Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hardstyle Music

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭seany2929

johnroake wrote: »
    technoboy, headhunterz they both should be class, d-block and stefan have the anthem this year i think, just been watching the vids and it is unreal, shame showtek arent there, i was hoping to catch them.

seeing as you have been to amsterdam so much where is good to go out and stuff for the first nite. any pubs or clubs recommended in amsterdam.

Didnt really get to hit any decent pubs or clubs as we were only over there for the festivals.It's meant to be pretty hard to get into the good clubs over there.Will be hitting Leidesplein properly this time around though-this is where the young go,meant to be some pretty cool spots around there.

Not that happy with the lineup & the anthem isn't a patch on Technoboy's "Next Dimensional World".Pity The Prophet,Activator,Tatanka,Zatox & the likes aren't playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 johnroake

seany2929 wrote: »
    Not that happy with the lineup & the anthem isn't a patch on Technoboy's "Next Dimensional World".Pity The Prophet,Activator,Tatanka,Zatox & the likes aren't playing.
    im sure it will still be a pretty good feckin show. ill prob hit that place, leidspiene, surly if your dressed decent you could get in, cant be much harder than limerick or dublin to get into places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭why so serious?

Right...maybe the choice 'cruising' music of 16 year old country boys...

I didn't say choice of music, I said choice of DANCE music, big difference. I wouldn't expect you to know much about the genre anyway, atleast it's not commercial bull****e!

Kipling wrote: »
    your both teenagers right?

No wrong, I'm 24 and yes perhaps in Ireland a lot of teenagers are into hardstyle but in other european countries such as Germany and Holland this genre of music has a massif 21 - 35 year old fan base. I honestly think a lot of you are getting confused between hardcore/gabber which is utter ****e and hardstyle, anyway I am more into trance music than any other sort of music period. What is peoples opinion of trance music?

FLYNN-DOG wrote: »
    , followed by a bunch of drug ridden scumbags (some of which are now in their 40's).

Who like hardcore breaks?

That's rather stereotypical, no matter what kind of music event you go to it is full of drugs and scumbags, for me it's about the music and not the drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

I wouldn't expect you to know much about the genre anyway, atleast it's not commercial bull****e!

And how may I ask do you know for a fact that I only listen to 'commercial bullshít'? I'd hardly call Bojan Zulfikarpasic's album Koreni, which is probably my favourite album, 'commercial bullshít'.
    What is peoples opinion of trance music?

I personally don't really rate it, it could be a rung above hardstyle on the dance music quality ladder, but still below most other types of dance.

This is simply my personal opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Hardstyle as in Showtek, Donkey Rollers and The Prophet among others? yeah i like some of their tunes, depending on the mood i'm in:)

Went to Planetlove this year to specifically see Lisa Lashes and Showtek in the GoodGrief tent...it was fun:D

p.s. i'm not 16, but 28 lol been listening to various dance since i was 13, and dont necessarily have a genre i do like whether its rock/metal, pop, rnb etc:pac:

I personally don't really rate it, it could be a rung above hardstyle on the dance music quality ladder, but still below most other types of dance.

This is simply my personal opinion.[/quote]

Well I must admit, I used to hate hardstyle but I opened up to it and now I like it but only a select few Dj's/producers which would be yoji who in my opinion is a musical genius, cally and juice, andy whitby etc. Hate the likes of Alex Kidd, Kidd Chaos, Lisa Lashes and don't like any dutch hardstyle. I also love Techno, Drum and bass and House music but for me trance hits the spot!Can't ****ing stand that Tiesto bollix though:mad:

Hardstyle as in Showtek, Donkey Rollers and The Prophet among others? yeah i like some of their tunes, depending on the mood i'm in:)

Went to Planetlove this year to specifically see Lisa Lashes and Showtek in the GoodGrief tent...it was fun:D

p.s. i'm not 16, but 28 lol been listening to various dance since i was 13, and dont necessarily have a genre i do like whether its rock/metal, pop, rnb etc:pac:

See people it's not just little skanky young ones who like hardstyle

That still doesn't justify this hugely (incorrect) sweeping statement:
    Hardstyle is fast becoming the choice of dance music in Ireland

That still doesn't justify this hugely (incorrect) sweeping statement:

but uhm it's true because it is becoming the most popular genre of dance music in Ireland, no not my favourite but there is a huge fan base for hardstyle over here.

Again with the sweeping statements...show me one club in Dublin ((Arguably) The cultural centre of Ireland), that's dedicated to hardstyle, whereas I can list off loads which are dedicated to electro, electro-house and fidget, and a few that are dedicated to techno.

That may be true but there are numerous clubs around Ireland dedicated to hardstyle such as the zoo in Kilkenny and aurora, the temple in Carlow, GPO in Galway has it's fair share of hardstyle events, and it is also extremely popular up north, aswell as hardstyle club nights there are numerous hardstyle raves happening every year in Ireland such as kiddstock, Q dance, escape and the hard arena is packed to the gills every year at planetlove without fail. Almost any dj you meet these days plays hardstyle and I should know as I have been dj'ing the last six years although I play trance. I can guarantee you if you could find some polls on the net concerning irish peoples prefered choice of dance music the results would be hardstyle, it's so popular these days it's almost becoming mainstream.

It's so popular these days it's almost becoming mainstream.

That's it there though, it's not mainstream, whereas electro/fidget/electro-house is. I mean Crookers' Day 'n' Night was all over the radios, and they play Sidney Sampson - Riverside in all the mainstream clubs everywhere, and people like David Guetta and Armand van Helden enjoy definite mainstream success.
    I'm not arguing that it's not popular, I'm just trying to get you to realise that it's not the most popular type of dance music in Ireland, (which you keep claiming it is), and more than likely won't be for a fair while, and possibly will never be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

That's it there though, it's not mainstream, whereas electro/fidget/electro-house is. I mean Crookers' Day 'n' Night was all over the radios, and they play Sidney Sampson - Riverside in all the mainstream clubs everywhere, and people like David Guetta and Armand van Helden enjoy definite mainstream success.
    I'm not arguing that it's not popular, I'm just trying to get you to realise that it's not the most popular type of dance music in Ireland, (which you keep claiming it is), and more than likely won't be for a fair while, and possibly will never be.

What the fuck is fidget house?? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

DarkJager wrote: »

you have to force yourself into a pair of drainpipes first....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

I'm wondering would some people classify this kind of stuff as Hardstyle? Its more Ghetto/booty techno than the Hard Trance kind of stuff that I've heard from the likes of Yoji but i've heard it described as hardstyle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Kipling

Hardstyle is s*** , end of. just open your ears to what your actually listening to. its pure garbage. and im very surprised theres people in there 20's listening to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Hawk Wing

Hard style! Jesus Christ, brain dead ****e, like its predecessor, hard house, a bloody crime against decent music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

My brother loves the stuff. He nearly bought the crap they wear too, cept it was 120 quid.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UZAfSD1Misw

Huh? Baseball Cap, T-Shirt & Shorts?

Those Jumpstyle Battle videos are hilarious, but not in a good way.
    They're like a Michael Jackson Battledance video for the 21st Century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

BaZmO* wrote: »

Emo's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

I quite like hardstyle, the melodies and everything.

But i can see why anyone would think its talentless e music or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭baaaa

Hardstyle is for kids and adults that are stupid,plain and simple.
    The market caters for all.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fidget_house

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭acman

Emo's

on speed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭horsebox09

One of the only types of music that i hate is hardstyle, awful stuff imo!

Bring back the early 90's acid house stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

No there fecking isn't, that's a ludicrous statement...

Where are the hardstyle events? Is there an Irish hardstyle forum? Any Hardstyle nights? Record shops selling Hardstyle? Hardstyle radio shows?

Never even seen a hardstyle record in Dublin (although in fairness I'll bet Abbey Discs probably would have stocked a bit of it), never heard of a regular Hardstyle night in the capital (although it's certainly conceivable that youth centres in places like Bray and Malahide might have the occasional under-18's one-off)...

If Hardstyle is so popular how come the only time anyone ever talks about it is when a thread on boards.ie gets made?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Never even seen a hardstyle record in Dublin (although in fairness I'll bet Abbey Discs probably would have stocked a bit of it)
    No they never have, but Billy said he's getting some Hardstyle choons in next Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

AARRRGH wrote: »

hardstyle = hard house for girls and for people who are too old to keep up in the main room at a gabber rave

Where are the hardstyle events? Is there an Irish hardstyle forum? Any Hardstyle nights? Record shops selling Hardstyle? Hardstyle radio shows?

Never even seen a hardstyle record in Dublin (although in fairness I'll bet Abbey Discs probably would have stocked a bit of it), never heard of a regular Hardstyle night in the capital (although it's certainly conceivable that youth centres in places like Bray and Malahide might have the occasional under-18's one-off)...

If Hardstyle is so popular how come the only time anyone ever talks about it is when a thread on boards.ie gets made?

I tried telling him, but he just keeps coming back with this "fact" that hardstyle is the most popular type of dance music in Ireland...
    Next he be trying to tell us Hardcore Breaks are all the rage in Dublin.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Jesus lads, somebody proclaims an interest in Hardstyle and he's jumped on and branded a teenager for listening to it. That's generalising -like only hairdressers listen to house music, only the tone deaf listen to techno etc etc.

Granted hardstyle mightn't have enough beeps and bleeps for most of ye, but there's no need to be so pious about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

who dragged up this old thread anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

used to dj ahrd house years ago. played on the radio for a good while playin it.

as i got older, my musical taste got older and at the time i moved onto prog. then techno, then tech house.
    (i also like the smell of my own farts)

didnt think any1 still listened to that garbage now though. cant stand it myself..ashamed i once loved it!!

copeyhagen wrote: »
    used to dj ahrd house

Is that dance music for pirates? :p;)

yep. it was the biggest thing back then.

Jesus lads, somebody proclaims an interest in Hardstyle and he's jumped on and branded a teenager for listening to it. That's generalising -like only hairdressers listen to house music, only the tone deaf listen to techno etc etc.

Granted hardstyle mightn't have enough beeps and bleeps for most of ye, but there's no need to be so pious about it.

The problem wasn't that he was saying he liked it, he was saying it was the most popular dance music in Ireland. We can't have that kind of claim stand up on a fine forum like this.

Yes to all them questions actually!just because it isn't commercial it doesn't mean it's unpopular, there is a huge underground hardstyle scene fullstop. I'm not saying it is my favourite kind of music, yes I like it, i'm not big into it, I know loads who are but my point is that it is a lot more popular than you think and not just with pill filled teenagers. It is extremely popular worlwide, Qdance, Sensation Black, Thunderdome, Kiddstock.. They are all massif ****ing events!And when you say it isn't the most popular type of dance music in Ireland at the moment, that is true when you are referring to mainstream but undergound it's huge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭jak/mar

BaZmO* wrote: »

I think he/she means Phats Pants.
    http://phattpants.com/Handler.ashx?PhotoID=78

I love Hardstyle. Dances such as Hardjump (A faster,harder version of jumpstyle)

and the Melbourne shuffle
    are great with Hardstyle.

I wish they would play hardstyle at the discos I go to but what can you expect at a disco for 14-15 year olds:mad::(

!And when you say it isn't the most popular type of dance music in Ireland at the moment, that is true when you are referring to mainstream but undergound it's huge.

It seems you don't understand what "the most popular type of dance music in Ireland" means...It means the type of dance music which the most people like. Which isn't hardstyle. Underground just means it's not very popular.
    jak/mar wrote: »

I love Hardstyle. Dances such as Hardjump (A faster,harder version of jumpstyle)

I wish they would play hardstyle at the discos I go to but what can you expect at a disco for 14-15 year olds:mad::(

Take everything up to and including the v= out of those links.

Fixed,

How old are you do you mind me asking?
    Oh and what disco's are you going to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hardcore_Breaks:eek: :)

im not tryin to be smart, im guessin ur fairly young, and when i was ur age i had the most diverse ****ed up interests in music (oldskool dance like cosmic baby) as far as scooter and ultra sonic :D

but this whole jumping around lark to cheese does nothing for me. (no offence mate)

but the track from 5.20 to 6.00 in that video is actually fairly decent. im drawn to that melody!

everyone go check out it out ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭jak/mar

Fixed,

How old are you do you mind me asking?
    Oh and what disco's are you going to?

14 and the disco is Lucan Club4U(NoName). The DJ is really old :D:mad:

copeyhagen wrote: »
    im not tryin to be smart, im guessin ur fairly young, and when i was ur age i had the most diverse ****ed up interests in music (oldskool dance like cosmic baby) as far as scooter and ultra sonic :D

but this whole jumping around lark to cheese does nothing for me. (no offence mate)

but the track from 5.20 to 6.00 in that video is actually fairly decent. im drawn to that melody!

everyone go check out it out ;)

I've kinda moved away from Jumpstyle (and most of the people I know that do Jumpstyle) and more into the Shuffle but I still kinda like Jumpstyle but not as much as the Shuffle

Fair play to you for getting into it but I guarantee you by the time your 21 your taste will change dramatically.

Back in my (not so long ago) day, the dance people listened to when they were 13/14 was Scooter and DJ Cammy and that awful stuff, so I assume this is just the modern equivalent, and that anyone of that age listening to Hardstyle won't be listening to it in 5 years. What I don't believe/understand is that there is a large fanbase of 20/30 year olds listening to it too...It truly is awful...

What I don't believe/understand is that there is a large fanbase of 20/30 year olds listening to it too...It truly is awful...
    You will find 90% of whom are pikeys and the other 10% "normal folk" clutching onto their youth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

it's better than that monged out ketamine music you listen to ;):D

In all seriousness though, you and others like to have a good laugh about HCB which is no priblem but you clearly know fcuk all about it, like it or lump it, there is a HCB scene with many labels and releases to date,people can say otherwise all they want but are talking through their hole basically :p
    Many large rave promotions now include hardcore breaks on the line up and it is recognised as its own entity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68