Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Burnley Fc v Manchester United Fc (Match Thread) [mod warning post #537]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

p_larkin99 wrote: »
    The woolshed are advertising both Pool and Utd matches, I only live a few mins away so there it is.

Cheers lads.

Might head down myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Prob hit up the Woolshed also.

There is a Brazilian party @ 10pm according to the site so i'm deffo going :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭ccosgrave

When people say it isn't on telly, do they just mean the normal channels like Setanta, Sky Sports, etc? Like, all United games are on MUTV, right?

ccosgrave wrote: »
    When people say it isn't on telly, do they just mean the normal channels like Setanta, Sky Sports, etc? Like, all United games are on MUTV, right?

Wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

No competitive games are live, just pre-season one's, the Burnley match is on MUTV at 12-o'clock tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Probably head into the Woolshed myself. Goodstuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

Anyone reckon this may be on in Sinnotts in Dublin?

May give em a ring in a bit and find out.

It is on in Sinnotts tonight http://www.sinnotts.ie/index.php?page=events&events_id=113

Iago wrote: »

Yeah, but Sinnotts is to be avoided.

They treat United fans like dirt.

Des wrote: »
    Yeah, but Sinnotts is to be avoided.

They treat United fans like dirt.

Possibly. Anytime I've been there it's been fine, but then I don't watch many games in the pub so my sample size is pretty small.

In either event I'm not recommending it, just pointing out that it's on.

I've a game myself tonight and if it's cancelled I'll be hitting the gym anyway to won't be wathcing the united game live.

Have to get in shape for next season after all ;)

Yeah United fans don't watch games in Sinnots anymore, well ones who post on boards or IRD, it's thanks to Homerjay actually.

Iago wrote: »
    Have to get in shape for next season after all ;)

Indeed

RasTa wrote: »
    Homerjay

Who? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Yeah United fans don't watch games in Sinnots anymore, well ones who post on boards or IRD, it's thanks to Homerjay actually.

Im guessing that there's a story behind this?

Who? :eek:

You're center half!
    Im guessing that there's a story behind this?

Not really a personal story although I think HJ has one but they also treated United games and fans with contempt so f*ck em.

I was in Sinnotts a couple of times with him

We've been kicked out of there at least twice by the cúnts, after matches.

Anyone heading to the woolshed fancy PMing their number to me, I've nobody else to go with.

And now that I've told herself that I might be going out to watch football, she's refusing to cook me dinner. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

I was in Sinnotts a couple of times with him

We've been kicked out of there at least twice by the cúnts, after matches.

Anyone heading to the woolshed fancy PMing their number to me, I've nobody else to go with.

And now that I've told herself that I might be going out to watch football, she's refusing to cook me dinner. :rolleyes:

Threaten to withold sex. That'll show her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭ccosgrave

No competitive games are live, just pre-season one's, the Burnley match is on MUTV at 12-o'clock tonight.

Thank you for an explanation.
    Wrong.

And thank you for being a prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,732 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

I'm confused, how will the match be shown anywhere when it's not on tv?

Tis actually on 15 channels tonight, all available in Ireland to the people with the right equipment and subscriptions.

When people say it's not on telly, they mean Sky or Setanta/ESPN.

Pubs around the country usually get a 12 month sub from another supplier, which is legal in Ireland but not England.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Anyone know anywhere on the southside of Dublin that may be showing this? I'm far to lazy to go to town.

ShooterSF wrote: »
    Threaten to withold sex. That'll show her.

Deny myself sex with a beautiful lady?

Doubtful

Feck off, I ain't cooking ye dinner!

And thank you for being a prick.

lol :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

MURRAYS / THE LIVING ROOM is also showing it

Doubtful

that "might" just get you out of the whole sisters friends comment.

MIGHT mind you :D

Anyway United should win this comfortably tonight with Rooney scoring 2 in the first half and A N other picking up a 3rd in the second half. All that being said, if Burnley can hold firm for the first 20/25 minutes or so it could be a very uncomfortable night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Doubtful

Its called sabrerattling :rolleyes:
    :p

Feck off, I ain't cooking ye dinner!

Will you give me sex though?

I think we may have broken this thread...

Anyway.

Be interesting to see how Burnley line up tonight. Hope Blake plays, not seen him regularly since his Bradford City days.

Was there a press conference today from Fergie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

MG

it's good to have the EPL back again,I miss laughing at poster comments :D

Anyway.

Be interesting to see how Burnley line up tonight. Hope Blake plays, not seen him regularly since his Bradford City days.

Na it was yesterday, always done the day before, or on a Friday for weekend games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Anyway.

Y'day, here it is:
    Sir Alex wary of Turf war

Sir Alex Ferguson has warned that his players may need every ounce of their experience to see through Burnley's 'red-hot' return to top flight football at Turf Moor tonight.

The United boss says it will be a "flag day" for the newly-promoted Clarets, playing their first match at home in English football's top division for 33 years.

"It can be hard going to a promoted team's ground early on," says Sir Alex. "You can imagine what the atmosphere is going to be like at Burnley, it's going to be red-hot.

"It'll be a flag day, it's going to be a big occasion for them. But hopefully that's where our experience helps in these situations."

Sir Alex will not want to add to the fairytale, but admits he's watched events unfold for Owen Coyle and his men with great interest.

"Burnley is a fantastic story," he added. "They've been outside the top league for 33 years, it's a long time. No matter what happens this season, they won't forget this. It'll be a great experience.

"I watched them last season, I saw them against Arsenal and they were fantastic. They played really well."

But after seeing off fellow Barclays Premier League new arrivals Birmingham City at the weekend, the United boss wants the same again at Turf Moor.

"Over the years we've played promoted teams early on in the season, and this year's no different with Birmingham and then Burnley. It'd be nice to get off to get a good start. We didn't do that well early on, so we need to change that this time around."

I actually think this is going to be a right tough game. Burnley having their first home game in the Premiership, in front of an avid crowd. And we never start a season firing on all cylinders anyways. Last year we only had 8 points from 5 games.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭CR 7

All the signs are ominous, only pointing to one thing.

It's been 33 years since Burnley were in the Premier League.
    Chris Eagles wears the number 33.
    Their first home game is against Man. Utd.

This can only mean one of two things; Eagles will score in the 33rd minute, or he'll score 33 goals. It's fate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

MURRAYS / THE LIVING ROOM is also showing it

anyone know what this place is like for watching the matches?

All the signs are ominous, only pointing to one thing.

It's been 33 years since Burnley were in the Premier League.
    Chris Eagles wears the number 33.
    Their first home game is against Man. Utd.

This can only mean one of two things; Eagles will score in the 33rd minute, or he'll score 33 goals. It's fate.

iirc eagles hasnt even started for burnley,just been a sub

Where is the living room?

Spud, get your arse into town and watch the match with me

Headshot wrote: »

in one game? Hardly setting a precedent.

Cathal brugah street off parnel there

He is quite clearly being shunned and will never play for the club again. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭CR 7

mbln25l.jpg

I really wanna watch it but I'm trying to find somewhere southside first. If I fail I may.

ntlbell wrote: »
    Cathal brugah street off parnel there

Used to be called something else.

That's even closer to my bus home, so I think I'll head in there instead of the woolshed

forgot it was one game :pac:

seems weird he didnt start thou

I really wanna watch it but I'm trying to find somewhere southside first. If I fail I may.

pfft. snob :pac:

In the 4 years i was in ucd i had to go into town for matches like this as i could never find anywhere southside that was showing em!

forgot it was one game :pac:

seems weird he didnt start thou

They played Blake out right by the looks of things. Eagles did come on though.

pfft. snob :pac:

:), I can't find my passport for the northside :) or my stab vest :)

They played Blake out right by the looks of things. Eagles did come on though.

71st min

71st min

Indeed, but he did still game on.

:), I can't find my passport for the northside :)or my stab vest :)

Bray is closer to the Southside than the Northside tbqfh

I have a bulletproof jacket you can borrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Any decent streams?

Used to be called something else.

That's even closer to my bus home, so I think I'll head in there instead of the woolshed

have you been in it?

what's it like?

scobe central? ;)

ntlbell wrote: »
    have you been in it?

what's it like?

scobe central? ;)

Never been in, but I'm from Coolock and live in Finglas, I already know most of the scobes, so I'd be safe enough

Desmond are you a UTD fan?