Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Garda

• 31-07-2009 9:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭

Why are they all culchies with terrible accents?

Is it taught in Templemore or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

No, just most of the teenagers in cities and towns have criminal records, so it's up to the decent teenagers in Ireland to become Gardaí and 'protect' us.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

KTRIC wrote: »
    yes

/thread

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

A7X wrote: »
    Why are they all culchies with terrible accents?

Is it taught in Templemore or something?

If by culchie you mean anyone that's not from Dublin(and Dubliners usually do mean this) then it's because you can't be based where you're from (In most cases).

There ya go. :rolleyes:

Seriously though, I would like to know why they all say Vehicle as Veh-hick-ell instead of Vee-hick-el

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

not another bleedin' thread about the Gardaí :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Why do they say veh-hickle?

Nobody says it like that except gardai :pac:

edit/ snap SV =p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Avenged Seven Folds fans, why are they all whiny little bitches with bad haircuts.

See what generalisations do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭A7X

SV wrote: »
    If by culchie you mean anyone that's not from Dublin(and Dubliners usually do mean this) then it's because you can't be based where you're from (In most cases).

Seriously though, I would like to know why they all say Vehicle as Veh-hick-ell instead of Vee-hick-el

No no no no no. I've had many an argument about that. I live in Wicklow just outside Dublin, Basically Dublin but i've been called a "bogger" and stuff and I don't have a culchie accent.

I just mean ones with terrible TERRIBLE accents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

Bank Holiday weekend.
    Bad time to be skittin Guards. ;)

Avenged Seven Folds fans, why are they all whiny little bitches with bad haircuts.

See what generalisations do.

Touche.

For the record I don't fall under that category at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,241 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Stupid Garda bashing threads, go away! Even if it was a half decent complaint but calling them all culchies is hardly a reason to sack them all now is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

The "hick" is since they are pissed, giving a little hiccup, I would be in my job too if I was above the law too. Actually that makes no sense, I am pissed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 130 ✭✭tedstriker

In fairness to the gaurds they know their biscuits. There's no rich tea in their places of work, it's chocolate covered hob nobs at the very least.

sdonn wrote: »
    Stupid Garda bashing threads, go away! Even if it was a half decent complaint but calling them all culchies is hardly a reason to sack them all now is it?

Never asked for them to be sacked! Just curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

OP......did you prefer the British accents of their predesessors?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭camero

what about the dOrt and Oets ?

tedstriker wrote: »
    In fairness to the gaurds they know their biscuits. There's no rich tea in their places of work, it's chocolate covered hob nobs at the very least.

Now im not joking at all but I once saw the guards put on their siren race up to the local supervalue and come out with jaffa cakes. Couldn't believe it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Now im not joking at all but I once saw the guards put on their siren race up to the local supervalue and come out with jaffa cakes. Couldn't believe it.

Jaffa Cake shortage is no joke I can assure you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Sexy

The uniforms of the bike guys ROCK!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Veekul

Jaffa Cake shortage is no joke I can assure you.

Oh I love em :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

If you mean the RIC, almost all of them were Irish.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

It's part of the induction training and brainwashing in Templemore, I know one chap who went from his normal south Dublin
    accent to full on muck savage Garda accent faster than a patrol car on it's way to SuperMacs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

The Garda

Which Garda in particular are we talking about here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

All dubs are criminals, therefore all Gardai are not Dubs. QED.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Which Garda in particular are we talking about here?

The ones with bogger accents :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Purple Gorilla

The guy you quoted was talking about biscuits. Jaffa Cakes are Cakes..or are they?

And so the debate begins

The guy you quoted was talking about biscuits. Jaffa Cakes are Cakes..or are they?

And so the debate begins

They are cakes which are shaped like biscuits

/debate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭nomorebadtown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

The RIC and DMP had British accents?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

The ones with bogger accents :confused:
    You said 'The Garda' which refers to one member of the force. If you want to talk about them in general say 'Gardai'. The only people I've ever heard using the word 'Garda' to refer to more then one, were northern unionists after the love ulster march.