Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arts degree questions.. New to this

• 17-08-2009 11:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13

sorry if this sounds stupid:( but do you have the 1st week to 'try out' subject choices...I see on the UCD website that you register online and choose your subjects quickly?
    How many subjects do you choose in an arts degree?
    In order to register you must pay fees, what happens if you are applying for a grant?

• Registered Users Posts: 376 ✭✭samsamson

From what I remember, you pick the subjects you want to do, then check them out in the first week/drop in on a few other subjects, and you still have the chance to change your mind and swap them for different ones.

I also remember going to "introduction" lectures which gave an overview of how the individual courses were going to pan out...hopefully someone else will clear this up

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,678 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Yeah, there are sample lectures on Wednesday and Thursday of Orientation week.

http://www.ucd.ie/incomingstudents/sl.pdf

• Registered Users Posts: 21,389 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Ok, college starts the 7th September. Orientation week for all the 1st years in-coming is on the week before that. For Arts, there will be sample lectures on the days your supposed to go in(ya dont have to go in the 5 days). You find out the days your in in the welcome/registration pack which you will receive in the next 2/3 days after accepting your course.

Try some sample lectures if you dont know what you want to do. If you do, and you've registered, then go to those in the week starting the 7th September. Even if you have registered, still try some others out, you can alway change the options in registration for roughly 2 weeks into term.

In Arts, you choose 60 credits per year(5 per module). 20 creds(4 modules) is a major, which is your main area of study. As there are so many subjects under the Arts heading, the subjects(English, history, etc.) are divided into 6 groups, and you can only pick ONE out of each section. You decide on your major, minors(10 credits). Think the breakdown of choosing can be:

A) 2X major
    2X Minor

B) 2X Major
    1X Minor
    2X "Electives"(5 credits each module).

So for A), thats 4 subjects, and for B), it can be 5 subjects. The modules are offered within these subjects. a module is basically a different aspect of the subject. For example, in sociology, you will do a Foundation course as one module, and a research module as another. Hopefully that explains a module. The amount of subjects broaden the scope, but dont feel forced to take 5.

As for fees and grants, pay up the fees, then when you get the grant, the reg fee will be returned to you. You wont get the grant for quite a few weeks into term(dont shoot the messenger, my friend got his last installment last year AFTER his final exam).

So yeah, dont let registering now allow you think thats your final decision, as it can be changed. And do try out even if already registered as you can change.

Sorry for long post, hope it clears stuff up.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,389 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

To avoid more questions on this, to explain the classroom number/letter combo.

Arts block is divided into different sections(A,B,C,D,E,F,G,H,J...no 'I'). So ya go to that section. he next digit after id the first number obviously, that indicates the floor of the room. The last 2 digits refer to the room number along the corridor. Easy enough, if ya catch my drift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭shanegj

Mushy wrote: »
    To avoid more questions on this, to explain the classroom number/letter combo.

Arts block is divided into different sections(A,B,C,D,E,F,G,H,J...no 'I'). So ya go to that section. he next digit after id the first number obviously, that indicates the floor of the room. The last 2 digits refer to the room number along the corridor. Easy enough, if ya catch my drift.
    i know a little off topic sorry lol but i always wondered why there is no I section, do you know why? thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

Ugh

My debs is on the 8th

I'm gonna have to miss something in the first week to attend the crapfest

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,678 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

i know a little off topic sorry lol but i always wondered why there is no I section, do you know why? thanks

Maybe it's to avoid people confusing the "I" for a "1".

Btw, everyone, a lot of the Orientation information (including timetables and student guide) are already up online.

http://www.ucd.ie/incomingstudents/orientation_timetable.html

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

I want to do English, French and Music, but the all sample lectures are on at 3.30 over the two days, so I'll have to leave one out. Any thoughts? What exactly happens in the sample lectures anyway? Could I just get the information from a friend who was in one?

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭Zuffer

Hey Redsetter

The questions are not stupid at all- they're only easy when you know the answers. At the start it can be a bit confusing, but once you get the hang of things it is grand.

The first year Orientation week is from Monday 31st Aug to Friday 4th Sept.
    You'll get a pack in the post within the next day or two with a timetable for this week. During that week, most departments in Arts will put on a sample lecture to give you an idea of what their subject is about and help you judge if you would like it.

Term starts properly on 7 September. You can and most definitely should register online before that date. However, for the first two weeks, up until 18 September, you can go back online and change your choices. If you start off doing a subject, but really don't like it, you can register for something else instead.

The disadvantage of changing your mind is that you may have restricted choice. Some popular subjects, or ones with limited places available (psychology springs to mind) fill up straight away. You won't be able to take a course that is already full.

In terms of number of subjects: you have to choose some areas of study to focus on - eg Philosophy, English or History. Typically you choose three subjects from the list, but I think it is possible to choose 2-4.

Then you have to choose 12 "modules", eg Introduction to Modern Philosophy, etc. You take 6 modules in the first semester, and 6 in the second semester. A standard set up would be to take 4 modules from each of your three subjects. 3x4=12. However, you are not limited to that, in fact you have loads of choice. You could split your modules, for example, 5/4/3 rather than 4/4/4. Also, there are these fancy things called electives. These allow you to choose up to 2 modules from pretty much anywhere in the university. So you can take a random Law or Engineering module. For example, you could go 4/3/3 from your core subjects, + two electives from elsewhere. I talked to a guy last year who was doing History, Geography, Economics, plus electives in Latin and some other language. You also aren't restricted (except for timetabling) on how you split things up between semesters. If you want to do all 4 Economics modules in the first semester, you can.

The major restriction on doing crazy things is schedule/timetable. If two modules are on at the same time, you obviously can't take them both. A few high demand modules (eg Economics) run in both the first and second semester, but most are run only in either one or the other. So you need to plan ahead. You also want to think about what you are ultimately going to major in at the end of your degree, and take any prerequisite modules.

I want to do English, French and Music, but the all sample lectures are on at 3.30 over the two days, so I'll have to leave one out. Any thoughts? What exactly happens in the sample lectures anyway? Could I just get the information from a friend who was in one?
    Some of mine conflict as well. It's not a big deal. They're just samples to give you an idea of what lectures will be like.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

That's a relief :P Thanks! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 861 ✭✭✭KeyLimePie

I was thinking english, french, art history and film studies....
    I'd be okay with french with a C1 right?:) my friend does german and says there's people with Ds with him, and I figure art history will be grand cause I've done it all already in LC and film studies................my best friend has a degree in it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 25 SupaReckless

Btw, everyone, a lot of the Orientation information (including timetables and student guide) are already up online.

http://www.ucd.ie/incomingstudents/o...timetable.html

in the Undergraduate Orientation Timetables selection area there are 3 arts choices, I know the answer is probably glaring obvious but why are they broken up into 3 sections, the subjects aren't alphabetised?

It's split up based on the first letter of your surname. So if for example your surname beings with B, you use the A-H timetable. The course is too big for everyone to go to the same events.

Are you referring to the Arts A-H, etc?

I think the alphabetising is your surname. They break up the Arts orientation into three parts because it is so huge. Only applies for the orientation week.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Have a few questions for this myself. Apologies if they seem stupid :o

Well, I just checked out that timetable and noticed that the "Student Card Collection followed by Campus Tour" last from 09.30-16.30. That's a bit long isn't it? :eek:

Are all of the sample lectures and welcomes by Dean of Arts and President compulsory?

Will I need to buy a laptop?

Eh, that's all the Q's I can think of now :D

• Registered Users Posts: 25 SupaReckless

thanks for your patience and answers guys!!!
    ye are so good to us all!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Well, I just checked out that timetable and noticed that the "Student Card Collection followed by Campus Tour" last from 09.30-16.30. That's a bit long isn't it? :eek:

Are all of the sample lectures and welcomes by Dean of Arts and President compulsory?

Eh, that's all the Q's I can think of now :D

You can just get your student card and leave. The campus tour will be maybe 1-1 1/2 hours long. The lectures and other things are their to help you integrate. You should do as much as you can. You can get free stuff. But if you dont want to do anything leave.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

No, it's fairly quick, it's kind of broken up a good bit and it's a great way of getting a feel for the place before you start into the nitty gritty of it.

No, but it's worth a gander so in a few years you can say "Joe B was talking an awful lot of shite that day?" It's also good because I think you get your free scarf around that time as well!

No, if you're doing arts, there's tons of computers around the place, you won't need one for at least another year but more likely final year. The only use laptops have (apart from facebook, boards and porn;)) is that if you've a wireless connection in your house you can do an essay or an assignment etc... without having to go into college.

How do the campus tours work? Do you just join a group after you get your card?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ColmDawson

Hi, do fees need to be paid before I can choose my subjects? I really hope not because my folks are on a plane right now.

First year Arts Omnibus

• Registered Users Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Cheers for the answers. Guess I'll go to all of them classes and Welcome thingys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 redsetter

Thanks so much for all that info:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 UCDHEADER

im doing english,history and sociology!!that makes 60credits!does that mean i dont need to pick any electives!!

UCDHEADER wrote: »
    im doing english,history and sociology!!that makes 60credits!does that mean i dont need to pick any electives!!

The short answer is: You don't have to, but you can if you want to.

More technically: You always have to pick electives. If you pick all your 60 credits just from the English, History and Sociology modules it means you are "Going Deeper", in UCD jargon, with your electives. That is, you pick your first 50 from your chosen subjects (which you have to do), then pick your remaining 10 also from your chosen subjects (which you don't have to do but can if you want).

The alternative is "Going Broader". That's where you pick intro to astrophysics, intro to farming, etc, for your 10 elective credits.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

Can anyone tell me what first year French is like at UCD? I did hons French for leaving cert and liked it...Not too sure though.