Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So can we sell pistols?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

Kryten wrote: »
    The NGBs usually work from an annual calender. Clubs can organise shoots at short notice, for example Harbour House (fair play lads).
    It'll look like we're picking on you Kryten ;), but it needs to be said that the annual calendar is really necessary to avoid clashes.

There's not much point in clubs running shoots if some eejit decides to run one on the same day and remove half the potential competitors. Both competitions suffer as a result and competitors get frustrated by not being able to attend both.

So coordination is the most important part.

• Registered Users Posts: 314 ✭✭Kryten

rrpc wrote: »
    It'll look like we're picking on you Kryten ;), but it needs to be said that the annual calendar is really necessary to avoid clashes.

Totally agree. coordination is needed in scheduling shoots. Especially pistol, as there is a relatively small pool of competitive shooters.
    rrpc wrote: »
    There's not much point in clubs running shoots if some eejit decides to run one on the same day and remove half the potential competitors. Both competitions suffer as a result and competitors get frustrated by not being able to attend both.

So coordination is the most important part.

This has happened before and still does.

Thats why it is important for club secretaries or events coordinators to try to schedule impromptu short notice shoots around these calenders. I reckon for the sport to get stronger, clubs should organise shoots outside of the NGB shooting calenders, such as challenge matches. There was DTSC vs CDPC a couple of years ago, also CDPC vs Eagles. Very enjoyable. Just an idea really.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Kryten wrote: »
    Totally agree. coordination is needed in scheduling shoots.
    Shame we don't all (as in, all the clubs and all the NGBs) use Google Calendar or something like that - it'd make it easier on all of us. If everyone just maintained their own calendars, you could display all of them superimposed and get the overall picture (you can already do that with WTSC and the NTSA and UCDRC and a few others).

I mean, we try with the Upcoming Competitions and This Weekend's Events threads in Target Shooting, but not everyone sends in dates and we don't always manage to stay on top of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭johnmolloy554

rowa wrote: »
    but it wasn't the state who killed it off , it was ahern who made it quite clear that he did not like the fact that firearms were in the hands of the public , he forced through this crackpot ban despite the fact that most of the opposition and a fair few in his own party had misgivings about the fairness (or lack of) of it .
    we have all in our respective clubs worked hard and spent a lot of money to get pistol ranges up and running and in a condition that would allow them to pass inspection , that was all swept away with no thought what so ever from ahern and we are now in a right mess,

As a Garda said to me recently, "laws in this country are only enforced on those with permanent addresses".