Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arsenal FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

I think Diaby in his typical role is more like Vieria because he is a box-to-box midfielder although obviously he scores more goals.

The big difference Diaby is a lot less defence minded than Vieria which othen results in him losing the ball in dubious positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

yahoo_moe wrote: »
    Nah, it was the one when Van Persie broke the bone in his foot equalising before Henry scored that header just at the end. Rooney scored United's goal.

Myself and my brothers scared the bejesus out of my niece that day with the roar we let out when RVP scored - hence we had to go with 'whispered shouts' for the winner :)

I remember watching that match in the pub with my dad and brother. We were the only Arsenal fans there, and the pub was full with United supporters. United fans take it really bad when they loose, i love it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,098 ✭✭✭DenMan

thorbarry wrote: »
    I remember watching that match in the pub with my dad and brother. We were the only Arsenal fans there, and the pub was full with United supporters. United fans take it really bad when they loose, i love it :)

Scary....exact same as me. It was great. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I don't think United fans are any worse losers than any other set of fans par sé, but there certainly are a lot of them, meaning if you're out n' about you're bound to run into some bad ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

DenMan wrote: »
    Scary....exact same as me.
    Are you his Dad or brother? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Does anyone actually know anything about this Wellington character?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

I was at that the game... the place was absolutely rocking, great atmosphere.

Frisbee wrote: »
    He was in an Enid Blyton book right?

It's confirmed. Tomas will be staying with us. :)

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_5831684,00.html

And on the official page

gun__1262623151_rosicky_contract.jpg

Loving the shady 80's porn room setting used for the signing.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Tomas Rosicky has signed a new contract with Arsenal having finally put a catalogue of injury problems behind him.
    Fcuking jynx, I always knew Sky Sports hates us to :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

He will lift the treble for us in 4 years time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

I guess we will find out in the carling cup 2011/2012.

5m is a lot for 16-year old who won't join the club for another year - seems like a risk - Wenger would rarely even spend 5m on an established player so this guy must be good.

That said, only one attacking Brazilian player (Juninho) has being an absolute success in the premiership. You would think they would fit into the Arsenal system perfectly but Julio Baptista, Paulinho and I think a couple of other highly-rated youngsters haven't made it. Actually, just remembered Eduardo is really Brazilian, maybe Wellington Silva is a direct striker like him. Plus he is arriving young so plenty of time to mould him in the Arsenal way. I couldn't find his wikipedia page - too many Wellington Silvas.

Was at a Fluminense game against Vitoria a few weeks back and bought a jersey when I was in Brazil - no sign of this lad though. I have a friend i met over there who is a Fluminese fan - I will ask her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

5m is a lot for 16-year old who won't join the club for another year.

Ramsey....lets nab him while he is only 5 mill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

magnificent name

Kirnsy wrote: »
    magnificent name

We all know he's going to be a spoilsport and have da Silva on the back of his jersey.

Until he gets good, then it will be Wellington, and the jersey printers will have won.

New nickname for the lad: The Wellie ;).
    "The Wellie" has equalised for Arsenal,
    "The Wellie" has lost his marker etc etc :P.

It'll be punerific

Wellington "wellies" the ball up field :P,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭FUNKY LOVER

with cesc looking likely to be out till january,i hope ramsey keeps up the good form,that has mancs saying"they got ramsey for 5 million we got anderson for 18 million how can this be",i read it on red cafe:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Rags in Madrid are reporting that Merida has rejected a new contract from Arsenal and signed a deal with Atletico.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭FUNKY LOVER

Archimedes wrote: »
    Rags in Madrid are reporting that Merida has rejected a new contract from Arsenal and signed a deal with Atletico.

If its true, then such a shame to lose him.

But then, look at our list of CMs : Cesc, Ramsey, Diaby, Denilson, Song, Rosicky, Nasri... he was always gonna be at the back of that list in terms of first team starts unless he stepped up BIG time.

Could have been one for the future though..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Archimedes wrote: »

tbh, I'm not bothered. I think he's a supremely over rated player. Great shot, decent posser but no graft. Not good enough off the ball to be a CM and not enough pace to make an impact on the wings. He'd be better off in la Liga tbh.

i think he could be a good player given time. But, signing for athletco and not staying and fighting for his place, imo, means he not bothered and is not patient. If he does not want to put the work in and fight for his place, then he can feck off. Look at how Ramsey has done it this year, i thinks he sees competition and it scares him. Thats not the attitude i want from an Arsenal player, I want them to stick with it, put the work in, and not run away when scared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

decent posser but no graft
    I actually think you've got this one right - he's a mix between a passer and a poser :) I'm not sure about the "supremely overrated" bit though - technically he's excellent and he's shown before how good he could be as one of our front three (rather than CM where he's played recently but isn't quite up to yet imo).
    thorbarry wrote:
    If he does not want to put the work in and fight for his place, then he can feck off.
    If this is all true, then absolutely - the fact he's let the contract issue run this far suggests he has a bit of a chip on his shoulder about the whole thing. But I don't think he deserves that much more gametime at the moment and if he doesn't like it (a la Bentley, say) maybe we're better off without him. Pity given the hassle over signing him - and the investment in developing him - though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

with cesc looking likely to be out till january,i hope ramsey keeps up the good form,that has mancs saying"they got ramsey for 5 million we got anderson for 18 million how can this be",i read it on red cafe:D

IIRC (and I'm pretty sure all of this is true) there was a tussle between Arsenal and Man U for his signature.

Man U brought him up to Old Trafford where Gary Neville gave him a tour of the ground. They also said that they'd loan him straight back to Cardiff if they signed him.

Arsenal flew him out to the European Championships to meet Wenger and take in a match. Wenger told him that he saw him as a part of the first team squad. He signed for us in June and made his debut in the Champions league knock out in August and the league in September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭Paleface

gosplan wrote: »
    IIRC (and I'm pretty sure all of this is true) there was a tussle between Arsenal and Man U for his signature.

Man U brought him up to Old Trafford where Gary Neville gave him a tour of the ground. They also said that they'd loan him straight back to Cardiff if they signed him.

Arsenal flew him out to the European Championships to meet Wenger and take in a match. Wenger told him that he saw him as a part of the first team squad. He signed for us in June and made his debut in the Champions league knock out in August and the league in September.

I heard/read about this aswell. Wenger's promise to include him in his first team plans was the key to him signing for Arsenal.

Nobody can predict how a player will develop. He could easily have found himself in the same position as Merida but he seems to be a player who is doing everything right in training and taking his chances when they are given to him with aplomb.

I look forward to seeing him play these days. He's going to be a fantastic player!

Paleface wrote: »
    I heard/read about this aswell. Wenger's promise to include him in his first team plans was the key to him signing for Arsenal.

I'd imagine the Neville grand tour had something to do with it as well. :D
    Paleface wrote: »
    Nobody can predict how a player will develop. He could easily have found himself in the same position as Merida but he seems to be a player who is doing everything right in training and taking his chances when they are given to him with aplomb.

A good indicator was that Ramsey had forced himself into the Cardiff team and was playing very well for them at such a young age. He was taking on established premiership midfields in Cardiff's cup run of that year and not looking out of place.

I agree that you will never know how a player will develop but that was a big big sign.

Getting pretty excited about Ramsey tbh.

The Arsenal thread poster leaderboard:
    09/10 - Total Posts: 2,629 

Frisbee                265 
    jasonorr               188 
    Galvasean              176 
    Redzer7                137 
    OPENROAD               108
    Royale with Cheese     77 
    cson                   76 
    gosplan                73 
    yahoo_moe              65 
    Paleface               65 

08/09 - Total Posts: 6,398 

Frisbee                674 
    Galvasean              509 
    Pepe LeFrits           365 
    jasonorr               323 
    yahoo_moe              314 
    DenMan                 299 
    OPENROAD               292 
    Royale with Cheese     272 
    leninbenjamin          220 
    gosplan                180 

07/08 - Total Posts: 4,258 

Pepe LeFrits           532 
    Galvasean              298 
    AnCapaillMor           268 
    gosplan                235 
    PHB                    213 
    Royale with Cheese     189 
    OPENROAD               186 
    leninbenjamin          142 
    cson                   123 
    Mossy Monk             100

Frisbee, you're an animal...

Haha tbf you can shave about half of those away as where I'm talking absolute bullshíte...

You've fallen off in 09/10, is your head somewhere else? Are we going to have to ship you out for a nice transfer fee? :pac:

EDIT:
    Also, fair play for adding those up!

Jeez Pepe, are you moonlighting with forum these days or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

I actually think you've got this one right - he's a mix between a passer and a poser :)

Haha - I knew someone would pick up on that :D
    I'm not sure about the "supremely overrated" bit though - technically he's excellent and he's shown before how good he could be as one of our front three (rather than CM where he's played recently but isn't quite up to yet imo).

I don't think he's shown much tbh, he can hit a ball hard and accurate, and he has fairly decent close control. I've never been too impressed regardless of where I've seen him play. He just comes across as one of those hollywood players, i.e. might do something brilliant every now and then, but when things aren't happening for him he'd be better off off the field tbh. I know I'm being harsh on the lad considering his age, but I just ain't too gone on his type of player.

Haha tbf you can shave about half of those away as where I'm talking absolute bullshíte...

You've fallen off in 09/10, is your head somewhere else? Are we going to have to ship you out for a nice transfer fee?
    Hey man, I'm in 15th place this year. Don't knock it.

But after the lofty heights of first and third questions have to be asked.... :pac:

Pepe's in a transition period?

gosplan wrote: »
    Pepe's in a transition period?

Squad rebuilding. You'll win nothing with kids.

Pre-season tour of the States ran into October and disrupted my season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Heads been turned by Barca I reckon

[B][U]Redzer7[/U][/B]                137 

Yay for newcomers :pac::pac:.

Note that i've only been here since April ;):P.

Edit: and I wasn't allowed to post here until May because I hadn't got 50 posts and i requested access in the soccer forum :pac:.

According to the press conference today, Clichy is due to start training again on Monday. This is great news, while he hasn't been at his best lately, I'm hoping this injury provided him with some sort of a "break" so to speak, and he can come back stronger

He'll have to break into the team first, Silvestres playing a stormer :pac::pac:.

Good to hear. Although I don't think he should get straight back in. Traore has been doing us a job there, Clichy should have to fight his way back into the team.
    Redzer7 wrote: »
    He'll have to break into the team first, Silvestres playing a stormer :pac::pac:.

1185942618212_2.gif

:D haha

It would be nice when Clichy gets back, if Wenger does the same thing he has being doing with Sagna. Where he plays Sagna in all the away games, and the tough home games, but lets Eboue play the "easier" home games. I'd like to see more of Traore, I've been quite impressed with him

Edit: Yea i agree with ya Frisbee, he should have to earn his place back in to the team

A bit of competition will be good for him, he's had it easy for ages.
    He might stop slacking off and get back to his best again :).

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Roaster

A bit of competition will be good for him, he's had it easy for ages.
    He might stop slacking off and get back to his best again :).

I think Gibbs is the best of the lot.

With regards to Merida, I'm not to disappointed. La Liga is more suited to him. He's to slow for the premiership.

Wenger - Viera would succeed.
    We have young players in his position and are not in a real need to bring players in this position
    :), still hope he doesn't go to City though.

playa3 wrote: »
    Heads been turned by Barca I reckon
    Their thread does have the gorgeous eZe...

****ty by Merida if he has agreed to join Atletico on a free transfer, after the club bailed him out on his £3.2m legal bill...

No great loss to the club. I like him a lot, I think he's a fantastically talented footballer and will blossom in the coming years, but as has been said, we're superbly well stocked in that area. Another one competing for the same slot who I don't think was mentioned is Lansbury, who has sometimes been ahead of Merida in the pecking order. Perhaps not now, but glandular fever set him back and I wouldn't rule him out yet.

****ty by Merida if he has agreed to join Atletico on a free transfer, after the club bailed him out on his £3.2m legal bill...

+1, wouldn't be a huge loss but it's a real ****s trick to bail out on a free transfer.

I think he's a great player and I think we should try our best to hold on to him,
    but if he doesn't wanna stay because he think the competition for his place is so fierce
    then he go feck off.

Bendtner in line for wednesday :).