Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland is NOT a tipping country!

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭waitinforatrain

994 wrote: »
    I think if you're going to tip, tip someone who doesn't expect it. Your binman, the guy working in a petrol station at 4 a.m., the guy who drives the street-cleaning vehicle.

Ok,
    1. The binman: Did you actually wait for your binman, open the door, and just hand him your 50p. Does common sense not tell you he might be insulted?

2. Petrol station: Are you that drunken twat who held everyone up at statoil in Galway insisting the clerk keep your euro and then tried to do that retarded palm handshake to him through the sliding metal yoke? why you little...

Hope to god you're being sarcastic...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

I never said it was, and I don't think you have to tip by any means. Just pointing out that they're not all on minimum wage!
    its illegal to not pay min wage....
    so there more than likeley on the dole as well

so there probly earning more than me so im not tipping the feckers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

I like tipping, it makes be feel big and important. A delivery guy doesn't get paid much, so he sort of has to beg me for a euro. I pretend to drop his precious euro so he has to stoop even lower to pick it up.

I love the scene in Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, a waiter is standing for a tip and Raoul Duke looks at him, takes a fistful of change and throws it at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Mousey- wrote: »
    Even if not on the dole they are paying no taxes on those earnings, you are aiding and abetting the black economy, you are in effect helping the employer with his discrete tax evasion scheme. I said before if people stopped this practise then people would not work the jobs on the expectation of tips, so all payment would be upfront. I think some places do specifically ask not to tip their employees, proclaiming that they pay a fair wage in the first place, dunno what country(s) that was in. To the extreme a delivery place could tell employees they have "undercover" tippers and would be fired for accepting tips, and would have to explain they cannot take tips or would be sacked, like I expect some jobs require people to refuse bribery in its various forms.

I was in China and tipped a taximan and he was clearly annoyed, we were pissed and just got out. Then Honk Kong we got the same (I thought it might be different than mainland china). The taxiwoman had turned off the meter and was trying to find where we were going, we were a good 10mins with no meter so she definitely deserved a tip, was ringing around to find the place etc, but again was having none of it, I dropped it on the ground of the taxi on the way out!

Again in China my parents went to a simple restaurant and tipped, when they were leaving all the chefs came out & staff were clapping & bowing, my parents were looking around expecting to see some local celeb or businessman but it was for them.

Say this posted a while ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭Celticfire

CPT. SURF wrote: »
    They can go f**k themselves for thinking something? Wow, that's classy.

I said that if they want to give me crap service and bad manners then that's what they can do.
    You either didn't read or understand the part where I mentioned that many businesses collectively pool tips so by tipping badly you are only hurting the group of staff.

Well then the rest of the staff should figure out who is letting them down and sort it out. It's not up to me to educate the staff member on how to treat customers.
    Most people working for tips are low on cash in general; working students, mothers, uneducated, etc. They don't make good money and as has been said they are often on poor wages.

That still doesn't mean that I have to reward bad service and no manners.
    But sure I'd say you never tip anyway so it doesn't matter, you are probably more likely to tell someone to f**k themself or something. Go you, you're the man dude

I have no problem with tipping a good waiter or waitress but if you think I'm going to add 15-20% onto my bill to reward crap service and attitude you can forget it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

Celticfire wrote: »
    I said that if they want to give me crap service and bad manners then that's what they can do.

Well then the rest of the staff should figure out who is letting them down and sort it out. It's not up to me to educate the staff member on how to treat customers.

That still doesn't mean that I have to reward bad service and no manners.

I have no problem with tipping a good waiter or waitress but if you think I'm going to add 15-20% onto my bill to reward crap service and attitude you can forget it.

There have been a few posts along these lines in this thread.
    In all seriousness, has anybody suggested you should tip for bad service or attitude?

In the States you should tip pretty much no matter what. People in Ireland don't understand the whole tipping system. It is designed so that uneducated women across the country can still make enough money to support herself and a couple of kids in spite of her lack of professional credentials; its because of the tips. I liken this system to a form of voluntary socialism actually. Even if the service is bad it is better to leave a decent enough tip. Otherwise you undermine the system and more and more people hold back with their tips. No point blaming the rest of the waitresses for one person's errors. Also, if you have ever worked in the service industry you would know that in many businesses the tips are collectively divided up so by tipping poorly you are only hurting the whole group.

My motto is: If you can't afford to tip, you can't afford to go out.
    dub_skav wrote:
    There have been a few posts along these lines in this thread.
    In all seriousness, has anybody suggested you should tip for bad service or attitude?

Yes

No point blaming the rest of the waitresses for one person's errors. Also, if you have ever worked in the service industry you would know that in many businesses the tips are collectively divided up so by tipping poorly you are only hurting the whole group.
    No, the bad service from one waitress is hurting the whole group. Not me, who is on the receiving end of it.
    If they have a problem with it, they'll all tell the grumpy/bad service one to cop the f* on fairly quickly. If they don't, they all lose out.

(p.s., unless the whole group is serving me, why should I care about supplementing their incomes? Just because they exist? I don't mind if I tip someone and it's split, but arguing that everyone else loses out as a reason to tip bad service?... lol)
    My motto is: If you can't afford to tip, you can't afford to go out.
    If they can't afford to live on their wages, maybe they shouldn't work there?

The waiter/waitress has a contract with their employer to pay their wages. Not me, a randomer who walks off the street.
    Now don't get me wrong, I will always tip nearly automatically in a restaurant unless the service was exceptionally bad, but I am NOT responsible for paying someone's wages, and this attitude of automatic entitlement is really annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,663 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

No one's saying you should automatically tip irrespective of service. If service is crap then don't tip - and make a fvcking complaint, too.

The crux of the rest of the argument can is chicken/egg routine:

"I'm not going to tip you because you think you're going to be out of here once you get your master's and don't give a **** about the service you're giving me!"

and

"I do a job I don't like to put myself through college. This doesn't automatically I give you**** or that you have the right to give me ****!"

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭CPT. SURF

bluewolf wrote: »
    No, the bad service from one waitress is hurting the whole group. Not me, who is on the receiving end of it.
    If they have a problem with it, they'll all tell the grumpy/bad service one to cop the f* on fairly quickly. If they don't, they all lose out.

(p.s., unless the whole group is serving me, why should I care about supplementing their incomes? Just because they exist? I don't mind if I tip someone and it's split, but arguing that everyone else loses out as a reason to tip bad service?... lol)

If they can't afford to live on their wages, maybe they shouldn't work there?

The waiter/waitress has a contract with their employer to pay their wages. Not me, a randomer who walks off the street.
    Now don't get me wrong, I will always tip nearly automatically in a restaurant unless the service was exceptionally bad, but I am NOT responsible for paying someone's wages, and this attitude of automatic entitlement is really annoying.

It is not automatic entitlement, nobody I have worked with in the service industry thought that. What most of them thought was this: "Man I hope I get some decent tables tonight so I can get enough money to pay rent/food/child support/etc." The average service industry worker is just delighted to have a job at all in the first place. They can hardly expect to retain employment by going to their boss and making demands for this and that. They are not in complete control over the legality of their working environment, they are just trying to make a living. Whistle blowers are easily replaced with people who are willing to work under the current circumstances.

For me the choice is simple, either be a nice guy and leave a decent tip or carry on repeating expletives inside yer heads about how people should "cop the f**k on" or "go f**k themselves". And ye say that the people in the service industry have an attitude problem? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Mrs Shankly

It is not automatic entitlement, nobody I have worked with in the service industry thought that. What most of them thought was this: "Man I hope I get some decent tables tonight so I can get enough money to pay rent/food/child support/etc." The average service industry worker is just delighted to have a job at all in the first place. They can hardly expect to retain employment by going to their boss and making demands for this and that. They are not in complete control over the legality of their working environment, they are just trying to make a living. Whistle blowers are easily replaced with people who are willing to work under the current circumstances.

For me the choice is simple, either be a nice guy and leave a decent tip or carry on repeating expletives inside yer heads about how people should "cop the f**k on" or "go f**k themselves". And ye say that the people in the service industry have an attitude problem? :D

CPT Surf, how many people have rent/food/child support/etc worries? Customers should not be guilted into thinking we must tip, even for bad service, or else we will be somehow exacerbating their money worries.

The bottom line is- the person in the service industry, be that the waiter or whoever it is, needs to understand that the customer is king, no matter what. I don't accept or tolerate being at the brunt of a poor customer experience, much less pay extra for the privilege of this. Its exactly this type of guilt ridden attitude we need to get away from- "oh the service was really bad, but I can't possibly complain, sure I'll give a tip also, don't want them to think badly of me".

People have referred to Americans and their "tipping culture" and how they will tip for pretty much anything- let me ask you all something- do you think that Americans quietly accept bad service? Do they start worrying about the worker only getting paid minimum wage and not being able to meet their rent that month? Please answer that honestly.

If a great service has been given, then yes, I will tip, by all means. Not for bad though, and that kind of attitude only encourages poor customer service. I'm certainly not going to feel guilted into thinking I'm responsible for "hurting" a group if one person offers bad service- the employee is the weak link in the chain if they have not delivered good service, and it impacts the rest of the group. That kind of argument you put out there is just wafer thin.

We all just want to be customers, who go to get our plate of pasta or whatever, get our good service- which is no less than we should expect, and thats that. If its GREAT service, as in above and beyond the standard level of good service, then yes, a tip shall be forthcoming from most people, I would imagine. If you don't want to tip, then that is your own choice. Why can't we assume that maybe the customer who isn't tipping has their own childcare/ rent/ cash issues?

According to some of the opinions here, customers lack of tipping can play god with not only the lives of the individual who served us, but a whole host of other people who may not have even served us... and so on and so forth. And we're supposed to swallow bad service on top of this.

Can we take the socialist hats off for one minute and remember that without CUSTOMERS, people in all aspects of the service industry would not have a job, much less the opportunity for added incentives like tips.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

What kills me about Tipping In America is that all americans say its the done thing and they dont mind subsidizing the employes wages, yet when it comes to Healthcare they wont hear talk of subsidizing that:confused: Americans really are the most stupid brain washed people on this planet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Johnnnybravo

I never tip and never will tip.

So you got the dinner on the plate and out to me without making a balls of it, well done :rolleyes: your wage is your wage, after that F*ck off.

Even when the country was going great I never tipped, had a few rows over it when out in a group, do I care ? No

My money so I`ll spend as I like, rewarding people for doing their job right isnt something I`ll be partaking in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭iguy

I used to work in a garden center and roughly 8 out of 20 customers gave me a tip...I worked in the garden center 32 hours a week(just as a skivvy,doing stuff like potting plants,sowing seeds and transferring the seedlings to bigger pots so they can be sold,dealing with customers bringing the items people purchased out to their cars,and a whole load of general jobs)i worked for €325 per week and one week i earned an extra 260 euro's in tips,the minimum i ever got was 100 euro..but heres the twist to my story the quailified horticultural advisor who spoke to customers on how to look after the plants and stuff like that never got a tip only on rare occasions he did...the way i saw that was that the people that came in to buy the flowers saw me and the other 'skivvies' doing hard labour and we were in dirty clothes from the compost n stuff like that and the horticultural advisor got no tips because he had his own little office and he wore more formal clothing sometimes suits!..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

What kills me about Tipping In America is that all americans say its the done thing and they dont mind subsidizing the employes wages, yet when it comes to Healthcare they wont hear talk of subsidizing that:confused: Americans really are the most stupid brain washed people on this planet.

This from a resident of the country that thought they were one of the richest in the world based on inflated property prices. Brainwashed and stupid indeed:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Put it this way: I'm a delivery driver. I like getting tips. Since I recognise that it's how I make a decent night's money when I work, I tip generously when I order stuff. Try the job, then see whether your views on tipping change. Principles crumble when you're trying to get yourself by. Lot of scabby, pompous **** out there too, full of their own importance and that of their money. And to whoever said it was patronising? Fear not! You find me a delivery driver who doesn't like getting tips because he feels patronised and I'll show you the dumbest person in the world. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

Attention delivery drivers

Ireland is NOT a tipping country! .

i tip about 2e when i can

otherwise get the bf to answer the door:)

Nobody is saying you should tip for bad service can we just stop using that pointless argument now. @celticfire the 1 example you dug up was somebody talking about the US.

As I have said over and over again, we are a tipping country. As in if you get good (note not great) service in a restaurant most people will tip.

The very fact that people have said if they don't tip their waiter is shocked / gives a snooty look, while I do not agree with their attitude does this not confirm that the majority of the time they receive a tip.

We are a tipping country, all those who say they never tip, even when out in a group may find themselves dining alone more often than not.

dub_skav wrote: »
    As I have said over and over again, we are a tipping country. As in if you get good (note not great) service in a restaurant most people will tip.
    Maybe instead of repeating yourself over and over your should have actually read the very first post...

Ireland is NOT a tipping country! (With the exception of restaurants).

I would call the US a "tipping country", certainly not Ireland.

While I don't mind tipping if the serivce is good I absolutely despise it when you hand a taxi driver a 20 for an 8 euro fare and he only hands back a 10. If I had wanted him to have the 2 euro I would have asked for 10 back. Had it happen last week, I paid but the driver handed the change back to my girlfriend. When she gave it to me I noticed what he had done and went back to ask who he thought he was. He quickly rolled up the window and drove off.

rubadub wrote: »
    Maybe instead of repeating yourself over and over your should have actually read the very first post...

I would call the US a "tipping country", certainly not Ireland.

Maybe you should have read what you quoted
    Ireland is NOT a tipping country! (With the exception of restaurants)

Even the OP admits that we in fact are a tipping country

:rolleyes: I did read it, so it just seems your idea of a "tipping country" is not the same as a lot of other peoples. I know a lad who wore a dress once at a halloween party, that does not make him a transvestite...

By your inferred definition EVERY single country in the world must be a "tipping country".

:rolleyes: I did read it, so it just seems your idea of a "tipping country" is not the same as a lot of other peoples. I know a lad who wore a dress once at a halloween party, that does not make him a transvestite...

I'd say if he wore the dress every time he went to a restaurant he might indeed be called a transvestite

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭ozzirt

Tipping is no more than a stupid habit, instituted by the wealthy so that they can justify not paying a reasonable wage to those who most need it. (Not necessarily deserve it).

Usually it is those who are not much better off than those receiving the tip that feel most obliged to do it, as they fear being made to look cheap, whereas those who can afford it, have no such compunction and will gladly stare down the rudest of serving staff.

There is absolutely no reason why the customer should feel obliged to make amends for the employers greed.

It's the original "Great Con job". Some fall for it, I do not.

I'd say if he wore the dress every time he went to a restaurant he might indeed be called a transvestite

My point exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Put it this way: I'm a delivery driver. I like getting tips. Since I recognise that it's how I make a decent night's money when I work, I tip generously when I order stuff. Try the job, then see whether your views on tipping change. Principles crumble when you're trying to get yourself by. Lot of scabby, pompous **** out there too, full of their own importance and that of their money. And to whoever said it was patronising? Fear not! You find me a delivery driver who doesn't like getting tips because he feels patronised and I'll show you the dumbest person in the world. :p

What you will be told and with fair reasoning is that you accepted a job knowing the wages and the customers should not subsidise your wages by increasing the cost of their own meal.

My point exactly.

How is that your point?
    I believe it proves my point. That is if your friend did not wear a dress getting food delivered to his house, when he got a taxi, when he met his binman at Christmas, but did wear a dress every time he went to a restaurant he would be considered a transvestite.

As to your earlier post. I do not think that EVERY country is a tipping country, but if there is a country where it is accepted practice that the vast majority of people will tip for a particular service, then yes that is a tipping country.
    In fact in Ireland as this thread is showing us it is common practice to tip waiting staff, delivery people, taxi drivers and even binmen / postmen.
    If this thread has proved anything it is that we are a tipping country, in fact more so than I thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I gave my most generous tip to date last night.....3.50 for an 8.50 meal! :eek: :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭grundie

I tipped a Chinese restaurant €10 for a €35 meal at the weekend, mainly for the confusing theatrics the staff put on.

The waiter placed a plastic bottle of iced tea to a champagne bucket filled with ice. My bottle of Chinese beer was wrapped is a cloth napkin and he poured it in my glass like it was champagne. He even insisted on placing a cheap paper napkin on my lap.

When my wife ordered wine he clicked his finger and said "Wine, please!" to the guy on the counter. The glass of wine came in a plastic glass.

They were trying so hard, but got it so wrong. It just left us confused and that alone was worth a big tip.

Plus, the food was amazing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Mousey- wrote: »

so there probly earning more than me so im not tipping the feckers

Assumptions... :rolleyes:

Dub_skav:

We are NOT a tipping country, it is not our culture to tip. What you have is an opinion, it is not fact. If we tip some in one industry, it doesn't make us a tipping country. The tips are small and rare.

Nobody is saying you should tip for bad service can we just stop using that pointless argument now. @celticfire the 1 example you dug up was somebody talking about the US.

You're the one that suggested there was no example when you quoted my post. I was addressing the poster who stated you should tip even with bad service. I can read I know he was talking about the US.

Assumptions... :rolleyes:

Dub_skav:

We are NOT a tipping country, it is not our culture to tip. What you have is an opinion, it is not fact. If we tip some in one industry, it doesn't make us a tipping country. The tips are small and rare.

I have an opinion, as do you. Capital letters do not make opinions fact.

Tips are most certainly not rare in this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

For the record, tips are not rare. I make a decent chunk of money in tips and have received tips as high as a tenner. What I find really offputting are those people who hand over their money, take back their change and then sneer at you as though saying "go on, I dare you to ask for a tip". I don't care as long as there are plenty of people with a hint of generosity, and there are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

I don't care as long as there are plenty of people with a hint of generosity, and there are.
    I think you mean eejits with too much money who want to pay more for the same service. Those are the same fools that give out about price increases when by tipping for regular service people are simply showing that they are not being charged enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Buuumpy.

I'm a waitress/bar person. One thing that annoys me is the my co-workers often rip the piss out of me/give out to me for being TOO good to customers. I'm always really chatty/friendly to the customers and usually get pretty big tips. But that's because I explain to them how the foods are cooked/tell them how the wines taste/tell time about places to go in the town and all that and they appreciate it. I know that just sounds like standard practice but some of the people I work with just take the order, give them the food, don't even check on them, take their money and that's it. All with a grumpy face.

But it's not because I'm desperate for tips. I make enough money due to all the hours I work. It's up to the customers whether or not they want to tip me. I just feel like I should give good service. And I actually care about how the hotel (and other restaurant) I work in is doing. But some of the people I work with haven't got a clue how to be friendly and they just don't know what they are doing. And then they give out about getting no tips, bah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Ireland is NOT a tipping country! (With the exception of restaurants).

Minimum wage is high for a reason. You get paid plenty for your job, as much as I do, if I don't give you a tip don't say anything about it, don't walk away feigning indignation. It's not going to make me tip you the next time either.

And if I give you more than it costs, gimme my feckin change!

If someone does tip you (and I sometimes do before you point me to the stingy thread!), consider it a bonus.

Thank you.

Good ol' Irish begrudgery and one up manship, never fails to get the ignorant classes riled & rallied to your side..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Buuumpy.
    I'm a waitress/bar person. One thing that annoys me is the my co-workers often rip the piss out of me/give out to me for being TOO good to customers. I'm always really chatty/friendly to the customers and usually get pretty big tips. .

What used to do my head in when I was a waiter was that some arrogant dope working with you (who was too good to wait tables) would be rude and incompetent and get no tips. As the tips were pooled, I would basically be biting my lip and being polite all night to line some ignorant fool's pocket.

As I always made good tips, I just started pocketing most of my tips if I was working with people that were like that.