Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE analyist's!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭ccosgrave

The hurling panelists are alright, but I don't much listen to them. I think the football panelists are much more relevant 'cause football is a much more tactical game, so there's more to analyse in a sense. I'm more inclined to listen what they have to say as a result. As a presenter, I'm not too fond of Michael Lyster. His questions he poses to the panellists are grand, but the phrases and wording he uses are a bit irritating to the ears.

The commentary isn't great though. I really dislike Ger Canning's commentating. He hasn't really got the right voice for it or the right repetoire of sayings. I think a commentator needs to sound great when there's an exciting part of a match going on, because it really adds to the atmosphere of the game. The Irish international rugby and soccer commentators are great at this, for example. Canning tries to do this but fails horribly and ends up sounding like a teenage boy who's voice has just broken. Marty Morrissey is much better - mostly because he doesn't try to emulate such commentators and does his own thing, which I respect. I'd dearly like to see a new GAA commentator on RTE. It's strange how right they got it for soccer and rugby, but failed so badly at GAA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 tommyfitz

Michael Duignan is an excellent analyst, the best there is imo and I think if your honest with yourself you only dislike him over he's comments on certain Waterford players kissing their crest, fist pumping etc.

He has a great understanding of the modern game and is an excellent judge of hurling and has really impressed me, I think if I was a member of a County Board looking for a new manager you could do a lot worse than oferring Michael Duignan the job ( maybe he might take the Waterford job when Davy deserts ye cos the Clare job becomes available :p )
    Agree Duignan is very good. Straight talking

agreed, Darragh Maloney is the ideal GAA commentator for me, makes the game's exciting moments even more dramatic and nearly fit to burst into laughter when things don't quite work out as the player had planned

As for analysts, I quite like Tony Davis. He usually talks a very good game of football, gives praise where it's due but points out measured criticism with footage to back it up as opposed to simply giving out for the sake of it.
    Anthony Daly was a brilliant hurling analyst when he was with RTE too, I wouldn't mind seeing him back in the studio once his Dublin tenure finishes
    Agreed, Tony Davis is very fair, and thats from a Meath Fan(only joking).
    Tony Davis never whinged about losing to Meath.

paul larry wrote: »
    thet'd be big anthony tohill. quite like him but hate brolly. spillane is growin on me but i still hold a need for revenge following that puke football comment!!!!!!!!
    dont mind marty morrisey but colm o rourke tests my patience something serious.

loved what banty said about brolly a few weeks ago !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Well you are from Donegal, so you know damn all about analysis.
    You have Martin McHugh on BBC and what he knows about football would fit on the back of a stamp. He's a bitter little man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

If only they could surgically remove that permanent smile from Tomás Mulcahy's face. Mind you, if i got away with what he got away with in the '92 Munster final, i'd probably be smiling for a long time after too.