Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arsenal FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Thought Diaby and Ramsey both played very well tonight, one always tended to stay when the other went forward, either of them are quite capable of nailing down that spot to partner Cesc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Wow Andy Linighan is a plumber now, was a very good squad player for us.

Aw man. I liked him. :(

Sad to see Song go to Africa now. Nice to see him get a goal as a send off. Hopefully Denilson and Diaby can cover between them.

I'm also delighted to see Craig Eastmond make his Premier League debut. Funny how the English media don't mention us birthing another talented English youngster.
    Speaking of talented youngsters, the rags say we're signing some 15 yearold called Sterling from QPR. The 'new Rooney' :rolleyes:

Instead of going to bed at a normal hour I decided to stay up and watch every goal Henry scored for Arsenal.

Man he was awesome...

tn_thierry-henry-arsenal-wallpaper.jpg

adore.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Frisbee wrote: »
    Instead of going to bed at a normal hour I decided to stay up and watch every goal Henry scored for Arsenal.

Man he was awesome...

tn_thierry-henry-arsenal-wallpaper.jpg

adore.gif

Henry = Legend :D
    Will always like him no matter what :).

What legends are made of :P

large_35419.jpg

On another note will we have a game of "wheres the wally" to celebrate the new year? :D
    My guess would be this guy :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

I don't really look the like of this guy either :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

I thought song was still around for the next game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,153 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Love that photo, as well as the Torres one in front of the Everton fans.

My favourite two guys from Henry's one are these two; The happy man and the thoughtful man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

Wreck wrote: »
    Six points from our games against Villa and Pompey please Santa :pac:

Why didn't I ask for more!

Happy New Year guys, lets hope we can pick up a trophy or two in 2010.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Ah Arshavin's grand.

He's just having a bout of second season syndrome combined with being asked to play in a totally new and unsuitable position. I reckon he'd do a lot better up top if he had Fab playing perfect passes through to release him but the last few games he's been dropping back and collecting short passes from Song and Diaby with his back to goal.

What I really like about Arshavin - really really like - is he's very desicive. Practically every time there's a good chance for him to score or assist he'll act quickly and at the minimum get off a good shot or pass.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Cesc only out for about 10 days according to Arsene. Misses the West Ham FA cup game and Bolton at home but could be back for Everton at home. Good news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭Paleface

Diaby has signed a new long term deal today.

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_5814156,00.html

I think that he probably would have been on his way out of the club if it wasn't for his improved form and more importantly improved fitness this year.

I love the surging runs he makes through the centre of midfield. He looks so powerful on the ball and still only 23 so plenty of room for improvement.

He has the potential to be a very important player for the club if he can maintain his fitness.

Looks like we will have a tricky fixture run in soon:

Bolton (A)
    FA Cup 4th Rnd (TBC)
    Villa (A)
    Man U (H)
    Chelsea (A)
    Liverpool (H)
    FA Cup Rnd 5 (TBC)
    Porto (A)

Could make or break our season

Galvasean wrote: »
    Looks like we will have a tricky fixture run in soon:

Bolton (A)
    FA Cup 4th Rnd (TBC)
    Villa (A)
    Man U (H)
    Chelsea (A)
    Liverpool (H)

FA Cup Rnd 5 (TBC)
    Porto (A)

Could make or break our season

I'd be delighted with 7 points from those games

Just read the paper headlines. I think it was the Mail who said "Eduardo's stroke of luck sends Arsenal to victory" while singing United's praises for their demolition of Wigan.
    I'm sick to death of these anti-Arsenal journos trying to run us down at every opportunity. Sure, it was luck that had us play Pompey off the park and hammer them. It's luck that has us scoring nearly 3 goals per game. Its luck that letas us string together 20 plus pass movements that lead to superb goals. Its luck that we've managed to assemble a quality squad ona shoestring budget. Sure it's luck that has us challenging for the Premiership this year.

F#ck journos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Premier League Record:
    Reading               4   4   0   0  11   2   9  12 3.00
    Watford               4   4   0   0   9   3   6  12 3.00
    Wolves                3   3   0   0  10   2   8   9 3.00
    Barnsley              2   2   0   0   7   0   7   6 3.00
    Wigan                 9   8   1   0  21   6  15  25 2.78
    Ipswich              10   8   2   0  23   4  19  26 2.60
    Fulham               17  13   2   2  34   9  25  41 2.41
    Man City             25  19   3   3  48  18  30  60 2.40
    Charlton             16  12   2   2  36  12  24  38 2.38
    West Brom             8   6   1   1  18   8  10  19 2.38
    Derby                14  10   3   1  27  11  16  33 2.36
    Leicester            16  10   5   1  38  13  25  35 2.19
    Birmingham           11   7   3   1  22   6  16  24 2.18
    Portsmouth           14   8   6   0  28   8  20  30 2.14
    Crystal Palace        8   5   2   1  16   5  11  17 2.13
    Everton              35  22   8   5  73  28  45  74 2.11
    Nottingham Forest    10   6   3   1  13   7   6  21 2.10
    Southampton          26  15   7   4  50  24  26  52 2.00
    Oldham                4   2   2   0   4   1   3   8 2.00
    Hull                  3   2   0   1   7   3   4   6 2.00
    Stoke                 3   2   0   1   7   3   4   6 2.00
    Swindon               2   1   1   0   5   1   4   4 2.00
    Middlesbrough        28  16   7   5  62  26  36  55 1.96
    Coventry             18  10   5   3  25  13  12  35 1.94
    Bolton               20  11   5   4  32  22  10  38 1.90
    West Ham             29  16   7   6  42  19  23  55 1.90
    Sunderland           17   9   5   3  30  12  18  32 1.88
    Blackburn            31  17   7   7  57  28  29  58 1.87
    Villa                35  17  12   6  56  30  26  63 1.80
    Newcastle            32  16   8   8  46  27  19  56 1.75
    Bradford              4   2   1   1   6   3   3   7 1.75
    Chelsea              35  16  11   8  50  42   8  59 1.69
    Leeds                24  12   4   8  43  25  18  40 1.67
    Spurs                35  14  16   5  54  36  18  58 1.66
    Norwich               8   3   4   1  17   9   8  13 1.63
    MK Dons              16   7   4   5  30  16  14  25 1.56
    Sheffield Wednesday  16   7   4   5  21  16   5  25 1.56
    Sheffield United      6   2   3   1   9   4   5   9 1.50
    Liverpool            35  10  11  14  38  49 -11  41 1.17
    Man United           35  10  11  14  34  45 -11  41 1.17
    QPR                   8   1   5   2   7   8  -1   8 1.00
    Burnley               1   0   1   0   1   1   0   1 1.00

This Season v Previous Seasons:
    P   W   D   L   F   A  GD Pts
    2009-2010:  19  13   2   4  51  21  30  41
    2008-2009:  19   9   5   5  32  23   9  32 ( 4th)
    2007-2008:  19  13   5   1  36  15  21  44 ( 3rd)
    2006-2007:  19   9   6   4  35  17  18  33 ( 4th)
    2005-2006:  19  10   3   6  27  15  12  33 ( 4th)
    2004-2005:  19  12   5   2  47  22  25  41 ( 2nd)
    2003-2004:  19  13   6   0  35  12  23  45 ( 1st)
    2002-2003:  19  12   3   4  39  20  19  39 ( 2nd)
    2001-2002:  19  10   6   3  39  23  16  36 ( 1st)
    2000-2001:  19  10   5   4  30  18  12  35 ( 2nd)
    1999-2000:  19  11   3   5  34  20  14  36 ( 2nd)
    1998-1999:  19   8   8   3  21  11  10  32 ( 2nd)
    1997-1998:  19   9   6   4  34  22  12  33 ( 1st)
    1996-1997:  19  10   6   3  35  18  17  36 ( 3rd)
    1995-1996:  19   8   7   4  24  15   9  31 ( 5th)
    1994-1995:  19   6   6   7  23  22   1  24 (12th)
    1993-1994:  19   8   7   4  18  11   7  31 ( 4th)
    1992-1993:  19   9   2   8  22  20   2  29 (10th)

Rolling Season:
    2009-2010:  38  24   9   5  87  35  52  81

Current Run:
    2009-2010:   6   5   1   0  15   3  12  16

First time in a long while our rolling season has been in the 80's! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Souless

Just read the paper headlines. I think it was the Mail who said "Eduardo's stroke of luck sends Arsenal to victory" while singing United's praises for their demolition of Wigan.
    I'm sick to death of these anti-Arsenal journos trying to run us down at every opportunity. Sure, it was luck that had us play Pompey off the park and hammer them. It's luck that has us scoring nearly 3 goals per game. Its luck that letas us string together 20 plus pass movements that lead to superb goals. Its luck that we've managed to assemble a quality squad ona shoestring budget. Sure it's luck that has us challenging for the Premiership this year.

F#ck journos.

I agree mostly but I do have to admit eddies first goal was a total fluke like it probably was well covered by the keeper if it hadn't of taken such a wicked deflection. With that said we totally dominated them otherwise only thing that disapointed me was that we failed to keep a clean sheet for the umpteenth time this year!

As regards our next fixtures I agree, its gonna be a very difficult couple of weeks with chelsea, man u and liverpool in a row, like someone said earlier that will be the make or break for our season.

Also happy new year in advance lads, some of us have to work poxy evening shifts on new years eve so wont be on till tomorrow and even then the hangover will probably stop me from posting anything to substantial ;)

Young Guns is reporting that we've signed Brazillian striker Wellington for £3.4m. Seems very highly rated by all accounts.

Daily Mail appear to have pinched the story: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1239620/Arsenal-sign-Wellington-Silva-3-5m-16-year-old-Brazil-star-wont-arrive-till-2011.html

Young Guns is reporting that we've signed Brazillian striker Wellington for £3.4m. Seems very highly rated by all accounts.

Daily Mail appear to have pinched the story: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1239620/Arsenal-sign-Wellington-Silva-3-5m-16-year-old-Brazil-star-wont-arrive-till-2011.html

FM08 legend! :eek:
    On that note it could just be fan talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,137 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Knowing the Daily Mail Wenger probably bought a pair of wellies for £3.40 because it was snowing so much lately and they fabricated this story.

Wenger on January and goalscorers:
    http://www.arsenal.com/news/news-archive/wenger-transfer-window-gives-me-a-dilemma

It's an interesting dilemma. We have scored more goals than anyone despite not having a striker. Is it possible to forge a championship winning side without one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,174 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Is it possible to forge a championship winning side without one?

No.

Bendtner's back in 2-3 weeks though so I could see Wenger not signing a striker alright.

He'll probably use the old 'Bendtner is like a new signing' angle. TBH I dont see the need for a new striker with so many goalscorers in the team. It would be a luxury alright, but given the choice between that or a lid centre back as cover for Gallas and Vermaelen I'd have to go for the latter.

I still don't think we need another striker.

We're scoring goals and if we sign another one that will mean we have 5 strikers in the squad competing for one place, absolute waste of resources.

Had some spare time this evening, so here's a half-season report.

Manuel Almunia
    It's taken Manuel a long time to build up a fanbase at the club and sadly it's only taken him a few months to completely dismantle it. He's regressed from one of the best players at the club in the last two seasons to one of he worst. Terrible for much of the campaign thus far, he's been indecisive, spilling crosses and regularly failing to make any kind of game changing saves. He's played a bit better in the last few games and he'll need to keep it up if he wants any future at the club.
    Verdict: 3.5. Very poor.

Lukasz Fabianski
    Had a difficult campaign last season and has been blighted with injuries this season. Displays all the ingredients to be a top goalkeeper but too often makes rash decisions. Needs to get fit and get focused.
    Verdict: 5. Work to do.

Vito Mannone
    Involved to due the abject form and fitness of his competitors but has not looked like an alternative to either, one outstanding game at Fulham aside. Still young though.
    Verdict: 6. Not ready yet, but some potential shown.

Wojciech Szczesny
    Quite a few months for the young Pole. Made his debut in the Carling Cup with a clean sheet against West Brom, made his debut for the Polish national team and won the hearts of Brentford fans with a series of outstanding performances on loan.
    Verdict: 8. Doing everything right at the moment.

Gael Clichy
    He's undisputedly our #1 left back and perhaps that has bred complacency. His form has wobbled continually over the last 18 months and with Gibbs and Traore rapidly emerging he'll need to get back to his best soon. He's due to return from injury soon and I wonder if he will get back into the team immediately.
    Verdict: 6. Inconsistent.

Kieran Gibbs
    One of the success stories of last year's disappointing campaign, but he was dreadfully unlucky to get injured at the same time as Gael. Faces a real challenge to establish himself at the club now.
    Verdict: N/A

Armand Traore
    It was hard to see where forgotten man Armand would fit into Arsene's plans and it still isn't clear, but he's given the manager something to think about. Strong, quick and technically good, few doubted his offensive capabilities but he has shown that defensively he's a better player than many gave him credit for.
    Verdict: 6.5. Doing his reputation no harm at the moment.

Bacary Sagna
    A family bereavement made an already difficult second season even more so, but he looks back to his best now. Despite playing in a new formation that both himself and Clichy have admitted to not liking, he's returned to his old tigerish self and has improved on his attacking ability, crossing the ball more dangerously and joining the attack at more opportune times. Easily the club's best defender.
    Verdict: 8. Keep up the good work.

Emmanuel Eboue
    Has continued his rehabilitation with the fanbase with a series of decent displays at right back and right midfield. Offers slightly more end product these days and less theatrics. It's also highly evident that he is extremely popular in the dressing room.
    Verdict: 6. A useful squad player.

William Gallas
    It's always been a bit more difficult for him being an ex Chelsea player and many would have preferred he was sold instead of Toure, but he has responded magnificently since being stripped of the captaincy. His partnership with Vermaelen is much more complimentary than his one with Toure and he is probably in his best form since joining the club. Has made a pleasant habit of digging the team out of holes with crucial goals.
    Verdict: 7.5. Good performances so far.

Thomas Vermaelen
    Is he 5'11" or 6'1"? Who cares, he's exactly what the team needed. He's an aggressive, natural man marker with a fantastic left foot and a brilliant attitude. More signings like him please Arsene.
    Verdict: 8. Great stuff so far.

Johan Djourou
    See: Kieran Gibbs.

Mikael Silvestre
    One of the most mystifying signings of recent times but he's done okay this season with the absence of Johan Djourou through injury. Has no pace and a strangely shaped head but has not let the team down when called upon. Still, the prospect of a serious injury to Gallas or Vermaelen is very worrying.
    Verdict: 6. Past it ex-Manc but hasn't done too badly.

Alex Song
    Arsenal's biggest success story of 2009, simply put. Has banished memories of the boo-boys with consistently outstanding performances. He's looked a lot more lithe in the past 12 months and people are starting to notice. Strong, mobile, tenacious and technically sound, he's had fans for a long time but they're no longer in the minority.
    Verdict: 8.5. Rapidly becoming one of the game's top DMs.

Denilson
    Continues to divide opinion like his countryman Lucas as a player with a role in the team that is difficult to discern, but he is a solid performer that has few weaknesses, if few real strengths either. Chips in with the occasional goal and can be relied on for a lot of defensive running to free up Fabregas or Diaby.
    Verdict: 7. Steady.

Abou Diaby
    Has benefitted from me waiting until the very end of the year before writing this as it comes on the back of his best run of form since joining the club. Still has an awful lot of work to do to show that he's got the consistency required for a club like Arsenal, but he's doing well at the moment. On form, he's a dynamic, strong runner that scores goals. Off form, well, better less said.
    Verdict: 6.5. Improving, but will it last?

Cesc Fabregas
    El Capitan has been simply inspirational this season. Probably the best player in the world at the moment on current form, his stats for a central midfielder have been truly remarkable and he is very much earning the praise that has had him labelled as one of finest players of his generation since he was a teenager. Continues to add to his game year on year and you have to wonder how high this still very young man will go.
    Verdict: 9.5. Add a trophy at the end of the campaign and this becomes a 10.

Aaron Ramsey
    Five million pounds for this boy looks extremely well spent now. Improving every game, he's looked more powerful and more composed this season. At times he's reminiscient of a young Fabregas with his ability to dictate the tempo but his surging runs and powerful shooting are reminscient of other leading midfielders.
    Verdict: 7.5. Our brightest teenage talent.

Andrei Arshavin
    Was never likely to meet expectations following his heroics at Anfield but has provided spark at crucial times and worked hard for the team in an unfamiliar role since van Persie's injury. Hopefully his best is still to come.
    Verdict: 6.5. Looking for a bit more.

Robin van Persie
    Agonisingly his season ending injury came at a time when it finally looked like he'd shed his form and fitness problems. Recast as a leading striker, he finally looked like the player he'd threatening to become for many years. A strong, consistent and creative fulcrum for the team and he is sorely missed now.
    Verdict: 8.5. Hurry back.

Samir Nasri
    Has not really pushed on from last season. Again this campaign has been a mixed bag, some good, some not so good. Doesn't look suited to being one of the front three but looks to be stuck there for the foreseeable future.
    Verdict: 6.5. Talented but still inconsistent.

Eduardo
    Fortunate that others have been injured as his form has been decidedly poor. Bereft of confidence, his touch and finishing has not looked the same at all this season though he had perhaps his best game of the season against Portsmouth. Badly needs to score a few goals.
    Verdict: 5. Struggling, but we should keep faith.

Theo Walcott
    Has barely had a campaign at all with his injury problems and typical of his season he suffered another niggling injury after his best cameo of the season against Villa. Needs to find form and someone to supply him with chances, but with fatigue setting in at other clubs and a run of games hopefully he can find some form.
    Verdict: 4. Disappointing, but understandable.

Nicklas Bendtner
    Ironically was played out of position due to van Persie being available, and was then unable to play when the Dutchman got injured. A crucial squad player who can frustrate but provides valuable attributes in this team. Form-wise, he's been OK.
    Verdict: 6. Hoping for a strong run in February.

Carlos Vela
    Under-utilised again but has tended to underwhelm when used. Not yet ready for a central role and squashed out of contention on the flanks. Recently signed a new deal though so still has opportunities.
    Verdict: 5.5. Unremarkable campaign so far.

Tomas Rosicky
    Shockingly he actually returned to fitness which is a plus, before getting injured again. Got fit again, then got injured again. Some things never change. Has generally looked the talented player he always did, but features so rarely that it doesn't matter.
    Verdict: 5. Still the sicknote.

Jack Wilshere, Fran Merida, Craig Eastmond, Kyle Bartley and the other hatchlings
    As usual a series of eye-catching performances early on the CC were followed by a fall back to earth at the hands of an upper tier premiership side. Some memorable moments including Merida's belter against Liverpool have given reason for encouragement, and loan deals may be the way forward for these boys now.

... and with that, I'm off to get mullered!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,098 ✭✭✭DenMan

Great report there Pepe. Well done. I really hope Theo nails down a starting position for us. Been very impressed with Ramsey and hope Jack the Lad get's a decent run in the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Had some spare time this evening, so here's a half-season report.

Manuel Almunia
    The man has a rich knowledge in the history of wars.Fond of too many pints and pies.

Lukasz Fabianski
    Needs to stop going pub with Arshavin and Ray Parlour.Not able for it.

Vito Mannone
    Classically handsome lad and a wonderful sketch artist.I saw a lion he drew.It was smashing.

Wojciech Szczesny
    Named for a buddy cop movie.Wasted as a professional footballer.

Gael Clichy
    Has had a black eye for 3 years.Hopefully now Gilberto is gone his wife will stop beating him up.

Kieran Gibbs
    Failed 3 driving tests but still has a 60 grand car.Stop getting driving lessons from Bendtner.

Armand Traore
    Plays a mean harmonica when on the lash with Song and the late Gilberto.

Bacary Sagna
    Needs a haircut.

Emmanuel Eboue
    Great craic this lad.

William Gallas
    Quit smoking and got new contacts.Billy the legend.

Thomas Vermaelen
    I would not call this guy a c*nt in a bar.

Johan Djourou
    Metal Djourou,is it you.....

Mikael Silvestre
    If Arsenal are the Goonies poor old Mikael is Sloth....

Alex Song
    Gave up smoking the reefer after Gilberto left and the band broke up...plays much better when not high.....like the opposite of Paul Merson.

Denilson
    Has come to terms with his funny ears and is happy out.

Abou Diaby
    Realized Denielson has funnier ears and is therefore playing much better for it.Also quit the band and long cigs when Gilberto left.

Cesc Fabregas
    What a gentleman.If I was out for a meal I'd nearly want him as my waiter before Rafa....but not yet,he is still young.

Aaron Ramsey
    Bit of a mad bastard this lad.Welsh tart strolls into the Arsenal team and cains it, and he is just 19.Fair play to him.

Andrei Arshavin
    Likes a pint this fella...and he can kick a ball harder than Hot Shot Hamish.

Robin van Persie
    Like Cadburys Creme Eggs....We only get them for a short time but aren't they just lovely when we do?

Samir Nasri
    I would not call any of this guys friends or family a c*nt,ever. Did one on Joey Barton,free pass for life after that as far as I care!

Eduardo
    Had his leg cut off in a Brum sh*thole.Can't believe he is still playing to be honest.Love this guy.

Theo Walcott
    Just needs to drink more milk.He'll be grand after that.

Nicklas Bendtner
    Underpants model and sh*t driver.Player of the Season from January on I reckon.Love him I do!!

Carlos Vela
    Great craic but might be a bit fond of cake.I wear my Vela 12 shirt with pride.

Tomas Rosicky
    If my wife looked like his wife the only balls being played with....anyway...I wouldn't have blamed the guy if he stayed home sick.

Jack Wilshere, Fran Merida, Craig Eastmond, Kyle Bartley and the other hatchlings
    Jailbait.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Will be very interesting to see what Arsene does in the transfer window, think we will make one signing if that.

Happy New Year everyone :)

Happy New Year guys. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭vincenzo1975

looks like we have bolted out of the transfer gate with a signing of Brazilian Starlet wellington....

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=719507&sec=transfers&cc=5739

anyone know anything about him, have heard him linked with barca in the past, as well as ourselves and Utd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

looks like we have bolted out of the transfer gate with a signing of Brazilian Starlet wellington....

anyone know anything about him, have heard him linked with barca in the past, as well as ourselves and Utd

A name familiar to me from football manager, haven't a notion what he's like in real life though.

New long tern contract for Henri Lansbury. Very good player. Great news for both Arsenal and England.

http://www.arsenal.com/news/news-archive/-lansbury-will-be-a-big-player-for-arsenal-

Looks like we're close to signing Zezinho, an attacking midfielder, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,141 ✭✭✭G1032

A name familiar to me from football manager, haven't a notion what he's like in real life though.

Lol. Bought him in Football Manager too:). Don't know anything about him though

some reports from games that wellington was involved in here

http://www.fifa.com/u20worldcup/matches/index.html

from the u20 world cup where brazil came runner up to ghana. wellington featured prominantly for Brazil - a good sign.

milan are close to signing Dominic Adiyiah, he looks like a real prospect, it would be nice if we could nick that one from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

Wonder if Wenger would be tempted to go in for Malouda

Malouda hints at Blues exit

He's shown he's talented but lacks the consistency we need in a striker.

Arsenal.com are reporting that we are not trying to sign either Huntelaar or Chamakh in January.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Arsenal.com are reporting that we are not trying to sign either Huntelaar or Chamakh in January.

Good, I don't think either are good enough for us.

Wonder if Wenger would be tempted to go in for Malouda

Malouda hints at Blues exit

He's shown he's talented but lacks the consistency we need in a striker.

That would be a massive waste of money
    Good, I don't think either are good enough for us.

+1, the two big European teams Huntelaar has played for he has been a flop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

In_tuition wrote: »
    I was very impressed with Kevin Doyle in the last few matches for Wolves, especially last night.

Others may laugh but I think he would be a decent purchase. His technique, hold-up play and movement is excellent and with 5 goals in 15 games I think he would be a good asset to the Arsenal squad for the remainder of the season.
    Bloody hell lads, there's gonna be enough crap in the papers during the window without us starting it ourselves... although I would point out that the bit in bold is exactly what we'll get from Bendtner if he comes back in form and stays fit. Less said about Bellamy the better - but if we could nick Nedum Onuoha from City I'd be very happy.
    gosplan wrote: »
    He's just having a bout of second season syndrome combined with being asked to play in a totally new and unsuitable position ... What I really like about Arshavin - really really like - is he's very desicive.
    Now this I agree with... anyone who judges Arshavin on what he does against 2 centre backs with Almunia raining kick-outs down on top of him is being unreasonable. 16 points from 18 in December is far better than we could have expected with no strikers and I think Arshavin's willingness to suffer for the team has set the tone for team spirit, even if he's not always been at his peak form-wise. And he definitely speeds up our play close to the opposition goal which we've missed in recent years at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

some reports from games that wellington was involved in here

http://www.fifa.com/u20worldcup/matches/index.html

from the u20 world cup where brazil came runner up to ghana. wellington featured prominantly for Brazil - a good sign.

milan are close to signing Dominic Adiyiah, he looks like a real prospect, it would be nice if we could nick that one from them.

AFAIK they've had that deal tied up for a while now. No chance of us stealing him.

Yeah, it's easy to dig at Arshavin but he isn't an out n out striker. He's far more comfortable in the hole or on the wings. He has been getting snuffed out of late, but it's always the oppositions best (in some cases two of them) centre back marking him, which leaves more room for others to get in.
    That said, as he showed against Liverpool, he can be quiet all night and then do this:

Then we do this (possibly NSFW):

what would you think of sebastian frey as a goalkeeping swoop during the jan transfer market.

he is 29, a good age to bring in a keeper, he has bags of experience at every level and at fiorantione, we should be able to pry him away.

Not sure of his contract arrangements.

I would love us to put in a bid for Joe Hart, think he is going to turn out to be a top keeper.

OPENROAD wrote: »
    I would love us to put in a bid for Ian Hart, think he is going to turn out to be a top keeper.

Do you mean Joe Hart? As opposed to Ireland's former left back

:o lol nah lets go for Ian :p yup Joe Hart :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Wiki says Frey is contracted till 2013, and is Fiorentina's vice-captain. I really don't see how we'd just "be able to pry him away".

Hart (Joe, by the way :)) is certainly a good shotstopper, but I'm not sure how commanding he is? He'd also be expensive. And most importantly, there's no way in hell City would sell him to us... especially with Birmingham surely in line ahead of us, and with money to spend.

I'd be shocked to see a keeper signed - it'd be at least no. 3 on Wenger's list of priorities, and I don't think we'll get that far down.

When you think about it, it costed Birmingham £1million just to loan Hart. Ad on the fact that he's English and the way City consider us a rival club now he would end up being silly money.

yahoo_moe wrote: »
    Wiki says Frey is contracted till 2013, and is Fiorentina's vice-captain. I really don't see how we'd just "be able to pry him away".

Hart (Joe, by the way :)) is certainly a good shotstopper, but I'm not sure how commanding he is? He'd also be expensive. And most importantly, there's no way in hell City would sell him to us... especially with Birmingham surely in line ahead of us, and with money to spend.

I'd be shocked to see a keeper signed - it'd be at least no. 3 on Wenger's list of priorities, and I don't think we'll get that far down.

Maybe Ian would be a cheaper option :p