Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arsenal FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Super finish.
    Can't see both him and Eduardo hanging around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

When I see Vela doing stuff like that, well it just makes me mad. When the goal went in I was muttering "Why can't you put some effort in" to myself non stop for about 5 minutes. Infuriating player. I'll be happy if we're shot of him tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Whats the betting this after this 4-0 win today Wenger will come out and say something along the lines of we dont really need to sign anybody, we won 4-0 today...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

FearDark wrote: »
    Whats the betting this after this 4-0 win today Wenger will come out and say something along the lines of we dont really need to sign anybody, we won 4-0 today...

No he won't and to be honest i've seen some people online today saying i hope we lose this so we finished fourth and it would make wenger "cop on".

Willing us to lose is a disgrace. Regardless of if it will help in the long term, live for the moment.

If that was vela's last apperance for the club, frisbee will be delighted he went out with a trademark lob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Premier League Record:
    P   W   D   L   F   A  GD Pts  PPG
    Reading               4   4   0   0  11   2   9  12 3.00
    Wolves                4   4   0   0  11   2   9  12 3.00
    Watford               4   4   0   0   9   3   6  12 3.00
    Barnsley              2   2   0   0   7   0   7   6 3.00
    Ipswich              10   8   2   0  23   4  19  26 2.60
    Wigan                10   8   1   1  23   9  14  25 2.50
    Fulham               18  14   2   2  38   9  29  44 2.44
    Charlton             16  12   2   2  36  12  24  38 2.38
    West Brom             8   6   1   1  18   8  10  19 2.38
    Derby                14  10   3   1  27  11  16  33 2.36
    Man City             26  19   4   3  48  18  30  61 2.35
    Stoke                 4   3   0   1  10   4   6   9 2.25
    Hull                  4   3   0   1   9   4   5   9 2.25
    Leicester            16  10   5   1  38  13  25  35 2.19
    Portsmouth           14   8   6   0  28   8  20  30 2.14
    Crystal Palace        8   5   2   1  16   5  11  17 2.13
    Nottingham Forest    10   6   3   1  13   7   6  21 2.10
    Everton              36  22   9   5  75  30  45  75 2.08
    Birmingham           12   7   4   1  23   7  16  25 2.08
    Southampton          26  15   7   4  50  24  26  52 2.00
    Bolton               22  13   5   4  38  24  14  44 2.00
    Oldham                4   2   2   0   4   1   3   8 2.00
    Swindon               2   1   1   0   5   1   4   4 2.00
    Burnley               2   1   1   0   4   2   2   4 2.00
    Middlesbrough        28  16   7   5  62  26  36  55 1.96
    Sunderland           18  10   5   3  32  12  20  35 1.94
    Coventry             18  10   5   3  25  13  12  35 1.94
    West Ham             30  17   7   6  44  19  25  58 1.93
    Blackburn            32  17   7   8  58  30  28  58 1.81
    Villa                36  17  13   6  56  30  26  64 1.78
    Newcastle            32  16   8   8  46  27  19  56 1.75
    Bradford              4   2   1   1   6   3   3   7 1.75
    Leeds                24  12   4   8  43  25  18  40 1.67
    Chelsea              36  16  11   9  50  44   6  59 1.64
    Norwich               8   3   4   1  17   9   8  13 1.63
    Spurs                36  14  16   6  55  38  17  58 1.61
    MK Dons              16   7   4   5  30  16  14  25 1.56
    Sheffield Wednesday  16   7   4   5  21  16   5  25 1.56
    Sheffield United      6   2   3   1   9   4   5   9 1.50
    Liverpool            36  11  11  14  39  49 -10  44 1.22
    Man United           36  10  11  15  35  48 -13  41 1.14
    QPR                   8   1   5   2   7   8  -1   8 1.00

This Season v Previous Seasons:
    P   W   D   L   F   A  GD Pts
    2009-2010:  38  23   6   9  83  41  42  75 ( 3rd)
    2008-2009:  38  20  12   6  68  37  31  72 ( 4th)
    2007-2008:  38  24  11   3  74  31  43  83 ( 3rd)
    2006-2007:  38  19  11   8  63  35  28  68 ( 4th)
    2005-2006:  38  20   7  11  68  31  37  67 ( 4th)
    2004-2005:  38  25   8   5  87  36  51  83 ( 2nd)
    2003-2004:  38  26  12   0  73  26  47  90 ( 1st)
    2002-2003:  38  23   9   6  85  42  43  78 ( 2nd)
    2001-2002:  38  26   9   3  79  36  43  87 ( 1st)
    2000-2001:  38  20  10   8  63  38  25  70 ( 2nd)
    1999-2000:  38  22   7   9  73  43  30  73 ( 2nd)
    1998-1999:  38  22  12   4  59  17  42  78 ( 2nd)
    1997-1998:  38  23   9   6  68  33  35  78 ( 1st)
    1996-1997:  38  19  11   8  62  32  30  68 ( 3rd)
    1995-1996:  38  17  12   9  49  32  17  63 ( 5th)
    1994-1995:  38  12  10  16  46  46   0  46 (12th)
    1993-1994:  38  17  16   5  50  22  28  67 ( 4th)
    1992-1993:  38  14  10  14  36  34   2  52 (10th)

Rolling Season: (Surprise surprise ;))
    2009-2010:  38  23   6   9  83  41  42  75

Current Run:
    2009-2010:   1   1   0   0   4   0   4   3

Wahey, we won a game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Maybe Vela suffers from the same 'I'm not really a wide man' problem as Walcott.

Infuriating though, you never want to see a player who can finish like that at will leave the club. But he did forget his passport :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Thank goodness that season is over. Now, lets get a couple of players in before the world cup and start building for next year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

keano_afc wrote: »
    Thank goodness that season is over. Now, lets get a couple of players in before the world cup and start building for next year.

Sounds familiar...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

I think we should have a look at the big teams that won't be in the CL and try poach their star players that may be a bit unsettled cos of this, and hopefully a little cheaper because of it :D

France - Bordeaux (Gourcuff), Lyon (Lloris), Lille (Hazard)
    Germany - Wolfsburg (Dzeko) Leverkusen (Kießling, Adler), Stuttgart (Cacau), Dortmund (Subotic)
    Italy - Juventus (Buffon, Chiellini), depends if Palermo (Kjaer) or Sampdoria finish 4th (Pazzini), Napoli (Hamsik)
    Spain - if Sevilla don't finish 4th (Navas)

France - Bordeaux (Gourcuff)
    Too like what we have.
    , Lyon (Lloris),
    Younger version of Almunia.
    Lille (Hazard)
    Too inexperienced.
    Germany - Wolfsburg (Dzeko)
    Too expensive.
    Leverkusen (Kießling, Adler),
    Adler If he weren't so injury prone, Kießling is meh...
    Stuttgart (Cacau),
    Just no... his name is also ****.
    Dortmund (Subotic)
    Eugh... I can't believe you just said that.
    Italy - Juventus (Buffon, Chiellini)
    BUffon is old and ****, Chiellini is too ugly.
    Palermo (Kjaer)
    Too expensive.
    Sampdoria finish 4th (Pazzini),
    Overrated.
    Napoli (Hamsik)
    Too like what we have
    Spain - if Sevilla don't finish 4th (Navas)
    Too small and gets homesick like Reyes only 10 times worse.

Just wondering after a chat with a few arsenal fans.

IF wenger was gone..Would you welcome jose ? There seems to be alot of resentment from these people towards jose.

I would with open arms, i think the man is a legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

I really hope that wasn't Vela's last goal for us, peachy little finish.
    SDTimeout wrote: »
    Just wondering after a chat with a few arsenal fans.

IF wenger was gone..Would you welcome jose ? There seems to be alot of resentment from these people towards jose.

I would with open arms, i think the man is a legend.

Not a chance, we don't have the budget he needs to build a team. Sure he could probably win us the league, but in all likelihood would need to bankrupt the club in the process.

Wreck wrote: »
    I really hope that wasn't Vela's last goal for us, peachy little finish.

Not a chance, we don't have the budget he needs to build a team. Sure he could probably win us the league, but in all likelihood would need to bankrupt the club in the process.

I didn't think of the budget...I think it's more the man i like than how he does it.

Wreck wrote: »

In fairness to him , he's done pretty well without a budget. Sure he had money to spend at Chelsea but Porto was all Jose and at Inter, he got Samuel, Snieder and Eto plus a lot of change for Ibramovich.

Actually, I think he's great at spotting a player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

SDTimeout wrote: »
    I didn't think of the budget...I think it's more the man i like than how he does it.

I like how his teams have lots of drive, ambition, confidence and a will to win. They play pretty boring football though. As for liking the man, he acts like a total prick most of the time imo, although he is pretty funny sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

Well lads that season finishes. Its been a roller coaster and a pleasure to enjoy it / suffer it with all of you on this thread. Onwards to a very interesting (as always) summer with hopefully Kaka, Iniesta and Cassilas and Gary Cahill joining to bolster the Gunners. As Wenger and Journey always say; 'don't stop believing'.

2011...our year ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,174 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

If Wenger left you'd be mad to turn your nose up at Mourinho. But to be honest I don't think Arsenal will be able to attract a manager as high profile as him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

If Wenger left you'd be mad to turn your nose up at Mourinho. But to be honest I don't think Arsenal will be able to attract a manager as high profile as him.

Club in excellent financial health

Relatively young squad

Extremely talented squad in dire need of 1 - 4 signings to win the League

Excellent youth system

Chairman and board rarely if ever interfere

Fans filling a 60000 stadium every home game

I think any manager would walk to Arsenal if they were offered a decent salary. Ok Mourinho might choose United or Madrid over us due to the money or history attached to those clubs but if they weren't on the table I can't see how he'd reject us IMO.

Yeah, we'll have to do with some Spaniard apparently, usual story, young and inexperienced but he's managed to win a few things with his small regional team. Pepé... something or other, if you'd believe the press.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

Yeah, we'll have to do with some Spaniard apparently, usual story, young and inexperienced but he's managed to win a few things with his small regional team. Pepé... something or other, if you'd believe the press.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

Thought i'd never see the day,transfter rumours on .con.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

MOAR of this plese...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Go on the Mexican Pelé!

Could taht not be seen as trying to unsettle players?

Frisbee wrote: »
    Go on the Mexican Pelé!

You know whats going to happen next dont you? He will have a great World Cup and we will sell him to Barcelona for 25million.

Galvasean wrote: »
    Could taht not be seen as trying to unsettle players?

If you can't beat them .....

Seriously though, SWP? Are people mad?

Toure I would take in a heartbeat. Basically because he's the type of player we need and I don't think Wenger's going to go for a midfielder.

There's 2 players we won't be going for. SWP 4 years ago yes with bells on, but he chose money over us to be sub for the past few years, so screw him.

You know whats going to happen next dont you? He will have a great World Cup and we will sell him to Barcelona for 25million Deportivo for 8M.

fyp

That's mad, I wonder will they be posting all transfer rumours or just the ones Wenger gives the nod to?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Clearly someone in high places has decided on a change, because that would have never have happened before. I suppose it's better for deflection than pages of Wenger saying he trusts the squad or profiles of the next 15 year old wunderkind.

L'prof wrote: »
    That's mad, I wonder will they be posting all transfer rumours or just the ones Wenger gives the nod to?

I don't think their bandwidth could handle all the players we're normally linked with.

If it can handle our injuries, it can handle our transfer rumours tbh ;)

fyp

I wasn't exactly serious :P

Just saw Arshavins goal there.

WTF was he doing taking that on himself?!

Yeah I know. Even though he scored van Persie still should have gone over and given him a slap.

Just saw Arshavins goal there.

WTF was he doing taking that on himself?!

Ridiculously selfish, I couldn't believe it!

Especially with two players on the line and he puts it in at the near post.

Fair enough it was a good bit of skill and it paid off, but if he had have missed I'd say Robin would have beaten him to death with a jar of placenta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭Paleface

Its a sad day for the club when they start posting this sh*te.

I quite like how they keep all the transfer business secret.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭funkyjebus

an he did simular later in the game when he should have squared it. albeit there was a keeper in the goal that time. but based on rvp's finishing yesterday, propably just as well he finished himself, although i would have gone mad at him and i hope wenger does too.

hes really starting to pi$$ me of. he has a terrible attitude. like cantona but without the smirk and skill.

Paleface wrote: »
    Its a sad day for the club when they start posting this sh*te.

I guess all those empty seats at the game yesterday scared them a little.

I wouldn't read anything into this. The website seems to be a nice little earner for them what with advertising for Paddy Power and the like, and as everyone likes a good rumour I'd say this is a commercial decision to maintain traffic levels during the off season.

Same, it's going to be a good marketing gimmick.

So now when people hear a rumour they will go to the official site instead of a newspapers site to read up on it.

To do this they'll have to navigate to the page, on the way seeing plenty of ads for new jerseys, season tickets and chances to subscribe to ATVO.
    Which will in turn lead to more revenue.

Same, it's going to be a good marketing gimmick.

So now when people hear a rumour they will go to the official site instead of a newspapers site to read up on it.

To do this they'll have to navigate to the page, on the way seeing plenty of ads for new jerseys, season tickets and chances to subscribe to ATVO.
    Which will in turn lead to more revenue.

indubitably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Looks like I exactly mirrored the teams position by coming third in the arsenal FF league here. Don't worry I'll make sure to come first next year!:pac:

watching a program on espn atm. Season review, how close we really were at times :( have to win it next season.

I guess all those empty seats at the game yesterday scared them a little.

What was the attendance? (the real attendance not the 'we count all teh corporate boxes as being full regardless of whether they are empty or not' ones)

Good news, ATVO have the highlights of the academy semi final win against Man United available to watch for FREE!
    http://www.arsenal.com/news/reserves-news/tv-online-watch-academy-league-final-live

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

What was the attendance? (the real attendance not the 'we count all teh corporate boxes as being full regardless of whether they are empty or not' ones)

Match was a complete sell out, and plenty of seats sold on ticket exchange also, just people deciding not to go I guess.

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Match was a complete sell out, and plenty of seats sold on ticket exchange also, just people deciding not to go I guess.

Buggers. Should have offered us their tickets. Would have been worth the flight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

but if he had have missed I'd say Robin would have beaten him to death with a jar of placenta.

....or more likely sprained his wrist picking up the jar and been out for....when is next May?.......12 months?

Anyone watch the academy semi final? James Shea made some quality saves.