Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Goodbye to Ferrybank's 'Temple of Torture'

• 09-08-2009 4:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18

The residents of Ferrybank bid farewell to an old foe on Monday when workmen from Telecom Eireann arrested and removed the public pay-phone that loitered for many years at Rockenham close to the Garda Station and just across the road from the church where it used to prey on the young and vulnarable.

For many years before that, the phone box stood further down directly opposite the priest’s house just around the corner from Pat Joe Penkert’s and Mrs O’Brien’s shops, emporiums and universities of life that stood on a site now occupied by a super trendy pub and fancy pantsy Chinese restaurant.

To younger people it won’t mean much but, to several generations, the Ferrybank phone box was one of the most feared objects in the village. In the days, not too long ago, before the gangs, Gary Glitter and the Christian Brothers, the box used to stare openley at the passing public crippeling them with fear. Over the years, countless people emerged from the pits of paralysis too voice their concern about the boxy menace and its perverse antics.

More than a few marriages were destroyed by the phone box as husbands where too afraid to pass it after dark, leaving them alone and terrified in their local Bar until it was safe to leave in the wee morning hours.

It was common place for somebody to be passing the box when the phone would ring. It was the ‘done thing’ to fall to the ground in a ball and scream the lyrics of "all kinds of everything" while rocking back and forth like some kind of sick parrot.

6052_104810706311_757586311_2206926_3490862_n.jpg

The Ferrybank phone box was a terrifying thing of its time and the messages relayed in its inner sanctum irrevocably changed the lives of a great many people for the worst. It really was a temple of Torture and if its walls could only speak, the sound would probably have killed every man woman and child in the Ferrybank region or if not it would have at least burst an eardrum or two.

By Colm Williamson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

The posters in the Waterford Forum might get more from this. Over to you Sully & Co.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭ex_infantry man

jaysus somebody has too much time on there hands eh!!!!!did ya take your medication today??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭Bards

Almost a month too late with the story (Reported July 10th)

http://www.munster-express.ie/local-news/goodbye-to-ferrybanks-%e2%80%98temple-of-fortune/

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Hagar wrote: »
    The posters in the Waterford Forum might get more from this. Over to you Sully & Co.

I think thats Kilkenny territory (not for long, suckers! :p)...

Or is it further on the boundary ends for the Deise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭lassykk

Sully wrote: »
    I think thats Kilkenny territory (not for long, suckers! :p)...

Or is it further on the boundary ends for the Deise?

ye can have rockenham if ye want it... we'll just hang on to the all ireland!!!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

lassykk wrote: »

Dont count your chickens yet lassy :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭lassykk

Sully wrote: »
    Dont count your chickens yet lassy :p

ye won't have it anyway so dats something ;)

Shame the rest of this country doesnt care once the cats dont :p Caught ye on a bad day today eh? The might kilkenny left in three goals! :P

• Registered Users Posts: 455 ✭✭Xyo

and still won

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Fighting sticks....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

LOUD NOISES!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭ex_infantry man

they played dirty cud,nt take the fact dat waterford gave em a good fight

Right-o, time to get back on topic me thinks.

So ya, Temple of Torture thing gone...

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭sparkydee

And that is why there will be 31 counties shouting for tipp or limerick in september;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭irish fighter

and we will still win it waterford might be back in a few years to give us another go

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭sparkydee

and we will still win it waterford might be back in a few years to give us another go

That is sooo typical. Ah well hopefully you're wrong!

Back on topic please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

There is no topic! :pac:

mike65 wrote: »

Quiet you! :p

• Registered Users Posts: 455 ✭✭Xyo

She was some phone box in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Icarus152

Strange post but I like it.

Ferrybank is in Waterford BTW.Slieverue will soon fall to the Waterford boundry too.It's just a matter of time before the blue and white flag will flutter triumphantly from every chimney out there....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 798 ✭✭✭lucky-colm

mike65 wrote: »

have to agree with mike here;)

and maybe the op did forget to take his tablets but someone came in and gave them to him and he forgot that he ever made such a mad post in the first place.
    (t'would explain why we havn't heard from him since)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 798 ✭✭✭lucky-colm

Xyo wrote: »
    She was some phone box in fairness.

LOOOOOOOLLLL!!