Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Lets be careful out there.

• 31-07-2009 12:21pm
    Subscribers Posts: 16,592 ✭✭✭✭

I know we all get tired of the bank holiday appeals to be careful on the roads, but I just passed a nasty accident at Newlands Cross with an overturned car and Fire and Ambulance on scene. Then I see signs that the M1 is closed at M50 junction, which I really hope isn't another bad crash. Lets have a bit of cop on with the bad weather and likely plenty of people not used to long distance driving on the roads this weekend. Be patient and careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Very poor driving conditions alright at the moment, greasy surfaces and pretty strong crosswinds(Down here in Cork anyway) so think twice about the overtaking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

There are some roadworks or something going on near Newlands Cross at the moment. The rightmost lane (inbound to Dublin) was closed yesterday evening from junction 2 or so. This was forcing some trucks/lorries out into the right most lane causing awful havoc.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,592 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

dudara wrote: »
    There are some roadworks or something going on near Newlands Cross at the moment. The rightmost lane (inbound to Dublin) was closed yesterday evening from junction 2 or so. This was forcing some trucks/lorries out into the right most lane causing awful havoc.

This crash was outbound looked to be in the inside 2 lanes right at the newlands cross junction. I was inbound and didn't want to rubberneck, all I saw was a smallish car on it's roof surrounded by firemen. Traffic was backed up as far all the way to the longmile road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭dragonsgates

Its a nice sentiment

BUT

When you drive the N4 or Naas dualler and see 10 cars in a row all doin 80+ up each others arses you know that they haven't a clue. We know that approx 4 people will be killed because of morons this weekend.

Report dangerous driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

The loons were out early today, before 8am some bimbo in a corsa over taking a BMW 5 series on the Celbridge to Maynooth road, near the Celbridge House pub, 50Kph zone, we come around bend to be meet by hte bimbo on the wrong side of the road and struggling to get back in. Thank God the OH car and the BMW had good brakes.

20 minutes later heading into Lucan past the Golf course, come to the junction witht hte hillcrest road, Yeild/Stop sign to traffic to my right, Large Merc Sprinter cruises through. Just as well I normally slow for this junction.

So yeah watch for the fools and you should be ok...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭bostoncommon

I saw the overturned car, the weather wasnt bad at the time. I think the "woman" driving at the time just took her eyes off the road and hit one of the railings at the traffic lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,487 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Just saw a Garda Traffic Corps jeep driving in torrential rain with his parking lights on. Nothing like setting an example, eh lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,522 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Alun wrote: »
    Just saw a Garda Traffic Corps jeep driving in torrential rain with his parking lights on. Nothing like setting an example, eh lads?

Better than no lights which is what an awful lot of people will do regardless.

I was converted to leaving my (side) lights on at all times and mains when appropriate a while back thanks to this forum and I'd very much recommend everyone have their lights on all day on a horrible grey day like today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Alun wrote: »

Dont worry ,one of them will be along soon to tell you they're exempt from the road traffic act and all that jazz. :p Sure they can drive up the wrong side of the road at night with no lights on at all. You dont know why they were doing it so dont you dare comment. Some of them cant seperate exempt and common sense :pac:

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 40,359 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

They're exempt from the road traffic act and all that jazz. Sure they can drive up the wrong side of the road at night with no lights on at all. You dont know why they were doing it so dont you dare comment!

I'm actually thinking we should just bring in some kind of zero tolerance approach, saw some stunningly bad driving from 2 drivers at same time tonight. Roundabout leading to either dundrum or up the slip road on to M50 at balinteer heading north.

Two cars ahead of me are parallel, person on inside (toward centre of roundabout) indicates they are going up the slip road, person on outside indicates they are staying on, neither seems to see the other until the person on inside veers across to go up the slip road. I leant on the horn at same time to wake the pair of them up. They come within inches of touching and neither ends up going where they want to. I'm still shaking my head.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,810 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

I would also appeal to people to slow down, and leave ample braking distance in case the vehicle in front of you stops suddenly.

I have friends who didn't sleep for many days after attending a fatal RTC. The images they saw are forever embedded in their minds. I have friends who had to deliver the dreaded 'death message' to husbands and wives, with children playing in the front garden. I could go on and on about this. All I ask is that people just please, please, please.... slow down.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I for one will be driving a miminal this weekend. The roads today from the rain were quiet scary I must say. Yet their were still people hitting over 70mph on that same road..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

The Ozzies designate high risk times as double de-merit points times.

Might be something to look at there.

Assuming it would be enforced sensibly. Rather than the usual 56 in a 50 rubbish...

• Registered Users Posts: 746 ✭✭✭illdoit2morrow

Yeah it's slippy out there.

My best advice is 'you'll get there...just take it at your time'. Ya ot the whole weekend to enjoy yourself, 20 mins saved aint gonna mean too much really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

TIs definately terrible conditions out there +1 to all today who took the cautious route I was on a nerves end watchin drivers today absolutly take the pi$$ at points there were nearly pile ups. I was a passenger with a good safe driver who could adapt to the conditions and is driving a long time!

Still.
    Tis the time for people my age bracket and gender to die and kill others so as always i've advised my mates to chill out and I being off the road at the moment I can't hurt anyone. I hope to see you all posting on monday as you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,794 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

kbannon wrote: »
    .... You dont know why they were doing it so dont you dare comment!

...unless you're the poor bastard driving the correct way, with your lights on, and meet this twat - in which case I'd be doing a lot more than commenting ! :mad: Far too much 'Do As I Say, not Do As I Do' there, ........

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,346 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

copacetic wrote: »
    I know we all get tired of the bank holiday appeals to be careful on the roads, but I just passed a nasty accident at Newlands Cross with an overturned car and Fire and Ambulance on scene. Then I see signs that the M1 is closed at M50 junction, which I really hope isn't another bad crash. Lets have a bit of cop on with the bad weather and likely plenty of people not used to long distance driving on the roads this weekend. Be patient and careful.

There are accidents all round the year and a bank holiday road death doesn't make it any more special. It's a marketing campaign - nothing more than that.

there are generally a lot more deaths at a bank holiday weekend. It's not a 'marketing' campaign, a marketing campaign markets something for sale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

There are accidents all round the year and a bank holiday road death doesn't make it any more special. It's a marketing campaign - nothing more than that.
    Nonsense. There are more accidents on Bank Holiday Weekends. More traffic, more socialising, more local events, more time off etc