Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was the dodgiest pub you have been to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭0verblood

Liddos, a strip club in Nairobi. It was located on one of the dodgiest streets in the city, infamous for all sorts of crime - River Road!

Anyways after arriving by taxi at about 1am and hastily making our way to the door (3 white guys walking those streets at night is begging for trouble) we walked up the stairs, paid the 3euro entry fee and went into the stripclub - instant smell of musk, sweat, beer and minge. We were the only three whiteys there.

They were showing hardcore porn on widescreen tvs mounted around the walls. The 100% male clientele were just sitting around drinking beer, either watching the HD porn on the tvs, watching one of the many naked women walking around, or actually getting a lapdance (in full view of everybody). The lapdances cost less than two euro.

There were two naked women (no knickers) dancing on the bar, one was a huge fat momma, and she was mashing her arse into some guys face as he cradled his beer - and he was loving it. I mean her arse was actually touching his nose and lips and he was smiling!

The other girl dancing at the bar was pretty facking hot, nothing on, hanging on a pole which was parallel to the bar and doing splits in mid air. There was one old guy using the torch on his phone to get a better look at her minge, as the place was pretty dark.

As I was waiting at the bar to be served I was molested from every angle by naked women. My nether regions were squez to bits and one of them tried to kiss me. Others would just walk past but make sure to bump their naked arses across me as they passed.

I ordered a beer through the legs of the stripper on the bar, actually talking to the barman underneath her minge. It's kind of silly calling them strippers as they weren't stripping, they were already naked.

We went and took a seat. After a short while a girl came over and lay down on our table, grabbed one of our empty bottles and pleasured herself with it for a while. Then another naked lady came over and started licking the other girl... on our table... I felt extremely sleazy, just sitting back with a beer and watching these girls lick and suck the bejaysus out of eachother. And they both had c-sections... One of the guys asked for a lapdance, and she took him over to a nearby empty seat and went to work on him, and it was a very intense workout...

I needed some cigs so went outside to a shop right next door that I saw on my way in, but it was closed. I stood on the street for 3 seconds too long and I had a group of guys around me, all chewing qat, (little red twigs, gives a speed like effect), the eyes only hanging out of them, jaws working overtime. They asked me what I was looking for, I said cigarettes, then they offered to take me around the corner to another shop... "it's just there, 2 minutes, we will get cigarettes...". I declined the offer and went back inside to find my friend had finished the lapdance and was looking pretty flushed... we found out that he actually came in his pants during the lapdance!

Anyways, enough sleaze, we made it out of there alive... and I ended up going back there... with a bunch of girls! :eek:

yes I know, tl;dr

• Registered Users Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

7616 pub licenses in 2010
    Let's just assume that of all 33 page each poster lists one unique which would be 495
    This would put just over 15% of pubs dodgie in some peoples mind.
    What's the unemployment rate again :pac::P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Love this thread !
    was in a bar in Spain ,walked in asked for a drink.Urman behind the bar was so confused looking.There were no taps of beer or anything.Then he had no change whatsoever .It was obvious it was a cover for some drug joint.Wen to the loo and it was just a hole with a bucket to flush it.No toilet roll .Dodgy looking manaics everywhere.Some guy literally jumped out of a passing car and swooped in on us ,shouting about ' the boss'.
    Not so bad ,but in London ,spent the day drinking and was fairly out of it.Some how or another met some guy.it was really late in the morning .
    way past serving hour.He proceeded to buy hash off a prostitute in some slum and dragged me to a bar god only knows where.
    It was like circa 1970 .Old tables and chairs and the drinks were cheap beer like 5 pound sterling for one.Old guys who looked so out of it and prostitutes dancing on these delapitated tables with their tits hangin out.
    It was the seediest place ever .
    The realtionship did not flouruish haha

• Registered Users Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Jobstown Inn, Tallafornia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 783 ✭✭✭No1J

the parnell mooney, worked there for a while, never a dull moment

Were you there on the big day?

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭dabestman1

the flying bottle (hollyhill inn) cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

Rawhead wrote: »
    The Blue Lion on Parnell street was dog rough. I lived around the corner and the crew in there was a mountjoy who's who.

I remember a great story about a couple of Nigerians who decided to set up a protection racket when they first arrived in the area. The clowns go in and demand the loot, the barman tells them to come back in a half hour when the manager is back. The fools arrive back in half an hour and the door is locked behind them. 20 local hards with bats beat them blue and dump them on the footpath outside.

Always enjoyed that story even if it is probably a urban myth.

An old post but I'll throw in what I was told of the story.

It apprently was a few blacks that did set up the racket and had everyone on the street scared witless into doing it. At the time that they got to the pub it wasn't the owner that was there and the fella said "look just come back in an hour and deal with the owner, I can't pay you more at all". So they came back around an hour later. Unfortunetly the nice black lads didn't notice that the customers had left the pub and returned. Soon as the head bloke of the black lads said it to the owner, shutters slammed down, doors locked and shotguns/rifles were pulled out. No shootings or beatings or anything like that but the black fellas never bothered anyone again.
    Up-n-atom! wrote: »
    Heard a few stories about the original Fibbers from a few years back - friend of mine seen some girl in the jacks openly shaving her minge:eek::p

On Parnell Street? I've been going there about 4.5 years and never had any trouble. I've seen the bouncers "escort" one bloke out before. I believe he swung at a girl or something and they just grabbed him (as in three bouncers grabbed him like a battering ram) and got him outside, put him down and he was told to leave otherwise charges are getting pressed. I've never thought it to be dodgey, unless we're talking about pre 2000 or so.
    ricero wrote: »
    Caufields pub on upper Dorset street it's part of the hotel. Went In after college with a few mates the drink is dirt cheap but unfortunatly it was dole day the scum in there was unbeleivable junkies galore. 2 owl ones fighting in the toilet over one of their husbands and perverts trying to Touch up me mates funny night

In Dublin 1? I know the pubs up there (I live there), never heard of anything like that. The only hotel is the Maldron, replaced the old wax musuem.

Do you remember the exact location?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭blubloblu

If I was the type to put effort into anything, I'd make a Google map of Dublin with all these pubs marked and organise a pub crawl.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭hawkwind23

cracker thread :)
    been in a few of these pubs too !!
    one a few up in nairobi i was in but i was in some mad place near the bus station , only white guy in the whole inner city and in some brothel/bar.
    had to go through a bedroom where a couple was getting it on to get a piss , floor was about 2 ft deep of piss and ****.
    tv in the bar was bizarrly showing mr bean and all drink was quarter bottles of spirits.
    some weird meat seemed to be popular and mad guy was chopping a recently killed chicken to bits.
    was a bit hairy , bus was even madder to mombasa , got hijacked by these guys with sub machine guns!!! police arrived in the middle of it all , im only white and no one speaks english , im half cut cos i had to get blocked on vodka to stick the bar earlier and have to spend hours in a field by the road with no idea who the good guys were if any :) the memories!!
    was in some mad places all over africa , mostly dangerous too , probably the closest to death was in a brothel in stone town zanazibar , really late 5/6 am and id been hustling pool and it got very scarey , i had to escape out the window of the bogs and was chased across all this wasteland. im pretty sure id of been killed only i managed to find a way to main road and stop a car to get away.
    joberg , i was in some rough spots too. man life is so cheap there.
    in the states , some mad places in richmond north of Berkeley , all that crazy gang **** going on.
    im from belfast too and i can vouch that the poster above who mentioned the bars in both east and west are 100% true- been in both!!
    the one in the east being scariest, was doing a job close by and reckoned be ok at 11am on a saturday morning , was packed to the roof with aforementioned paras with guns etc etc.
    i stuck it out for two very swift pints to not look afraid , thankfully the poker machine was empty and i could avoid eye contact and make it out intact.

this thread has brought back some mad memories!! must of had a misspent youth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Thatched pub in Cavan..
    Place is on the way out, apparently only a few years left on a 99 year lease

ESB was off for not paying the bill, only a few bottles of beer, if he ran out you had to ask for something else, nothing chilled or ice... Roof is slowly falling in as thatch is rotten.
    Glasses hand washed.. Not too many glasses either to you had to re-use, that wasn't new, was in there with me dad 20 years ago and had to reuse glasses then...
    No locks on any toilet doors and TBH the "regulars" just go down the yard..

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

A place deep in the docklands in Rotterdam..... we managed to sneak out before having to pay for 'services' whether we availed of them or not...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

A small watering hole/bar in the seaside village of Umag in the former Yugoslavia (now Croatia).

All the men/soilders from that village were just back from fighting the Yugoslavian civil war over there.

And alot of them were battle scarred and seriously pi55ed off while drowning their sorrows in this particular bar.

Lets just say that I didnt stay there too long.:eek::eek::D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

This place in manchester, mother of god the place was rough. Even the arms of the chairs had tattoo's. there where darts chained to the board and snooker cues to match. And I a humble traveler looking for cheap ale and a spongy stool.

I ran for nearly a mile that night to escape with my hat and scarf. The brutes where relentless... but alas gave up after my cohort and I escaped yonder wall.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

The Catwalk in Cork city ... what a sh1thole.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ziggy23

The Brazen Head Glasgow:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭canttellyou

Rob & Kill Mayfield Cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

This place in manchester, mother of god the place was rough. Even the arms of the chairs had tattoo's. there where darts chained to the board and snooker cues to match. And I a humble traveler looking for cheap ale and a spongy stool.

I ran for nearly a mile that night to escape with my hat and scarf. The brutes where relentless... but alas gave up after my cohort and I escaped yonder wall.

Was that in Collyhurst? I think I may have been in that place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

A pub in portsmouth whose name escapes me.

Easily the biggest dump i've ever been in. I saw drugs change hands

Rob & Kill Mayfield Cork

A former Irish international footballer is in a critical condition at Cork University Hospital following an assault outside a pub in the city on Friday night.
    Miah Dennehy, who is in his late 50s, played for Cork Hibernians, Nottingham Forest and Walsall in the 1970s, and was capped 11 times for the Republic of Ireland.
    He was outside the Fob and Gill pub in Mayfield on the north side of Cork city when he was attacked

• Registered Users Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

The Caernarvon Castle, in London's Camden Town in the late 80's:

A guy had his throat cut with a broken glass so after that they served beer in those shitty plastic containers you get at concerts and employed these guys to keep the peace, and there was never any trouble after they came on the scene. The president of the chapter had a pet tarantula he kept in an empty cigarette box.

• Registered Users Posts: 210 ✭✭good logs...

not saying a lot for me i used to drink in the pubs listed....:eek::eek:

which pubs??

• Registered Users Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Was that in Collyhurst? I think I may have been in that place.

Cant remember it was deep in the smelly bit though with bullet proof off licenses and signs telling people spitting is frowned upon.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 DRUMorDIE

Anyone remember the name of that kip on the corner of Parnell St and Marlbourough St....down near Cathal Brugha st. It was used to go in there at the tender age of fifteen and get plastered on 4 pints.

Cat and Cage in drumcondra is a bit of a dive as are/were the Fingal House and the Fluther Good. I was in this dunghole as well in the main street of Moate back in the 90's. More Star Wars characters.

The Harp was kip back in the day. High Tide and Flowing Tide were a bit shabby but not too bad.

In London, the Globe in Islington was a KIP. Full of rough bastards, welfare cases and ex-squaddies. The jacks was just a hole in the floor where a toilet once sat. There was just human excrement all over the place. Charming.

The Cat & Cage?!

Its basically the St. Pats student bar at this stage. Locals don't mind a crowd of students going in for pints. Its clean, its good value, it has good food. What more do you want?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

not dodgy but a pub in sligo (i think its kilgallons, on the way up to the connoghton road). its was filthy and the beer was disgusting. the woman behind the bar didnt give a fiddlers. an absolute shithole

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭happypants

Once ended up in a lock-in in dolly heffernans, hot footed out of there pretty sharpish only to realise when we got home that my mates purse had been stolen from her bag, lovely place.

• Registered Users Posts: 424 ✭✭FinnLizzy

not dodgy but a pub in sligo (i think its kilgallons, on the way up to the connoghton road). its was filthy and the beer was disgusting. the woman behind the bar didnt give a fiddlers. an absolute shithole

There are three pubs on that street, and the one you mentioned isn't the worst!
    The Leitrim Bar! I went there the day after RAG week and a whole section was cleared off because of the smell of piss!

I go there a lot because of the €1.90 bottles and the €1.50 Jagerbombs, but always attracts the the absolute wánkers!

• Registered Users Posts: 711 ✭✭✭snuggles09

club sheba or shera or something like that in Rathfarnham about 15 years ago..went to see Aslan, got very drunk, came outside there were guards and fellas with heads split open..i remember sitting on a wall eating a chip and laughing

oh to be young again and get that drunk..this was before Big Brother and all that you understand..was a great night out by all accounts

• Registered Users Posts: 412 ✭✭Akarinn

Dodgiest pub ever is in Carrick, cant remember the name... But i swear i saw a fella down bck with a needle... Altho i could be wrong, as i was hammered at the time...! O.o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

dylano_k wrote: »
    Parnell Mooney, hands down !!! We all got started on by coked up knackers in there for no reason at all...biggest hole in dublin

Yes, this place was the first that came to mind. I remember walking to the jacks one night there. Got a hard shoulder on the way through the corridor, turned round to see it was a lady in her late 60's with a look in her eye that would melt stone.