Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork V Tyrone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭merlynthewizard

thsi game has draw written all over it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Canty on the edge. Letting Tyrone get to them.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

listowel1 wrote: »
    K-9

you ar eonly trying to back tyrone up...be fair and post honestly it was a disgrace of a decision!!

LOL

Read back. Try to read all posts before commenting.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭BOHSBOHS

he doesnt seem to want to yellow card any of the tyrone lads
    one of em went to stamp on a cork fellas hand there and nothing but a free

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,479 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Miskella should be off now.
    Bannon evened it up there by only giving a yellow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Tyranax

Ger and Marty, old skool wrasslin' fans! :D

What a tetchy game. Calling it now, I think that Cork will win. Miskella escapes, ref gets it wrong again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭carrigeen

that evens it up might forgive bannon now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭AndRoiD

that man shud never be allowed to referee an under 12 match never mind an AI SF! he has absolutely no control over the match at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭dreamer_ire

What started as a great match has been ruined by very very poor refereeing. A red card when there was no foul and a yellow for Miskella when it should have been a red. Bannon has completely lost control and I fear it's only gonna get worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭fergusman

Miskella should be off now.
    yeah he should have gone but the ref probably found out at half time he shouldnt have sent off the cork player in the first half and was more lenient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

im roaring at the telly for cork here.never thought id say that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Some shíte game in fairness. Neither team will put it up to Kerry on this performance.

I think that is game over. Cork superb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Tyranax

Daysha wrote: »
    Some shíte game in fairness. Neither team will put it up to Kerry on this performance.

Disagree with this strongly. If Cork repeat this performance against Kerry, they've the All Ireland in the bag. They have out-Tyrone'd Tyrone. That's a feat to be sure. Cork favourites in the Final now I think, of course we'll have to see how the other Semi Final goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

scrappy game. tyrone have been awful.

cork justifying their favourites tag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

Can hear the Fat Lady warming up :D

COME ON THE REBELS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Tyrone Team of the decade :rolleyes:

EDIT: That seems a bit triumphant and troll-ish. Sorry.
    Pat Spillane is right a good team can win an All Ireland but only a great team can put them back to back.
    Kerry are a great team. However Cork should be hot favourites for the final what a performance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭6ix

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Tyrone Team of the decade :rolleyes:

I don't think he was saying that Tyrone were the TOTD :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭listowel1

well said pat!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭rebs23

the best Cork football performance I have seen in a long time. Absolutely delighted for a team that never gives in with great character considering the ****e they have had to put up with over the last few years but nothing has been won yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

would have liked to see kerry play tyrone just to settle this "team of the decade" thing.
    But Cork deserved it in the end.
    Ref was brutal anyways:rolleyes:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

would have liked to see kerry play tyrone just to settle this "team of the decade" thing.
    But Cork deserved it in the end.
    Ref was brutal anyways:rolleyes:.

Kerry are the team of the decade no questions, and Cork are not far behind in terms of overall consistency. I as a true sports man backed my neighbours for the match and would have travelled up had I the time. Fair play to Cork and sure if Kerry or Meath beats them in the Final they can always say they beat Tyrone:pac: Good Rebels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭lisbon_lions

Typical spillane puke again, kicking Tyrone when they are down and out about this "team of the decade" muck. Fair play to ORourke for putting it straight and commending the professionalism of harte and co and their contributions on the big stage over the years.

Cork played well today and even with 14, Tyrone had no answers to the pure physicality and ambition that Cork showed. Miscella was awesome. Hope they go onto win it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Stick to the Hurling analysis please Daysha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

It appears to me that Miskella did not actually make contact when he lashed out. He appeared to say as much to McGugan.

K-9 I think you need to look at replay and then realise the Ref got it wrong sending off O'Connor. The ref was not great and I actually feel he went easy on Tyrone. On a few occasions they resorted to their old knees in the back and following through when there was no need to.

Cork half backs and half forwards were supberb.

Great to see the 2nd city back in All-Ireland final ;):):)

Typical spillane puke again, kicking Tyrone when they are down and out about this "team of the decade" muck. Fair play to ORourke for putting it straight and commending the professionalism of harte and co and their contributions on the big stage over the years.

Cork played well today and even with 14, Tyrone had no answers to the pure physicality and ambition that Cork showed. Miscella was awesome. Hope they go onto win it now.

Pat kicking Tyrone when they are down? Never. No Kerry man would glory in somebody beating the team they could never beat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭overmantle

Daysha - you must be pretty hard up for something to say. Down to 14 men when they were on a roll and to still win - a great game by Cork. Many didn't give them a chance. Well done to Pat Spillane too on his analysis. Haven't been his greatest fan in the past but he has been trying to counteract sometimes appalling commentary by Joe Brolley. Today, even Joe Brolley had to say something good about Cork.

K-9 wrote: »
    Alan O'Connor sent of for. Second yellow. Harsh.
    LeoB wrote:
    K-9 I think you need to look at replay and then realise the Ref got it wrong sending off O'Connor. The ref was not great and I actually feel he went easy on Tyrone. On a few occasions they resorted to their old knees in the back and following through when there was no need to.

See my post straight after it. :cool:

I think Miskella cancels out the sending off and Canty was just as good at the ould knees trick.

Overall, The ref didn't do either teams any favours.

Cork where superb, brilliant mass defence and the counter attacking was first class. Tyrone should have used what they did in the second half against Kildare. Quick, long ball into O'Neill and Mulligan. They didn't win enough at midfield to do that. McGinley and Cavanagh didn't look fit enough.

Awful result. Now we are going to have to stomach yet another hammering at the hands of the Kerry *bleep* at Croker. I'll have no choice but to witness it first hand as well... :(:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,383 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

netwhizkid wrote: »
    Kerry are the team of the decade no questions, and Cork are not far behind in terms of overall consistency. I as a true sports man backed my neighbours for the match and would have travelled up had I the time. Fair play to Cork and sure if Kerry or Meath beats them in the Final they can always say they beat Tyrone:pac: Good Rebels.

i wonder if the boot was on the other foot would kerry fans be claiming to be team of the decade if they had beat tyrone every time they played them including twice in an A-I final while tyrone had beaten the weaker teams like mayo in A-I finals

call me crazy but i can see kerry fans claiming in that situation "tyrone will never be team of the decade unless they beat kerry" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭overmantle

It'll be a tough match. Just let's hope Cork can break the duck in Croke Park against Kerry this time. Kerry will still be favourites though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

K-9 wrote: »
    See my post straight after it. :cool:

I think Miskella cancels out the sending off and Canty was just as good at the ould knees trick.

Overall, The ref didn't do either teams any favours.

Cork where superb, brilliant mass defence and the counter attacking was first class. Tyrone should have used what they did in the second half against Kildare. Quick, long ball into O'Neill and Mulligan. They didn't win enough at midfield to do that. McGinley and Cavanagh didn't look fit enough.
    Yes just back from game. From my seat in lower deck of Hogan stand I have to say Cork fully deserved their win.
    Defended superbly and continually turned Tyrone over while never over committing in the tackle. And while maybe letting Tyrone into the game I always felt they had the upper hand even following the sending off.
    As for Tyrone they looked a bit lethargic today a fact underlined by some sloppy wides after the break.
    Dooher I thought struggled and Cavanagh though coming close with a goal late on in the game clearly struggling following his over night illness.
    Who knows what kind of a game we would have had if he had started.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭noaces

You sir must have been watching the game with anti cork spectacles. As a Galway man and as a man with a purely neutral agenda I can tell you that this Cork team is special. Nevermind that they dismantled Kerry in Munster or destroyed a Donegal team that looked good against my home county, this Cork team has completely outplayed Tyrone with 14 men for a large part of the game. Mark my words no team in Ireland will cope with this Cork team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,383 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

overmantle wrote: »
    It'll be a tough match. Just let's hope Cork can break the duck in Croke Park against Kerry this time. Kerry will still be favourites though.

has any team beaten the same team twice in the championship??

i know roscommon beat galway in 2001 connaught, lost to them in quarters
    tyrone beat derry in 2001 ulster lost to them in quarters
    armagh beat tyrone in 2003 ulster, lost to them in A-I final
    and cork have beaten kerry a few times in munster but always lose to them second time around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Banter Joe

Jaysus, if I was from Meath now I think I'd be a bit upset. Everybody just assuming Kerry are going to fly past them....

...but then again :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

rossie1977 wrote: »
    has any team beaten the same team twice in the championship??

Kerry defeated Cork in the 2007 Munster Final and again in the 2007 All-Ireland final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭paddy978

John Miskella should be banned for the final.Its football not boxing and if he is allowed play in AI when the GAA look for an excuse to ban Galvin it will be ridicolous.He should learn never to punch on a football pitch again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

noaces wrote: »
    You sir must have been watching the game with anti cork spectacles. As a Galway man and as a man with a purely neutral agenda I can tell you that this Cork team is special. Nevermind that they dismantled Kerry in Munster or destroyed a Donegal team that looked good against my home county, this Cork team has completely outplayed Tyrone with 14 men for a large part of the game. Mark my words no team in Ireland will cope with this Cork team.
    Yes Cork very impressive today. Will take a very good team to beat them.

Miskella should have been sent off, but since the ref dealt with I'd imagine he will be available for the final.

Comparing Miskella to Galvin is pointless really; one has priors, one doesn't.

Oh and Kerry by two in the final. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,135 ✭✭✭lukin

Orizio wrote: »
    Oh and Kerry by two in the final. ;)

C'mon man don't be so defeatist! This team is a much better one than played in 2007. We have better forwards now and better options on the bench. Also we have young players like Colm O' Neill and Daniel Goulding who don't fear Kerry as they are used to beating them at U-21 level.
    Kerry, despite their superb performance against Dublin (who are serial bottlers anyway) are not all they are cracked up to be. Anyway, they may not even reach the final, it could be the case that with all this stuff about "Kerry or Tyrone:which is the team of the Decade" (yawn) that neither of them will be in the final.
    Stranger things have happened.

Orizio wrote: »

Stick to the Hurling analysis please Daysha.

eh hem...
    Donegal 0-12 Cork 1-7 is my prediction.
    Prediction: Tyrone 0-18 Cork 1-10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

overmantle wrote: »

It will be 10/11 - 10/11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,485 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

noaces wrote: »

I think your last point is bit ott. But agree with you in general there. This Cork team has been in 6 semi finals now in 8 years and there second final in last 3 years. I think there muchj more stronger squad this time around then in 07. Kerry will be slight favourites imo but it be much much closer..

edit:

Hmm...odd considering this is the first thread involving Cork football I've even posted in all year.

Edit: Sorry, I'm wrong. Back in the Cork/Donegal match I complimented them on their ability to get scores from all areas of the pitch. Anti-Cork passion indeed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Well Done Cork!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭blueovalmk2

something has to be done about the referee in matchs,too many bad decisions been made between time an everything else!!

it would be great for GAA if it was a Meath v Cork all ireland:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Snesfan

Fair play to Cork they absolutely dominated, they look like a team that could dominate for years if their minds are right, lets hope they keep the mentality of losing to Kerry in croke park though...................:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Johnnyjump

Who do you think you're kidding Daysha? You're always putting your knife in Cork. You're at it anytime I look at this forum though I don't usually bother responding. Just had to respond to that rubbish though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Johnnyjump

And yes. Well done Cork. Many neutrals didn't give Cork a chance today.