Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was the dodgiest pub you have been to?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

hawkwind23 wrote: »
    The Blarney Stone in amsterdam. Awful place. Patrons were generally Dutch, British or Irish and were in the same boat, i.e. wanted by the law locally or back home.

thats a really nice bar!
    used to work next door and drop in now and then when im over.
    Owner runs it well and no drugs etc.

if you want a bit more authentic then theres a couple of dodgier irish bars , i used to frequent one where the owner had a photo of a yacht over the bar , used it when smuggling.
    always able to get a bit of work on the black market in there no bother.
    another one on the edge of the red light had some very dodgy goings on.

Well then the Blarney Stone must have really polished its act up because the time I was there....maybe 2006/7 it was full of Star Wars characters....probably not as bad as the Flying Scotsman though. SLainte in the RLD was a bit of a slum too but I was there in October and it was grand. I suppose certain clientele die or get imprisoned and so the bar re-generates itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Any pub near Goodison Park. ****holes the lot of them, and given that I'm from Tallaght originally that's saying something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭rwg

lol - all the dodgy clientele on here posting about dodgy pubs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Any pub near Goodison Park. ****holes the lot of them, and given that I'm from Tallaght originally that's saying something.

I lived around there for years, great pubs and great locals. Just cause it looks a rough area dont mean its bad

• Registered Users Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

Was in a dodgy looking pub in Glasgow watching rugby. Only stayed for one half and kept my mouth shut.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Roberto91

Bar called Kentucky in Barcelona,used to be a crazy place but i heard it has become popular with tourists and American students now so its kinda 'designer dodgy' so to speak.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Winslow is a great pub, cheppie is good on match days and so is Orry's. I haven't ventured over the other side of Stanley Park in years. Rough as fcuk over there.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,922 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I lived around there for years, great pubs and great locals. Just cause it looks a rough area dont mean its bad

How do they compare to the Bridge Street pubs?

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭JDM Jack

There's a pub down the road from me and it's effectively a traveller pub, wish we'd known that now. We went down unaware to watch a six nations match a few years ago, only being a young lad it was scary enough. Filled with Delaney's, a traveller family down here in Cork, needless to say we didn't stay long! I know this pub is dodgy because a rival family attacked it and a man died during the incident a few months ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

The dodgiest pub i have been to was in west Cork, dodgy pints and food the dog wouldn't eat, never again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Was in a pub in Cork one night many years ago and some poor fella standing right next to me was stabbed. All I remember was the white shirt he was wearing turning red :( ........wasnt right for a long time after it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

My local, Sally Longs. It's a biker bar for those who aren't familiar with it. It's a wonderful place, but the amount of fights I've seen in there is something unreal, and it's not the biker types who start the fights though.

You see, there's a particularly awful nightclub just up the street, knacker central we'll call it. All the skangers who attend this club like to come into Sally's beforehand and get well drunk and start fights. It's a great place, nothing like it, playing pool and listening to some AC/DC while having a pint and a chat with your mates, the staff are absolute champs, but add some knackers into the mix and it gets ugly.

I used to live in one the flats above Sally's. No sleep until all the bikes had revved up and gone which used to take a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Lord Bar, Riga, Latvia.

Me & friend go for a walk in Riga at night. Approached by two girls that 'mistake' us for somebody else. Ask us to go for a drink with them anyways. Sure why not. They walk us in & ask us if we want wine, we both say no. They order a bottle (in Latvian), friend spots price of wine...

We decide to make a hasty exit. 2 ***HUGE*** bouncers that weren't going to let us by. Girls, supported by 2 barmaids demanding we pay for drink. Skinhead comes in & tries to push us out the back (out of sight), to 'negotiate'.

I demand they get police. Enter fake cop 30mins later, saying we have to pay. I refuse, demand he arrests me... Must have been there about an hour, they eventually gave up & told us to get out.

Was told later, a lot of the bars are run by Mafia & we were very lucky. That scam is pulled every night.

Advice for anyone going to Riga- dont.
    I know this post was made in another decade but exact same thing happened to us except we paid up (easily intimidated by gangsters!).

In Ireland i think the strangest/dodgiest place i ever visited was some sort of nightclub type thing in Caltra, Galway for a friend of a friends 21st in the late Noughties.

I felt like i'd strolled on to the set of The Hills Have Eyes. Except a version of the film with a cast full of pikeys, pregnant pikeys and generally 99% anti-dublin folk, one had a problem with the fact i was wearing shoes and jeans as opposed to runners and claimed "all you dubs are up your own holes". I tried to explain i'm from Kildare but he wasn't having it!!

After 5 mins in the place i realised i had better not speak again for the entire night!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

I used to live in one the flats above Sally's. No sleep until all the bikes had revved up and gone which used to take a while.

A bit like this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H_lijLYuw-o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Know a boozer near Kirkdale station and it's fine, it's not the poshest part of Liverpool but it's generally ok around there.

• Registered Users Posts: 190 ✭✭Lucifer31

I've only seen fights there on rare occassions, in my experience. Quite a friendly spot as far as I'm concerned. I saw only one particularly bad brawl in all my time there... so far.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

I used to do charity pubruns in Cork years ago and the scariest pub I was ever in was the Pinecroft in Grange.Notorious scumbag pub,think its closed now.

• Registered Users Posts: 314 ✭✭Lofty123

The Lock Bar in Togher is pretty scary, as is the Flying Bottle in Gurranabraher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

I know this post was made in another decade but exact same thing happened to us except we paid up (easily intimidated by gangsters!).

In Ireland i think the strangest/dodgiest place i ever visited was some sort of nightclub type thing in Caltra, Galway for a friend of a friends 21st in the late Noughties.

I felt like i'd strolled on to the set of The Hills Have Eyes. Except a version of the film with a cast full of pikeys, pregnant pikeys and generally 99% anti-dublin folk, one had a problem with the fact i was wearing shoes and jeans as opposed to runners and claimed "all you dubs are up your own holes". I tried to explain i'm from Kildare but he wasn't having it!!

After 5 mins in the place i realised i had better not speak again for the entire night!

A niteclub in Caltra? Are you sure it wasn't Mountbellew? There's an oul dive of a niteclub there alright. Were these people your friend's family???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

The flying bottle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Jim van Morrison

Sooo ... any place you shut yourself in with other people, be they strangers or "regulars", for the purpose of consuming alcohol, has the potential to be dodgy?

I've always regarded every pub as dodgy, if you look at it that way.

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭unaoz

was in a pub in cork city, just off the main street but cannot remember the name, sorry. Place was packed full of inbred looking types, went to the loo and there was blood all over the floor and bathroom was completely disgraceful, got chatted up by an asian guy with no arms that was drinking a pint through a pink straw, then a fight started with some 'ladies' needless to say we ran away at speed...

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭e.r

MonaPizza wrote: »
    Swiss Cottage isn't so bad, unless it's seriously gone down hill in recent years. They have a decent carvery there. Or at least they did have.

It's nicknamed the sniff cottage now !

• Registered Users Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭jd

e.r wrote: »
    It's nicknamed the sniff cottage now !
    It must be the smell from The Vomit down the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭MANUTD99

Great thread!!

Matt Whelan's in Cabra.Women openly pouring their own vodka from coke bottles into glasses. Barmen handing out ash trays after 11. Porn movies on the big screen. Dominos pizza and local chinese making food deliveries to punters

Was in there one night and a man came in with his dog and wife. Barmen shouts at him. Get that mut out of here!!!...........and take that dog with you aswell. Gas.!!!

Not to mention the odd shooting and murder (The Don).

I seen a bloke glass another bloke one night in there and at the end of the night were doing karaoke together!!

A kip of highest order but some of the funniest characters you'll ever meet and in fairness if have no beef with anyone you'll not have any bother at all.

Who's Eddie played there one night and after 2/3 packed their gear up and left. It was never my local but for a bit of craic now and again we'd go for a pint there as you knew something memorable would happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭1968

Bumping a brilliant thread.

Before my time but Bartley Dunne's (demolished and now Break for the Border) had a rep for open drug dealing and all sorts of madness. A massive bar fight took place sometime in the late 1980s after someone objected to a biker driving his motorbike into the pub and asking for a pint.

I've also heard The Magnet (pre The Widow Scanlan, now a closed Spar) on Pearse Street was pretty rough and ready. Punks and others heading there from the Northside to see bands play would often get into fights in and outside the bar with locals from the flats.

Not sure if it's been mentioned but the Balally Inn opposite Moreen housing estate still has a bit of a rep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

The fleur de lis,coxwell ave. toronto ran by a lovely Chinese couple unfortunately the clientele were mostly crack heads,oxy freaks and general white trash from Toronto's east end,you could make a good documentary by bringing a camera into the place with some of the characters in it.last I heard someone was murdered in it and the owner was stabbed with a screwdriver.I often wonder did the owner ever get the joke when she asked me how to upmarket the place and I told her to rename it "the coxwell inn"

• Registered Users Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

The World's End, Kilkenny City. It cleaned up it's act a bit for the Bruce Springsteen concerts last year but the clientelle are questionable to say the least.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭fillefatale

This pub on Ballybough Rd., peeling lino - jukebox in the corner, all heads turned when we walked in, you could cut the tension with a knife - don't know the name of it though.

• Registered Users Posts: 972 ✭✭✭MultiUmm

unaoz wrote: »
    was in a pub in cork city, just off the main street but cannot remember the name, sorry. Place was packed full of inbred looking types, went to the loo and there was blood all over the floor and bathroom was completely disgraceful, got chatted up by an asian guy with no arms that was drinking a pint through a pink straw, then a fight started with some 'ladies' needless to say we ran away at speed...

Catwalk?