Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

frankfurt motor show?

• 05-08-2009 12:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭

has anyone been to the frankfurt motor show?,the g/f was on about going to berlin in september/october for a "city break":rolleyes:, then i saw the motor show is on until the 27th of september in frankfurt,i might be able to get a few days off then,
    is frankfurt worth visiting?,flights around €80 each and tickets to the show are €18 (i think),
    any comments/opinions welcome,
    cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Linky

Linky2

For anyone who is interested, the above links give a good run down in brief.

You've got me thinking now!!

• Registered Users Posts: 747 ✭✭✭caesar

I was thinking about going last year, I cant remember why I didn't - actually now that I think about it again I was on Erasmus in Spain and I had all these plans which never materialised :o Anyway it might be worth thinking about....sure a few days off college would be no harm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Frankfurt itself isn't exactly what you'd call a city break destination, in fact it's a bit of a kip.
    The show on the other hand will take you more than one day if you really want to see it all.

In other words ... if you intend on breaking up with the girlfriend, it's the place to go :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

peasant wrote: »
    in fact it's a bit of a kip.

This was not my experience, it was anything but a kip from what I experienced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭v240gltse

hi

i went to the show back in 07 ( runs ever other year for cars then trucks ) and it is massive. in fairness it took a good 2days to see it all and as far as i recall tickets were about the 15/18e per day. Not much to see in frankfurt itself but hey i was there for the cars. The Mercedes and BMW exhibition halls were incredible .

go early in the morning as the rush starts after 12:00. I'am hoping to go back this year as well.

hope this helps

brendan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Frankfurts not a kip, its the Financial Capital of Germany - the Germans don't do their business from a kip.

Well ...offload your significant other there on a "city break" while you go drooling at cars ...and she will tell you it's a kip, you don't have to take my word for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭PaddyFagan

Well ...offload your significant other there on a "city break" while you go drooling at cars ...and she will tell you it's a kip, you don't have to take my word for it.

Yeah, I'd second that. It's not run-down or anything, but it isn't somewhere I'd want to be stuck for the weekend trying to stay entertained doing the tourist thing.

I'd suggest that if you want to do it you might be better staying somewhere a bit more attractive - Heidelberg is roughly an hour away by train (or car:)) and traveling up to Frankfurt on the day(s) for the car show.

Paddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

Spent 2 weeks in that hell hole. Its not somewhere to go for a city break. It mainly consists of bank buildings and the red light district which is extremely seedy.

I'd stay elsewhere as suggested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

I dunno what kinda women you go out with but if any women described somewhere like Frankfurt as a kip to me, I'd be wondering if she was all there.

It's extremely clean, has some very nice bars and restaurants and also has a good amount of sights to see if you aren't too lazy and/or reliant on a guide book you bought in Easons to find things.

Anyway, what I would advise to the OP is to stay somewhere a bit more picturesque further down into Rhineland-Palatinate and drive to Frankfurt for the show.

furtzy wrote: »
    I'd stay elsewhere as suggested

You probably won't have any other choice anyway ....all of Frankfurt's accomodation is usually booked out or unaffordable during the show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Draupnir wrote: »
    I dunno what kinda women you go out with but if any women described somewhere like Frankfurt as a kip to me, I'd be wondering if she was all there.

It's extremely clean, has some very nice bars and restaurants and also has a good amount of sights to see if you aren't too lazy and/or reliant on a guide book you bought in Easons to find things.

Anyway, what I would advise to the OP is to stay somewhere a bit more picturesque further down into Rhineland-Palatinate and drive to Frankfurt for the show.

Thanks, but I think I'd prefer to take the advice of a native.

Well, me and the wife were there, on a city break, flew in on a ryanair flight to Hann, bused down and stayed in the Radisson in a beautfiful room at the top on a corner..........with super views. Some great shops and super eateries/restaurants. We had a great time, so I'm defo not taking your word for it.
    Basically,You're TALKING BOLLIX!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,257 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

OP, are you looking for stuff to do in Frankfurt, or info about the motorshow? There's a travel forum which would be better for the former.

Well, me and the wife were there, on a city break, flew in on a ryanair flight to Hann, bused down and stayed in the Radisson in a beautfiful room at the top on a corner..........with super views. Some great shops and super eateries/restaurants. We had a great time, so I'm defo not taking your word for it.
    Basically,You're TALKING BOLLIX!:D

Yes, in comparison to Ballygobackwards, Frankfurt is certainly worthy of a city break :D

In comparison to places like Hamburg, Dresden, Munich or most other sizeable German cities for that matter (with the exception of maybe Essen :D ) I'd rather give Frankfurt a miss, thank you very much.

If the significant other is also interested in the car show and all you want to do is go there and for a nice meal in the city afterwards, you might just get away with it.
    If the city of Frankfurt however is supposed to provide the entertainment for s/o for the day while himself is gawping at cars ...forgeddit ...she will not be impressed, not at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

thanks for all he replies lads!

basically i was trying to combine a "city break:rolleyes:" with the car show,so spend a full day at the car show,and maybe a day or two in frankfurt,
    the g/f was looking at staying in berlin,until i heard about the show and found out its over 500km from berlin!!, the hotels are reasonable enough and the flights are cheap,
    im not sure what to do now:confused:,she is just looking for shops to look around so nothing too touristy,i think she will manage alright,

it seems the show is worth the trip:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

eoin wrote: »
    OP, are you looking for stuff to do in Frankfurt, or info about the motorshow? There's a travel forum which would be better for the former.

its a bit of both really,there dosent seem to be much to do in frankfurt:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,257 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I've was there with work a few months ago, and it struck me as a massive version of one of our industrial estates.

Doesn't mean they live or socialise there though. Most of my German colleagues commute from outside of Frankfurt as they don't like the place at all.

Yes, in comparison to Ballygobackwards, Frankfurt is certainly worthy of a city break :D

is that the best you can muster? lol:P