Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Soccer Forum Last Man Standing Competition - Paddypower Account Needed

• 18-08-2009 12:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭

Would there be any interest in joining a Last Man Standing competition?

Well, one has been set up, using the Paddy Power website.

What is Last Man Standing?

It's a competition where you chose one team per week from the list of fixtures. If they win, you stay in the competition. Lose or draw, and you're out.

What's the catch?

You can only pick a team once on the competition. So, you can't rotate Chelsea/Man Utd/Liverpool/Arsenal/Man City, eventually you'll probably have to pick Wolves or Burnley. If you get that far.

What could I win?

Money.

The pool of players will determine the prize. More players = more prizemoney available.

How do I enter?

The Paddy Power website has set up the capabilities for a private league. We used this last year. You'll need a PP account, and a tenner to enter.

They take a small admin fee, but as said previously, the more people enter, the bigger the prize.

Also, Paddy Power allow you to chose ONE draw.

If you want to enter, go to their last man standing section and use this code

Rules

http://lastmanstanding.paddypower.com/index.php?do=rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

can't access in work but I'll join up tonight when I get home. Hopefully run better than I did in the last one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Iago wrote: »
    can't access in work but I'll join up tonight when I get home. Hopefully run better than I did in the last one!

Ditto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Already in this, managed to find a winner. 1300 entered 300 fell at first hurdle - mainly backing Villa it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

I closed my PP account a little over 2 weeks ago - to stop my online blackjack habit :D

can I use the code in a shop ? ....or will I just do it in my local Paddy Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

PCPhoto wrote: »
    can I use the code in a shop ? ....or will I just do it in my local Paddy Power

nah this league has to done online

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Any thoughts on this week?

I'm looking at Sunderland v Blackburn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,108 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

possible to join this late?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    possible to join this late?

Yep, you have until 12 tomorrow to make a selection I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Still havent got around to this definitely will this evening, are there many in Des?

Looks like ~8 I think.

You two latecomers will make 10, and a nice pot of about €95

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭am i bovvered

I,m in :) The last time I played went out early , tried to get the smaller teams out of the way first, not this week ARSENAL

It's a City / Arsenal lovefest so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

I'm in.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

There's 11 in now - prize money is 99 - Get in folks while you can.

Wonder how this works. I have paid in sterling, ye are all in euros, have paid more to enter the same comp. Better fncking win it so.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

In... Was going to pick everton but decided to go for city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

I'm in, brendangerous.

Dicing with death picking Hull. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,049 ✭✭✭Unearthly

haha fair play. You'll be a smug man if that comes off.

Especially if City and Arsenal lose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I'm in, brendangerous.

Dicing with death picking Hull. ;)

great choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,562 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

just joined now.c'mon the toffees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,108 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I've joined, but its not letting me pick a team, just says; "you cannot select the team, wait for the results"

what up with that?

<edit>
    Oh Noes! "Welcome! You have missed the deadline so we will automatically pick a team for you this week and the results have not been settled yet."

dear god i hope they pick based on high percentage of winning and not just random!

It's alphabetical, I think. Which would be Arsenal, I guess.

Well City, Arsenal and Hull :p won so most through 1st round.

Anyone out yet?

16 entered

15 through, then the other person has Everton who play tomorrow v Burnley.

Good stuff from Hull. It was a long afternoon, but I knew they'd pull through!

brendangerous is out on the Everton.

thank god i didn't pick everton... can't believe they lost

brendangerous is out on the Everton.

Uh, I picked Hull!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,562 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

im d only one gone .

Right chaps don't forget to enter your selection for this week.

All in this week yet?

The prize fund is €144, that's pretty tasty.

Gone for Spurs this week. Squeaky bum time. Lot of dodgy fixtures this week.

Just a reminder to get your selections in for this weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Just a reminder to get your selections in for this weekend.

Jesus cheers would have forgotten all about this.

we got till friday anyway

it's a hard pick this weekend thou

Don't forget lads...

I'm going with Sunderland!

Anyone else make their picks yet?

my tip would be go for Burnley

Headshot wrote: »
    my tip would be go for Burnley

I dare you ;)

tok9 wrote: »
    I dare you ;)

your on

Some lucky escapes today!

Everyone through again.

We are not making much progress :(

Headshot wrote: »
    your on
    Unearthly wrote: »
    Everyone through again.

But... But Headshot said.

tok9 wrote: »
    But... But Headshot said.

you honestly thought I would commint suicide in this competition :pac:

I thought i had you fooled!!!

Unearthly wrote: »
    Everyone through again.

Next few weeks will see much bigger drop offs now that most people will have used up the likes of Chelsea/United/Pool/Arsenal/City

I have Sunderland today, they are looking like they can do it too. A lot of early chances, hope that monster of a keeper of Burnley's doesn't have another MoM

If Villa lose, that is most of the field out :)

****e penalty against Sunderland. Ah well, is that me out ?

I have Sunderland today, they are looking like they can do it too. A lot of early chances, hope that monster of a keeper of Burnley's doesn't have another MoM

If Villa lose, that is most of the field out :)

Lolz, Burnley pen

WOO :D:D:D