Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Steaua v St. Pats [mod warning post #42]

• 17-08-2009 4:51pm
    Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭

Are any of our national broadcasters showing this game? If not, it's a disgrace!

TV3 are showing Celtic v Arsenal on Tuesday and RTE2 are showing Panathinaikos v Ath Madrid on Wednesday. Now I can understand TV3 showing Celtic with the whole Oirish connection thing but for RTE to be showing the Panathinaikos game on Wednesday goes beyond belief to me. Where is the national interest in that game?

If either one of them are showing it then please disregard my comments.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

If they don't show it, utter disgrace..

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Roaster wrote: »
    Are any of our national broadcasters showing this game? If not, it's a disgrace!

TV3 are showing Celtic v Arsenal on Tuesday and RTE2 are showing Panathinaikos v Ath Madrid on Wednesday. Now I can understand TV3 showing Celtic with the whole Oirish connection thing but for RTE to be showing the Panathinaikos game on Wednesday goes beyond belief to me. Where is the national interest in that game?

If either one of them are showing it then please disregard my comments.
    Panathinaikos are just as Oirish as Celtic. Sure don't they have the Shamrock on their jersey? ;)

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    Panathinaikos are just as Oirish as Celtic. Sure don't they have the Shamrock on their jersey? ;)
    Don't See An Ireland Flag At Everyone Of Their Home Games? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Walsh

Redzer7 wrote: »
    Don't See An Ireland Match At Everyone Of Their Home Games? :rolleyes:

That makes absolutely no sense to me?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Walsh wrote: »
    I suspect he meant flag, not match

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Walsh wrote: »
    Fcuk Got Mixed Up :D Still Drunk :pac:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Walsh

I suspect he meant flag, not match
    Thanks for clearing that up man, i got a bit bedazzled by the whole statement haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

They cant show the match apparently because its a qualifier. They only have the rights for the Competition proper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

They cant show the match apparently because its a qualifier. They only have the rights for the Competition proper.

its not a qualifier, its the first round proper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Roaster wrote: »
    for RTE to be showing the Panathinaikos game on Wednesday goes beyond belief to me. Where is the national interest in that game?

RTÉ have to show a Champions League qualifier. It is part of their contract with UEFA.

That's incorrect. Any channel can bid for the rights but as of now only Romanian television are showing it.

Helix wrote: »
    its not a qualifier, its the first round proper

Group stage playoff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    RTÉ have to show a Champions League qualifier. It is part of their contract with UEFA.

That's incorrect. Any channel can bid for the rights but as of now only Romanian television are showing it.

so its a night in front of laptop watching the game :D

Any pubs in Dublin gonna stream it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Group stage playoff?

its the first round

the group stage is the second round

every team is in this round, nobody gets a bye to the group stage, therefore its not a competition qualifier

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭bUILDERtHEbOB

It's a piss take, obviously, but it's the norm these days tbh so there's no point in getting pissed off about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

It's a joke but to be expected as builderthebob said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭DerekD Goldfish

PCPhoto wrote: »
    so its a night in front of laptop watching the game :D

Any pubs in Dublin gonna stream it ?

McDowles in Inchicore probably will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

McDowles in Inchicore probably will

"someone" bringing a laptop down and connecting it to the projector, its from a romanian tv station and the quality is excellent.

A11399F3100B4530A812C729EDEF02D0.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Don't See An Ireland Flag At Everyone Of Their Home Games? :rolleyes:

Is this sarcasm? Hard to tell. If it ain't, well PAO actually do have usually more than one Irish flag at either of there games from football to basketball.

See if they have one against At. Madrid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

See if they have one against At. Madrid.

Was your remark actually being serious?:eek:

Yeah, The last few matches that I have seen Gilberto play there has not been 1 Irish flag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Its a Pity Irish tv wont show an Irish club from Ireland play in a big European tie but what can you do?
    Yeah, The last few matches that I have seen Gilberto play there has not been 1 Irish flag.

Yea and they dont sing "This land is your land, this land is my land". Cheek of them! They're mad after the Irish stew, horse shoes and Leaprachan hats though, gotta give them credit for that :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

Trilla wrote: »
    Its a Pity Irish tv wont show an Irish club from Ireland play in a big European tie but what can you do?
    Are you trying to employ Celtic are an Irish club? :confused: Last I checked it was Glasgow Celtic.

Come on Pats, from a jealous Shels fan :p

Are you trying to employ Celtic are an Irish club? :confused: Last I checked it was Glasgow Celtic.
    No I'm not I'm being sarcastic, and its not Glasgow Celtic, it's Celtic Football Club. It was never called Glasgow Celtic. It's also "imply" not employ.

But ye Come on Pats you got that bit right!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

No I'm not I'm being sarcastic, and its not Glasgow Celtic, it's Celtic Football Club. It was never called Glasgow Celtic. It's also "imply" not employ.

They are a Scottish club. From Scotland.

Lets just forget about Celtic and Panathinaikos, This is about Pats And Steaua, Come on the Saints :D.

I was just asking, hence the "?". No need to get your nickers in a twist.

Note to self, remember to check spelling then post in future!

Des wrote: »
    They are a Scottish club. From Scotland.
    Yes I agree 110%. They are not Irish. Please point out to me where I said they were Irish?
    IS REFERENCE TO PATS
    Yea and they dont sing "This land is your land, this land is my land". Cheek of them! They're mad after the Irish stew, horse shoes and Leaprachan hats though, gotta give them credit for that .
    SARCASM, LIGHT HUMOUR, ETC

Any team news ahead of the game?

Jeff Kenna said they'll be going out there with the mission of not conceding. If they can do that it would be a superb result for them.

Even a score draw would be nice.

Pat's fans will have to sit out Steaua trip

Europa League: St Patrick's Athletic’s reward for their away-goals win over Russian side Krylya Sovetov is a meeting with 1986 European champions Steaua Bucharest in the Europa League play-offs, but their fans will have to sit out another trip for the first leg on August 20th, while the Romanian’s serve out a two-match Uefa supporters’ ban.

It’s not quite the glamour tie the Richmond Park hierarchy would have hoped for, but there’ll be few complaints down Inchicore way after last night’s away goals win in Samara that came courtesy of Declan O’Brien’s 79th minute strike in a 3-2 defeat.

The historic result was secured despite minimal support, with a grand total of three fans making the trip 1,000km east of Moscow.

Pat’s earned €90,000 for their 3-3 aggregate win but stand to earn a lot more from the if they can topple Steaua, while their opponents profile will offer an opportunity to generate substantial revenue from television and a large crowd at the RDS.

The Ballsbridge venue, home of Leinster Rugby, is the most likely to stage the home leg on August 27th, with talks having already been initiated prior to the Krylya Sovetov ties.

A place in the group stages would guarantee €1million in prize-money plus €140,000 for each win and €70,000 for each draw in subsequent games as well as a share of a television pool.

Crowd disturbances in Steaua’s second round game against Hungarian side Újpest FC led to a €50,000 fine from Uefa which has since been upgraded to an €80,000 sanction and a two-match stadium ban after an appeal.

A third match-ban has been suspended but will be activated if there are any more disturbances in the next two years.

The Romanian club’s fans have history in this regard with Shelbourne on the receiving end in August 2005.

During a Champions League qualifier at the Ghencea Stadium Shelbourne players Joseph Ndo and Curtis Fleming were subjected to racist taunts from the home fans, while missiles were hurled on to the pitch.

The Shelbourne bench also came under fire that night, with Alan Moore struck by a cigarette lighter and Dave Rogers targeted as well.

The stands proved even more dangerous for Colin Hawkins and Alan Reynolds, who had a brick thrown out them during the 4-1 defeat.

The stadium ban will ensure there will be no repeat of that against Pat’s, but on the pitch the Romanians will prove formidable opponents.

Against Újpest they scored four goals in two games and conceded just one, while Motherwell, from the Scottish Premier League, were demolished 6-1 on aggregate.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2009/0807/1224252199424.html

I was just asking, hence the "?". No need to get your knickers in a twist.

Note to self, remember to check spelling then post in future!

**** off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

**** off
    :D:D ROFL!

I think this Steaua tie will prove a step too far for Pats. Watched them a few years ago against Shelbourne a few years ago. They played them off the park. I remember Jason Byrne did have a few chances though so lets hope they are as generous on Wed nite. Steaua have big Champions League experience and have gone far in the UEFA cup in recent seasons. Here's hoping they can pull it off, but i wouldn't hold my breath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

grenache wrote: »
    :D:D ROFL!

I think this Steaua tie will prove a step too far for Pats. Watched them a few years ago against Shelbourne a few years ago. They played them off the park. I remember Jason Byrne did have a few chances though so lets hope they are as generous on Wed nite. Steaua have big Champions League experience and have gone far in the UEFA cup in recent seasons. Here's hoping they can pull it off, but i wouldn't hold my breath.

sorry ...not trying to be a pr1ck but had to read it twice before I realised you had typed it twice :D

I kinda agree with your point that Steaua should be much stronger - but Pats have had indifferent form this season....cant see them winning over two legs but a 0-0 draw would be a fantastic result.

Checks;
    " ROFL is an internet accronmym for Rolling On Floor Laughing, and like all things internet it has adapted to nerd culture and has taken on new real-life use, though usually in a satirical way. "

I reckon Pats have a good chance to be honest, as said earlier a draw would be a great result. If they could even manage the 3-2 Shels got against Split they will be in a great position for the return leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Pats lose to Bohs at Richmond and then get a scoreless draw up in Monaghan.

Its a bit much to expect them to get a result out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

This was the worst draw possible for Pats. No chance in going through and not a good pull money wise either. 3 or 4 nil loss sadly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I know that in theory Pats should lose but i think a lot of people expected to lose to the Russian team as well. Hopefully the Steaua players will be cocky because that will mean they won't try as hard in the first leg and Pats might be able to use that to surprise them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

Des wrote: »
    Jeff Kenna said they'll be going out there with the mission of not conceding. If they can do that it would be a superb result for them.

Even a score draw would be nice.
    I think realistically, they need to grab an away goal to have any chance – there’s no way they’re going to keep a clean sheet against these lads for 180 minutes. Based on what I saw of Steaua against Motherwell, they’re a cut above anything Pats have encountered either this season or last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

**** off

mod note: can we tone this down please lads? Thanks

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Pats lose to Bohs at Richmond and then get a scoreless draw up in Monaghan.

Its a bit much to expect them to get a result out there.
    Pats haven't exactly been on fire domestically this season but are still getting results in Europe.

That said this is a massive test.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Like to see the junkies nick something here.

Good luck.

Hopefully it will take it out of yis for our two remaining fixtures this season. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

I know that in theory Pats should lose but i think a lot of people expected to lose to the Russian team as well. Hopefully the Steaua players will be cocky because that will mean they won't try as hard in the first leg and Pats might be able to use that to surprise them.

Nah Steaua wont be cocky at all

http://homepage.eircom.net/~KDJAC/DSCF1603.JPG

watched last 2 steaua games, they very fast and quick on the ball. Some very technical and skillful players, dodgy as **** at the back tho.

They are better than us, bigger club bigger budget etc: All we can do is hope we still be in the tie next week and our lord and saviour Fabio scores an away goal.

Believe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

dreamers75 wrote: »

Famous last words perhaps. If history has taught us anything is that statements ,like that from the Steau owner, tend to come back to haunt those that say them.

The owner sounds like a right cnut. I hope Pats teach the bastard a lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

dreamers75 wrote: »

Famous last words perhaps. If history has taught us anything is that statements ,like that from the Steau owner, tend to come back to haunt those that say them.

The owner sounds like a right cnut. I hope Pats teach the bastard a lesson.
    Need it be pointed out that the article appears in The Star?

djpbarry wrote: »
    Need it be pointed out that the article appears in The Star?

The Star is the only decent paper when it comes to LoI reporting.

• Registered Users Posts: 302 ✭✭Zatman

Game is on in Murrays in O'Connell Street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,829 ✭✭✭Trampas

What is all with the negative thoughts going into the game from people on here.

Pity if they go to the rds for the games and not play in richmond.

Lets hope the lads play well and bring something back home.

Trampas wrote: »
    What is all with the negative thoughts going into the game from people on here.

Negative thought?

Realism perhaps?

Pats are stepping up to a level they haven't seen before.

Can they get a result? Of course they can, football is like that.

Will they?

Ninety times out of a hundred they wouldn't (in fact, paddypower have them at 11/1, bookies are rarely wrong)