Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was the dodgiest pub you have been to?

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭babyfratelli_x

No, scary is when you get held up at gun-point after exiting a Moroccan night-club at 4am by some guy off his head on PCP.

Walk into any Dublin pub alone, start scribbling into an A4 refill-pad and you'll get the same reaction.

Don't mistake mild-curiosity for hostility.

Yeah I worked in a bar run by Moroccans in Tenerife...I got on with them but any sign of trouble and they would batter the crap out of people.. tourists, locals anyone really.

Last nite I was there a massive fite broke out between tourists and the P.Rs... next thing an English guy I work with took ou a knife and stabbed someone.... then asked me if he could come and hide ou in my apartment for a while!! :eek:

Were always of their head on coke, and the manager would be sittin at the bar with a massive bong in the middle of the day.

Was good craic tho, enjoyed workin there :D

Also in a few dodgy Celtic bars in Glasgow... Was after an Old Firm game, we found ourselves in The Barras (or however u spell it) nothing in particular happened but they were jus run down dumps with a bit of a rough crowd....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

irishmatic wrote: »
    the yacht inn, sligo

i was waiting for that i knew it would be up there eventually :D
    (worst pub in the world) unless u like smoking heroin and crack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

dylano_k wrote: »
    Parnell Mooney, hands down !!! We all got started on by coked up knackers in there for no reason at all...biggest hole in dublin

Agreed. This place is like Mecca for Dublin scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

LadyJ wrote: »
    Popped into some pub opposite Connelly Station a few months back just to kill 20 mins before I had to be somewhere and everyone in the place just stared me out of it the whole time. I took out an a4 pad and a pen just to write something down and people started pointing at me and whispering to each other.

Very scary.

Lol - that area is junkie central, all shams in tthe pubs around there, probably thought you were undercover, especially with the notepad - epic :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

In Ireland, Steering Wheel in Limerick, Roxboro Rd.
    Was doing a training course in the "old Krups factory" as the locals call it.
    Place was a dive and dodgy as can be. Olympic Arms was nearby. Not being from the area, the locals were not bothered with us at all

• Registered Users Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I was in one called Joxer Dalys recently on Dorset Street, not overly rough but the barman kept spraying air freshener to cover the smell of fart. It didn't work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Yeah I worked in a bar run by Moroccans in Tenerife...I got on with them but any sign of trouble and they would batter the crap out of people.. tourists, locals anyone really.

Last nite I was there a massive fite broke out between tourists and the P.Rs... next thing an English guy I work with took ou a knife and stabbed someone.... then asked me if he could come and hide ou in my apartment for a while!! :eek:

That didn't happen, did it?

Life fails when you try to impress strangers on the interwebs.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,342 ✭✭✭mojesius

Actually, it was bar close to me that has now become a novelty gift shop. One beautiful Sunday we were out in the walled beer garden/ prison yard and there was a woman in a white trouser suit who had shat herself and was starting on everyone who looked at her.

finches in clondalkin bouncers on the door during the day place does be packed at 1 o clock in the day also doyles in phisboro mad kip bouncers have metal detecters on the door. last time i was inn there with my mates we kept looking over our shoulders as you had every mad yoke from finglas cabra& inner city drinking in the place

Doyles!!!! thats a lie anyway, full of tesco people if anything - oh wait......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Pal wrote: »
    Noctors on Sheriff Street looks charming but I've never been brave enough to go in.

http://i217.photobucket.com/albums/cc316/WishboneAshe/SheriffStreetLowerNoctorsPub.jpg

From working in the IFSC, our group always said we'd go in for a drink at lunchtime.
    We never did in the end, I'd imagine it'd be ok.

We are locals after all in the IFSC ;)
    But we'll never be true locals.
    With the permanent armed garda presence 50 metres away for a long time it was probably safest area in Dublin

El Siglo wrote: »
    It might have been mentioned but the Hatfield Inn on the Ormeau Road, Belfast is by and far one of the roughest pubs I've been. It's a Republican pub that's literally 10 yards from a loyalist pub. I remember one night there was the usual clientele with one fella out of his head rolling around in a wheel chair to music, then, Garth Brooks; "I got friends in low places" comes on, and the fella leaps out of the chair and starts dancing with the barman threatening to tell his mother that he's claiming insurance when he shouldn't, and thus he promptly returned to his seat... in his wheel chair!

Oh I almost forgot about this 'night club' next to mile end tube station in London, fuck it was dodgey, there was a huge sign which said you couldn't wear burbury, trackies, hoodies, runners, I mean literally there was about 20 things on the list I'm not joking and there was a metal detector and two massive bouncers outside of it every weekend when it opened.

A lot of pubs in England have these signs, was it near a football ground? Soccer hooligans or casuals as they are called where all the designer labels mentioned on said sign, hence the reason!

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭Pawpad666

Some pub in the middle of the Nevada desert.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

The Brazen Head in Glasgow. Good craic but dodgy as hell.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

The Furry Bog

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭Pawpad666

Some Wetherspoons pub in Brixton, I forget the name of it

Didn't really know too much about Brixton then, and to top it off me and a few mates were after taking magic mushrooms (legal at that time) and were completely oblivious to reputation the place had

The Beehive?

Grand spot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Clanket

Korvanica wrote: »
    The Furry Bog

Never been in there but heard it's a bit rough round the edges all right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Elle Collins

There's nothing wrong with half the Dublin pubs listed on this thread, ffs! A lot of those must have been posted by people who've never been in a dive.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

Never been in there but heard it's a bit rough round the edges all right.

most taxi drivers (that know the place) wont go there to pick people up....

• Registered Users Posts: 12,342 ✭✭✭✭starlit

hartigans on lesson st looks like a warehouse...bit freaky in there! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Used to go to a night-club in Athboy as a teen, apparently some lad brought a shotgun to the front door after being refused, have seen countless fights, a lad I knew was glassed, sex and blowjobs down piss stained alleys, typical fare really for the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

SB's on Jerusalem Avenue in Hicksville (that says it all), Long Island. Total effing welfare bar, full of Star Wars characters. Gateway to Hell, man!

• Registered Users Posts: 658 ✭✭✭MIRMIR82

I was im a pub in Burnley, England about 2 years ago. It was called the corporation. Oh my God it was sooo bad. the night started off with karaoke(how unusual) - but by the end of the night there was really bad(or good, whichever way you look at it) porn on the big screen:o. There were 2 dogs fighting in front of the bar - i mean really fighting (i was scared) and later 2 women kickin the sh1t out of each other:eek:. Think Shameless-but worse!!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,342 ✭✭✭✭starlit

SB's on Jerusalem Avenue in Hicksville (that says it all), Long Island. Total effing welfare bar, full of Star Wars characters. Gateway to Hell, man!

what are SB's?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

Some pub in New Orleans, (pre katrina). Cant remember the name of the place, it was like The underground, or something, but basically imagine if someone setup a bar in the middle of a crack den. Tho the barmaid was wearing a PVC miniskirt and had pink hair so i didnt really give a **** :D

didnt go into it, but i was looking for a watering hole in Kiev, i was in an underpass going to my hotel when i saw there was actually a pub in the ****ing underpass. Took one look inside, saw a ton of skinheads, combined with the swastikas id seen sprayed on a monument outside my hotel, i thought "nahhhh" and went back and stayed in my room til i had to go home!

Regan's in Bottle Hill, County Cork.

The owner was a pig of a man walking around with a streak of his faeces up above his builder's crack. The glasses were filthy and the place was just appalling.

Can't wait to go back:eek:

what are SB's?

That was the name of the pub. Like J.J.'s or T.C.'s or whatever.

I asked what SB stood for and was told Sophisticated Bitches. The place was owned by two fat female biker coke-heads. Foul!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

Either q bar or redz.They are clubs though.They can be good fun.

They are the doggiest pubs you have been in?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Some pub on Marlborough Street, Dublin, when I got lost in the big city many years ago.
    But a friendly local actually pointed me in the right direction while the others glared, no doubt wanting to stab/rob me :)

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭BUBBLES1978

the station in Port Erin on the Isle Of Man....back in the 90's some place dodgy as fec but some craic

shamrock bar in the 90's in Laois

the palace hotel bar in bundoran a few years back......!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

finches in neils town.Crazy spot.