Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arsenal FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭Paleface

Frisbee wrote: »
    Really hope that doesn't mean that Wengers idea of solving our goalkeeping problem is promoting Fabianski to #1...

It wouldn't make sense if he did this. Almunia was clearly ahead of Fabianski in the pecking order this season when he wasn't playing very well himself. Also Fabianski never put in any sort of commanding display when he did get the opportunity.

Wenger really needs to just go out and sign someone of quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

peabutler wrote: »
    I want our 3 keepers next season to be Hart,Mannone and Schezny

you could prob make 5 Million selling Fabianski and ALmunia.

Can't agree, I hope we get someone experienced like Green (we've been linked to him today, then Hart as backup and Mannone and Szczęsny after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

I wish people would stop mentioning Lloris (in the papers and online). There is no chance in hell we will get the French and Lyon no 1 for under €25m. He's up there with Caesar, Cassilas, Buffon and Valdes for price range.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

I'd much rather have Fabianski than Mannone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

I'd much rather have Fabianski than Mannone.

Not a chance id ship fabianski out pronto, thought mannone looked like he had a lot of potential done ok when he got a run in the team, remember hes still very young especially for a goalkeeper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Stunning, simply stunning.

I know this may be controversial, but maybe its time for wenger to go? 5 years without a trophy, no fighting spirit, and a lot of payers there who arent fit to wear the shirt. Bring back the days of bergkamp overmars etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Some managers just have a blind spot when it comes to certain positions - Wengers has to be keepers.

luvbulmers01 - don't be silly, it'll come together next seaaon, its always next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,070 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

I know this may be controversial, but maybe its time for wenger to go? 5 years without a trophy, no fighting spirit, and a lot of payers there who arent fit to wear the shirt. Bring back the days of bergkamp overmars etc.

Ludicrous statement. Arsenal play the best football in league and still manage to compete despite a tiny budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭Paleface

In fairness the team was depleted today apart from the GK which everyone knows is a real problem at the club.

Calling for Wenger's head is just wrong.

Calling for him to bring in a better GK is more on the mark.

Tusky wrote: »
    Ludicrous statement. Arsenal play the best football in league and still manage to compete despite a tiny budget.

Best football in the league? Its been a while since ive seen arsenal play a great game of football we cant keep living on that, winning is what counts at the end of the day.

Do we really have a tiny budget? They a;ways claim wenger has money to spend and him who wont spend it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭liamygunner29

absloute disgrace. ****ing joke. What a fcuking joke if anyone comes on here and goes on about the ****ing future im gonna do a nut. There is **** all future. 5 years is too long for this ****. Too long. If he thinks that team is gonna win something he can think again and **** that buisness ****. Ya whoop de doo we have money in the bank makes **** all difference to me tbh.

Every season we end up on here or in the pub or somewhere going on bout not spending money and being up there, having a young team and competing well what does it matter? Not a thing not anymore. No more ****ting

Fabinski gone

Rosicky gone

Eduardo gone

Silvestre gone

Denilson 1 more year

Eboue 1 more year

In world class and proven keeper, striker, and cb.

Wenger signed Lehmann.

Today's performance cemented my view that Rosicky should be sold. Another CM who can keep Diaby and Denilson out of the team would be well worth it too.

• Registered Users Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Sútalún

Nothing to say really.. Can't really say anything about the match that isn't universally known. New keeper is a priority. I mean however unrealistic it is players are needed all over the park. Centre back, midfield, up front. Whole sale changes are required if the team is to progress. Players should be sold and much improved ones have to be brought in.

Premier League Record:
    P   W   D   L   F   A  GD Pts  PPG
    Reading               4   4   0   0  11   2   9  12 3.00
    Wolves                4   4   0   0  11   2   9  12 3.00
    Watford               4   4   0   0   9   3   6  12 3.00
    Barnsley              2   2   0   0   7   0   7   6 3.00
    Ipswich              10   8   2   0  23   4  19  26 2.60
    Wigan                10   8   1   1  23   9  14  25 2.50
    Fulham               17  13   2   2  34   9  25  41 2.41
    Man City             25  19   3   3  48  18  30  60 2.40
    Charlton             16  12   2   2  36  12  24  38 2.38
    West Brom             8   6   1   1  18   8  10  19 2.38
    Derby                14  10   3   1  27  11  16  33 2.36
    Stoke                 4   3   0   1  10   4   6   9 2.25
    Hull                  4   3   0   1   9   4   5   9 2.25
    Leicester            16  10   5   1  38  13  25  35 2.19
    Portsmouth           14   8   6   0  28   8  20  30 2.14
    Crystal Palace        8   5   2   1  16   5  11  17 2.13
    Nottingham Forest    10   6   3   1  13   7   6  21 2.10
    Everton              36  22   9   5  75  30  45  75 2.08
    Birmingham           12   7   4   1  23   7  16  25 2.08
    Southampton          26  15   7   4  50  24  26  52 2.00
    Bolton               22  13   5   4  38  24  14  44 2.00
    Oldham                4   2   2   0   4   1   3   8 2.00
    Swindon               2   1   1   0   5   1   4   4 2.00
    Burnley               2   1   1   0   4   2   2   4 2.00
    Middlesbrough        28  16   7   5  62  26  36  55 1.96
    Sunderland           18  10   5   3  32  12  20  35 1.94
    Coventry             18  10   5   3  25  13  12  35 1.94
    West Ham             30  17   7   6  44  19  25  58 1.93
    Blackburn            31  17   7   7  57  28  29  58 1.87
    Villa                36  17  13   6  56  30  26  64 1.78
    Newcastle            32  16   8   8  46  27  19  56 1.75
    Bradford              4   2   1   1   6   3   3   7 1.75
    Leeds                24  12   4   8  43  25  18  40 1.67
    Chelsea              36  16  11   9  50  44   6  59 1.64
    Norwich               8   3   4   1  17   9   8  13 1.63
    Spurs                36  14  16   6  55  38  17  58 1.61
    MK Dons              16   7   4   5  30  16  14  25 1.56
    Sheffield Wednesday  16   7   4   5  21  16   5  25 1.56
    Sheffield United      6   2   3   1   9   4   5   9 1.50
    Liverpool            36  11  11  14  39  49 -10  44 1.22
    Man United           36  10  11  15  35  48 -13  41 1.14
    QPR                   8   1   5   2   7   8  -1   8 1.00

This Season v Previous Seasons:
    P   W   D   L   F   A  GD Pts
    2009-2010:  35  22   5   8  78  39  39  71
    2008-2009:  35  19  11   5  63  32  31  68 ( 4th)
    2007-2008:  35  21  11   3  66  29  37  74 ( 3rd)
    2006-2007:  35  18   9   8  59  33  26  63 ( 4th)
    2005-2006:  35  17   7  11  58  28  30  58 ( 4th)
    2004-2005:  35  23   8   4  76  33  43  77 ( 2nd)
    2003-2004:  35  24  11   0  69  24  45  83 ( 1st)
    2002-2003:  35  21   9   5  73  38  35  72 ( 2nd)
    2001-2002:  35  23   9   3  72  33  39  78 ( 1st)
    2000-2001:  35  19   9   7  59  34  25  66 ( 2nd)
    1999-2000:  35  21   6   8  66  35  31  69 ( 2nd)
    1998-1999:  35  20  12   3  55  15  40  72 ( 2nd)
    1997-1998:  35  22   9   4  64  28  36  75 ( 1st)
    1996-1997:  35  18  10   7  58  29  29  64 ( 3rd)
    1995-1996:  35  16  10   9  46  30  16  58 ( 5th)
    1994-1995:  35  11  10  14  41  41   0  43 (12th)
    1993-1994:  35  16  14   5  47  20  27  62 ( 4th)
    1992-1993:  35  14   8  13  35  32   3  50 (10th)

Rolling Season:
    2009-2010:  38  23   6   9  83  44  39  75

Current Run:
    2009-2010:   2   0   0   2   3   5  -2   0

2-0 and we fúckéd it up icon_mad.gif Horrible performance, we never really looked interested. Why bother bringing on van Persie in the last minute??? That team will get nothing from City! Glad we've finally been put out of our misery!!!

Have to get something from City unless we somehow want to get dragged into a battle for 4th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

Bring in

Chamakh
    Joe Hart
    Sakho or Otamendi
    Meyler

Out

Rosicky
    Silvestre
    Eduardo
    Fabianski
    Almunia

• Moderators Posts: 8,728 ✭✭✭x PyRo

I'd just like to give my opinion on the game...

lololololololololololololololololol

Weeee suck!

x PyRo wrote: »
    I'd just like to give my opinion on the game...

lololololololololololololololololol

Weeee suck!

Ok, now you can leave.

I don't think there's another club in the world with title ambitions that would have allowed that to happen.

Wenger's been cultivating this generation for a while now and they're coming along but no-one has the first clue about winning things.

We need players with experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

Bring in

Chamakh
    Joe Hart
    Sakho or Otamendi
    Meyler

Out

Rosicky
    Silvestre
    Eduardo
    Fabianski
    Almunia
    absloute disgrace. ****ing joke. What a fcuking joke if anyone comes on here and goes on about the ****ing future im gonna do a nut. There is **** all future. 5 years is too long for this ****. Too long. If he thinks that team is gonna win something he can think again and **** that buisness ****. Ya whoop de doo we have money in the bank makes **** all difference to me tbh.

Every season we end up on here or in the pub or somewhere going on bout not spending money and being up there, having a young team and competing well what does it matter? Not a thing not anymore. No more ****ting

Fabinski gone

Rosicky gone

Eduardo gone

Silvestre gone

Denilson 1 more year

Eboue 1 more year

In world class and proven keeper, striker, and cb.

Christ, the reactionary stuff in here is hilarious. Yes, some additions need to be made but not solely on the back of the performance against Wigan. It was simply a matter of not hanging onto the ball, nothing more!

Ok, now you can leave.

Why ? Don't you want us to see you crying in the corner ? :rolleyes:

x PyRo wrote: »
    Why ? Don't you want us to see you crying in the corner ? :rolleyes:

No, you added nothing to the discussion going on following the match, I actually find it hard to believe that a fan with any sort of feeling toward a club would do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I think footballs governing bodies should look at reducing game time to 70 minutes.I also think Fabianski should be shot out of a cannon.

No, you added nothing to the discussion going on following the match, I actually find it hard to believe that a fan with any sort of feeling toward a club would do that.

Forget about it guys. Some people get annoyed, some exasperated, some cry, some laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,174 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

I think footballs governing bodies should look at reducing game time to 70 minutes.

Arsenal would probably be about 7th this season if that was the case.

gosplan wrote: »
    Forget about it guys. Some people get annoyed, some exasperated, some cry, some laugh.

One thing's for sure, we're all bitterly disappointed with our last two results!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

We're missing almost an entire team, it shouldnt be unexpected that days like today can happen. What this does prove though, is that apart from our first chioce 11 which is pretty good, we've feck all back up. Diaby should be nowhere near that team, Rosicky is finished by the look of things and lets not even mention the keeper situation.

I'm not gonna overreact coz we need to take everything into consideration. We're down to the absolute bare bones, and they arent very good unfortunately. :(

Arsenal would probably be about 7th this season if that was the case.

It was not well thought our or researched I must admit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

It was not well thought our or researched I must admit.

It's all right. That's pretty much the same story for 99% of all football analysis :D

No.

There is a difference between this year and the others though.

In the past few years we simply haven't been good enough to win the title - the team just lacked that bit vrs either Jose's Chelsea or the Man U of Ronaldo and clean sheets.

This year, we were good enough. We had a load of injuries but we were still good enough. Just how many points have we dropped from a position of two goals ahead? - is it five? - 2 vrs West Ham and then today?

This year, we should be winning it and we're not - Wenger is responsible for that. Either he hasn't been teaching them correctly or the players he has chosen to put his faith in have let him down.

Bull, we weren't good enough.

How many times have we stolen a victory right at the end? How many points did we take against Chelsea and Man United?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Lads I know that defeat is hard to take today but lets calm down, yes we need a new keeper, but we were without 5 first teamers today, we were hard done by the Sagna free kick which led to the second goal.

That said RVP must start for the city match.

Boo-hoo.

I can react what ever way i want. I was only messing too, but Mr. Serious had to pop his head in. :rolleyes:

gosplan wrote: »
    No.

There is a difference between this year and the others though.

In the past few years we simply haven't been good enough to win the title - the team just lacked that bit vrs either Jose's Chelsea or the Man U of Ronaldo and clean sheets.

This year, we were good enough. We had a load of injuries but we were still good enough. Just how many points have we dropped from a position of two goals ahead? - is it five? - 2 vrs West Ham and then today?

This year, we should be winning it and we're not - Wenger is responsible for that. Either he hasn't been teaching them correctly or the players he has chosen to put his faith in have let him down.

Yeh but do you not think this year the only reason weve been closer to man utd or chelsea is because they havent been as good as previous years? Not that weve stepped up.

True we did have a lot of injuries and i do honestly believe had van persie been fit all season we,d have had a much better season.

Exactly wenger was responsible unless he makes some big changes in the summer, i think it could be time for him to go and bring in fresh ideas a manager cant live on past glories forever How long can the fans stay loyal to a trophyless team and manager? youth, money and so questionable lack of transfer funds excuses cant be used forever nor can we play best football in the league i cant remem i watched an arenal game and thought wow we played great football, even if we did what use is it if you arent winning anything?

Anyone on here going to try get over to a game next season, Arsenal seems like the hardest club to get tickets for.

Pyro: I didn't realise this was the Humor forum I humbly apologise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Jesus Christ, Arsenal fans calling for Wenger's head need to give themselves a good hard slap.

flahavaj wrote: »
    Jesus Christ, Arsenal fans calling for Wenger's head need to give themselves a good hard slap.

Can u give a reason why?

Too right.

Pat Rice out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

sssh George Graham to make a dramatic return I say last Manager to get them a European Trophy ya know;)

Anyone on here going to try get over to a game next season, Arsenal seems like the hardest club to get tickets for.

Pyro: I didn't realise this was the Humor forum I humbly apologise.

Do you have red membership?

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Too right.

Pat Rice out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I think a few new coaches wouldn't go astray Jennings has worked miracles with Gomes over at Spurs.

No don't have Red Membership, was thinking about getting it but 30 quid +the price of ticket considering i'd probably only head over once is steep enough.

Might do. Have you signed up for a red membership? You mightn't get one of the bigger games but, loads of tickets go to reds for most matches!

Can u give a reason why?

Who do you suggest as a replacement?

No don't have Red Membership, was thinking about getting it but 30 quid +the price of ticket considering i'd probably only head over once is steep enough.

It's well worth it though, I've been signing up for 4 or 5 years but after a while I should be bumped up to Silver and then I should be able to get tickets for the bigger games!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Can u give a reason why?

He's the greatest manager ye have ever had, or probably ever will for God's sake.

You only have such unrealistic expectations because of the standards of excellence the man himself has set at the club.

More importantly, tell me who would ye get thats a more suitable candidate to carry Arsenal football club forward from here?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Who do you suggest as a replacement?

Paul Merson is clearly the leading candidate. Afterall he "talks a lot of sense."

jasonorr wrote: »
    It's well worth it though, I've been signing up for 4 or 5 years but after a while I should be bumped up to Silver and then I should be able to get tickets for the bigger games!

Do you go over much ?

How often does general sale happen, about twice a season?

Best way to get a ticket though

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Best way to get a ticket though

Yeah suppose it is, ah sure will wait until fixtures come out anyway.