Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭Paleface

Van Persie!!

Green made a mess of the cross.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Thought we could be in with a shout for the league this year but no hope.

Same ****, different day.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

gosplan wrote: »

ah here come on, win our game in hand we are two points behind Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,173 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

OPENROAD wrote: »

He is spot on. Same old shite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

OPENROAD wrote: »

you're both not wrong. I'd agree with more gosplan though, 3 games we've thrown away this season, as opposed to actually being bettered by another team. That to me suggests this squad doesn't have the mentality it takes to go on and win the thing. Hope I'm wrong, but i can't see anything other than another barren year from this current shower.

I'm as gutted as everyone else but its a bit of a knee jerk reaction to say we'll win nothing.

Its the first bad result against a team we'd expect to beat this year in the league.

Its the timing of it thats killing me after United losing earlier.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Twice in less than a week. Wasters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Paleface wrote: »
    I'm as gutted as everyone else but its a bit of a knee jerk reaction to say we'll win nothing.

Its the first bad result against a team we'd expect to beat this year in the league.

Its the timing of it thats killing me after United losing earlier.

Nothing seems to have changed, we will show flashes of brilliance as always, but when you can't keep a clean sheet, what hope do you have???

jasonorr wrote: »
    Nothing seems to have changed, we will show flashes of brilliance as always, but when you can't keep a clean sheet, what hope do you have???

The clean sheet thing is worrying but none of the sides who you'd expect to be up there at the end are keeping clean sheets regularly so far this season.

Its the closing out of games more so than clean sheets that is the real worry.

The clean sheet thing is worrying but none of the sides who you'd expect to be up there at the end are keeping clean sheets regularly so far this season.

Its the closing out of games more so than clean sheets that is the real worry.

The main reason we aren't closing out games is because we're leaking goals!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

Rob Green, Scott Parker and Carlton Cole in Janurary and we're sorted. :pac:

We concede cheap goals in EVERY. SINGLE. GAME.

Just to repeat, that's EVERY. SINGLE. GAME, and I'm not exaggerating.

By my reckoning, if we didn't we'd be level with Chelsea with a game in hand (3 extra points vrs Man U and two extra vrs Hammers). That's league winning form.

You can't give away goals like we do and win the league, it just can't happen.

Edit: THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED RESULT!!! This is just one of the days that giving away cheap goals cost us points, like in the champions league and like against Manchester United. Even last week could have been the same but we scored the third before we let Birmingham equalise.

Edited again: I still love the boys though. if we can sort this mess out we'll be unstoppable.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

We concede cheap goals in EVERY. SINGLE. GAME.

Just to repeat, that's EVERY. SINGLE. GAME,
    Fulham :confused:.

Redzer7 wrote: »
    Fulham :confused:.

Pedantic much? We have In most games though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

Why is it that whenever we're two up and the opposition pull one back, that there's a sense of inevitability about the equaliser.
    I texted a friend at half time that so far it was smooth but if West Ham get one, we'll get nervy. There's no way Chelsea would have conceded two goals in the same situation.
    A win over Spurs on Saturday is going to be needed.

jasonorr wrote: »
    Pedantic much? We have In most games though!
    Thats still not "EVERY SINGLE GAME".
    West Brom, Wigan, Celtic and Olimpiacos.

Premier League Record:
    Reading               4   4   0   0  11   2   9  12 3.00
    Watford               4   4   0   0   9   3   6  12 3.00
    Barnsley              2   2   0   0   7   0   7   6 3.00
    Wolves                2   2   0   0   6   1   5   6 3.00
    Wigan                 9   8   1   0  21   6  15  25 2.78
    Ipswich              10   8   2   0  23   4  19  26 2.60
    Fulham               17  13   2   2  34   9  25  41 2.41
    Man City             25  19   3   3  48  18  30  60 2.40
    Charlton             16  12   2   2  36  12  24  38 2.38
    West Brom             8   6   1   1  18   8  10  19 2.38
    Derby                14  10   3   1  27  11  16  33 2.36
    Leicester            16  10   5   1  38  13  25  35 2.19
    Birmingham           11   7   3   1  22   6  16  24 2.18
    Crystal Palace        8   5   2   1  16   5  11  17 2.13
    Everton              35  22   8   5  73  28  45  74 2.11
    Nottingham Forest    10   6   3   1  13   7   6  21 2.10
    Portsmouth           13   7   6   0  24   7  17  27 2.08
    Southampton          26  15   7   4  50  24  26  52 2.00
    Sunderland           16   9   5   2  30  11  19  32 2.00
    Oldham                4   2   2   0   4   1   3   8 2.00
    Swindon               2   1   1   0   5   1   4   4 2.00
    Middlesbrough        28  16   7   5  62  26  36  55 1.96
    Coventry             18  10   5   3  25  13  12  35 1.94
    Bolton               20  11   5   4  32  22  10  38 1.90
    West Ham             29  16   7   6  42  19  23  55 1.90
    Blackburn            31  17   7   7  57  28  29  58 1.87
    Villa                34  16  12   6  53  30  23  60 1.76
    Newcastle            32  16   8   8  46  27  19  56 1.75
    Bradford              4   2   1   1   6   3   3   7 1.75
    Chelsea              34  16  11   7  50  39  11  59 1.74
    Leeds                24  12   4   8  43  25  18  40 1.67
    Norwich               8   3   4   1  17   9   8  13 1.63
    Spurs                34  13  16   5  51  36  15  55 1.62
    MK Dons              16   7   4   5  30  16  14  25 1.56
    Sheffield Wednesday  16   7   4   5  21  16   5  25 1.56
    Sheffield United      6   2   3   1   9   4   5   9 1.50
    Stoke                 2   1   0   1   5   3   2   3 1.50
    Hull                  2   1   0   1   4   3   1   3 1.50
    Man United           35  10  11  14  34  45 -11  41 1.17
    Liverpool            34   9  11  14  36  48 -12  38 1.12
    QPR                   8   1   5   2   7   8  -1   8 1.00

This Season v Previous Seasons:
    P   W   D   L   F   A  GD Pts
    2009-2010:   9   6   1   2  29  13  16  19
    2008-2009:   9   6   1   2  18   6  12  19 ( 4th)
    2007-2008:   9   8   1   0  21   6  15  25 ( 3rd)
    2006-2007:   9   5   3   1  16   5  11  18 ( 4th)
    2005-2006:   9   5   1   3  12   6   6  16 ( 4th)
    2004-2005:   9   8   1   0  29   8  21  25 ( 2nd)
    2003-2004:   9   7   2   0  18   7  11  23 ( 1st)
    2002-2003:   9   7   2   0  24   9  15  23 ( 2nd)
    2001-2002:   9   5   3   1  21   8  13  18 ( 1st)
    2000-2001:   9   5   3   1  15   9   6  18 ( 2nd)
    1999-2000:   9   6   1   2  12   7   5  19 ( 2nd)
    1998-1999:   9   3   5   1  10   4   6  14 ( 2nd)
    1997-1998:   9   5   4   0  22  10  12  19 ( 1st)
    1996-1997:   9   6   2   1  19   8  11  20 ( 3rd)
    1995-1996:   9   5   3   1  13   5   8  18 ( 5th)
    1994-1995:   9   3   2   4  11  10   1  11 (12th)
    1993-1994:   9   6   1   2  12   6   6  19 ( 4th)
    1992-1993:   9   3   2   4  11  11   0  11 (10th)

Rolling Season:
    2009-2010:  38  20  12   6  79  44  35  72

Current Run:
    2009-2010:   5   4   1   0  16   5  11  13

I think the rolling season is most telling.

This thread needs to be renamed to the gloom and doom thread.

We are doing much better than this time last season.

No team is looking like clear winners so far and all have their own problems. Lets just see how the season unfolds shall we.

This thread needs to be renamed to the gloom and doom thread.

No team is looking like clear winners so far and all have their own problems. Lets just see how the season unfolds shall we.

Same points, more goals scored and conceded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

I'd like to see Almunia back in goal. He may not be a world beater but he's better than Mannone I think. I don't have any confidence in him.

Mannone might yet turn out to be a great keeper but Almunia had a good season last year and maybe the spell on the sidelines will give him the boot up the ass he needs.

It's not just about points on the board.

It's about fixing a very basic and annoying flaw that you a professional team shouldn't have.

Fair enough, but I'm still annoyed we're not taking our chances. The fact that other teams aren't taking their doesn't really alleviate this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

so according to wenger you should have won every game this season.

he's a genius of a manager.

but sorry, him bleating every f*cking post-match interview about how they didn't get what they deserved is getting ridiculous now.

they play as good, if not better football than everyone else, but he needs to look at his team's faults and consider that the world is not against them; that maybe, they need to grow a bit of a backbone and hold out for what they 'deserve'.

SlickRic wrote: »
    so according to wenger you should have won every game this season.

To be fair to him, he's right. We should have but we haven't. Should have beaten West Ham today and AZ during the week. Should have beaten Man Utd at Old Trafford after playing them off the park. Perhaps the City game should have gotten a point would be more apt but still could have beaten them.
    SlickRic wrote: »
    he's a genius of a manager.

but sorry, him bleating every f*cking post-match interview about how they didn't get what they deserved is getting ridiculous now.

they play as good, if not better football than everyone else, but he needs to look at his team's faults and consider that the world is not against them; that maybe, they need to grow a bit of a backbone and hold out for what they 'deserve'.

They play the best football in the Premiership in my honest opinion. The thing with Arsenal is and I mentioned this in the match thread, even if they go 2-0 up you can never be 100% sure. Conversely with the likes of Man Utd, Chelsea even Liverpool; once they go 2-0 up that is game-set-match. I'd like to know when the last time one of those 3 didn't get all 3 points after being 2-0 up.

We have conceded far too many goals this season. The defence doesn't seem to be able to deal with high looping balls or long balls into the area. The just don't attack them. Personally, I think Gallas is in decline. Vermaelen had a fantastic game today but I don't think in the long run its sustainable to have two small-ish centre halves playing together. I think someone with a bigger presence than the two incumbent needs to come in and start alongside Vermaelen. The full backs are decent, though Clichy was very good today but as a unit the defence needs to work on what I'd term is a soft centre. the mindset that any goal scored against us must be earned is one worth adopting.

Secondly; while Mad Jens was unpredictable at times he had a presence. Almunia and lately Mannone whilst both good in their own rights are not good enough for Arsenal if the team wants to win things. I can only imagine what the club would have won had we had someone like Casillas in goal. We need to spend money on a goalkeeper end of.

Thirdly; how in the name of sweet st Dolores and all the Cranberries is Abou Diaby getting his game for us? His odd flashes of brilliance are vastly overshadowed by his anonymous, invisible passenger games where he contributes nothing but to arse around like a headless chicken. Hopefully Nasri will replace him next week.

To be honest, there isn't an awful lot wrong with Arsenal at the moment. The current squad has every chance of winning something and I think one or two additions (and no losses next summer!) would make us serious contenders. I joked above there about the 3 West Ham players but in all honesty we'd probably win the title if we got those 3. :(

cson wrote: »
    Secondly; while Mad Jens was unpredictable at times he had a presence. Almunia and lately Mannone whilst both good in their own rights are not good enough for Arsenal if the team wants to win things. I can only imagine what the club would have won had we had someone like Casillas in goal. We need to spend money on a goalkeeper end of.

Definitely, Jens got a bad rep but aside from all his nutjob moments, he was a great keeper. Would give anything to have somebody like him between the sticks right now. Not buying Given when the chance was there is looking like a huge mistake.

Shay can't command his area either so I don't see how he'd help us on set pieces which is one of the big areas of concern.

Disagree re Gallas also. He's been outstanding this season.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Still absolutley gutted at the result. I actually went out with 15 minutes to go thinking it was all in the bag. Typical Asrenal after that, concede one goal and suddenly its panic stations. 10 men didnt hinder them at all, sure we only had 10 men ourselves with Diaby on the pitch. Its time to change the team a bit, certainly in midfield. Song has been doing ok recently but thats 2 goals he's cost us in 2 games.

And yes, its time to stick Al back in nets, until we can buy somebody in January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Souless

keano_afc wrote: »
    Still absolutley gutted at the result.Typical Arsenal after that, concede one goal and suddenly its panic stations.

Couldn't agree more. Nothing more depressing than watching a match where you are two up an having in your mind that if they get one goal then we're probably gonna only manage a point.

With that said there was no way in hell that it was a peno. We deserved 3 points but like the Arsenal of last season we just crumbled under a bit of pressure.

We need a new goalie for sure, Mannone has filled in well for Almunia and while he was kind of at fault for the first goal overall he's played pretty well. We also definatly need a new center back even though I agree with a lot of whats been said in this thread already about Gallas playing well this season (which was a real shock as seemed he was all but on his way out the door over the summer) and Vermaelen has been playing some great football, the only problem I have is that they go forward so much you're a defender for a reason and the amount of times we've been caught out on the counter attack this season is unreal and unforgivable.

Hopefully we'll steady the boat against the pool on wednesday and then beat Spurs good and proper on saturday ;) A couple of purchases in the january window and we'll be looking great. It's not all doom and gloom with the exception of the dropped points we've been looking pretty good overall and the league is wide open no one is running away with it yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

Pool will be interesting..... spurs.....i cannot wait.

the thought of 'arrys face after rvp and arsh (who apparently didn't turn up for the hammers match - didn't see it unfortunately) destroy them....well lets just say (again) i cannot wait :)

Souless wrote: »
    A couple of purchases in the january window and we'll be looking great.

Does anybody actually expect this to happen? Will be surprised if anybody is bought, extremely surprised if it's more than one.

+1 to that.

I have belief in the squad etc etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

+1 to that.

I have belief in the squad etc etc.

You forgot We are naive at times but we are learning...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

I heard we were 2-0 up with 20 to go, got two texts in quick succession about the goals and I really wasn't even suprised.

Like against AZ during the week we have two modes:

6-0 thrashing
    Nervy 2 goal leads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Hey lads finally got round to requesting access to soccerball. Fellow gooner, DB10 ATH
    off to Stander Liege in Nov.

Unwavering supporter of AW, always afforded GG same respect too.

Not a big soccer head, if Arsenal arn't involved, I pay little heed.

Yes we need a Viera type player to complete a total football team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Not gonna respond to everything bit by bit... but:

(1) Defence: Gallas is still our best defender and scapegoating him is silly. Vermaelen's goals have been eye-catching, but he's definitely still learning the position/league. Gallas has bailed him out on numerous occasions and he's yet to become the Vidic-like dominator we all hoped for.
    (2) Keepers: Mannone was poor for the first goal yesterday but all our keepers cost us goals so it's more generally a problem with Wenger-type keepers - good shot stoppers but not very commanding in the air and not perfect when it comes to coming off their lines.
    (3) We can still win things this season. But even though other teams are dropping points, we won't win the league by letting these points slip all year. I thought last season's good finish had taught these players a bit of resolve but maybe we're not quite there yet.
    (4) We got what we deserved yesterday. Two poor mistakes in your own box means you deserve to concede two goals. And it was a penalty by today's standards where any contact is enough - Song shouldn't have given the referee a decision to make.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

We all know what kind of a team we will put out for the Carling Cup but what about Liverpool, will they put out a full strength team? I think maybe we should put out a half and half team for the game, some experienced players and some kids too, it is Liverpool afterall and they would like to get a winning run going given how they have been going lately.

FearDark wrote: »
    We all know what kind of a team we will put out for the Carling Cup but what about Liverpool, will they put out a full strength team? I think maybe we should put out a half and half team for the game, some experienced players and some kids too, it is Liverpool afterall and they would like to get a winning run going given how they have been going lately.

I hope Liverpool do put out a full strength team. Vela vs Carragher :pac:

Mannone

Eboue
    Senderos----Silvestre
    Gibbs

Wilshere
    Coquelin
    Ramsey
    Traore/Merida

Watt
    Vela

Would be my preferred line up...

Frisbee wrote: »

Mannone

Eboue
    Senderos----Silvestre
    Gibbs

Wilshere
    Coquelin
    Ramsey
    Traore/Merida

Watt
    Vela

+1, Spot on.

Mannone

Eboue
    Senderos----Silvestre
    Gibbs

Wilshere
    Coquelin
    Ramsey
    Traore/Merida

Watt
    Vela

I think Nasri will start. He needs the game time. Probably instead of Traore/Merida in your line up but could be used centrally either.

Also Wenger could keep the 4-3-3 formation. Everyone needs to get used to the new system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

Mannone

Eboue
    Senderos----Silvestre
    Gibbs

Wilshere
    Coquelin
    Ramsey
    Traore/Merida

Watt
    Vela

I'd imagine if he starts with Mannone it means Almunia will be in goal for the Spurs game?

Also Wenger could keep the 4-3-3 formation. Everyone needs to get used to the new system.

I was thinking that but they went 4-4-2 in the last CC Game so I'm just assuming he'll do the same again.

Yeah your probably right about the formation.

Will be interesting to see what strength team Liverpool put out considering they've got a tough away game at Fulham on Saturday.

heh, dunno if anyone reads the site but Young Guns reckons Barca are after our England youth prodigy Benik Afobe. That'd be an interesting role reversal if they could nab him, though I'm not sure how the Spanish contract rules would allow it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Souless

I think Nasri will start. He needs the game time. Probably instead of Traore/Merida in your line up but could be used centrally either.

I agree line up is probably pretty bang on other Nasri I'd say. Hopefully Nasri gets his game its been to long since he last played for us, boy is there some amount of competition out on that left hand side ;)

Souless wrote: »
    I agree line up is probably pretty bang on other Nasri I'd say. Hopefully Nasri gets his game its been to long since he last played for us, boy is there some amount of competition out on that left hand side ;)

Well Wilshere and Traore are out, Nasri starting tonight :D.

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Roaster

No Vela :eek:

Wojciech Szczesny
    Lukasz Fabianski
    Philippe Senderos
    Kyle Bartley
    Mikael Silvestre
    Kieran Gibbs
    Kerrea Gilbert
    Fran Merida
    Francis Coquelin
    Craig Eastmond
    Emmanuel Frimpong
    Aaron Ramsey
    Mark Randall
    Samir Nasri
    Eduardo
    Gilles Sunu
    Nicklas Bendtner
    Sanchez Watt

He has to be injured?!

What is AW's aversion to playing him? He's been sensational anytime I've seen him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

What is AW's aversion to playing him? He's been sensational anytime I've seen him.

I think Vela's just Arsene pissed off with his lack of commitment to the club. But it is still baffling.

• Registered Users Posts: 667 ✭✭✭S.T.D Ste

I'd like to see young kyle bartly get a run out watched him last season in the youth cup games and was very impressed with him when on the ball and he is a very competent defender

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Meant to say did anybody else see Henri Lansbury for Watford against Sheffield United last week. Scored two goals, one was a lovely jinking run and finish.

How's JET getting on this season? Where's he on loan at the moment?