sincerely,
    Youth Mobility Unit | Unité Mobilité des Jeunes
    Embassy of Canada in France | Ambassade du Canada en France

The only thing I can think of is that I have been granted two visa's in the past.. A student one in 2005 of which I used 3 months and didn't work and my current visa which started last May.. I have to wait for it to come back to me now to see what was wrong! I'm 100% sure every document they wanted was supplied to them! I'm in Canada now so could take ages for it to come back to me also! Anybody else have the same thing happen by any chance or just me?!

Gutted!

The only thing I can think of is that I have been granted two visa's in the past.. A student one in 2005 of which I used 3 months and didn't work and my current visa which started last May.. I have to wait for it to come back to me now to see what was wrong! I'm 100% sure every document they wanted was supplied to them! I'm in Canada now so could take ages for it to come back to me also! Anybody else have the same thing happen by any chance or just me?!

No way!It doesn't matter if you participated on programmes in the past, this is a new programme altogether.

If I were you I'd try to get a job offer and sponsorship asap.

Did you include a new Irish police cert and proof of funds? A copy of your CV? Include 2 signed copies of the IEC application? And tick every box on the check-list and sign it at the end?

I have a horrid feeling that it is to do with month data on the CV. I have n't been rejected yet but i have a nasty suspicion that I will be getting a stinky mail on Monday. WTF is going on ??? This is mental, I am hearing all day that people are getting rejected but no one knows why until they get the documents back in the post.

Well one person posting here already found out it's because he didn't tick the boxes on the declaration.

I'm been filling up the thread with crap about why I might be rejected, but I haven't actually been rejected yet.

There's nothing you can do til you get the email and that won't be for another few weeks. Just relax. Sign up for usit's waiting list too as I have a feeling a lot of their applicants will drop out. There are also other programmes such as the go4less visa which might be available to you if you don't get the IEC one.

tenchi-fan wrote: »
    No way!It doesn't matter if you participated on programmes in the past, this is a new programme altogether.

If I were you I'd try to get a job offer and sponsorship asap.

Did you include a new Irish police cert and proof of funds? A copy of your CV? Include 2 signed copies of the IEC application? And tick every box on the check-list and sign it at the end?

Yeah I included 2 signed copies, proof of funds (signed and stamped by the bank), my current resume, 2 id photo's, photocopy of passport, police cert, ticked the boxes, etc..

It was checked at least 8 times and by the lawyer before it was sent.. I'm worried that it will take a long time to come back to me to find out what was wrong! It's stupid that couldn't scan and e-mail it back in this day and age!

What do you mean by the month data on CV? I haven't heard anythign about that..

It took them about 3 days to refuse me.. Have you heard of many being rejected? I haven't heard of anyone but I was also the first one I knew to have the application submitted.. Cheers

What do you mean by the month data on CV? I haven't heard anythign about that..

It means when you state your job/college on your resume, you need to include the month and year of the start and end dates.

I really doubt they'll be too particular on this point.

tenchi-fan wrote: »
    It means when you state your job/college on your resume, you need to include the month and year of the start and end dates.

I really doubt they'll be too particular on this point.

I had all start/end dates on mine anyway so it must have been something else. I agree that this probably isn't a big deal for them anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭GGirl2010

Yea, well I'm not positive it was that to be honest. If the form was there, there is a chance I included it, I really can't recall.

I'd say it would be a bit dangerous to reapply without waiting to see why exactly it failed as it could be something completely different. Next week it is I guess.

did you fill in all information in the boxes in the aditional information section .. signed and dated.. parents dob.. occupations... and your CV/Resume... well.. no harm in getting a new kit printed off.. to get a head start...

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭den1982

well we ever get out of here lads...... im stressed to the bone over it !!!!!!! have all my stuff sent off with a week today and ive not heard anythin back so dont know is it a good or bad thing....fingers crossed GOOD:p

den1982 wrote: »
    well we ever get out of here lads...... im stressed to the bone over it !!!!!!! have all my stuff sent off with a week today and ive not heard anythin back so dont know is it a good or bad thing....fingers crossed GOOD:p

Well I'm here but I want to stay! Ha!

Did you get an e-mail from them saying they received it?

ya i got the e-mail from them last week to say they recieved it.....lucky u over there already

Is this stuff time-sensitive? I was planning to pay a few things off before putting together the paperwork & sending off for the u35 visa in mid-March. Am I being terribly naive?

its just seems to be such a slow process !!! but to update THINK USIT IS OFFICALLY CLOSED !!!!!!! word has it and that aint good lads. just shows the huge number of applications :eek::mad:

ya i got the e-mail from them last week to say they recieved it.....lucky u over there already

I imagine you're home and dry then! Congrats! Out of interest.. did yous end a photocopy or scanned version of the police cert or did you send the original?

Yeah lucky me being here already! It's a great place so you have it all ahead of you!

Is this stuff time-sensitive? I was planning to pay a few things off before putting together the paperwork & sending off for the u35 visa in mid-March. Am I being terribly naive?

yes, extremely.

Go to usit.ie IMMEDIATELY and register for their wait list. You'll probably be number 200-250 or so, so unless 200-250 people who applied for the 1700 places usit offered drop out, or usit get allocated more spaces, you won't have a chance of going with usit.

As for the direct route, there are only 3300 places on it. Practically every Irish person currently on a U35 will be applying for one of them, together with a lot of final year students, recent graduates, the unemployed, and people under 35 who are generally pissed off in Ireland. Even people with kids are allowed to apply this year.

If you don't apply within the next couple of weeks, I'd say forget it... Unless the Canadian government allocate Ireland more places like they did last year I'd say there'll be a lot of disappointed people.

we sent the orginal copy of our police cert..didnt want to take any chances. well its 7 days since we got the confirmation e-mail so hopefully we should know mid-week...please god the e-mail will be lookin for the money;)

Cool, thanks! I'm now convinced this was why I was rejected! I think you would have been refused by now if they were going to as it only took them 2 days to give me the boot!
    Good luck with the rest of it!

Looks like it's off to England this summer then! :mad:

All of you reading this with parents paying for it, keep in mind how *lucky* you are, and spare a thought for us saps who have to earn & pay ourselves.

Cool, thanks! I'm now convinced this was why I was rejected! I think you would have been refused by now if they were going to as it only took them 2 days to give me the boot!
    Good luck with the rest of it!

cheers jimmy...did you get any reason from them as to why they refused yours ???? like does anyone know would they pick say a more skilled person or a ordinary unemployed person......or is it first come first serve(all paperwork being right) ????