Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Lance watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

violator13 wrote: »
    I hate this anti usa /armstrong ****.
    I hate Armstrong but love Lemond....what is my position on the US?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,317 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I hate Armstrong but love Lemond....what is my position on the US?

It means you love cancer you jerk!

Raam wrote: »
    It means you love cancer you jerk!
    ...and the Taliban.

kincsem wrote: »
    Uncle Sam surely :)
    Oh dear, a new low. (I'm just jealous I didn't come out with it.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,460 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

i rode with my imaginary lance last night- does that count ????

just wanted to join in the lance love-in

I'm going to New York in November because I like it, but I dislike Lance Armstrong. Will I spontaneously implode?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,460 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

I'm going to New York in November because I like it, but I dislike Lance Armstrong. Will I spontaneously implode?

lance lives in texas so you should be ok (unless hes in NY for some reason then your in trouble)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

blorg wrote: »
    Go Lance! I am SO feckin excited right now.

Have you calmed down yet?

@Blorg: did you get all that yellow paint for your bike that you were talking about?

I should probably save this for Friday but....

FIFA gave the Jules Rimet cup permanently to Brazil after their 3rd victory. Should the Tour de France permanently give the Yellow jersey to Lance for his 7 wins and move to a new colour?

I should probably save this for Friday but....

FIFA gave the Jules Rimet cup permanently to Brazil after their 3rd victory. Should the Tour de France permanently give the Yellow jersey to Lance for his 7 wins and move to a new colour?

I thought the jersey was made yellow because it was Lance's colour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Clum

5 pages of Lance Watch and still no sign!

Is he here at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭Drapper

twitter says he's in London!

Raam wrote: »
    I thought the jersey was made yellow because it was Lance's colour?
    No apparently the sport of cycling and the tour de France existed before 1999. Believe it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Vélo wrote: »
    Have you calmed down yet?
    No!
    No apparently the sport of cycling and the tour de France existed before 1999. Believe it or not.
    Took Lance to put it on the world map though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

I love Lance. I just wish Alberto was here too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

matthew%20mcconaughey%20lance%20armstrong.jpg

Dreamy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭quietobserver

i met him before
    and besides all the sh1te you read hes a nice guy. im sure its hard to be nice all the time in the media.

im sure it will be tomorrow before he arrives in ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,142 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

tunney wrote: »
    I love Lance. I just wish Alberto was here too.

Only if he buys his own coffee and promises not to moan.
    jinka wrote: »
    Look what the europeans bring to us when they visit. One coffee between them, spend nothing and moan about everything...A lot of the italian, spanish are sooooo negative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

RobFowl wrote: »
    Maybe I'm missing the sublte irony !
    But Michelle Smith ........
    Never failed a test.........
    Done for adulterating a non supervised sample with neat whiskey.......

PS don't diss the Phil :mad: Up there with Sean Kelly, Sonia O Sullivan, Noel Browne, Prof Ivor Browne and Katie Taylor as my all time Irish hero's

Thought it was Irish Mist - that sounds like an awful waste of whiskey.

Anyway, I'm kind of indifferent to Lance - I'd like to see him cycle, but he doesn't provoke strong opinions (incl "man love"!!!!!).

I think he did a lot of good raising the profile of male health and cancers affecting men in particular - and made it fashionable to play with your balls under the guise of checking them - for that I'm grateful!!!

He does seem to have a big ego, but I suppose he's "earned" it compared to the last super-dooper ego we had in Ireland when the ladyboy Ronaldo was here with Madrid.

In terms sightings, is this like UFOs - if you're "Lanced" are there different categories?

e.g.

1st kind - whizzing by a speed, feeling nothing but the breeze from his wheels

2nd kind - addressed by the great man telling you to get out of the way

3rd kind - testicle counting competition in the changing room with him???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Lance_Armstrong

Clum wrote: »
    5 pages of Lance Watch and still no sign!

Is he here at all?
    Finally. Took me frickin ages to get signed up, some douchebag has already taken LanceArmstrong it seems.
    So. S'up y'all? Ready to rock at the weekend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Lance_Armstrong

Oh, and what is it with all the negativity? I have never taken PEDs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

Good man Lance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭gaffmaster

Last Sunday in the Grassmarket in Edinburgh.

I saw this guy walking along in a Livestrong Jacket with 2 Livestrong yellow wrist bands on.

I thought to myself - what a tool - nobody could be that much of a Lance Fan.

Turns out it was the man himself. I didnt recognise him for many reasons-

1. I didnt expect him to be walking through Edinburgh

2. He was wearing sunglasses

3. No Bike or cycling gear

4. I was sitting down and i only saw his chin really. He's taller and skinnier than I ever imagined.

Madness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

I'd love to kit myself out in full Astana gear and bike, complete with race numbers and ride into the peleton as it goes past before going up to Lance, tapping him on the back and telling him to Fxck back to the team car and get me a bottle.

I wonder what would happen ? Must be some youtube videos of people doing similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

gaffmaster wrote: »
    Last Sunday in the Grassmarket in Edinburgh.

Don't think so, unless Lance has mastered bi-location:

Just landed in Austin. Uh, it's hot here...and it's not even 10am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭damoz

lukester wrote: »
    Don't think so, unless Lance has mastered bi-location:

Or its a fake twitter account....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,142 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Finally. Took me frickin ages to get signed up, some douchebag has already taken LanceArmstrong it seems.

88484.png

:confused::D

damoz wrote: »
    Or its a fake twitter account....

A verified Twitter account with 1.7m followers?

Ich don't think so.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Lumen wrote: »
    88484.png

:confused::D

LMAO

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

D'oh, he is a twin! Of course, it all makes sense now. I'll do the race this year and you do all the drug tests and you race next year and I'll do all the tests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭SACH Central

blorg wrote: »
    No!

Took Lance to put it on the world map though!

By world, I take it to mean you mean the US. As in the baseball 'world' series (in which, I'm told, the Cubans aren't allowed to compete because one of their teams might win - I could be wrong there though)

I would have thought that Greg Lemond was the first non Continental European to put cycling on the 'world' stage. Of course thats not to mention Andy Hampsten, who won the Giro. Of course Jonathan Boyer, before either of the above, also put cycling on the 'world' stage.

By world, I take it to mean you mean the US. As in the baseball 'world' series (in which, I'm told, the Cubans aren't allowed to compete because one of their teams might win - I could be wrong there though)

I would have thought that Greg Lemond was the first non Continental European to put cycling on the 'world' stage. Of course thats not to mention Andy Hampsten, who won the Giro. Of course Jonathan Boyer, before either of the above, also put cycling on the 'world' stage.

They don't count.

The Cubans are well known Taliban sympathisers, as is Greg LeMond. Pretty sure Boyer has connections in Afghanistan or Iraq too. Hampsten took PEDs.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I think LA was the first brand cyclists, the same way you have Beckham, Tiger Woods etc...... It's really not about the bike.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

jerseyeire wrote: »
    I think LA was the first brand cyclists, the same way you have Beckham, Tiger Woods etc...... It's really not about the bike.

Who says it's not about the bike?! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Hungrycol wrote: »
    Who says it's not about the bike?! ;)

same bloke who said "its actually about your doctor"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭damoz

Well i guess they jsut got the date wrong so.. was sunday not saturday.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

mloc123 wrote: »
    matthew%20mcconaughey%20lance%20armstrong.jpg

Dreamy

Phwoar. Do I have to choose or can I have both at once?

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭dexty

Tweet a message to all the boards.ie'ers to prove ure ID!

C u Friday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

gaffmaster wrote: »
    I thought to myself - what a tool - nobody could be that much of a Lance Fan.

Turns out it was the man himself.
    That is pretty hilarious. He went on some sort of cycle around Paisley I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Bikerbhoy

Quigs Snr wrote: »
    I'd love to kit myself out in full Astana gear and bike, complete with race numbers and ride into the peleton as it goes past before going up to Lance, tapping him on the back and telling him to Fxck back to the team car and get me a bottle.

Class idea Quigs.... had a good laugh at that...nice one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,218 ✭✭✭Junior

Quigs Snr wrote: »

I wonder what would happen ? Must be some youtube videos of people doing similar.

I might be able to get you the Astana bike, there's one in Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭lyders

Lance watch update: He's on a plane from Oslo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Clum

According to Dublinairport.com this morning's flight from Oslo has landed.

I just follow his Twitter :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

why did he got to Oslo?

Oslo Grand Prix

Norway's Thor Hushovd won, with LA finishing 8th.

• Registered Users Posts: 237 ✭✭Muller_1

He's on a private plane with some other riders.

From Kurt Asle Arvsesn's twitter

Ready for take off! Flying from Oslo to Dublin with Lance private plane... Pretty cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭ten speed racer

They're flying in a private jet according to Kurt Asle Arveson.
    http://twitter.com/kaarvesen

• Registered Users Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

He's arrived!