Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick V Meath - Round 4 Football Qualifier

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

maybe he was actually hurt? Ever thought about that? yesterday. Angry, disrespectful and think you are right 100% all of the time.
    How would o riordain have known that he But no, being a meath guy, you just think the worst and your original post calling o riordain a cheat was way out of order. Your attitude is just like that of the meath supporters would have got a red card? Oh yea, maybe coz he punched him!!! Bray should not be allowed punch or hurt any player... Its his fault he cant keep his temper under control. Not o riordains..
    And if you're just going to be watching the limerick hurling match to see if he 'cheats', then please dont bother..

Please dont generalise about me being a meath guy and comparing me to other Meath supporters. I never said I am right 100% of the time. I just said that I am 100% convinced from what I saw that O' Riordan deliberately tried to get Bray sent off and , quite frankly, nothing you have written has convinced me to believe otherwise.

Of course O' Riordan knew that, by staying down, he made it much more likely that Bray would get sent off - if you ever played you would realise that!!

Regarding the hurling I am not anticipating whether he cheats in that game - I am just interested as to his resistance to the normal rough and tumble of a hurling game and I will decide myself whether I watch the hurling game or not!

By the way - where were you in the ground - you seem to have a major problem with the Meath supporters around you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

maybe he was actually hurt? Ever thought about that? But no, being a meath guy, you just think the worst and your original post calling o riordain a cheat was way out of order. Your attitude is just like that of the meath supporters yesterday. Angry, disrespectful and think you are right 100% all of the time.
    How would o riordain have known that he would have got a red card? Oh yea, maybe coz he punched him!!! Bray should not be allowed punch or hurt any player... Its his fault he cant keep his temper under control. Not o riordains..
    And if you're just going to be watching the limerick hurling match to see if he 'cheats', then please dont bother..

Will you just shut up. You clearly know feck all about what happened so don't comment on it. Hurling is a different sport, so that should not be taken into consideration at all. I don't see where being a "meath guy" comes into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Ladies and gentlemen, can we please be civil. No problem with people disagreeing and debating once they stay within the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

dixiefly wrote: »
    Please dont generalise about me being a meath guy and comparing me to other Meath supporters. I never said I am right 100% of the time. I just said that I am 100% convinced from what I saw that O' Riordan deliberately tried to get Bray sent off and , quite frankly, nothing you have written has convinced me to believe otherwise.

Of course O' Riordan knew that, by staying down, he made it much more likely that Bray would get sent off - if you ever played you would realise that!!

Regarding the hurling I am not anticipating whether he cheats in that game - I am just interested as to his resistance to the normal rough and tumble of a hurling game and I will decide myself whether I watch the hurling game or not!

By the way - where were you in the ground - you seem to have a major problem with the Meath supporters around you?

i was up in the terrace beside the scoreboard.. Of course i have a problem with the meath supporters that attended the match yesterday. Since your from meath, its obvious that you would have blocked out what your supporters were saying around you..
    Tbh, im not trying to convince you. Just hate the way you make out that o riordain is a cheat when hes a decent guy. My dad knows him and i met him once before and hes sound out but your making him out to be some sorta p*ick. And yes, i do play gaelic football, thank you very much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Crash Bang Wall

I thought the ref robbed Limerick of the chance of extra time. Very harsh call for over carrying by Lucey. Didnt think he fancied having to run around for another 20 mins.

In saying that on the balance of play Meath deeserved it and the guy who got sent off deserved it

NufcNavan wrote: »
    Will you just shut up. You clearly know feck all about what happened so don't comment on it. Hurling is a different sport, so that should not be taken into consideration at all. I don't see where being a "meath guy" comes into it.

actually being from meath it just shows that hes biased. If a limerick footballer got a red card for punching another player i would have no problem with it..
    And obviously you didnt see what happened so please stay away from convos that you are not needed in..
    But i do have a problem with this guy blaming o riordain when he was the one that got injured..!
    Bray deserved the red card.. He didnt object to it.. The umpires thought it was red card worthy.. End of! And we can discuss it all we want. It wont change anything.. And i didnt bring hurling into this. The other guy did if you read back..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

grenache wrote: »
    The injury time allowance is one thing that annoys me. We've seen it done wrong so many times and tonight was another example. There were 4 or 5 substitutes made, thats 1 min of added time (10 seconds per sub). Between Mark O'Riordan receiving treatment and the ref dishing out the cards to Kiely and Bray, that was another 3 minutes. Kenny, the Meath no.5 also went down ''injured'' (most likely time wasting tactics) after an innocuous tackle by Stephen Lucey. Thats another 30 seconds. So thats four and a half mins that should have been added on. Instead, 2 mins additional time were added on and of this only 1 minute 20 seconds were played - Meath man beside me had a stopwatch. Its about time the GAA did away with this out-dated and thoroughly inaccurate method of time-keeping and introduce the countdown clock that has proved such a success in ladies football. In their games, if there is a stoppage or if the ball goes out of play for any extended period of time, the clock stops. And once the 70 mins is counted down, that is that. No arguments, no confusion, no bull$hit '2 additional minutes when there should have been 4'.
    I couldn't agree with you more, the timekeeping situation in the GAA championship is an utter shambles. I started a thread on the subject some weeks ago but unsurprisingly there wasn't much of a take up on it form the backward looking GAA fans.
    As for the match itself it was poor stuff for the most part. A lot of Limerick players should hang their heads after that performance, no urgency from most players and a complete unwillingness to take on a shot from most forwards. Stephen Kelly was about the only player to emerge with credit. Meath are no great shakes and I'd expect Mayo to beat them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Aidric wrote: »
    Stephen Kelly was about the only player to emerge with credit. Meath are no great shakes and I'd expect Mayo to beat them.
    Yes Kelly was magnificent, probably the best player on the pitch next to Stephen Bray. His workrate was amazing and he seemed to be mopping up ball everywhere. When he ran at the Meath backs it was a joy to watch. He scored three lovely points. Went into full forward line in second half and was starved of ball. He was gutted at the final whistle, flung himself out on the turf. You can see that he really bursts a nut for this team, and seems to hate losing more than any other Limerick player.

As for Meath, the win will bring me on, but a really good side would have pushed on last nite and put Limerick away when going 6 points up. Bray will be monumental loss for them, he orchestrated most of the good things Meath did last nite, without him i cant see them beating Mayo. But you just never know in sport, anything is possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

of this only 1 minute 20 seconds were played - Meath man beside me had a stopwatch.

About 2 minutes and 20 seconds were played, I wouldn't go by a Meath mans stopwatch :D

I agree, the timekeeping needs to be looked at, there was only 2 minutes added on in the Dublin v Meath game when 5 minutes would have been more appropriate.

actually being from meath it just shows that hes biased. If a limerick footballer got a red card for punching another player i would have no problem with it..
    And obviously you didnt see what happened so please stay away from convos that you are not needed in..
    But i do have a problem with this guy blaming o riordain when he was the one that got injured..!
    Bray deserved the red card.. He didnt object to it.. The umpires thought it was red card worthy.. End of! And we can discuss it all we want. It wont change anything.. And i didnt bring hurling into this. The other guy did if you read back..
    I was at the match and Bray getting the red card is not the issue. It's whether O Riordain should have gotten one for provoking the attack. I heard from people on the bus afterwards who had a better view that said that the Limerick player gave as good as he got before he got struck.

Your first sentence is a nothing statemant. So what if he's from Meath? You're from Limerick. That means you're biased too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

blackbelt wrote: »
    All well and good if you dislike Meath but for any team to come out of a match without a single yellow card and only get praised then is very much over the top.Our own lads play a clean,direct open style of football but all likelihood is that one player will get yellow carded and the 14 players that beat Kildare got all the credit while one of our players got slated and rightly so.

Stephen Bray should have known better but his red card will be looked on by Mayo with joy and could be the key difference next weekend.

Not at all. Saw the video, and was not at all impressed by Meath. They are in no way a top 8 team, and victories over a demoralised Limerick, a declined Westmeath,Roscommon, and Waterford will not change my view on that. Again, they have got the plum draw, as Mayo are the most beatable of all the provincial winners. However, if they play the same level as they did against Galway in the final, Meath will be finished powerfully and painfully.

I was at the match and Bray getting the red card is not the issue. It's whether O Riordain should have gotten one for provoking the attack. I heard from people on the bus afterwards who had a better view that said that the Limerick player gave as good as he got before he got struck.

Your first sentence is a nothing statemant. So what if he's from Meath? You're from Limerick. That means you're biased too!

oh god, i thought this argument was finished but of course, its brought back up again.
    You obviously were angry due to the remarks i made about meath supporters. If you think that im a lying bicth, then go and check out an fear rua.. That should deal with this area of our discussion.

Next :D.. I understand bray isnt a dirty player but neither is mark o riordain a cheat. Kiely came out trying to defend his teammate when he got hit. Would you leave your teammate alone on the ground after being hit infront of you by the opposition?
    The umpires thought it was a red (god, i hate repeating myself!) and bray didnt object.
    So red it was..
    Oh, by any chance, were these people you were talking to on the bus from the royal county?

Living in clare for the last while, ive learnt to try and not be biased. Its hard, but i try. O riordain got hit.. He is not a cheat! You said that he got as good as he gave, then obviously you are saying that he got hit hard enough to receive treatment, yes?
    Ye won and ye are still complaining... Come on like!
    Ah sure, what can i do like :)
    EDIT: O riordain may have started the incident. A yellow card being the result. Obviously if the cards are dished out sufficiently, brays hit should have been much more harder then o riordains 'provoking'. Bray is not a dirty player, i know that.. But what he did yesterday was outta order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 tracto

The injury time allowance is one thing that annoys me. We've seen it done wrong so many times and tonight was another example. There were 4 or 5 substitutes made, thats 1 min of added time (10 seconds per sub). Between Mark O'Riordan receiving treatment and the ref dishing out the cards to Kiely and Bray, that was another 3 minutes. Kenny, the Meath no.5 also went down ''injured'' (most likely time wasting tactics) after an innocuous tackle by Stephen Lucey. Thats another 30 seconds. .

I'm pretty sure you are refering to the challenge which resulted in Kenny dislocating his finger and needing a physio to put it back in there and then. Yeah what a time waster, needing 30 secs to recover from a dislocated finger :rolleyes:. I'd say almost every other team in the country would have just kept the ball in hand and played it among themselves for the last 3/4 mins of the game instead of doing what Meath stupidly/admirably did by continuing to kick the ball forward looking for scores.

The ref didnt have a great game but giving out about the last free for steps is very petty. Did he take extra steps? Yes he clearly did so it was a free out, end of. Whether or not it would have been given against Kerry, Tyrone etc is hypothetical BS. Anyway there is no possible way that the second Limerick goal should have stood, the square ball rule is obviously very hard to judge but that was a blatant offence and surely one of the umpires should have had the balls to call it.

The booing and abuse which some Meath fans were directing at the Limerick players and fans is unfortunately just part and parcel of GAA matches these days. If the Limerick team decided to come out and play for the second half on time instead of trying to play some silly mind games maybe they wouldnt have been booed so much on their reappearance. Also if Limerick had enough fans at the game i'm sure some of them would have been at the same lark. Its a shame that things have followed the path of soccer support but when you have Limerick players consistently going down easily (again its not a tactic unique to Limerick) looking for and getting frees ala Ronaldo you cant really blame supporters for thinking they are at a soccer match. As I didnt see the Bray incident (only an umpire it appears did and given their inability to call square balls, pick ups or other foul play when its right in front of their faces you have to question whether they should be given the power to effectively end a players season ) I'd be very suprised if Bray hit out for no reason and even more surprised if he struck him with such force as to warrant the 5min break in play. Giving O'Riordain the benefit of doubt perhaps bray caught him right on the money and winded him for a few minutes. Either way Bray should have known better, he has sufficient experience at this stage, he is the captain of the team and he was 5 mins from leading them to a 1/4 final until he did that. He deserves to be suspended and hopefully he learns from the incident.

Saying Meath definitely arent a top 8 team now is very much a bitter Dublin supporters view of things. Obviously without any official ranking or league system we will never know but guess what come Monday afternoon we might still be in the All Ireland and the Dubs might not ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

tracto wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure you are refering to the challenge which resulted in Kenny dislocating his finger and needing a physio to put it back in there and then. Yeah what a time waster, needing 30 secs to recover from a dislocated finger :rolleyes:. I'd say almost every other team in the country would have just kept the ball in hand and played it among themselves for the last 3/4 mins of the game instead of doing what Meath stupidly/admirably did by continuing to kick the ball forward looking for scores.

The ref didnt have a great game but giving out about the last free for steps is very petty. Did he take extra steps? Yes he clearly did so it was a free out, end of. Whether or not it would have been given against Kerry, Tyrone etc is hypothetical BS. Anyway there is no possible way that the second Limerick goal should have stood, the square ball rule is obviously very hard to judge but that was a blatant offence and surely one of the umpires should have had the balls to call it.

The booing and abuse which some Meath fans were directing at the Limerick players and fans is unfortunately just part and parcel of GAA matches these days. If the Limerick team decided to come out and play for the second half on time instead of trying to play some silly mind games maybe they wouldnt have been booed so much on their reappearance. Also if Limerick had enough fans at the game i'm sure some of them would have been at the same lark. Its a shame that things have followed the path of soccer support but when you have Limerick players consistently going down easily (again its not a tactic unique to Limerick) looking for and getting frees ala Ronaldo you cant really blame supporters for thinking they are at a soccer match. As I didnt see the Bray incident (only an umpire it appears did and given their inability to call square balls, pick ups or other foul play when its right in front of their faces you have to question whether they should be given the power to effectively end a players season ) I'd be very suprised if Bray hit out for no reason and even more surprised if he struck him with such force as to warrant the 5min break in play. Giving O'Riordain the benefit of doubt perhaps bray caught him right on the money and winded him for a few minutes. Either way Bray should have known better, he has sufficient experience at this stage, he is the captain of the team and he was 5 mins from leading them to a 1/4 final until he did that. He deserves to be suspended and hopefully he learns from the incident.

Saying Meath definitely arent a top 8 team now is very much a bitter Dublin supporters view of things. Obviously without any official ranking or league system we will never know but guess what come Monday afternoon we might still be in the All Ireland and the Dubs might not ;)

You know, Kildare knocked us out of the championship last year and in their following matches I actually supported them because I wanted to see a decent, hard working team of good footballers do well.
    From altercations with the meath fans yesterday and reading their posts on here I really hope Mayo wipe the floor with Meath next weekend.

The fact that so many Meath supporters have to come on here and personally discredit Limerick and its players drives me mad. Meath were definatly the better team in the end, but Limerick put it up to them in the second half playing very good football that Meath struggled with losing their lead. It was nothing to do with 'Ronaldo' type dramatics , the umpires supposed inability to see foul play or Limerick 'mind games' that Meath had a poor second half.

Limerick may have a long way to go in terms of stamina, fitness and attacking skills (something I blame on poor managment/training) but they are NOT a dirty team!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

tracto wrote: »

Its not bitterness, its truth. Dublin are a better team then Meath at any rate. The Qualfiers have distorted gaelic games, and by virtue of very lucky draws, Meath have actually been made look somewhat respectable. Remember, the only decent team Meath have faced was Dublin, and Dublin were still able to hit 15 wides and win by two.

oh god, i thought this argument was finished but of course, its brought back up again.
    You obviously were angry due to the remarks i made about meath supporters.
    Not at all. Why would I be angry? I found your remarks amusing. We won, after all. :cool: :)

gosh, i would have never guessed due to your reaction to some of my comments about meath supporters.

By posting that, it just proves my point on how there was ungracious winners in the crowd yesterday. Thanks for that :D.
    Gud luck in the quarter final... The meath 'team' are gud group of players.

gosh, i would have never guessed due to your reaction to some of my comments about meath supporters.

By posting that, it just proves my point on how there was ungracious winners in the crowd yesterday. Thanks for that :D.
    Gud luck in the quarter final... The meath 'team' are gud group of players.
    Haha. We had about 5,000 there out of a crowd of 7,300. Of course we have a little bit of a right to be a bit smug. Ungracious would be the wrong word.

oh i think i noticed that ye were in the majority alright although the limerick chant was very enjoyable to join in with due to the fact we were in the minority.:D
    Although I Wouldnt be anywhere near proud of the meath crowd attendance as ye are a football county. Limerick are a hurling county in the gaa if you havent noticed.
    5000 is poor... Would have expected more from meath.

oh i think i noticed that ye were in the majority alright although the limerick chant was very enjoyable to join in with due to the fact we were in the minority.:D
    Although I Wouldnt be anywhere near proud of the meath crowd attendance as ye are a football county. Limerick are a hurling county in the gaa if you havent noticed.
    5000 is poor... Would have expected more from meath.
    If Limerick are a "hurling county", then surely that is more reason for fans to turn up if their football team is one game away from their first quarter/semi final since 1896?

5,000 for a 4 hour round trip, for a single qualifier match, isn't bad.

If Limerick are a "hurling county", then surely that is more reason for fans to turn up if their football team is one game away from their first quarter/semi final since 1896?

5,000 for a 4 hour round trip, for a single qualifier match, isn't bad.

hurling county! Not football...? Limerick dont get the support they deserve in football. Its just the way it is..
    As for the mark o riordain incident, just after watching the sunday game highlights, i didnt see any hands go round a meath mans neck by sean kiely. Did you? Im very confused altogether...!
    Had to laugh at paddy o rourke tying his boots before kick outs Hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭JMSE

Thanks for the game Limerick, ye put it right up to us at the end and there was only the kick of a ball between extra time and victory for us meathmen. Steven Kelly is one of the finer players around, Ian Kelly too. I was down in Lim last year for the absolute hammerin ye gave us and its branded on my retinas forever.

Anyways, up the Royal ! We'll just have to be gettin better now that Kildare and the Dubs are raising their games. I think we could cause a few upsets yet......

panda100 wrote: »
    You know, Kildare knocked us out of the championship last year and in their following matches I actually supported them because I wanted to see a decent, hard working team of good footballers do well.
    From altercations with the meath fans yesterday and reading their posts on here I really hope Mayo wipe the floor with Meath next weekend.

The fact that so many Meath supporters have to come on here and personally discredit Limerick and its players drives me mad. Meath were definatly the better team in the end, but Limerick put it up to them in the second half playing very good football that Meath struggled with losing their lead. It was nothing to do with 'Ronaldo' type dramatics , the umpires supposed inability to see foul play or Limerick 'mind games' that Meath had a poor second half.

Limerick may have a long way to go in terms of stamina, fitness and attacking skills (something I blame on poor managment/training) but they are NOT a dirty team!

I think it is probably me you are referring to. I think I wished the rest of the Limerick players and supporters all the best on here and did so also after the game yesterday directly to the very sporting Limerick people around me.

My problem was with one player that (in my opinion) successfully got another player sent off. I accept that this is only my opinion and i may not be correct but I saw enough to be happy that I am.

Regarding who you cheer in the rest of the championship you wont be surprised that it doesnt concern me at all.

Ok, hopefuly we have all this business settled. No footage of the incident it may seem and everyone seems to have their own views on what happened. Is it possible to watch the video of the match again?
    Meath are a good team. Good luck to them..
    One question that im puzzled over.. On the sunday game they said bray got a yellow card beforehand? I heard it was a straight red or was it actually two yellows? Would be glad if someone could clarify this. Thanks in advance.

hurling county! Not football...? Limerick dont get the support they deserve in football. Its just the way it is..
    As for the mark o riordain incident, just after watching the sunday game highlights, i didnt see any hands go round a meath mans neck by sean kiely. Did you? Im very confused altogether...!
    Had to laugh at paddy o rourke tying his boots before kick outs Hahaha

Are you for real????

I tried to stop commenting on this thread but I have to answer this question.

They stated on the programme that they didnt have footage of the incident and it happened when the ball was at the other end so how on God's earth could they have footage?

BTW, I really dont want to get into another tit for tat with you, it really is getting childish at this stage.

Edit: just read that you accept that there was not enough footage, lets leave it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Soccymonster, he got a yellow in the first half and a straight red in the second. According to the Sunday Game, that is confirmed.

Ok, hopefuly we have all this business settled. No footage of the incident it may seem and everyone seems to have their own views on what happened. Is it possible to watch the video of the match again?
    Meath are a good team. Good luck to them..
    One question that im puzzled over.. On the sunday game they said bray got a yellow card beforehand? I heard it was a straight red or was it actually two yellows? Would be glad if someone could clarify this. Thanks in advance.

Bray got a straight red, a second yellow would also have seen him sent off but he would have been available the next day if it was two yellows. no one would have objected to two yellows - it was the straight red that hurt.

Anyway, we would even have struggled vs Mayo with bray but it will be even harder now but have had a good year so we are not expecting anything major next weekend.

As I said in my first post on the game, best of luck to the Limerick footballers in the future and it is a pity for football in the county that they didnt make the breakthrough this year.

Are you for real????

I tried to stop commenting on this thread but I have to answer this question.

They stated on the programme that they didnt have footage of the incident and it happened when the ball was at the other end so how on God's earth could they have footage?

BTW, I really dont want to get into another tit for tat with you, it really is getting childish at this stage.

Edit: just read that you accept that there was not enough footage, lets leave it at that.

thought you meant when stephans brother was at razor. Apologies. Didnt know you meant that.

I must say that the Meath fans around me were very sporting and gracious in victory. I think relief would be the word i would use to describe their mood. One very elderly Meath gentleman outside the shop, put his arm around me, shook my hand and told me we gave them a great game and a proper fright. I suppose it was of little consolation to me but it was a very considerate and heart-warming gesture. He also wished us luck against Tipp in the hurling. I for one hope Meath go on to beat Mayo. I think they have a great chance to pull off a shock, and are a better team than people give them credit for. It would be nice to see them back again as a force, Leinster football certainly needs a healthy Meath team.

The ideal all ireland final scenario from a Limerick point of view, would be a pairing of Cork and Meath. At least then we can say we went toe to toe for 70 mins with the country's two best teams.

hurling county! Not football...? Limerick dont get the support they deserve in football.
    Soccy Limerick are not exclusively a hurling county, football is the number one game in as many clubs as hurling. Tell people in football hotbeds such as Foynes, Abbeyfeale, Ballylanders, Hospital, Athea, etc that we are a ''hurling county''. We may have been in the past when our hurlers were treated like royalty while our footballers were fed scraps from the table, but we are most definitely a dual county now. The only reason the footballers dont attract the same following as the hurlers, is because they have not won silverware yet. Success attracts the crowds. It may take a good few years, but once Limerick get that monkey off their backs and claim a Munster title, the core football will steadily grow.

* Of the 7500 at last nites game, i reckon we had nearly 3000 supporters there, which isn't bad at all. We were every bit as loud as the Meath fans and had the loudest chant of the day midway through the second half. I love both sets of Limerick supporters in the two codes but i particularly love the football ones, these are the die-hard hardcore set of fans, of about 3,000, who follow Limerick all over. They are a very knowledgable group of people and a joy to talk to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Anyway, we would even have struggled vs Mayo with bray but it will be even harder now but have had a good year so we are not expecting anything major next weekend.

You will beat the chokers no problem. Mayo always choke, its a great part of the championship to witness the annual Mayo implosion:D:D

thought you meant when stephans brother was at razor. Apologies. Didnt know you meant that.

I think we have discussed it to death at this stage. Hope ye can build from here - it is difficult with the competing sports in the county. A Munster title would be a fantastic achievement but when you are up against Cork & Kerry it is always going to be difficult.

Soccy Limerick are not exclusively a hurling county, football is the number one game in as many clubs as hurling. Tell people in football hotbeds such as Foynes, Abbeyfeale, Ballylanders, Hospital, Athea, etc that we are a ''hurling county''. We may have been in the past when our hurlers were treated like royalty while our footballers were fed scraps from the table, but we are most definitely a dual county now. The only reason the footballers dont attract the same following as the hurlers, is because they have not won silverware yet. Success attracts the crowds. It may take a good few years, but once Limerick get that monkey off their backs and claim a Munster title, the core football will steadily grow.

* Of the 7500 at last nites game, i reckon we had nearly 3000 supporters there, which isn't bad at all. We were every bit as loud as the Meath fans and had the loudest chant of the day midway through the second half. I love both sets of Limerick supporters in the two codes but i particularly love the football ones, these are the die-hard hardcore set of fans, of about 3,000, who follow Limerick all over. They are a very knowledgable group of people and a joy to talk to.

i meant support-wise. Of course, with the success of clubs like dromcollagher/broadford, football is on the up but really we got into a munster final! And they didnt get much support at that.?? I thought that they would have considering it was a chance to break that 113 year jinx, hoodoo, whatever you wanna call it. Maybe next year...

I think we have discussed it to death at this stage. Hope ye can build from here - it is difficult with the competing sports in the county. A Munster title would be a fantastic achievement but when you are up against Cork & Kerry it is always going to be difficult.

yea i think we have to be honest with ya. Good luck to meath on sunday. No hard feelings. It was just a debate..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Malmedicine

You will beat the chokers no problem. Mayo always choke, its a great part of the championship to witness the annual Mayo implosion:D:D

Think Kerry just accomplished it for us Pride Fighter :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 tommyfitz

Flukey wrote: »
    There was a kick in the face of a Limerick player when he was still on the ground. There were so many pulls and pushes, that certainly bring things to the point of consistent fouling. There were a few on yellow cards, that were blessed not to have got a second. Some of the Meath fellas were slightly confused it would appear. They knew they were taking part in a major Irish sports event, but appeared to think they were jockeys at the Galway races. A few Limerick lads deserved a yellow that they didn't get, but there weren't many.

As has always been the case, Meath have great footballers, but they won't stick to the football. When Meath have concentrated on their football, is when they have been most successful. Some of the best players Meath ever had never got involved in any of that kind of stuff. Someone like Bernard Flynn for example. A great player, who got on with the game and did well accordingly

Their own indiscipline has always been a problem, but on the days they have got that under control they have played some great football. Under Seán Boylan, there were days that half the team should have been up on assault charges and other days when they played great football and came back from the dead to win games that they were well out of and in positions that most teams wouldn't have recovered from. Being so far behind on those occasions, they put their heads down and concentrated on playing the football that they were well capable of and it reaped dividends. They could have won that match this evening by far more than they did if they put aside their negative play. There is no need for it, when you have good players. Stupid fouling, giving Limerick some simple frees to score and then having a man sent off meant they nearly got caught. If they play football next weekend, they could beat Mayo, but if they don't keep their discipline they'll make it very hard on themselves, and will only have themselves to blame. They have the players and the talent. They should use it.

So whats your opinion on Ciaran Whelan and his thuggish behaviour over last few years then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭TheSpecialOne

jesus flukey meath where'nt too filthy...just there time wasting annoyed me....o whelan now there's a player who i could talk about for hours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 really reilly

how come whelan gets away with it everytime its a joke .stephen bray slapped a lad with his open hand in the stomach and gets a straight red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Okay this thread is to discuss the Limerick versus Meath game, if people continue to bring up Ciaran Whelan and turn this into a Dublin versus Meath thread it will be locked and I will ban users for dragging the thread off topic. Cut it out