Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Soccer Gambling Superthread [may contain scores]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,657 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Bubs101 wrote: »
    I'm not betting on the quality of the Pompey squad, I'm betting on the consistant poorness of Fulham away from home in the Premiership. Anyway, Pompey are by no means the worst team in the league this year.

I know the old saying is that form is temporary and class is permanent but in football betting form is always where you find the value

I thought that too when i betted against celtic in Russia

but we know how that turned out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

That_Guy wrote: »
    Bambury's are offering Man City at 14/1 to win the league. Might stick a couple of yo yo's on it as a good outside bet.

Those odds are ridiculous. They should at least double that and probably higher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Headshot wrote: »
    I thought that too when i betted against celtic in Russia

but we know how that turned out

I bet on Moscow as well but that was a good bet. Comperable team from a better league with a massive fitness edge in the worst area to travel to at over evens. Good bet gone bad

Also, I suppose I should say that I don't see Fulham doing that well this year tbh

why is that

Europe ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

ok think I 've found my bet this weekend. Both home teams , Both playing something of unkowns ie will one team jel ?what are the other team like this year ?

My bet
    €10 win each & a €10 double.
    Blackburn 12/5
    Everton 2/1

way i see it one result covers me

Any best of luck to everyone and I hope someone on ere make a bookies cry this season :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Looking for a double bet for today in the EPL thats a banker lads, any help? :o

Ive put a euro on

Blackburn - Citeh DRAW
    Everton - Arsenal DRAW

Returns 10 euro :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

€50 on an Stoke&Arsenal double.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

poindexter wrote: »
    i'd usually throw a score on Celtic to win 2-0, 2-1, 3-0, 3-1. four fivers
    i like that bet, might try that one out for a few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,592 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Anytime goalscorer lucky 31

Arshavin
    Torres
    Lampard
    Beattie
    Cole

If they all score a €1 lucky 31 returns €786

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Bet on lots of draws/longshots/acc.

I expect to retire after today.

mental note never bet on villa again

properly fu'cked up up this weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

hahahaha I knew Fulham would win. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

mike65 wrote: »
    This weekend I've gone for a small bet accu 6 folds from 7

MK Dons And Draw win
    VfB Stuttgart win
    Celtic win
    Chelsea (-1.0) loose
    Coventry win
    Leeds win
    Notts Countywin

Dang! Picked the wrong game to -1 on ah well. :) 5/1 return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,391 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Bet on Celtic, Hibs, City, Sunderland and West Ham in one of my accs. Now while I'm annoyed that I only put a fiver on it when I should've done 10 instead of another longshot acc. I'm overjoyed with the €257 sitting in my pocket :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

God Hates Aftertiming ;)

my arsenal top scorers of the weekend bet is looking good

got it at 14/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭poindexter

poindexter wrote: »
    i'd usually throw a score on Celtic to win 2-0, 2-1, 3-0, 3-1. four fivers
    first game in and got it at 10/1, nice wee start

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    ok think I 've found my bet this weekend. Both home teams , Both playing something of unkowns ie will one team jel ?what are the other team like this year ?

My bet
    €10 win each & a €10 double.
    Blackburn 12/5
    Everton 2/1

way i see it one result covers me

Any best of luck to everyone and I hope someone on ere make a bookies cry this season :D

Off to a flyer! Could be a long season,:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

I've started with 50e in my boylesports account. Going to bet a maximum 20% of my balance on each round of league games. Hopefully it'll build up over the season...

This weekend, I've gone for:

Singles:

Blackburn vs Man City 19/10
    Everton vs Arsenal 2/1

Double:

Villa vs Wigan
    Stoke vs Burnley

Oh dear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭poindexter

wigan have never lost at villa park in the premiership, 2 draws and 3 wins i think the stats are

• Registered Users Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Redzer7 wrote: »
    Now This Is Only A Wild Bet But What Do You Guys Think Of At
    55970/1 In Paddy Power. 3 From Each Section:

Aston Villa Home Win Against Wigan.
    Celtic Away Win Against Aberdeen.
    Colchester Home Win Against Yeovil.

Leeds Away Win Against Wycombe.
    Hibernian Home Win Against St Mirren.
    Newcastle Home Win Against Reading.

Man City Away Win Against Blackburn.
    Peterbourgh Home Win Against Sheff Wed??
    Brentford Home Win Against Brighton??

Arsenal Away Win Against Everton.
    Coventry Away Win Against Barnsley.
    Sunderland Away Win Against Bolton.

West Ham Away Win Against Wolves.
    West Brom Away Win Against Nottm Forest?
    Middlesbourgh Away Win Against Swansea?

Please Give Us Any Different Selections, Only Put
    A Euro On So Won't Be Loosing That Much ;).
    Didn't Do So Bad Did I ;):D.

Redzer7 wrote: »
    Didn't Do So Bad Did I ;):D.

To lazy to check all results was it just the Villa game that let you down ?

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    To lazy to check all results was it just the Villa game that let you down ?
    3 Games The Villa Game, Peterbourgh And Brentford :mad: Could Of Been 55 Grand Richer :( Theres Always Next Week Though :D.

well iv money in the bag

i got arsenal at 14/1 to be the highest scorers this weekend and i got liverpool at 11/1 so what ever happens im in the money

but i want it to be arsenal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭T-b0n3

well iv money in the bag

i got arsenal at 14/1 to be the highest scorers this weekend and i got liverpool at 11/1 so what ever happens im in the money

but i want it to be arsenal

Aren't you forgetting that Spurs are going to bash Liverpool around the pitch and score 7?!

T-b0n3 wrote: »
    Aren't you forgetting that Spurs are going to bash Liverpool around the pitch and score 7?!

it's a win win situation then ;)

4/1 for liverpool to win now

anyone going for it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

would have a look at the first 5 minutes of the second half before even considering that bet

got spurs at 3/1 before kick off

S.M.B. wrote: »
    would have a look at the first 5 minutes of the second half before even considering that bet

got spurs at 3/1 before kick off

was thinking about that

hopefully your bet comes good

so what conclusion did you come to after 5 minutes?

S.M.B. wrote: »
    so what conclusion did you come to after 5 minutes?

didnt go near it

just to dodgy for my liking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

No red cards this weekend, 4/1 winner for me. :)

same with me ;)

lazy feckers pp

my bets are still pending :rolleyes:

anyway

thinking of going for this accum for the mid week games

liverpool v stoke
    burnley v man utd
    Sunderland v Chelsea
    Wigan Athletic v Wolves
    Hull v Tottenham

put a tenner on it,Potential returns: 89.70

ill have a think about it but what do fellow posters think ?

Wigan Athletic v Wolves looks dodgy

lazy feckers pp

anyway

liverpool v stoke
    burnley v man utd
    Sunderland v Chelsea
    Wigan Athletic v Wolves
    Hull v Tottenham

I don't know how decimals work. What is that in e.g. 2-1? Will be looking to follow up my big win at the weekend and that bet looks tasty if the rewards are good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,246 ✭✭✭Esse85

I think Chelsea wont beat Sunderland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

Its just short of 8/1.

The Chesea/Sunderland match could end up being the accum buster IMO. But I think it is well worth a punt.

Fromvert wrote: »
    Its just short of 8/1.

The Chesea/Sunderland match could end up being the accum buster IMO. But I think it is well worth a punt.

yeah Sunderland nearly blew my 50-1 accum. at the weekend. Bolton missed a great chance in the dying seconds and I nearly had a heart attack while watching SSN. Lucky I'm rolling in the dosh now :)

Esse85 wrote: »
    I think Chelsea wont beat Sunderland

ya sunderland under Bruce will go far this season but I think chelsea's new way of playing will suit them better away from home
    Fromvert wrote: »
    Its just short of 8/1.

worth a punt alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

For me the following in the Premiership standout. All prices from Betfair
    Arsenal to win the league 9/1
    Eduardo top scorer 25-1
    Top English goalscorer: Ebans Blake 29-1 and Carlton Cole 25-1

Best weekend bet
    Portsmouth and Fulham to draw 12/5 and 0-0 8.5/1
    In the last 3 seasons Fulham have won 10 away games out of 57 which is appalling while Portsmouth's home record is always respectable. Pompey still have a fairly respectable team with james, Distin and Krancjar but lack options up front

Balls. Saw the goal on MOTD2 and am convinced I was robbed. Still, if I were in the laying business the Arsenal bet would be very very good right now

pp have a special up

PL sack race

saw a very interesting one

MON 20/1 to get the sack first

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

lazy feckers pp

anyway

liverpool v stoke
    burnley v man utd
    Sunderland v Chelsea
    Wigan Athletic v Wolves
    Hull v Tottenham

Too many teams, I would do a Spurs/Chelsea double for €50

lazy feckers pp

anyway

liverpool v stoke
    burnley v man utd
    Sunderland v Chelsea
    Wigan Athletic v Wolves
    Hull v Tottenham

I was thinking Wigan were the only real decent bet of the week.

Spurs look decent enough but I'd be wary of their away form so I'll avoid for now.

think i may follow rasta and go for a london double

ill give it another day until i bet,just want to make sure there's no injuries etc

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,495 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

This was a really good heads up. By way of thanks pick your favourite charity from www.mycharity.ie and I will donate them my original stake (10 euro)

spockety wrote: »
    This was a really good heads up. By way of thanks pick your favourite charity from www.mycharity.ie and I will donate them my original stake (10 euro)

wow that's very good of yourself spockety

i choose ISPCA National Animal Centre

I'll probably just pick 1 from each box in the pp longlist. Is there football league games midweek?

Liam O wrote: »
    I'll probably just pick 1 from each box in the pp longlist. Is there football league games midweek?
    Yeah.

hmm, looking at the website, Celtic are 14-5 to beat Arsenal at home. They are good odds as Celtic are usually very good at home

Liam O wrote: »

yes

games in the championships

Barnsley v Preston
    Blackpool v Derby
    Bristol City v QPR
    Doncaster v Coventry
    Ipswich v Crystal Palace
    Nottm Forest v Watford
    Peterborough v West Brom
    Plymouth v Cardiff
    Scunthorpe v Middlesbrough
    Sheff Utd v Leicester