Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Man utd v Chelsea Fa community shield

• 08-08-2009 9:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭

looking forward to this

ill predict this team

pole
    laet--Rio--evans
    evra
    valenica--carrick--ando---park
    berba----owen

I rather see foster but the pole has probably impressed fergie during pre season with saves against boca and valencia

iv picked this team because of the internationals etc so that's why i left out Rooney,fletch and oshea

I know Rio is playing but he's vital to the defence and theres no real cover because of injuries

KO is 15.00 live on sky sports 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

I fully expect Chelsea to win out if they put anywhere near a full squad out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

united to win on penos 1-1 or 0-0 in normal time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

United have a habit of winning on penalties in these games...

And my first chance to see Owen live in a Utd shirt...

(shameless plug of my quick preview ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

really hard game to call

ill go for a draw 1-1 and utd to win on penos

would like to get 3 community shields in a row but if it doesnt happen... meh

just hoping to see very good game between the 2 best teams in england

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

probably nil all in this, owen to fluff a few sitters!

i wish we weren't in the community shield cos then we wouldnt have a chance of losing!

Max Power1 wrote: »
    probably nil all in this, owen to fluff a few sitters!

ya, owe hasn been finishin great in pre season!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Will turn out to be a pre season friendly between two understrength teams, BOTHERED!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,831 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

have been looking around for a place to view the game, so far iv found this as a possible link for tomorrows game:

http://www.justin.tv/manutdpeople4

come on the blues!

any chelsea team news ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

mink_man wrote: »
    i wish we weren't in the community shield cos then we wouldnt have a chance of losing!

Maybe we should pull out of the Premiership, Champions League, Carling Cup and FA Cup just in case we lose those too. :rolleyes:

Willl be interesting to see who Fergie goes for in goal. The team I would start with would be the team I would start against Birmingham next week.

Foster

Josh Rio Evans Evra

Valencia Carrick Fletcher Park

Berba Rooney

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

mink_man wrote: »
    ya, owe hasn been finishin great in pre season!
    ah some friendly games in the far east hardly constitute a great record now do they?

Nothing matters until the season starts- look at spurs last year, almost unbeaten in preseason and then a terrible run at the start of the season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

My team would be:

PIG
    Fabio--Evans--Rio--Evra
    Valencia--Ando--Carrick--Nani
    Berba--Owen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Does the money generated still go to charity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

Chelsea 2-1 over the 90 with Owen to limp off after 20 minutes.

Max Power1 wrote: »
    ah some friendly games in the far east hardly constitute a great record now do they?

Nothing matters until the season starts- look at spurs last year, almost unbeaten in preseason and then a terrible run at the start of the season

Expecially if you saw the chances he missed against Valencia..

Owen might find it difficult enough against Chelsea but you can be sure he will get a chance of two.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    United have a habit of winning on penalties in these games...

And my first chance to see Owen live in a Utd shirt...

(shameless plug of my quick preview ;))
    United have a habit of winning on penalties?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Does the money generated still go to charity?

Yep. It goes to Newcastle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,732 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Suppose will have to get used to this writing off Owen before a ball is kicked nonsense for the rest of the season.

Can see this match being a dull affair to be honest, they usually are.

It's a good preseason workout and also reminds the fans of the 2 teams involved that they are there because they have won something, so tis not all that bad.

1-0 will win it.

Boggles wrote: »
    Suppose will have to get used to this writing off Owen before a ball is kicked nonsense for the rest of the season..

Would ignore it to be honest. Tis foolishness of the highest degree.

Suppose will have to get used to this writing off Owen before a ball is kicked nonsense for the rest of the season.

Can see this match being a dull affair to be honest, they usually are.

It's a good preseason workout and also reminds the fans of the 2 teams involved that they are there because they have won something, so tis not all that bad.

1-0 will win it.

It's inevitable really and is unfortunate that it happens.
    Of course they're going to write him off because he came from a club like Newcastle to one of the best teams in Europe alongside some of the best players in Europe.

Of course he'll have his critics but sure who doesn't? I personally think it was a smart move by Ferguson and I'd like to see him do well....... even though I really don't like the guy.

13/2 on PP for him to score the first goal. Get in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

That_Guy wrote: »
    It's inevitable really and is unfortunate that it happens.
    Of course they're going to write him off because he came from a club like Newcastle to one of the best teams in Europe alongside some of the best players in Europe.

Of course he'll have his critics but sure who doesn't? I personally think it was a smart move by Ferguson and I'd like to see him do well....... even though I really don't like the guy.

13/2 on PP for him to score the first goal. Get in.

If you were playing Newcastle last year, would you have been worried about him signing? If he had moved to Hull would you be?

Here's a video for the first day of Ancelotti's reign

Cech
    Bosingwa
    Carvalho
    Terry
    A.Cole
    Mikel

Essien
    Malouda/Ballack (zhirkov has mini injury)
    Lampard

Anelka
    Drogba

Hopefully we will put on a statement of intent today winning by a 3 goal margin, get the papers talking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,462 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

If you were playing Newcastle last year, would you have been worried about him signing? If he had moved to Hull would you be?

Here's a video for the first day of Ancelotti's reign

Cech
    Bosingwa
    Carvalho
    Terry
    A.Cole
    Mikel

Essien
    Malouda/Ballack (zhirkov has mini injury)
    Lampard

Anelka
    Drogba

Hopefully we will put on a statement of intent today winning by a 3 goal margin, get the papers talking.

For me, he is a player who will get goals if the chances are created for him. Those chances were not created at Newcastle and wouldn't have been at Hull. So, i wouldn't worry about Owen too much if he was playing for either of those teams. I would worry about him in the sense that if he gets a good look at goal he'd be the most likely player on those teams to get a goal.

At United, he will get more, and better, chances than he would at Newcaslte, Hull, Stoke etc - he will get us goals. I don't expect him to strike fear in the hearts of defenders like Drogba or Torres may, but that doesn't make him a bad or ineffective player.

For me, he is a player who will get goals if the chances are created for him. Those chances were not created at Newcastle and wouldn't have been at Hull. So, i wouldn't worry about Owen too much if he was playing for either of those teams. I would worry about him in the sense that if he gets a good look at goal he'd be the most likely player on those teams to get a goal.

At United, he will get more, and better, chances than he would at Newcaslte, Hull, Stoke etc - he will get us goals. I don't expect him to strike fear in the hearts of defenders like Drogba or Torres may, but that doesn't make him a bad or ineffective player.

firstly Drogba and Torres or not defenders,

and I take most of what you said but I don't think it can be said that he is the most likely player on either team to score.

What about Drogba? and wouldn't it make a mockery of your 30 million pound striker if it was true.

and I take most of what you said but I don't think it can be said that he is the most likely player on either team to score.
    never said they were defenders smart arse. Owen won't strike fear into defends. Not in the same way a player like Torres or Drogba would.
    What about Drogba? and wouldn't it make a mockery of your 30 million pound striker if it was true.
    What the hell are you on about?

Really?

So if Owen scores it makes a mockey of Berbatov and Drogba? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,049 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Haha that's kind of backfired on you.

LOL on the proper fail

anyway

Iv a feeling berba will score and at odds of 16/5(anytime), iv gone for it

Really?

So if Owen scores it makes a mockey of Berbatov and Drogba? :confused:

ah hey lads.

What I was saying is if Owen is the most likely player to score,
    does that not make it a bit embarrassing that last year you spent so much on Berbatov to score goals for ye.

It was only a sunday morning thing, lets just forget it,
    there is no point telling me that berbatov makes assists or reminding me about Shechenko, it was just a badly phrased off hand comment.

ah hey lads.

does that not make it a bit embarrassing that last year you spent so much on Berbatov to score goals for ye.

It was only a sunday morning thing, lets just forget it,
    there is no point telling me that berbatov makes assists or reminding me about Shechenko, it was just a badly phrased off hand comment.

Who said Owen is most likely to score?

And again why would that be embarrassing?

Jesus Headshot Owen got a hat trick, I'm Scarlett!!!

ah hey lads.

I never even came close to saying that. I said owen would be the most likely player to score for Hull or Newcastle or Stoke.

I'll accept that I may have badly phrased the fear/defenders bit, but no way in hell did a phrase the more likely to score bit to indicate Owen is more likely to score for United than any other striker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭Stokes

Morning gents...

I'm going with

Foster
    O'Shea - Rio - Evans - Evra
    Valencia - Carrick - Fletch - Park
    Berba - Rooney

Jesus Headshot Owen got a hat trick, I'm Scarlett!!!

lol. wtf is that about Boggles

I never even came close to saying that. I said owen would be the most likely player to score for Hull or Newcastle or Stoke.

I'll accept that I may have badly phrased the fear/defenders bit, but no way in hell did a phrase the more likely to score bit to indicate Owen is more likely to score for United than any other striker.

Oh dear I read that bit wrong too,

I think I need a cold shower or something anyway.

I better leave these parts for a while, before I am fully shamed.

Headshot wrote: »
    lol. wtf is that about Boggles

Me Conveying my embarrasment to you, if Owen scores.

How will we show our usernames again on these boards!!

Edit: ShoulderChip is písséd, we will have to give him a pass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭the lil man

i think mann utd will just about win it.
    it will be a hard game tho!!

Me Conveying my embarrasment to you, if Owen scores.

How will we show our usernames again on these boards!!

Edit: ShoulderChip is písséd, we will have to give him a pass.
    If he scores will you stop posting?

I kid i kid, i like you.

CHD wrote: »

I kid i kid, i like you.

I like you too CHD, you remind me of me (less handsome version).

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Such a weird way to start a season this - a game against big rivals that doesn't mean much. If we win it's meh but if we lose it's annoying ..pfft!

I hope Anderson plays and that he gets a good run in the team for the start of the season - I'm thinking that this could be his season to start staking his claim to be first choice CM. Like so many players, now is his chance to step up and prove himself.

Other than that I'm just looking for a good performance and hopefully some entertainment.

CHD wrote: »

I kid i kid, i like you.

I like you too CHD, you remind me of me (less handsome version).

im happy for ye ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

don't care who wins.

a nice hard game, with a few injuries thrown in is all i'm hoping for.

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

SlickRic wrote: »
    don't care who wins.

a nice hard game, with a few injuries thrown in is all i'm hoping for.

:p

And a few red cards no?

Pyjamarama wrote: »
    And a few red cards no?

ah sure.

why the fúck not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

No other United fans think Macheda might get a start today? I think he'll get the nod after his pretty impressive pre-season. More 'big' match experience under his belt.

I'll go for:

Foster
    ---O'Shea
    Rio
    Evans
    Evra
    ---Park
    Carrick
    Giggs
    Nani

Rooney

Macheda

you know, giggs gets a lot of stick, mainly due to the PFA award last year, from people including myself...

but it still amazes me whenever i see a utd teamsheet, that i seem him in a central role in that midfield, even if it's only on occasion. it really is a great testament to the man, whether we think he should be there or not.

after all that i'm going for a chelsea win though. 2-1.

No other United fans think Macheda might get a start today? I think he'll get the nod after his pretty impressive pre-season. More 'big' match experience under his belt.

I'll go for:

Foster
    ---O'Shea
    Rio
    Evans
    Evra
    ---Park
    Carrick
    Giggs
    Nani

Rooney

Macheda

nope - Fergie will want a statement from the 3 bigger name forwards - he won't be dropping any of them for Kiko this early imo.

No Zhirkov :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Teams out?

Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    Teams out?

I don't think so. Another fifteen or twenty minutes I would reckon.

Cech
    Ivanovic
    Cole
    Terry
    Carvalho
    Mikel (Holding)
    Essien (Right)
    Malouda(Left)
    Lampard (Attacking)
    Anelka
    Drogba