Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

stag in waterford (middle of sept 09)

• 18-08-2009 4:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭

hi all,

i know this has been asked b4 but i am looking for some up to date info on waterford city.

were just staying for one night (sat) and were all in our mid to late 20s, like our boozin and just a general good night out....

what i would like some ideas on:

hotel, good location, reasonably priced should be at least 20 of us but not a hole either!
    pubs and clubs to go to?
    will we have to break up into smaller groups and do they look for silly things like you must wear shoes?

possible daytime activities, paintballin, karting etc

thanks in advance...

also open to any good ideas for stag parties as iv never organised one b4!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭bp_me

Karting in New Ross.
    Paintball in Rathnure (you will need to be driving to go here).

The Ramada is a little bit outside the city but should be reasonably priced.

Some places have no hoodies/runners rule but I generally don't have problems with either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭baronflyguy

Off the top of my head and going by the profile age group you mentioned, here is what I suggest might suit you and your buddies.

Accommodation - walking distance to city nightlife
    http://www.dooleys-hotel.ie/
    http://www.waterfordmarinahotel.com/

Places to Drink
    Masons
    Revolution
    Kazbar

Night clubs
    Rubys
    Oxygen

Late night Food
    Hillbillies

Local Bike
    Ronda :D ....only messin

Daytime Activity
    Karting - http://www.kiltorcan.com/ - I'd ring ahead to make just in case.

Drive down to tramore (10 min drive) to the amusements
    http://www.fundays.ie/details.asp?FunEvent=-294492687&aff=

Bowling
    http://www.fundays.ie/details.asp?FunEvent=-624941520&aff=

I don't know about footwear and whether to arrive in small groups as I don't go to the places I mentioned above. I would guess you would be better off arriving in small groups to places and stagger the time arriving so you don't have some stupid eejit from the stag who arrives in another group behind you shouting something smart at you when you are passing the bouncer. They will cop it pretty quick you are all together. As you probably know if you have someone who is manky drunk he will probably get refused and get hassle from the bouncers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭EoinHeffernan

rafther wrote: »
    hi all,

i know this has been asked b4 but i am looking for some up to date info on waterford city.

were just staying for one night (sat) and were all in our mid to late 20s, like our boozin and just a general good night out....

what i would like some ideas on:

hotel, good location, reasonably priced should be at least 20 of us but not a hole either!
    pubs and clubs to go to?
    will we have to break up into smaller groups and do they look for silly things like you must wear shoes?

possible daytime activities, paintballin, karting etc

thanks in advance...

also open to any good ideas for stag parties as iv never organised one b4!!

As regards hotels i'd say The Fitzwilton, located in the city and seems to be one of the more popular locations for stag/ hen parties.

All the major pubs and clubs are located in John St. so you should have no trouble finding something to suit ye're tastes.

I don't believe anywhere enforces that stupid 'you must wear shoes to get in' law any more. Usually it's just an excuse if they think you've had way too much to drink.

Daytime activities, there's karting in Kiltorkan which is about 30 mins outside the city if ye're driving. If you say it that you can guarantee 15-20 people you should most likely get a discount. Other than that there's bowling out in Leisurezone in Ardkeen which is about 5 mins from the city centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Could also check out the greyhound track in Kilcohan , They take group bookings . good food/drink and bit of a flutter , Could be a good start to the night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭rafther

hey thanks for that folks seams like good info.

any ideas on paintballing just as another option??
    we are driving, not to far though lol

cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

There is paint-balling in Dungarvan which is about a 40 minute drive from Waterford. Here's their website.

http://www.elitepaintball.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Waynecarr

This is really enjoyable

http://www.seapaddling.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭daftdave

Off the top of my head and going by the profile age group you mentioned, here is what I suggest might suit you and your buddies.

Accommodation - walking distance to city nightlife
    http://www.dooleys-hotel.ie/
    http://www.waterfordmarinahotel.com/

Places to Drink
    Masons
    Revolution
    Kazbar

Night clubs
    Rubys
    Oxygen

Late night Food
    Hillbillies

Local Bike
    Ronda :D ....only messin

Daytime Activity
    Karting - http://www.kiltorcan.com/ - I'd ring ahead to make just in case.

Drive down to tramore (10 min drive) to the amusements
    http://www.fundays.ie/details.asp?FunEvent=-294492687&aff=

Bowling
    http://www.fundays.ie/details.asp?FunEvent=-624941520&aff=

I don't know about footwear and whether to arrive in small groups as I don't go to the places I mentioned above. I would guess you would be better off arriving in small groups to places and stagger the time arriving so you don't have some stupid eejit from the stag who arrives in another group behind you shouting something smart at you when you are passing the bouncer. They will cop it pretty quick you are all together. As you probably know if you have someone who is manky drunk he will probably get refused and get hassle from the bouncers.

surely you mean late night food = the istanbul kebab house , the best take away around imo

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 496 ✭✭renraw

The Marina hotel on Scotch quay are doing great deals - 2 nites accomodation, B&B and one evening meal for €119 per person - methinks its 4 star, about 5 minutes walk from the centre oof the city

• Registered Users Posts: 2 mikey12

Best accommadation the Fitzwilton @ 29e/night. Best late bar Kazbar.Havea look @ www.fitzwiltonhotel.ie and www.kazbar.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭joeduggan

who in their right mind would go to waterford ona stag night. of all the places in ireland. what a ****hole

Convenience..... and gorgeous women, one of the best lookin towns in the country :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,635 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I wouldnt recommend paintballing in general(not just this particular one), haveing done it once on a mates birthday.
    It can be very expensive, very very safety conscious (to the point where most of the few hours is taken up by safety talks) and not good value for money at all.
    Maybe, that was my take on it but all 20 people that day walked away thinking the same thing.
    We rented an asto pitch for an hour and had a fairly intense kick around that was far far more craic and way better value for money.
    The karting/dogs would be a far better combination, I'd reckon.

joeduggan wrote: »
    who in their right mind would go to waterford ona stag night. of all the places in ireland. what a ****hole
    Well I know loads of people, in their right mind, who had great nights out in waterford city who come up for 1 night or a weekend and look forward to coming back again.

I have to agree with Kippy here. I found paint balling boring. The who setup is geared towards you wasting your ammo quickly and them making a handy money on the refills. Last time I played at a stag the marshalls didnt even put people in the sin bin so the game became pointless. I know this cause I got shot defending a fort and went to got to the sin bin and the marshall just said wipe it off and just keep shooting.

Went to Galway in April to a stag and we had a a game of (s)Tag rugby. I must say it was great fun, would recommend as a day event for a stag. Look up a local rugby club where you are going and hire a pitch for an hour or two.

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭William72

joeduggan wrote: »

me - and it was a great weekend, thanks for asking :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭Musicman2000

Convenience..... and gorgeous women, one of the best lookin towns in the country :cool:

Gorgeous women up their own arses :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

Gorgeous women up their own arses :P

great name for a blue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭joeduggan

are u SERIOUS???

ya may turn that down there Joe i can read lower case aswell... id hardly say it now if i wasnt SERIOUS, im not one a these muppets that comes on and makes pointless random statements that isn't helpfull to anyone

yea great porno name il start working on that when im down there lol :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2 mikey12

Hey Rafter just wondering how you got on in Waterford, where you stayed and where you drank or where you'd recommend ?