Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was the dodgiest pub you have been to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

Some pub up in Newcastle UK, can't remember the name but some cockney lad with his bird tried to start a fight with one of the locals.

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭gaelicred

Cafe 54 here in connecticut. Never knew it was a hells angels bar until i walked in. No trouble that day but the next day somebody shot the barman:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,766 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Westside Tavern aka Bransky's, Galway circa 1997. I used to live near it. Clientele consisted of people with tattooed arms and Rottweilers.

Because of its reputation I felt very brave going in there, but nothing happened. The staff were sound in there too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

another dodgy pub i was at was at the top of willaim st in limerick i forget the name of it,but lets just say they did not pub grub it was all liquid lunches..
    another one by the train station in limerick another tip of a place and rough looking customers..

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭Bray Header

I've got a great one to add.

Pub Name: The Cutty Sark
    Year: 2006

The Cutty Sark is noted as being one of the roughest pubs in the UK, and in fact featured on the SKY TV program. There have been @ least 2 fatal shootings there in past 10 years.

Anyway, I was living in Kingennie area, near the Sark. Liverpool were playing a big game, and I didn't have SKY Sports, so decided I'd go in just to watch the fitba as our scottish friends call it. The evening passed just fine, got a couple of funny looks, but no drama, and the barman was well friendly and interested in Ireland.

So next game I decide to head for the cutty. Few local liverpool fans, so I got chatting to them. Sound bunch of lads. Turns out I'd loads in common with a couple of them (music, football etc), so started hanging out with one or two of them, went clubbing etc, good times.

Now the Cutty is an absolute Kip. No women go into the pub, so the womens toilets are used exclusively for selling drugs. I'm not talkign 20 spots here, I'm talking about literally hundreds of people coming into the pub over a weekend to buy coke/crack/heroine etc. Turns out the Landlord was the brains behind the scheme.

Anyway, my local corner shop was run by a couple of Muslim families, who I also got to know really well, and they became my suppliers of the finest green I have ever smoked in my life. I'm a keen snooker player, so used to head down to Riley's for a few frames with them.

This went on, without drama for a couple of months. Asim, who was one of the guys from the shop, had a brother who was Drug Squad. Asim tipped me not to be in the Cutty on the following Sat as it was getting raided. So, feeling a weird sense of loyalty, I went to the Cutty on the Thursday and warned the Landlord that there was gonna be a raid, and I was tipped off.

Saturday came, and as tipped off, the raid happened, but the rozzers didnt' get anything due to the tip.. I'm thinking to myself that the boys will see that as a favour done.. Little did I know!

So, the following Sunday morning, landline rings @ 9.30 am. It's the landlord. "You need to get to the Cutty now, we need to talk to you". I'm ****ting myself, so I called my best mate, told him I've been called up, and if I didn't call back within the hour to send the police to the cutty.

On up to the cutty I go, and was let in the back door, as the pubs don't open til 12. I entered, and there was a menacing atmosphere to say the least, and a single chair in the middle of the room. A voice booms from behind the bar - "Sit down, we'll be with you in a minute". Next thing, 7 of the scariest looking people I've ever met in my life are all sitting in front of my, and it looks like they're after blood.

"what's your date of birth?" "what's your girlfriends date of birth?" "mothers maiden name?" "star sign?" "where were you last night?" "how did you know about raid?" "are you undercover DS?" "are you polis?" - they fired the questions for a good ten mins. I had nothing to hide, so answered everything honestly. I don't mind telling you I was absolutey ****ting myself, because I knew for a fact that one of these guys had done time for manslaughter.

Anyhoo, I'm sweating, and answering questions. I ask for a drink of water. They said I could have one when they finish talking. This went on for another few mins, and at the end, the landlord steps forward, and I'm about to poo my pants.

"Good man, we know now that you're not polis, but we had to make sure, ken?"

Next thing, it's like I'm their best buddy, "get this man a pint" etc etc.

I asked if I could use the phone, and explained that if they didn't let me, then the police will prob be knocking the door down in about 20 mins time.

Turns out, about 4 years previously, an Irish guy came into the bar to watch the football and followed a similar trajectory for myself. Turns out he was an undercover rozzer, and 8 of the boys from the Cutty were sent down for @ least 5 years each for Drugs Charges etc.

This was their way of testing me. It was the closest thing to Gangland/Reservoir Dogs **** I have ever been in my life.

Suffice to say, I cut off contact with the boys in the Cutty, but i did go down in folklore in the local area.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

The landlord had your home number? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 51,920 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I've got a great one to add.

Pub Name: The Cutty Sark
    Year: 2006

The Cutty Sark is noted as being one of the roughest pubs in the UK, and in fact featured on the SKY TV program. There have been @ least 2 fatal shootings there in past 10 years.

Anyway, I was living in Kingennie area, near the Sark. Liverpool were playing a big game, and I didn't have SKY Sports, so decided I'd go in just to watch the fitba as our scottish friends call it. The evening passed just fine, got a couple of funny looks, but no drama, and the barman was well friendly and interested in Ireland.

So next game I decide to head for the cutty. Few local liverpool fans, so I got chatting to them. Sound bunch of lads. Turns out I'd loads in common with a couple of them (music, football etc), so started hanging out with one or two of them, went clubbing etc, good times.

Now the Cutty is an absolute Kip. No women go into the pub, so the womens toilets are used exclusively for selling drugs. I'm not talkign 20 spots here, I'm talking about literally hundreds of people coming into the pub over a weekend to buy coke/crack/heroine etc. Turns out the Landlord was the brains behind the scheme.

Anyway, my local corner shop was run by a couple of Muslim families, who I also got to know really well, and they became my suppliers of the finest green I have ever smoked in my life. I'm a keen snooker player, so used to head down to Riley's for a few frames with them.

This went on, without drama for a couple of months. Asim, who was one of the guys from the shop, had a brother who was Drug Squad. Asim tipped me not to be in the Cutty on the following Sat as it was getting raided. So, feeling a weird sense of loyalty, I went to the Cutty on the Thursday and warned the Landlord that there was gonna be a raid, and I was tipped off.

Saturday came, and as tipped off, the raid happened, but the rozzers didnt' get anything due to the tip.. I'm thinking to myself that the boys will see that as a favour done.. Little did I know!

So, the following Sunday morning, landline rings @ 9.30 am. It's the landlord. "You need to get to the Cutty now, we need to talk to you". I'm ****ting myself, so I called my best mate, told him I've been called up, and if I didn't call back within the hour to send the police to the cutty.

On up to the cutty I go, and was let in the back door, as the pubs don't open til 12. I entered, and there was a menacing atmosphere to say the least, and a single chair in the middle of the room. A voice booms from behind the bar - "Sit down, we'll be with you in a minute". Next thing, 7 of the scariest looking people I've ever met in my life are all sitting in front of my, and it looks like they're after blood.

"what's your date of birth?" "what's your girlfriends date of birth?" "mothers maiden name?" "star sign?" "where were you last night?" "how did you know about raid?" "are you undercover DS?" "are you polis?" - they fired the questions for a good ten mins. I had nothing to hide, so answered everything honestly. I don't mind telling you I was absolutey ****ting myself, because I knew for a fact that one of these guys had done time for manslaughter.

Anyhoo, I'm sweating, and answering questions. I ask for a drink of water. They said I could have one when they finish talking. This went on for another few mins, and at the end, the landlord steps forward, and I'm about to poo my pants.

"Good man, we know now that you're not polis, but we had to make sure, ken?"

Next thing, it's like I'm their best buddy, "get this man a pint" etc etc.

I asked if I could use the phone, and explained that if they didn't let me, then the police will prob be knocking the door down in about 20 mins time.

Turns out, about 4 years previously, an Irish guy came into the bar to watch the football and followed a similar trajectory for myself. Turns out he was an undercover rozzer, and 8 of the boys from the Cutty were sent down for @ least 5 years each for Drugs Charges etc.

This was their way of testing me. It was the closest thing to Gangland/Reservoir Dogs **** I have ever been in my life.

Suffice to say, I cut off contact with the boys in the Cutty, but i did go down in folklore in the local area.

Got any other ones :rolleyes:

@Bambi - yes, listed in the phone book, was renting off a friend and they had my friends name (mobile was off).

@Tayto - not really bothered if you believe this. I know it happened, and Eugene the scottish landlord knows it happened. If you really wanna know the truth, ring the pub, and ask the lads if they remember me!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

Gleis 19, 24hr bar beside Frankfurt's main train station. The name means 'Track 19' and the story goes the track 19 was the platform where the Nazi's shipped out the untermenschen back in the day.

The place is crazy, Frankfurt football ultras, Hookers, late night workers, people still partying, Trannies, some very lonely old German women and some of the worst bottom feeders you ever did see.

I've seen 2 punch ups over the jukebox (safe bet seems to be Rammstein or Michael Jackson). You have to be buzzed in and many are not let in. Outside looks a bit like the village of the dammed and usually compulsive viewing out the window.

Hookers turning tricks in the jacks, on my last visit in Jan I went down to the gents there was a guy who was pissing chatting to his friend who was getting a blow job off a hooker, she was sitting on the toilet doing her job as yer man stands there door open and taking away to his mate. I could not keep a straight face. The guys mate asked if I wanted to go next he would wait!!

People rolling splifs on the tables although they do draw the line as the go outside to smoke them, this usually attracts the creatures outside that cant get in and fun ensues.

Not a place I go very often but there is always a story afterwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

foxerv1 wrote: »
    Ya that was the lizard. Other people might differ but in my opinion they were both the most rough-as-f**k pubs i have ever been in or near.

I drank regularly in the Green Lizard in the early naughties and knew the guy who got topped, didn't like him much either, I once broke up a fight where 3 of his brothers were trying to bust his head open with bar stools in a different pub in the area.
    The green Lizard was a nice spot I used to sit at the end of the bar reading a book drinking beer & aftershocks, saw a few fights and a couple of glassings but the only ever had one spot of bother, fella objected to my whistling along with a song he put on the Juke box. I kept whistling and stered him down, I'm a fairly big fella. Mind you I had my mobile nicked on another night.
    The worst pub I was ever in was the Silken thomas on Francis st. Can't for the life of me remember why I was there but it was a scary place. Real scummers pub, anyone with glasses was considered a stuck up intellectual
    I love rough pubs, my ex-girlfriend/Current wife won't let me pick pubs as I always pick the worst one I can find. Our first real date was in a pub off capel St, called the Phoenix, if I remember right. The barman would disappear frequently down the cellar, you could lean over the counter and see the barman pissing all over the kegs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

I got another one. The Bull & Bear in Stillorgan - circa late 80s, early 90s. Dodgy because of the worship of mammon that went on there. A little piece of Thatcherite socialising in South Dublin. Walls adorned with framed dollars and stills from the film "Wall Street". People literally flashing their wads and all desperate to be seen, dahling.

I still have (Hollywood) nightmares about it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭plys

neil_hosey wrote: »
    used to live about 500 metres from the cappagh house in finglas. Was only in it a handful of times(cas its a kip), but it certainly has had its moments..

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1230/dublin.html
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0202/finglas.html

Actually come to think of it, I was in there at about midday one Tuesday about ten years ago (I thought pubs only opened at that time, but it looked like there had been a few had by most of the punters already.. :eek: )

Rough indeed. Auld wans of about 80 y.o. drinking pint bottles of Guinness off the shelf, with Paddy to chase... More Full Sovereigns than I've ever seen before or since. Strangely it was mostly female punters... ?

Good times were had though :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭googsy

Not the dodgiest pub, but has to be the smelliest establishment I've ever been to -> Freemans Bar, Kingscourt.. I usually finish my pint where ever I go... but just couldn't at this place..... smell of p1ss was too overwhelming..:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I used to go to the infamous Chilkoot Charlies in Anchorage. When there's metal detectors at the entrance of the pub you know it's dodgy.

Shooters Bar in Hilo, much "loved" for it's alleged rep for fights including one with the mayoral candidate (allegedly, natch). Kind of nice, all the same. We were made feel welcome, the only annoying person was another tourist who kept banging on about Bin Laden (this was before he was offed).

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭CavanCrew

neil_hosey wrote: »
    used to live about 500 metres from the cappagh house in finglas. Was only in it a handful of times(cas its a kip), but it certainly has had its moments..

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1230/dublin.html
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0202/finglas.html

Pretty sure I was dragged into that place years ago when I was very young, by my auntie, was very bored... least thats all i remember.

• Registered Users Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

Itsdacraic wrote: »
    In Ireland, a place called The Ramble Inn at the back of a housing estate in Killester Dublin. Seriously dodgy spot, the locals reckoned we were cops and followed me into the jacks anytime I went. There was a fella shot dead outside it a week later.

i no it,not really that bad........thers a saying tho ya ramble inn then ya stumble out

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

old hippy wrote: »
    I got another one. The Bull & Bear in Stillorgan - circa late 80s, early 90s. Dodgy because of the worship of mammon that went on there. A little piece of Thatcherite socialising in South Dublin. Walls adorned with framed dollars and stills from the film "Wall Street". People literally flashing their wads and all desperate to be seen, dahling.

I still have (Hollywood) nightmares about it :D

Wasn't that the bar in the Stillorgan Park Hotel? The nightclub was actually called Hollywood Nights and later The Deep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭RaRaRasputin

Well, teenager curiosity taught me never to check out central station underground pubs again. Turns out that that only male junkie hookers wait in there for their customers....and the drinks are ****ty too.

I also went to a tranny club in the same place, but that was fine. They didn't care who you were as long as you didn't judge them (apart from the few gay-nazis who hated straight/bi people). Easiest place ever! Though I admit I was a bit cautious first when I went for a pee because you had guys in ballroom dresses around you when queuing up

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭Salt001

A place called Sellaghs in Armagh.
    The ladies toilets were totally blocked,and the urinials were a buckets bolted to the wall in the gents.
    Horrible horrible horrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Hoseys Tavern,
    Flinders street, Melbourne.

Boobie bar and down right Kip, if ever a one existed.
    Anyone else that's been in it will know where I'm coming from...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

The one with the sawdust permanently covering the floor.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Wasn't that the bar in the Stillorgan Park Hotel? The nightclub was actually called Hollywood Nights and later The Deep.

It was & it was the beginning of yuppiedom in the area. Honorable mention to The Pink Panther just down the road, which I bet nobody remembers... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

It was & it was the beginning of yuppiedom in the area. Honorable mention to The Pink Panther just down the road, which I bet nobody remembers... :D

I thought it was called the pink elephant ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Brokentime

The Parnell Mooney on Parnell Street, and the nightclub upstairs from it. Drug-dealing, lads openly showing stanley knives to each other, some drunk young lad in the toilet going on about wanting to murder a garda he mentioned by name.

Nice pint, though, which is a shame.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

The Bull & Bear was where you went for classy chicks.

We used to call it the Pull & Bare! :D

realies wrote: »
    I thought it was called the pink elephant ?

Pink Elephant was in town, Pink Panther was literally down the road from Bull & Bear. Above the Stillorgan House...

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    The Bull & Bear was where you went for classy chicks.

We used to call it the Pull & Bare! :D

Wow. Real classy.