Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Zionists oppose prestigous award for Mary Robinson

• Registered Users Posts: 831 ✭✭✭IrelandSpirit

Mary Robinson arguably ranks highest amongst the most compassionate and articulate people we have in the political arena. Imho she is a credit to us all, and this accusation of anti-Semitism is totally unfounded.

Why exactly are the Zionists opposing her award, for standing up for an oppressed nation? Great, shows up Zionism for what it is. We should expect nothing less. But it must be remembered that Zionism is a political/military organisation, comprised of people of various religions, and atheists, agnostics, etc, and does not represent ALL people of the Jewish faith.

As a previous poster rightly pointed out, Palestinians are Semitic too.

In any case, this is all to be expected from the Zionist lobbies. And imo it’s backfired on them again, big time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

its all very well defending mary robinson. But the problems started when as president of Europe she gave money to the Palestinian terrorists to wage war on the Israelis. Thats not acceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

asdasd wrote: »
    its all very well defending mary robinson. But the problems started when as president of Europe she gave money to the Palestinian terrorists to wage war on the Israelis. Thats not acceptable.

What money? This is news!

Euopean money, of course.... Not her own. She keeps that tight.

LOL! She'd be in prison if that were true!

Euopean money, of course.... Not her own. She keeps that tight.

What EU money?

What? I dont think so. She could do what she wanted when she was President of Europe. Of course she can plead innocence but documents recovered from an incursion into Jenin by the IDF documented how European aid was channelled to the PLO.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

It really disgusts me how the US acts like Israel's *****. Oh, but of course whenever someone behaves as the Israelis do and isn't lucky enough to have a "special relationship" with the US they are an outrageous terrorist regime which must be removed by military force.

Hypocrites.

What? I dont think so. She could do what she wanted when she was President of Europe. Of course she can plead innocence but documents recovered from an incursion into Jenin by the IDF documented how European aid was channelled to the PLO.

Listen, this is totaly nuts, if Mary robinson was using EU money to fund terrorists as you say, she would find herself in Gitmo quicker than flies off a ****!

Dont be silly. It was European money. When she ran Europe she gave money to terrorists. Prove me wrong.

documents recovered from an incursion into Jenin by the IDF documented how European aid was channelled to the PLO.

PLO are terrorists?!

This the same PLO which made peace with the Israelis in the 90's.!

Why has she not been hauled before courts on this??

• Registered Users Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭wes

Do yourself a favor and look up how the EU works.

For one thing Mary Robinson was never President of the EU. In fact there is no such position in existence in the EU. The accusations being made against her, are pure and utter nonsense.

The only position is the following one:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Presidency_of_the_Council_of_the_European_Union

A position taken up by the entire government. The Zionists accusing Mary Robinson, don't even know how the EU works and shows there accusations for what they are, which is complete and utter nonsense, basically the same stuff they come up with on a regular basis.

Dont be silly. It was European money. When she ran Europe she gave money to terrorists. Prove me wrong.

Prove you wrong? LOL! Emmmm, let's see... how about the simple fact that if you're right and the IDF found all this evidence that Mary Robinson was giving EU money to terrorists, WHY is she not locked up?

Answer: because she wasn't giving EU money to terrorsts.

She gave the money to the terrorists via the EU, when she was president of the EU. Or was it Emperess. I an not sure.

Dont you people read formidable US magasines like the National Review and Commentary? They tell me all I need to know.

I mean who should I trust: boardsies or regarded newspapers like the National Review?

Heres the article I am tongue in cheek referencing, from 2002.

Mary Robinson, War Criminal

The National Review is a (once) respected conservative publication in the US.

With the medal "controversy" that claim resurged. With Jennifer Rubin in commentary ( a very august body) referencing both Michael Rubin's claim, and the Darfur nonsense.

Rubin the first, by the way, had some association with Iraq, and possibly the ear of Bush II , who opposed Mary R. getting the head of the UN that time - well the US did.

This is the way it works:

Big Lie: Mary Robinson is a war criminal!!
    Big Lie redux: In some other Magasine.

When that is disproven it is not apologised for but....

Medium Lie: Mary ran "anti-semitic" Durban ( ignoring her attempts to stop it).

That echoes around the echo chamber until there is enough indications that it is nonsense too, and by now they have moved onto something else .

Medium Lie: The UNCHR under her watch supported Suicide Bombers.

Already refuted on this thread.

At this stage if someone sympathetic to Israel has even bothered to read the charges and the refutations, he still thinks she is an anti-Semite.

It is similar to a lot of people saying that Bob is downloading Pedophile Porn!! he defends himself but you trust the original sources. He proves that wrong and then they say that he downloads hard core disgusting porn!! That story is out there for a while, and Bob can disprove that too - but it turns out he does download normal porn. As do many.

And yet, Bob is still covered in Mud. People are still thinking, that "yes, he may have sorta proven the original allegations wrong but there must be something to it". People who didnt like Bob from the start still believe the Pedo stuff.

Mary's equivalent of "normal porn' is her normal "anti-Zionism". As normal as any human Rights campaigner. She is mildly critical of Israel.

So they did the trick with the BIg Lie, and the Medium Lie. And the other medium lies. And you can try whack them but its like whacking moles.

The trouble starts with Robinson's tenure as president of Ireland. During the last four years of Robinson's tenure, the European Union donated large sums of money to the Palestinian Authority. Ireland even held the presidency of the European Union for the second half of 1996. During this time, Arafat siphoned large amounts of European aid money away to pay for terror. Robinson can plead ignorance, but documents seized during the recent Israeli incursion into the West Bank revealed that the Palestinian Authority spent approximately $9 million of European Union aid money each month on the salaries of those organizing terror attacks against civilians. While European officials like Robinson looked the other way, the Palestinian Authority regularly converted millions of dollars of aid money into shekels at rates about 20 percent below normal, allowing the Palestinian chairman to divert millions of dollars worth of aid into his personal slush fund.

Ah yes, documents found in the hands of the Israeli's who themselves are subject of war crimes just draws that bit of irony and warranted criticism.

Jesus Man. Thats hardly the only thing wrong with that whole paragraph !!! It is a tissue of lies from start to finish.

Lies, or misdirection...

Jesus Man. Thats hardly the only thing wrong with that whole paragraph !!! It is a tissue of lies from start to finish.

You're confusing me, you agreeing with the paragraph i quoted or not?:)

Right. Simple school.

Clearly the problem with the fecking paragraoh goes way beyond your simple assertion that we cannot trust the Israelis and their documents. Lets say we could.

Would Robinson have anything to do with a European presidency? Would she ahve any power?

And take this

"Robinson can plead ignorance, but documents seized during the recent Israeli incursion into the West Bank revealed that the Palestinian Authority spent approximately $9 million of European Union aid money each month on the salaries of those organizing terror attacks against civilians."

Even if the Israeli documents were accurate Robinson can plead ignorance ( as he says). The "but" is a weasal form of association. The fact that the PA spent European money proves nothing about any EU official knowing anything about it, nevermind Robinson who is clearly not a EU official ( he uses the term European official knowingly).

Rubin is aware of what he is doing here. He says

Robinson can plead ignorance, , so he is immune from libel, I guess.

You see, thats 'according to the Israeli's'. Anything coming out of their mouths tends to get discredited due to their ahem 'past lies' on the Palestinian issue

• Registered Users Posts: 27,645 ✭✭✭✭nesf

I mean who should I trust: boardsies or regarded newspapers like the National Review?

Heres the article I am tongue in cheek referencing, from 2002.

I find it highly amusing that they consider the Irish President as having sufficient sway over where EU money goes to somehow be blackened by it happening.

a) Ireland's a bit player in Europe to be blunt about it and while we punch over our weight in many regards we cannot be viewed as being the major force shaping EU policy.

b) The Irish President is a bit player when it comes to the actions of the Irish Government in that the Irish President doesn't represent the country in any situation where any decisions are made.

The article shows a woeful lack of understanding of how the Irish political system works imho.

Come on :-)

Rubin knows exactly how the EU and the Irish presidency work. He gets the dates right. He insinuates, but doesn't say outright, that Robinson is president of Europe.

He is lying. Spreading dirt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

she gave money to the Palestinian terrorists to wage war on the Israelis.

If only she did....