Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was the dodgiest pub you have been to?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Was in a pub in Tallaght one time and a guy offered a friend and I some cannibal porn that was pretty dodgy. He had a bag full of it. I managed to tip my pint all over him the look on my friends face was classic he didn't think we were going to make it out!

I used to live in Africa and when I was 15/16 a friend wanted to get some smokes and we went into something like a shed the "bar" area had a cage the whole way round and no one took their eyes off us the whole time. There was no taps or fridges all the drink was in large plastic tubs dread to think what was in it they used to call it changa'a but it could be filled with pretty much anything. Pretty sure we were the only white people to ever go in there. That was proper scary couldn't wait to get out.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

jimmii wrote: »
    Was in a pub in Tallaght one time and a guy offered a friend and I some cannibal porn that was pretty dodgy. He had a bag full of it. I managed to tip my pint all over him the look on my friends face was classic he didn't think we were going to make it out!

I used to live in Africa and when I was 15/16 a friend wanted to get some smokes and we went into something like a shed the "bar" area had a cage the whole way round and no one took their eyes off us the whole time. There was no taps or fridges all the drink was in large plastic tubs dread to think what was in it they used to call it changa'a but it could be filled with pretty much anything. Pretty sure we were the only white people to ever go in there. That was proper scary couldn't wait to get out.
    He wasnt a little chinese lad with a strong Dublin accent was he? There is one peddling blueys around Harolds Cross that offered me snuff films in the pub one night

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Was in a pub in Sligo in 2011 and again last year. The name escapes me but it was up some side street not for off the Connaughton Road.
    The place was filthy and empty and after I ordered a Guinness the woman behind the bar advised me not to as it was 'Fuckin foul'. I did and it nearly made me puke there and then.
    She was very nice though and I had a bottle of beer whilst chatting to her for a while.
    A pub can sell rotten beer and be filthy to be dodgy imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Baggy Trousers

My local, Sally Longs. It's a biker bar for those who aren't familiar with it. It's a wonderful place, but the amount of fights I've seen in there is something unreal, and it's not the biker types who start the fights though.

You see, there's a particularly awful nightclub just up the street, knacker central we'll call it. All the skangers who attend this club like to come into Sally's beforehand and get well drunk and start fights. It's a great place, nothing like it, playing pool and listening to some AC/DC while having a pint and a chat with your mates, the staff are absolute champs, but add some knackers into the mix and it gets ugly.

I was in Sally Longs recently for the first time in 20+ years. I used to go there semi regularly in 80s/early 90s. Sally Longs is like DisneyWorld now compared to what it used to be. I was very surprised because I heard it hasdn't changed much. It has. The decor is all softened and they were even showing some American sports on the TV. It was completely safe and boring. A bit like myself now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Bits_n_Bobs

Cafe en Seine...still gives me the heebyjeebies...

He wasnt a little chinese lad with a strong Dublin accent was he? There is one peddling blueys around Harolds Cross that offered me snuff films in the pub one night

No was a couple of locals. He was like its unreal it actually looks like they are doing it I was like er yeh cool i'm grand thanks. Not something I want to see at all fake or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

I remember my Dad telling me about a Pub where the Turks head is (was - is the Turks head still there ?) in Temple Bar - called The Red Hackle...
    He said one night they went in there and there was a massive bar fight, people were chucking up pint glasses on to the ceiling so the crowd would be showered with broken glass.

All this going on, and people just drinking away like it was normal.

Sounds like mad craic altogether.

the_monkey wrote: »
    I remember my Dad telling me about a Pub where the Turks head is (was - is the Turks head still there ?) in Temple Bar - called The Red Hackle...
    He said one night they went in there and there was a massive bar fight, people were chucking up pint glasses on to the ceiling so the crowd would be showered with broken glass.

All this going on, and people just drinking away like it was normal.

Sounds like mad craic altogether.

Still there not much of that going on any more.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Cabra House - bullet holes in the walls, you can smoke if you like, they even have ash trays laid out

Newtown Inn Maynooth: not really dodgy by some standards but recently had a sign up saying customers taking drugs on the premises would be barred for life, which I hadn't seen before

Noctors, Crinan Strand: I am often tempted to go in just to see what it's like as I pass on my way to Docklands Station, haven't been brave enough to go in yet but I will some day

jimmii wrote: »
    Still there not much of that going on any more.

Wouldn't think so, this would be back in the 60s or 70s when Temple Bar wasn't the tourist safe haven it is now ...:P

Maybe on a good night still!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭lizzyman

Cafe en Seine...still gives me the heebyjeebies...

Aongus is that you? Were they out of roquefort when you visited?

My vote is for Stepper Flanagans/Norberts in Limerick. They have a sign behind the bar - 'Poker rules - A Colt .45 beats a straight flush'. Really sets the tone for the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Mother Black Cap in Camden Town, London.

Years ago now me and a mate were in there having a few pints before we headed off for a few days. On my way to the jacks this big oaf with huge side burns calls me a "perfume pounce". I just ignored him and when I came out, right when as I was telling my mate about what the guy had said, the chap comes up and calls him a pounce too. My mate makes up a story about having a heart condition and that if he hit him it would be murder but he just said he would murder the pair of us and so we legged it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Changa'a, wonderful stuff, Kenya's/Zambia's methanol cocktail of crazy :pac::pac::pac:

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    Changa'a, wonderful stuff, Kenya's/Zambia's methanol cocktail of crazy :pac::pac::pac:

Pretty bloody dodgy alright!

The china man. Golden lane Dublin.
    The Chinaman rocked, great place in it's heyday :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Years ago now me and a mate were in there having a few pints before we headed off for a few days. On my way to the jacks this big oaf with huge side burns calls me a "perfume pounce". I just ignored him and when I came out, right when as I was telling my mate about what the guy had said, the chap comes up and calls him a pounce too. My mate makes up a story about having a heart condition and that if he hit him it would be murder but he just said he would murder the pair of us and so we legged it.
    That was the manky smell of Deep Heat that he got of the two of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭lizzyman

Years ago now me and a mate were in there having a few pints the finest wines available to humanity before we headed off for a few days. On my way to the jacks this big oaf with huge side burns calls me a "perfume pounce". I just ignored him and when I came out, right when as I was telling my mate about what the guy had said, the chap comes up and calls him a pounce too. My mate makes up a story about having a heart condition and that if he hit him it would be murder but he just said he would murder the pair of us and so we legged it.

Fixed that for you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

lizzyman wrote: »
    Fixed that for you :)

No, that's not true. The Mother Black Cap never sold wine back then.

I can assure you, we had pints of iced cider and pair of large gins.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

I was in a small semi-derelict pub in the Coombe once. I was looking for a cuppatae while waiting for an appointment. That's the quickest cuppa I've ever had.

I have no idea what the name of the place is, and I'm not going back to find out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

A redneck bar in Alabama. It was revolting on every level.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,775 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

The Liverpool Lounge down by the docks in Belfast in the late 80's.

I was waiting to catch a ferry & was bursting for a slash, so in I went - not knowing that it was a hard-line loyalist bar.

I got quare looks when I walked into the bar & asked in my good Dub accent where the bogs were. Two heads followed me into the jacks & started quizzing me while I was peeing. Satisfied that I wasn't there to plant a bomb or anything - they bought me a whiskey each, they gave me some 'history' about the bar & its regulars, we had a bit of a chat about music (I was off to the Monsters of Rock in Donnington) & I was complimented on having "a fair fnucking set of balls for a Free-Stater" for coming into their bar.

I near pissed myself again in relief when I got out the door again.

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    A redneck bar in Alabama. It was revolting on every level.
    I fookin love redneck bars :eek:

Ended up partying with a whole mess of Confederate flag type hillbillies in a Kentucky roadhouse while on a road trip a few years back, ended up staying with them for nearly a month.

Southern hospitality at it's finest :cool:

Still friends with them over a decade later.

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    The Chinaman rocked, great place in it's heyday :mad:

Was it not called "The old chinaman" ?

• Registered Users Posts: 354 ✭✭Persiancowboy

The Waxie Dargle on Dublin's Granby Row (directly opposite where the Waxworks used to be)......an horrendous ****hole now thankfully closed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

The Waxie Dargle on Dublin's Granby Row (directly opposite where the Waxworks used to be)......an horrendous ****hole now thankfully closed.

I was only ever in there when it was closed, good times :P

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,862 Mod ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Cabra House - bullet holes in the walls, you can smoke if you like, they even have ash trays laid out
    Looks so inviting :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭Reputable Rog

The Double Deuce in Jasper, Missouri. Terrifying place.

Was it not called "The old chinaman" ?
    It was, but still referred to as The Chinaman by locals.

My family came from the Iveagh Trust buildings on Bride Street, The Chinaman & The Napper Tandy were the locals.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

That place had more names than a nigerian prince

Also opened and closed sporadically from month to month, looks like its finally been put to rest