Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spurs vs Liverpool [match thread]

• 10-08-2009 11:28am
    Registered Users Posts: 475 ✭✭

Bassong available

Sebastien Bassong has been tipped for a big future at Tottenham by manager Harry Redknapp.

The central defender made his first appearance for Spurs in the 3-0 friendly win against Olympiacos at White Hart Lane on Sunday alongside Ledley King.

Redknapp said: “Bassong is going to be a fantastic player for us.

“You saw him today - he’s quick, strong, and good in the air.

“We checked him out with all the right people, every report was fantastic. So we don’t have any doubts about his ability - and he’s available for Sunday.”

• Registered Users Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SuprSi

I could've sworn he was banned for the first two games? Happy days if he's available though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Joycee

Think Spurs have done a really clever one here. He was sent off in the second last match of last season, so then he missed out on the last match of last season. He would still have a one match ban to serve..

I think Spurs didnt fully register him as a Spurs player until after Newcastle's match against West Brom on Saturday, thereby letting hime serve his second match ban by missing that match as a Newcastle player, and then allowing him to play for us in the first match against Liverpool.

Clever that, very clever. Cmon the Spurs:P

• Registered Users Posts: 7,732 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Joycee wrote: »
    Think Spurs have done a really clever one here. He was sent off in the second last match of last season, so then he missed out on the last match of last season. He would still have a one match ban to serve..

I think Spurs didnt fully register him as a Spurs player until after Newcastle's match against West Brom on Saturday, thereby letting hime serve his second match ban by missing that match as a Newcastle player, and then allowing him to play for us in the first match against Liverpool.

Great news if true, would feel a lot more confident ahead of this game with him and Ledley at the back rather than Huddlestone or Corluka being in there.

Team for Sunday:

Gomes
    Corluka --- King --- Bassong --- BAE
    Lennon -- Palacios -- Jenas -- Modric
    Crouch -- Defoe

Debatable choices are Corluka/Hutton, Jenas/O'Hara and Keane/Defoe.
    A bench of Cudicini, Hutton, Chimbonda, O'Hara, Huddlestone, Keane & Pavlyuchenko looks pretty strong

• Registered Users Posts: 475 ✭✭ruiseal

Joycee wrote: »

Seemingly the registration wasn't put through until after 5.00pm on Friday, so in effect he was still a Newcastle player on Saturday and served the remaining match ban in that match..........if that makes sense!

Great that he's available on Sunday though!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SuprSi

Mr. Guappa wrote: »
    Great news if true, would feel a lot more confident ahead of this game with him and Ledley at the back rather than Huddlestone or Corluka being in there.

Team for Sunday:

Gomes
    Crouch -- Defoe

Debatable choices are Corluka/Hutton, Jenas/O'Hara and Keane/Defoe.
    A bench of Cudicini, Hutton, Chimbonda, O'Hara, Huddlestone, Keane & Pavlyuchenko looks pretty strong

That's my team, except I'd start with Pav instead of Crouch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭John W

SuprSi wrote: »
    That's my team, except I'd start with Pav instead of Crouch.
    I would agree, but where does that leave Keane? harry has made it clear, he starts, as captain! THIS is a big mistake harry, DO NOT build your team around Keane:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 475 ✭✭ruiseal

Mr. Guappa wrote: »

Team for Sunday:

Gomes
    Crouch -- Defoe

Agree with SuperSi, Pav for Crouch.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

Lads - am a 'Pool fan and think Harry will start with 3 up front:

Keane (as he's Captain), Pav and Crouchy - with keane kinda dropping into midfield.... I think first game at home Harry will want to attack and hurt - Liverpool are not the best defensively - Lennon/Defoe's pace will cause serious problems.

Great idea on the Bassong signing (wait till newcastle game over - very clever)

hopefully it will be a decent game - I'm hoping for a liverpool win but looking at the possible line-up for Spurs .... thinking maybe 1-1 or 2-2 will be a good result away from home.

Best of luck for the season (just not the first game :P)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

I fancy us to nick it 2-1 - Harry's great home record continues

• Registered Users Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

wouldnt surprise me !!

Harry is a fantastic manager - *probably the best English manager in England.

*The above statement is sponsored by Carlsberg

Seriously though - ye have almost Man City proportions of striker options.... If Harry can get it working top3 could be within reach...or a cup.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,732 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

ruiseal wrote: »
    Seemingly the registration wasn't put through until after 5.00pm on Friday, so in effect he was still a Newcastle player on Saturday and served the remaining match ban in that match..........if that makes sense!

Great that he's available on Sunday though!

Confirmed on official website.. Excellent news :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

Great to see the optimism is back DS ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭el diablo

I predict a 2-2 draw. What's the story with Dawson, King and Woodgate? any of them fit for Sunday?

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

• Registered Users Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

el diablo wrote: »
    I predict a 2-2 draw. What's the story with Dawson, King and Woodgate? any of them fit for Sunday?

The rolls royce will most likely be playing !

• Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

Hatch99 wrote: »
    Great to see the optimism is back DS ;)

The gloom has lifted - well, at least until Sunday evening :D

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭terrymccarthy05

he has to play keane v liverpool

• Registered Users Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭tippspur

We might sneake it 2-1,but even a draw against the pool would be a good start.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭keane=cock

he has to play keane v liverpool

i agree. his record v liverpool is very good lately. think he has score our last 4 goals at anfield. im well aware this match is at WHL before any smart arses jump on me!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

our boy defoe lookin sharp as he helped engerlend out of a tight spot 2nite :)

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭whitey21

Defoe and keane will start up front on sunday! Cant see crouchy being a main starting man, he just gives us an option we havent had in a while, but think Pav will do better than him this season!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

whitey21 wrote: »
    Defoe and keane will start up front on sunday! Cant see crouchy being a main starting man, he just gives us an option we havent had in a while, but think Pav will do better than him this season!

Reckon it will be Defoe and Crouch to start with Keane on the bench tbh, the first two formed a nice little partnership at Pompey and Defoe is definitely the form striker between himself and Keane.

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭whitey21

maybe, it'd be gas if we were all wrong and harry picked Pav to start! I know some fans would pick him to start, but cant seeing harry pickin him!!!
    Hope i'm not proven wrong:o:(

• Registered Users Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭tippspur

Heard this evening that Jenas is out,wonder will Harry play Keane mid field ???

• Registered Users Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

i can actually see him playing keane in a cm/am role too. But if he doesn't i do think it'll be defoe and crouch up front too.

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭ohnoigotsick

ziedth wrote: »
    i can actually see him playing keane in a cm/am role too. But if he doesn't i do think it'll be defoe and crouch up front too.

is it too much to have modric and keane in a midfied alongside lennon.

i know palacios is a horse but that'd be straining him

• Registered Users Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭eoinf

I know it's always asked but I've found myself in town and was wondering where best to watch it. Seeing as the hurling is also on where is likely to be showing it. Cheers

• Company Representative Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Gamesnash.ie: Pat

Can't believe Keane got the nod over Crouch - and promptly repays the faith with a shocking miss. :rolleyes: and now another poor effort.

hopefully he will make me eat those words but ffs !

• Registered Users Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

i think i'm in love with that boy, jesus what a strike. Keane has missed two shockers and a poor miss on top,

• Registered Users Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

That has not gone well.

• Registered Users Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Balfey1972

shocking pool performance. lucas and masch together is way too negative. even with 2 holding midfielders spurs are walking thru us. Carra and Skertal look like they have never player together. here's hoping they can't play any worse in the 2nd half.