Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

West Brom V Newcastle United Match Thread - 08/08/09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

newcastle are definitely the better team.

it's just that defense; and particularly coloccini.

such a funny player. not in a good way.

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭deise48

three to one newcastle to win is looking a good bet i reckon

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Switch the wingers, Ameobi off, Xisco on.

Smith is MOTM so far.

Carroll looks like he's banjaxed himself after that flick and chase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Andy Carroll looks like he could be a really good player at this level.

Woah, he is looking very, very good thus far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

fooking delivery from set pieces is horrendous, no change form last season so

Completely against the run of play.

that last 90 seconds was newcastle in a nutshell.

1:0 Balls

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭luder

any more working streams..

no another blunder goal..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭rotinaj

Fook

1-0 West Brom

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Completely against the run of play.

The amount of good starts last season that ended up like that. Hope we can do a better job of picking ourselves up this time, else we'll get tonked and my 3:0 prediction will come true

luder wrote: »
    any more working streams..

no another blunder goal..

http://iraqgoals.net/ch4.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

more goals to come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,462 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Should have been disallowed, WBA player who blocked the shot was offside when the ball was hit. Poor from the lino.

Duff and Coloccini should have been booked. Very poor refereeing imo.

Fair play to Harper for shaking it off. Was a right clout he took.

LOOOL Jonas u tool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Same rubbish, different league.

fair play alan smith. easily the best player on the pitch. he's the only man, from what i can see, whose head hasn't dropped yet.

suprised more isn't being made of the fact the goal should have been disallowed. Nothing side by the commentators. surprising, unless they have forgotten what the offside rule actually is. Wonder if they will pick up on it at half time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,853 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Fcuk sake, batter them for nearly 40 mins and then leave in a stupid goal, I'm well sickened.
    Ball into the box is awful and finishing isn't much better. Not creating enough chances.

suprised more isn't being made of the fact the goal should have been disallowed. Nothing side by the commentators. surprising, unless they have forgotten what the offside rule actually is. Wonder if they will pick up on it at half time.

well spotted.

judging by the replay it's very very close i think though.

you sure about that offside mitch

looks a good goal to me

Should Shearer not have sat this one out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Is Nolan not playing him on?? Hard to tell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Newcastle at 15.0 on Betfair, anyone think that is worth a fiver?

Headshot wrote: »
    you sure about that offside mitch

looks a good goal to me

No - there is only one defender beside/beyond him when the shot is stuck, the other defender is on 'wrong' side of him. The offside rule is TWO players have to beyond the attacking player, not one - some people just think it is because they don't think about the keeper (who was also 'wrong' side of the attacker)

It is close, but i think it is technically offside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

We need that determination we had before the goal went in.
    Everybody challenging everything and chasing every ball. We can't continue on this type of performance every time we concede.

Duff really should have scored earlier on in the first half. Jonas has been making good runs but his final ball and his decisions have been absolutely shocking.

Carroll is winning everything in the air today but he's playing too deep at times and it's just Ameobi up there by himself who is completely useless.

Colo as per usual is our biggest liability on the pitch at the moment and needs to be substituted ASAP before he makes one more reckless challenge and gets sent off.

Fair play to Harper for getting back up after that whack. I just hope he'll be ok after half time.

Nolan has been extremely quiet and I think Barton needs to come on in his stead. He's only had about 4 or 5 touches of the ball.

Smith is working very hard and making some good tackles (first time for everything) and is really doing his best to rally the troops.

We need calm heads now and keep composed and get an early equaliser.

COME ON YOU FCUKING TOON!!!!!

On a side note the Toon Army singing "You fat bastard, get out of our club".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Frank Skinner! Haven't seen him in years!

Defensively, Toon are a shambles and quite frankly, Hughton has to take responsibility for the terrible defending of set-pieces.

Coloccini, Ameobi, Duff and Nolan have been anonymous or useless.

Newcastle at 15.0 on Betfair, anyone think that is worth a fiver?
    worth a fiver

Carroll looks a danger but he needs to get in the box more and spiderman looks a right danger but needs to pick out men on the cross,if they correct that i'd be confident

Newcastle to Score a Goal is 11/10 not great odds but it wouldnt surprise me to see newcastle score

but

I want west brom to win,get in there

That_Guy wrote: »
    We need that determination we had before the goal went in.
    Everybody challenging everything and chasing every ball. We can't continue on this type of performance every time we concede.

Duff really should have scored earlier on in the first half. Jonas has been making good runs but his final ball and his decisions have been absolutely shocking.

Carroll is winning everything in the air today but he's playing too deep at times and it's just Ameobi up there by himself who is completely useless.

Colo as per usual is our biggest liability on the pitch at the moment and needs to be substituted ASAP before he makes one more reckless challenge and gets sent off.

Fair play to Harper for getting back up after that whack. I just hope he'll be ok after half time.

Nolan has been extremely quiet and I think Barton needs to come on in his stead. He's only had about 4 or 5 touches of the ball.

Smith is working very hard and making some good tackles (first time for everything) and is really doing his best to rally the troops.

We need calm heads now and keep composed and get an early equaliser.

COME ON YOU FCUKING TOON!!!!!

On a side note the Toon Army singing "You fat bastard, get out of our club".

Same think in about 10 games last year lad, the heads drop straight away

• Registered Users Posts: 613 ✭✭✭smog

And Harper off .. it did look bad first time round where i didn't think he would get up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

M5 wrote: »
    Same think in about 10 games last year lad, the heads drop straight away

We need to get out of that "we've already lost the match" type of crap thinking they've got going on. Here's hoping they can go out with positive thinking and grab a quick equaliser.

I'd like to see Ranger come on because quite frankly Ameobi has been useless and has barely seen the ball. When he has seen the ball he's been dire.

Wow from Tim Krul.

Should be 2-0, horrendous defending from a set-piece again.

fúck me what a save from Krul.

then abysmal from the corner.

Wow from Tim Krul.

wow indeed a few seconds after that save ;)

west brom player chickened out of that header

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Don't know how that stayed out

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

wow.

brunt is quite the gloryhole.

\get the heads UP!!! come on lads

It's all Baggies now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Great finish from duffer!

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭luder

lovely stuff, nice team goal

Duff aint that useless .. thank god

there ya go newcastle score

on the whole...completely deserved.

top quality all-round goal too.

cool finish from duffer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Fcuk, was just looking for the Credit Card to put a fiver on at 12/1 on Boylesports

Kruel looks a great shot stopper